Kundenrezensionen


138 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (85)
4 Sterne:
 (24)
3 Sterne:
 (13)
2 Sterne:
 (7)
1 Sterne:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Beautiful and Moving
I first read this book when I was 15, and reread it four years later, and was as moved by the words and story that Chaim Potok wove. This book gave me a deeper understanding of two very different Jewish traditions, and Potok's words are poignant and elonquent.
The most amazing thing about this book is that I felt so much for the characters, Danny and Reuben, who...
Am 26. Juli 2000 veröffentlicht

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen The Chosen
This novel was one of those iffy books. Its theme was really interesting and true to life. The characters' development were intriguing in that you could see how they reached what they were to become. However, I didn't like this book. The theme was very good, but it was something that was already known to me. It didn't have that much an impact on me. But people...
Am 8. April 2000 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 214 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Beautiful and Moving, 26. Juli 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Chosen (Taschenbuch)
I first read this book when I was 15, and reread it four years later, and was as moved by the words and story that Chaim Potok wove. This book gave me a deeper understanding of two very different Jewish traditions, and Potok's words are poignant and elonquent.
The most amazing thing about this book is that I felt so much for the characters, Danny and Reuben, who struggle with their self-identities and desires, and how two boys with different traditions were able to find a common meeting ground. Danny's struggle with both his particular beliefs and his thirst for knowledge are touching and frustrating, and means so much in terms of his familial and personal development.
Read this book--it's touching and powerful, and I believe that despite its melancholy tone, it is one of the most enlightening books I have ever read; both in terms of religion and human desire.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Eine gute Vorlage für "The Promise", 8. Mai 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Chosen (Taschenbuch)
Ich habe erst "The Promise" gelesen, die eigentlich eine Vorsetzung von "The Chosen" ist, und war von der Geschichte total begeistert. Das erste Roman von Potok ist auch sehr spannend und entdeckt viel über das jüdische Leben in der Diaspora (USA), in der Zeiten der zweiten Welt Krieg und der Gründung des Staates Israel. Ich habe mich für 4 Sterne entschieden, denn "The Promise" ist für mich 5 Sterne Wert. Die einzige unterschied ist beim Still. Potok hat sich einfach bei seinem späteren Werken noch raffiniert.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen An Inspiration to Learn More about Silence and the Talmud, 7. Oktober 2012
Von 
Havauka (Regensburg, Germany) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Chosen (Taschenbuch)
Perhaps nobody who read "The Chosen" has yet discovered that the author Chaim Potok needs only one and a half years for the period between the end of World War II and the Unit Nations Vote for the Partition Plan (November 29, 1947). A slight mistake and a very unimportant one.

This novel is one of my favorite ten books, which I already read twice, and here are my reasons:

(1) It give a very interesting overview of the time at the end of World War II until the foundation of the state of Israel from the point of view of the Americans.

(2) The friendship between Danny and Reuven makes the reader rejoice with all its ups and suffer with all its downs in a very emotional way.

(3) The book is full of very valuable Jewish slogans. I like this one most: "The Talmud says that a person should do two things for himself, one is to acquire a teacher and the other is to choose a friend".

(4) This book really inspires me to learn more about silence, how to listen into my heart, and especially makes me interested in the Talmud.

(5) Moreover, the plot is a nice story with many climaxes and a very fascinating end.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen "The Chosen" Is A Miracle For All, 9. Juli 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Chosen (Taschenbuch)
I am an African American attorney who read this book as part of collecting readings for a summer trip with Operation Understanding to share with Black and Jewish high school students. Operation Understanding takes 8 Black and 8 Jewish students between their Junior and Senior years of high school on a trip across the South and Northeast, stopping at places of significance to both, in an effort to restore the alliance that existed between the groups especially during the Civil Rights Movement. This was the perfect book to gain a deeper understanding of American Jewry for the trip.
The book explores the relationship between two deeply religious boys from profoundly different traditions within that religion who are accidentally -- divinely, really -- brought together. The development of both boys' spirituality starts with lessons from their fathers and deepens with lessons from each other.
The Chosen takes place in World War II America. I was already familiar with many of the classic accounts of Holocaust survivors (Anne Frank, Elie Wiesel, and others.) This book richly filled a gap in that understanding by presenting a fully formed first person account, though ficitious, of the wrenching experience of American Jews who helplessly learned of the horror from here.
The book also offers thorough background information (which will have to be supplemented by further reading) about Jewish history, both cultural and religious. The author patiently explains terms presumably unfamiliar to the general reader and then trusts the reader to turn back if, during the course of reading the novel, the terms are momentarily forgotten. Those reviewers who said that Potok left the reader unaided were simply not paying close attention.
Beyond its fascinating historical and religious perspectives, this book's elegant craftsmanship and universal themes will move anyone, regardless of background. Potok's gift for writing regional American dialogue is similar to that of Twain and Steinbeck. Thematically, especially moving to me was the way in which the fathers' mostly wordless love and support for their sons manifested itself in the friends' often wordless love and support for each other. It is significant in this regard that the fathers never meet in the novel, even as they separately express a conflicted admiration for each other when each speaks to one or both boys. When both boys choose career paths their fathers had not expected, Potok allows the reader to share all four characters' realization that it is fulfilling the expectations of God, the Father that ultimately matters most.
I will share an excerpt of this extraordinary book with the young people on our trip. And when we reach New York, my hometown, I'm giving my copy to my Dad.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Looking into a different lifestyle and sympathising with it, 28. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Chosen (Taschenbuch)
The Chosen lets readers of any background get a good insiders view the life of religious Jews, their life, their thoughts and feelings.
It gives readers the chance to understand that we are all humans, with similar fears, emotions even though we may be of different backgrounds or religions.
If there was one author that I was to name to help people understand and sympathise with one another, Chaim Potok would be it. In his books, you will find yourself feeling the emotions, understanding the fears of the characters, and this, hopefully will help us all realize that we are similar as humans, although we may be different in lifestyle or belief. Empathy and sympathy is, after all, what we need alot of.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen One of the most touching books I have ever read., 28. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Chosen (Taschenbuch)
After four years of Honors and AP English courses I have had the pleasure of reading many wonderful works by various talented authors. This book, however, is by far one of my favorites. The touching story of these two friends and their heart-wrenching relationships with their fathers brought tears to my eyes. Chaim Potok offers an intimate look into the traditions and everyday lives of two very different Jewish families. Never before have I had such a clear glimpse into these very different worlds. I must be thankful that this wonderful story gave me a greater appreciation for my relationship with my father.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Absolutely enchanting!, 21. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Chosen (Taschenbuch)
Mr. Potok has done a great job; from the moment he starts the book, til the very last word, I felt as if I were actually part of the story. The way he portrays the character makes it so you feel as if you've known that character for your entire life. This book only goes to show that friendship really is forever, despite what happens in life. I truly hope that readers, young and old, will discover this book, and enjoy it as much as I did.
Some words however, were in Hebrew or some other foreign language, and were hard to understand. Context clues didn't help my frusteration. I suggest that a glossary should be added, or maybe a Hebrew-English dictionary.
Because of the uncomprehendable words, I am forced to only award this book 4 stars.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen an enduring classic, 15. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Chosen (Taschenbuch)
If you missed this book in your childhood, it's not too late to read it right away. This remains one of my favorite books of all time. I can still remember almost every major scene -- who could forget these two friends meeting over a baseball accident that almost blinded Reuven Malter. Of all the books on relationships between kids, this is my favorite. It's extremely well written, and the way their friendship develops is incredibly touching. Even better, the reader will be taken inside some of the most interesting descriptions of Hasidism and orthodox Jewry to be found anywhere. In fact, when I first read this book, I got interested in Gematria, a Hebrew form of numerology and ended up years later writing a huge research paper on the topic. This book is a bit hard for 8th and 9th graders but strong readers should have no trouble. It's rare that a book this intellectual and this educational be so moving.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A GREAT book, 11. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Chosen (Taschenbuch)
I read this book as a school asignment and when I was handed it by my 10th grade teacher, I groaned. By law, I hate reading school assigned books, but I ablsoutely loved this one. This has got to be one of the best books I have ever read. The way in which Chaim Potok explored the friendship between Reuven and Danny (the main characters) and their relationships with their fathers is wonderful. This was not a book that you read and then you move on. This is a book that changes the way in which you look at your life and the happenings around you. The story will affect your life, feelings, and way of thinking. Go read it and see what I mean!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen I love The Chosen!, 31. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Chosen (Bibliothekseinband)
This book is very close to me. I was easily able to relate.The religious struggles Reuven and Danny go through are accurate.This book is a window into the Jewish-American culture durring WWII. This book helped me to see that I am not the only Jewish-American teen who has to go through finding a grasp on my religion, making friends, and dealing with parents who have aspirations for you that you just do not want to fulfill. The Chosen served as a guide for me, and it is close to my heart, a must read!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 214 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Chosen
The Chosen von Chaim Potok (Taschenbuch - 12. April 1987)
EUR 5,80
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen