Kundenrezensionen


20 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (17)
4 Sterne:
 (1)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Who's Afraid of Virginia Wolf
This play takes place in the living room of George and Martha a(middle-aged couple)in a house on the campus of a small New England college. The play begins with George and Martha coming home from a falculty party drunk. They invite Nick and Honey over and the marriages begin to fall apart with all the arguing and confusion. Edward Albee gives a clear cut, honest...
Am 16. Mai 2000 veröffentlicht

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Achtung! Gekürzte Version!!! Sehr ärgerlich!!!
Kauft nicht dieses Exemplar, bzw. informiert euch nochmal genau beim Verkäufer, was das für eine Auflage ist!!!
Ich habe mich nämlich sehr geärgert, als ich irgendwann beim Lesen festgestellt habe, dass da doch irgendwas fehlt (ich kannte es schon vorher). Beim Vergleich mit einem anderem Exemplar sah ich dann, dass da tatsächlich ganze...
Vor 18 Monaten von Kristin veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Who's Afraid of Virginia Wolf, 16. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Taschenbuch)
This play takes place in the living room of George and Martha a(middle-aged couple)in a house on the campus of a small New England college. The play begins with George and Martha coming home from a falculty party drunk. They invite Nick and Honey over and the marriages begin to fall apart with all the arguing and confusion. Edward Albee gives a clear cut, honest picture of reality of marriage and the fears that go hand in hand with love and intimacy.Albee transforms social problems for which no solution is offered into sexual and family strife,problems for which he has a readily available solution.Albee takes questions of power,work, failure and success and privates them giving them status and value exclusively as family issues.Albee's style is beyond clever-often disturbingly immoral.The play is full of human emotions-distress,humiiiation, love and hate.The play emphasizes the men's social function at the play's end.The women's social function is to engage in reproduction and/or non- productive work.Both Honey and Martha had distorted these terms,by engaging in non-productive reproduction-that is not having children or by having a false child. The women are supposed to help husbands be successes and to remain tempting and non threatening subordinate partners in marriage.albee's women conform the stereotypical notions of women's place:that women take care of home and children while the men take care of the rest of the world. the women are seen as a sexobject, wife, cook, volunteer, semi-professional,hostess.The women are verbally abusive to the men precisely because the men do not suceed in the same stereo typical terms as do e women.The women fail to conform the sex role stereotypes only in their refusal to besilent about the already on-going failures of their men. However at the end of Who's Afraid of Virginia Wolf the humiliated,weak, unsuccesful man is shown to be stronger than the brutal, emasculating woman.The family problems are solved, not by investigating their ultimate source,which lies outside the home,but by regulating family relations in a highly normaive manner. George gains control over Martha by ridding the central family of all intruders and rivals to his power.In the end of the play the male child is killed because he is too tempting to his mother and imaginatively tempting in Virginia Woolf and sexually tempting in the American Dream.In conclusion George replaces the Daddy above him, subordinates the wife-child,and succesfully fights a reguard action against his own replacement by the son. This reversal is constructed by Albee's taking questions of power,work,failure or successand privatizing them, making social issues appear exclusively as family issuesand solving them as if they were family issues. Because of this the woman functions as a scapegoat. I thought that this play was great. This play captures the reader's attention and keeps it occupied guessing what will happen next until the end of the play.I would advise every one with a good sense of humor to read this play if it is possible.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen one of the best modern plays, 9. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Taschenbuch)
A play in three acts, a very simple setting, and only four characters who live in a small, university town in America: a middle-aged couple, Martha and George. And a "young and innocent" couple, Nick and Honey. They all meet in a room, in Martha and George's house, very late one night, for a nightcap. And then...all hell breaks lose.
The play tears apart both marriages: the middle aged couple, who seem to hate each other and in the end turn out to be much more devoted to each other as it would seem. The young, seemingly perfect couple, who turn out to have lots of problems of their own. In three heart-breaking scenes, using dialogue that cuts like a knife, Edward Albee has written a masterpiece. He manages to give a clear-cut, honest picture of the reality of marriage, the reality of love, and the fears that go hand in hand with love and intimacy. At some point, in act three, Martha talks about her husband- and it's probably one of the best pieces of literature I've read:
"...George who is out somewhere there in the dark...George who is good to me, and whom I revile; who understands me, and whom I push off; who can make me laugh, and I choke it back in my throat; who can hold me, at night, so that it's warm, and whom I will bite so there's blood; who keeps learning the games we play as quickly as I can change the rules; who can make me happy and I do not wish to be happy, and yes I do wish to be happy, George and Martha: sad, sad, sad."
What more can I say? just read the play, and if you get the chance, watch it performed in the theatre, too.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A Towering Dramatic Achievement, 2. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Taschenbuch)
A Streetcar Named Desire, Death of a Salesmen, Angels in America, Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead, Long Day's Journey into the Night. These are the plays that share the ground with Edward Albee's play Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf. These plays have reached the pinacle of excellence.
Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf centers around an all night drink-fest between two married couples: George and Martha, who have been married for sometime, and Nick and Honey, a relatively new couple. The first act sets all this up, but the way Albee sets this up is the stuff of high drama. The quips his characters throw back and forth prepares the reader for the action that will follow. And we want it to. The action is the verbal brawl that the four principals have. The second act, entitled 'Walpurgisnacht', is one of the most exhausting pieces of fiction. The reader feels drained by the end of the second act. However, it's the third act (correctly entitled 'The Exoricism'-which was Albee's original title) that provides the catharsis.
Edward Albee has written a brilliant, landmark play. The Pulitzers made the biggest mistake when overlooking it for the prize. Albee won for three other plays (Three Tall Women, Seascape, and Delicate Balance), none of which contain the power that is "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf".
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Shattering and affecting., 10. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Taschenbuch)
If there has ever been a play as theatrical, dramatic, and attention-grabbing as Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf, I have yet to read or see it. This play never fades even as it moves into Act Three and pushes 250 pages.
Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf is the story of a couple (George and Martha) fighting reality and its implications. Their need for each other grows along with their ostensible mutual contempt. All this is brought out over the course of one late-night get-together with a younger couple whose presence catalyzes the shattering and inevitable conclusions that George and Martha must come to.
This play is monumentally important, while managing to keep a crisp sense of humor and pacing. Everyone should read this fabulous play.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Achtung! Gekürzte Version!!! Sehr ärgerlich!!!, 3. Juni 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Taschenbuch)
Kauft nicht dieses Exemplar, bzw. informiert euch nochmal genau beim Verkäufer, was das für eine Auflage ist!!!
Ich habe mich nämlich sehr geärgert, als ich irgendwann beim Lesen festgestellt habe, dass da doch irgendwas fehlt (ich kannte es schon vorher). Beim Vergleich mit einem anderem Exemplar sah ich dann, dass da tatsächlich ganze Szenen fehlten - und wie ich fand sehr wichtige Schlüsselszenen. Beim genaueren Hinschauen bemerkte ich dann, dass ich die "Revised Edition, printed March 2006" in den Händen hielt. Na super! Das war nicht ausgewiesen!!! Die Rückgabefrist war schon vorbei und da ich meine Diplomarbeit über das Werk geschrieben habe, habe ich darin auch bereits mehr als rumgekritzelt. Um so ärgerlicher das ganze, da ich mir deswegen natürlich noch extra ein Original besorgen musste.
Das Cover meines Buches sieht anders aus als das abgebildete, also fragt nach!!!!!
Ich hätte am liebsten nur 2 Sterne gegeben, der dritte ist nur für das Werk an sich, das wirklich toll ist (nicht umsonst Thema meiner Diplomarbeit).
Lieferung an sich ging auch schnell und rein äußerlich gab es keine versteckten Mängel.
Trotzdem, wie gesagt, sehr ärgerlich!!!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Eines der genialsten Dramen der Neuzeit, 3. Juni 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Taschenbuch)
Ich habe das Buch im Englisch Leistungskurs gelesen.Zuerst fande ich es langweilig, als ich mich dann aber eingelesen hatte, konnte ich nicht mehr aufhören.Die Metaphern und die verstrickten Beziehungen machen dieses Theaterstück auch lesenswert.Die Charaktere, vor allem George, sind genial gewählt.Einfach toll!!!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen "You gotta have a swine to show you where the truffles are.", 18. Mai 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Taschenbuch)
This was Albee's first three-act play. It was also made into a film with Elizabeth Taylor, Richard Burton, George Segal, and Sandy Dennis. A cocktail party given by an unsuccessful history professor (George) and his wife (Martha) for a new instructor (Nick) with his wife (Honey) turns into a long session of arguments, verbal abuse, revelations, and catharsis. There are several references to George and Martha's 21-year-old son who we later discover to be nonexistent. The younger couple, who are having a child, turn out to have a sterile marriage as well, albeit for different reasons. This play won the 1962-1963 New York Drama Critics' Circle Award. This play is filled with great dialogue: witticisms, verbal abuse, sorrow, and even compassion. It is easily one of the top dramas of the twentieth century.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Just read it., 3. April 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Taschenbuch)
Kept my attention from beginning to end. Really makes me want to re-read it and see the movie. The dialogue is absolutely wonderful!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The Most Beautiful Modern Drama, 6. Juli 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Taschenbuch)
Looking past the rough language and the slew of verbal insults, one can see a sheer literary masterpiece. It wonderfully shows the struggle of George and Martha trying to come to terms with the reality they have created for themselves. When George discloses the secret of their son's nonexistence, he is forcing he and his wife to forfeit their mind games and live as functional human beings. By the way, in rebuttal, the title is absolutely perfect. Anyone with literary knowledge knows that Virginia Woolf was a realist who tried to present life as it truly is. Martha, at the end, is afraid of Woolf, or the symbol of life without pretenses.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The Most Beautiful Modern Drama, 6. Juli 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Taschenbuch)
Looking past the rough language and the slew of verbal insults, one can see a sheer literary masterpiece. It wonderfully shows the struggle of George and Martha trying to come to terms with the reality they have created for themselves. When George discloses the secret of their son's nonexistence, he is forcing he and his wife to forfeit their mind games and live as functional human beings. By the way, in rebuttal, the title is absolutely perfect. Anyone with literary knowledge knows that Virginia Woolf was a realist who tried to present life as it truly is. Martha, at the end, is afraid of Woolf, or the symbol of life without pretenses.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? von Edward Albee (Taschenbuch - 1. März 1983)
EUR 6,00
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen