Fashion Sale Hier klicken calendarGirl Cloud Drive Photos Learn More madamet Bauknecht Kühl-Gefrier-Kombination A+++ UHD TVs Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Autorip Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,3 von 5 Sternen39
4,3 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:4,07 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

This is a classic tale about a researcher who, while he was the equivalent of a graduate student in physics, discovers a treatment for making himself invisible (using chemicals and mathematical expressions containing four dimensions). He quickly discovers how dependent he is on others and that he doesn't have the power he thought he would. I had always thought, based on what I had heard about the film based on this book, that the invisibility process made the researcher (Griffin) mad. However, upon reading the novel, I find that Griffin is morally and ethically bankrupt long before he takes the treatment. His initial reasons for becoming invisible is to avoid paying his rent (as he sneaks out of the building, he sets it on fire as a "lesson" for his landlord). All he thinks about is himself and to have power over others. He steals from his father who, since it wasn't his money, commits suicide. Griffin goes to the funeral simply because it is expected of him; but, he feels no remorse. He is a man who feels that the end (his power) justifies the means. Wells clearly has Griffin as the villian.
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. Juli 2000
This is a very good book, and as another reviewer has stated, Wells gets the most out of his words, an astonishing amount of detail and plot is put into what is really a rather short story. One of the great things about this book is that Wells takes a seemingly impossible task (making humans invisible) and makes it seem possible. After we find out a lot about Griffin we learn about his adventures and difficulties as the invisible man. The main themes of the book seem to be the horrors that would abound if a major discovery was found by an evil person before a person who would use it for good causes. Also, it is a definite attack on egos and narcissism, as most of Griffin's terrible acts were spurred on by his needs and his disregard for others.
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 18. August 2004
Wer dieses Buch aufgrund des Filmes "The leage of extraordinary gentlemen" (2003) liest, wird erstaunt sein wie sehr die Geschichte und der Charakter der Hauptperson für den Film verändert wurde.
Das Buch liest sich leicht, ist nicht besonders lang, aber spannend, wenn auch einige Wendungen der Geschichte absehbar sind.
Übrigens war dieses Buch auch die Grundlage für die Filme "The Invisible Man" (1933) und dessen Remake "Hollow Man" (2000) mit Kevin Bacon.
Kurzzusammenfassung: ein Wissenschaftler macht sich unsichtbar. Anfangs geniesst er die damit einhergehenden Vorteile, doch mit der Zeit überwiegen die Nachteile und er sucht verzweifelt ein Gegenmittel um die Wirkung umzukehren. Die Formel treibt ihn fast in den Wahnsinn und er terrorisiert mordend eine ländliche Region.
0Kommentar|6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Dezember 1999
This Penguin Classics audiobook is actually a three-hour, two cassette UNabridged presentation of Wells' novel, despite Amazon's listing of it as "abridged".
Paul Shelly gives an excellent reading. His narration is eloquent and melodious, and his remarkable voice talent captures the individual essence and quirks of each character. This rendition preserves every bit of the suspense and drama of Wells' classic moral tale of science without scruples, and it bears up well under repeated listening. I keep my copy in the car, and at times it has left me reluctant to arrive at my destination. Very highly recommended.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Mai 2000
Well, this is not the drum I march to. Nevertheless, this is an interesting piece of literature. H.G. Wells does a very good job of creating images. He also manages to offer us suspense, comedy, drama, and chills. One thing he does very well is that he grabs our attention in the 2nd half by revealing the identity of the invisible man along with his background. Perhaps the worst I can say about this book is that I enjoyed the movie with Claude Rains better.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. September 2013
I grew up on all the invisible man movies and still think of him as Claude Rains. I was surprised in the similarities and differences the book has to the movie. The scenes are rearranged from the book to make visual (or invisible) sense as a movie script.

A man all warped up in bandages except for his large pink nose requires a room at the inn and pays well. Slowly the Innkeeper and her companions suspect there is more to his than just a man with bandages. Everyone in a while they glimpse light where there should not be. And the stranger is so cranky that the money may not be worth the trouble of keeping him. Soon there are strange happenings and the cat is out of the bag sort of speaking.

The trail leads to murderer and a possible reign of terror. Read more to find out where the secret is reviled and how a man named Griffin got in this situation.

If I had read this story a year ago I would have said it was a fairly well put together sci-fi story. I would just enjoy the writing and wonder how H.G. came up with the idea. However now after reading much of H.G.'s political writings I see that this is a thinly veiled social commentary. We find that unlike the movie where Griffin goes mad in the invisibility process, that in the book Griffin was always amoral and anything stressful could set him off. Also, somewhere out there is a couple of floating eyes that belong to a cat.

Now one habit that .G. has in most of his tales is that just when you think he is finished on the subject, he will go off in another direction with some sub plot he has slipped in earlier. Therefore, what should have been a short story becomes a novel. Another good example of his witting style can be found in "The Food of the Gods."
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. Januar 2013
The story about a scientist who made himself invisible is still today a great work of fiction.

„I cannot of course believe in this absurd invisibility story-“ Nowadays the story that was written in 1897 by Herbert George Wells is well known. Several films and Series have made the invisible man alive.
The novel begins when a stranger enters on a winters day the guest house Coach and Horses. „He was wrapped up from head to foot, and the brim of his soft felt had hid every inch of his face…“ Although the unusual guest behaves strange and seems to hide something he is polite and pays the rent in time. But later strange things happen in the small town, furniture wents mad and a burglary is been made at the vicarage.
The stranger unveils himself, it is the scientist Griffin. Everyone sees or better sees not, because the man is invisible and he is in need of money for all his expensive experiments and he wants to get it, this or the other way, he slighlty becomes mad.
The people try to grip him but he can escape. Not long after that he meets the solitary living Thomas Marvel. „Help me – and I will do great things for you…but if you betray me…I will kill you.“
Altough in a popular movie some years ago, the scientist made himself invisible by using genetics, the original Griffin discovers a way to make himself invisible by making a disvoverie in physics. „You know the red colouring matter of blood; it can be made white – colourless…Just think of all the things that are transparent and seem not to be so. Paper for instance, is made of up of transparent fibres, and it is white and opaque. Oil white paper, fill up the interstices between the particles with oil so that there is no longer refraction or reflection except at the surfaces, and it becomes as transparent as glass…So little suffices to make us visible one to the other.“
The scientific background is fun to read. Wells had studied biology at the Norman School of science.
The story has an intensive suspense from the beginning, but somehow the story becomes confused, just like the invisible man becomes mad. It would have been great to read more about this process. Still the story is a great work of art and longs to be read in our time, even if we know today more about mankind, genetics and life, we still have to learn, we shouldn’ t do everything.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. Mai 2009
Die Ankunft eines merkwürdigen, fast vollständig vermummten Fremden in der Dorfkneipe im englischen Dörfchen Iping erregt schnell Misstrauen bei den Bewohnern und führt zu einigen Spekulationen. Durch ihre hartnäckigen Nachforschungen entlocken die Dörfler dem Unbekannten schließlich sein dunkles Geheimnis: er ist der unsichtbare Mann - und er plant, eine Terrorherrschaft über die Welt zu erlangen und sie in Angst und Schrecken zu versetzen...

Erstmals 1897 veröffentlicht, vermag H.G. Wells spätviktorianische Schauermär "The Invisible Man" heute immer noch eine Gänsehaut zu verursachen und angenehm zu gruseln. Wie bereits in den mittlerweile ebenfalls längst zu Klassikern gewordenen Vorgängern "The Time Machine" und "The Island of Doctor Moreau" greift Wells hier Ängste und Erwartungen der damaligen Gesellschaft gegenüber dem Fortschritt der Wissenschaft auf und zeigt sowohl die Möglichkeiten als auch die Gefahren, die darin liegen (könnten). Die Geschichte um einen begabten, an Albinismus leidenden Wissenschaftler, der die Formel für die Unsichtbarkeit entdeckt, die daraus gewonnen Möglichkeiten aber nicht sinnvoll nützt, sondern reiner Selbstsucht, gesteigertem Menschenhass und purem Wahnsinn verfällt, fesselt von Anfang bis Ende und bleibt durchwegs spannend. Dies liegt vor allem in der zwiespätigen Figur Griffins, des unsichtbaren Mannes, dessen Ziele und Motive lange Zeit vollkommen im Dunkeln und Unklaren bleiben, weswegen man als Leser stets zwischen Mitgefühl, Sympathie und Angst vor ihm hin und her schwankt, um zuletzt eigentlich nur noch Unverständnis und Bedauern für ihn übrig zu haben.
Wer nach der abwechslungsreichen Lektüre noch weiterführende Informationen und Anmerkungen erwartet, muss zu einer anderen Ausgabe als der hier vorliegenden "Penguin Red Classics" greifen, da außer einer kurzen, einseitigen Biographie zu Wells nichts Zusätzliches angeboten wird.
Alles in allem ist Wells "The Invisible Man" eine packend geschriebene, schnell erzählte Gruselgeschichte, die man gespannt verfolgt und zum Nachdenken anregt, was man selbst wohl tun würde, wenn man tatsächlich unsichtbar wäre und ob Unsichtbarsein ein Segen oder nicht doch eher ein Fluch ist.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 30. September 2010
I grew up on all the invisible man movies and still think of him as Claude Rains. I was surprised in the similarities and differences the book has to the movie. The scenes are rearranged from the book to make visual (or invisible) sense as a movie script.

A man all warped up in bandages except for his large pink nose requires a room at the inn and pays well. Slowly the Innkeeper and her companions suspect there is more to his than just a man with bandages. Everyone in a while they glimpse light where there should not be. And the stranger is so cranky that the money may not be worth the trouble of keeping him. Soon there are strange happenings and the cat is out of the bag sort of speaking.

The trail leads to murderer and a possible reign of terror. Read more to find out where the secret is reviled and how a man named Griffin got in this situation.

If I had read this story a year ago I would have said it was a fairly well put together sci-fi story. I would just enjoy the writing and wonder how H.G. came up with the idea. However now after reading much of H.G.'s political writings I see that this is a thinly veiled social commentary. We find that unlike the movie where Griffin goes mad in the invisibility process, that in the book Griffin was always amoral and anything stressful could set him off. Also, somewhere out there is a couple of floating eyes that belong to a cat.

Now one habit that .G. has in most of his tales is that just when you think he is finished on the subject, he will go off in another direction with some sub plot he has slipped in earlier. Therefore, what should have been a short story becomes a novel. Another good example of his witting style can be found in "The Food of the Gods."
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 25. Dezember 2009
I grew up on all the invisible man movies and still think of him as Claude Rains. I was surprised in the similarities and differences the book has to the movie. The scenes are rearranged from the book to make visual (or invisible) sense as a movie script.

A man all warped up in bandages except for his large pink nose requires a room at the inn and pays well. Slowly the Innkeeper and her companions suspect there is more to his than just a man with bandages. Everyone in a while they glimpse light where there should not be. And the stranger is so cranky that the money may not be worth the trouble of keeping him. Soon there are strange happenings and the cat is out of the bag sort of speaking.

The trail leads to murderer and a possible reign of terror. Read more to find out where the secret is reviled and how a man named Griffin got in this situation.

If I had read this story a year ago I would have said it was a fairly well put together sci-fi story. I would just enjoy the writing and wonder how H.G. came up with the idea. However now after reading much of H.G.'s political writings I see that this is a thinly veiled social commentary. We find that unlike the movie where Griffin goes mad in the invisibility process, that in the book Griffin was always amoral and anything stressful could set him off. Also, somewhere out there is a couple of floating eyes that belong to a cat.

Now one habit that .G. has in most of his tales is that just when you think he is finished on the subject, he will go off in another direction with some sub plot he has slipped in earlier. Therefore, what should have been a short story becomes a novel. Another good example of his witting style can be found in "The Food of the Gods."
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden