Kundenrezensionen


76 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (23)
4 Sterne:
 (31)
3 Sterne:
 (10)
2 Sterne:
 (8)
1 Sterne:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A testament to the powers of time and perspective
Fast and true: A book doesn't have to be a masterpiece or a 'classic' in order to speak to you. I knew from chapter one that _Ladder of Years_ was a regular story, without literary pretensions or fancy schmancy trickery designed to impress the reader or flatter our sensibilities. It spoke of the regular and the everyday - mostly of the small things that infuriate us...
Veröffentlicht am 1. Mai 2000 von belladena

versus
1.0 von 5 Sternen This book should never have been published ...
I had hoped for a great book. Anne Tyler's "Ladder of Years" looked promising. I gullibly believed the numerous optimisitc quotes from "USA Today" and "Newsweek" saying that this book was a "sheer delight." As an English Major finishing up my Senior year -- and required to read this book for one of my last classes -- I was...
Am 30. August 1999 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 28 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A testament to the powers of time and perspective, 1. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ladder of Years (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
Fast and true: A book doesn't have to be a masterpiece or a 'classic' in order to speak to you. I knew from chapter one that _Ladder of Years_ was a regular story, without literary pretensions or fancy schmancy trickery designed to impress the reader or flatter our sensibilities. It spoke of the regular and the everyday - mostly of the small things that infuriate us all: the condescending husband, the whinnying nagging unmarried sister of the family, abrubt or impassive children.
The main character in this novel, Delia Grinstead, does what we all, at one time or another, would love to do. On vacation with her family, she picks up her tote bag and simply walks away from the only life she's ever known and begins a new one. And it all begins with a rather unusual meeting with a stranger at the grocery store. This is a fine tale of the powers of time and perspective; not just in the need to be alone, but in the need to be with new people and in surroundings that do not require anything more than what you are willing to offer.
_Ladder of Years_ addresses everyone's favourite fantasy of erasing the past and becoming someone new, which is why it is so easy to get lost in Delia's life, in her thoughts and feelings toward her family. This is just a fantastic book, one that really picks up in the second half. I had to read the last 200 pages in one sitting - even classics aren't that attractive. Anne Tyler has again managed to impress me with the ordinary!
Aside from the import of this novel, Anne Tyler has managed to draw out a great cast of characters. I always say that the author's characters are people you already know, or would (in some cases) like to know. Please read _Ladder of Years_.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen A Compelling Look at Relationships, 8. März 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ladder of Years (Taschenbuch)
When I first finished this book, I thought that rather pointless recitation of a about a woman that ties to change her life, and ends up pretty much the same person she was when she abandoned her family. However, upon consideration this is a very superficial, limited view of this novel. The book is about many things: regret over early life choices, children growing to adulthood, complacency in marriage and most of all, and the relationship between fathers and daughters. I found the last the most interesting and compelling presentation of the novel. This book, almost tacitly, explores the relationship of a woman to her father and the grieving process of losing a parent. For example, her husband was the same profession as her father, and took over his business, before his death. The main charter, Dellia, cannot articulate the reason whey she abandoned her family, and among many, one that was proffered, almost tangentially, was because of some unaddressed grief over losing her father. Introducing Nat as a character well into the book, Nat becomes a surrogate father figure. At the end of the book, with her family reunited, and depending upon her to reestablish the familial bonds after a period of alienation, oddly Nat shows up, uninvited, and without a clear purpose. During Nat's visit, he agonized over the way he treated his children, (three daughters, the same as in her family) and his life. At the end of the evening, Delia tucks him into her father's bed (who she would not let anyone use at the beginning of the book), and kissed him on the head, as she did with her Dad. At that time of closure, she also went back to her husband. It was a touching illustration of the complex father-daughter relationship.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Review-Type Thing, 16. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ladder of Years: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
What do you do when life gets you down, when the weight of your life becomes too much to bear? Simple. Just walk away. That's what we'd all like to do, anyway: leave it all behind and start over. And that's exactly what forty-year-old Delia Grinstead does in Anne Tyler's 1995 novel LADDER OF YEARS. In the book, Delia strolls away on one of her family's annual beach trips and hitches a ride with a stranger to the town of Bay Borough, where she begins her new life. Abandoning her past with her unappreciative family, she trades in her "baby-doll" wardrobe for some more conservative clothing, takes a job as a secretary, and spends her nights reading accomplished literature in place of her trashy romance novels. Though the reader's first impression of Delia may be of contempt for a selfish weakling who couldn't handle the pressure of a family, they will soon find that there is more to the woman's situation than simple everyday stress. Her marriage may be a sham, her children harbor nothing but embarassment for the mother they have suddenly become too cool for, and her near venture into adultry has left her shaken, stirred, and humiliated. This is an engaging, very personal story of a woman's journey into her own spirit to find out just how far she is willing to go to be happy. It's very funny, surprisingly touching, and relatable for everybody in at least one way. The book's only downfall is a rather unsatisfying ending that leaves many questions unanswered. However, the ending does not come near to ruining the book. LADDER OF YEARS is a joy to read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen This book should never have been published ..., 30. August 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ladder of Years (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
I had hoped for a great book. Anne Tyler's "Ladder of Years" looked promising. I gullibly believed the numerous optimisitc quotes from "USA Today" and "Newsweek" saying that this book was a "sheer delight." As an English Major finishing up my Senior year -- and required to read this book for one of my last classes -- I was astounded that this book became a "New York Times" bestseller and chosen by "Time" magazine as one of the years ten best books. What is this world coming too? I suppose we're looking for new books to replace the older literary renditions of "the woman's need to make a place of her own" and creating a rebirth in literature for the "tired, worn out and taken-advantage-of woman," such as Edith Wharton's "The Age of Innocence" and Kate Chopin's "The Awakening." I believe we need to find better literary critics and judges, because this book isn't even remotely close to the quality of the former books. I haven't had the pleasure (or pain) of reading Tyler's previous works, but I have little desire to do so because of the bad taste left in my mouth. I kept wondering if it was just me who thought this book was ridiculous,unrealistic and just plain thoughtless. I was sorely disappointed in this Pulitzer Prize winning author. If you are wanting to read this book, I would HIGHLY recommend that you don't ... it isn't worth your time.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen The grass is always greener on the other side., 14. Februar 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ladder of Years (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
When finishing the book, Ladder of Years, I sat on my couch looking out the window thinking to myself, " that was a terrible ending." It took me some time to really try and understand what the author was trying to do. For my own selfish reasons, I wanted the book to end very profoundly, but it didn't. I enjoyed the main character Delia Grinstead. To me she seemed to have a split personality (like we all do) in that she was the wife of a doctor and had 3 adolescent children, but yet she wanted to know what it would be like to be somebody else. When she was around her family she was the happy go lucky (almost flakey), problem solving, run to everyones' rescue house wife and mother. When she left her children and husband she became Ms. Grinstead who was the more serious and conservative woman who people in Bay Borough found intriguing. Anne Tyler was very clever in writing this book in which I first responded to with disgust. You are almost lead to believe that the way that Delia will work out her problems will be very complex since she seesm to have caught herself in a web. It suprised me how Anne Tyler played with my emotions in how I thought that the book was going to end with a bang, but it was ever so subtle. After spending some time and thinking about it for a while, I decided that I really enjoyed this book and learned that a book doesn't have to necessarily be deep in order to receive meaning out of it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen The "Ladder" of a married woman's life?, 16. Februar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ladder of Years (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
Does leaving your husband constitute as one rung on the Ladder of years, or the Ladder of a married woman's life? Well, for three women in this novel it does. Rosemary Bly-Brice, Cordelia Grinstead, and Ellie Miller all fled the marraige scene, perhaps in search for their lost idetities. I enjoyed the transfromation of Delia throughout the novel. At first, she was mystified with the demeanor of Rosemary because she looked glamorous and she left her husband to begin a new life. The awakenings that Delia experienced about herself in her meeting Adrian and Rosemry inspired her to leave the dependence and comfort of her family. As Delia emerged into her new life in Bay borough, she unconsiously transformed into an individual, shedding her old identity, to become MISS Grinstead. Enter Ellie Miller, the estranged wife of Joel Miller and mother to Noah. Delia basically responds to a job offer to replace Ellie as a live in caretaker. Delia and Ellie meet and eventually become friends. Just as Delia admired Rosemary in the beginning, Ellie was now envious of Delia's self-sufficiency. Ellie asked Delia how she could just take a vactation by herself. I enjoyed this pattern of trasformation in Delia, as well as the entire novel. Although I was upset with the ending and Delia's disrespectful grown kids, I believe that Delia had attained the independence that we all need to be accepted, respected, and appreciated.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen A part of me wants to do what Delia did, just walk away., 24. Januar 1998
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ladder of Years (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
I admired a large part of this book, Delia's view of her family, Delia's need to leave, Delia's experience with living with herself. I appreciated that Delia, for the first time in her life, could leave home and establish her own self-worth among strangers and be appreciated by those around her in a way that her own family apparently never did. However, Ms. Tyler could have done a better job in estalishing the characteristics of the key players in her book. For example, Sam, I sensed he was distant and somewhat aloof but I never really felt I understood fully why Delia needed to run away from him. And Delia's father -- I would have liked more history regarding their symbiotic relationship, at least that's the type of relationship I thought Ms. Tyler was trying to establish. Also, I wanted to know more about her relationship with her sisters. The ending was disappointing. Delia, at last, seemed to accept the good and bad in herself, and in her husband and her children. Ms. Tyler never really seemed interested in persuing anything profound in her feelings toward Delia's sisters. And what about Joel and Noah who had come to depend on her, actually need and love her. I generally liked Ladder of Years, I related to much of what Delia was going through but in the end the book just did not have enough depth and there was only a cursory exploration of significant characters.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2.0 von 5 Sternen Book of Thought, 16. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ladder of Years (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
I read "Ladder of Years" for a college english class. I initally viewed the book as just another assignment, but quickly found myself genuninely interested in the story as I continued reading. After completion of the novel, I reflected upon the various messages Anne Tyler was trying to convey in her novel. There are many different issues addressed in this novel. The one I found the most interesting is how the main character, Delia, uses fairy tales and imagination to convey her thoughts and feelings throughout the story. This process also helped to better understand Delia's actions in the novel. Another issue that was used in the novel was that of abandonment. Delia decided on the spur of the moment to leave her family and the novel shows how she alters her life as a result of her decision. The novel deals with a lot of powerful emotional and psychological issues. It is interesting to see how Delia uses her past and her imagination in her relationships with people in both her new life and her family back home. This is a novel was written with subtle messages included. The ending was somewhat disappointing to many readers, but it was a statisfactory one to me. It provided closure to one journey and as a result, opened Delia's eyes to what was really important to her in her life.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Runaway Teenager, 17. Mai 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ladder of Years (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
In the story Ladder of Years the main character Delia could not stop "running away". I think even though she had many "runaways" she still did not acommplish anything. When she returned from her many runaways she still was not a change person and she still had little or no respect. Throughout the novel you can see no change through her pattern of escape. Delia was a person who would just drop everything and just "runaway". The author of the novel makes a very vivit picture of how no one even notices or may I dare say cares about Delia and her many escapes. Delia to me is an display of how woman reacts to things instead of taking charge and demanding respect. Delia reacted as a "runaway teenager" through her many escapes. As a reader her escapes allowed me to do what many novels allow readers to do. That is escape or runaway from a present stitution to a new found world that gives us that little needed respect. Even if when we return from our escape and things are still the same or have change only a little. It is still good to escape from the present once and a while and have things just as we wish they could be. That is why I give this book three ***. For allowing me and Delia to runway from the present and escape into the novel.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Everyone's Secret Desire, 16. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Ladder of Years (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
I loved Ladder of Years because it reflects my own, and many others, unspoken desire to walk away from their life. After an exciting career, a good marriage, or wonderful children, most people go through a time of reflection and possible regret about things they never did with their life. Delia experiences this, but does what most people would never dare. She simply walks away. Tyler develops the characters of Delia and her family thoroughly as she sets the plot, making it easy to sympathize with everyone in this situation. Without this character development, I don't believe I would have liked Delia very much for abandoning her family. Tyler is also brilliant in her portrayal of Delia as a nurturing person even after she leaves her family. Delia takes in strays, from cats to people, causing the reader to step away from judging her as a cold-hearted selfish person. The wonderful part of the story is that in the end, Delia finds her way back to her family, and the reader can imagine that the family survives and become closer after this separation. Delia has found herself, accepted herself and her life's path, and finds room in her heart for those she loves and those who need it. I wholeheartedly recommend this book to readers looking for a little joy and hope.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 28 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Ladder of Years: A Novel
Ladder of Years: A Novel von Anne Tyler (Taschenbuch - 26. März 1996)
EUR 11,78
Gewöhnlich versandfertig in 2 bis 4 Wochen.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen