Kundenrezensionen


60 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (43)
4 Sterne:
 (8)
3 Sterne:
 (4)
2 Sterne:
 (4)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen What you leave behind
"Drawing Blood" ist - wie jedes Buch von Poppy Z. Brite - einfach nur der Hammer! Es ist spannend, es ist lustig und es ist erschreckend. Genial fand ich auch die Idee, die Geschichte im selben Ort wie "Lost Souls" stattfinden zu lassen und dadurch von ein paar bereits bekannten Charakteren begleitet zu werden.
Das ganze Buch hindurch glaubte ich...
Veröffentlicht am 26. August 2003 von clean_bones_gone

versus
2.0 von 5 Sternen Ambitious attempt....but failed to deliver
The enjoyment factor of this book was quite low for me. I am not quite sure if me failing to enjoy this book was due to the style, the story-line, or just the characters, but something was definitely missing. The novel had a rather sterile feel to it--no beauty and poetry, just "blunt trauma." Such a style can used in an effective way, but in this novel it...
Am 24. Juni 1999 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 26 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen What you leave behind, 26. August 2003
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Drawing Blood (Taschenbuch)
"Drawing Blood" ist - wie jedes Buch von Poppy Z. Brite - einfach nur der Hammer! Es ist spannend, es ist lustig und es ist erschreckend. Genial fand ich auch die Idee, die Geschichte im selben Ort wie "Lost Souls" stattfinden zu lassen und dadurch von ein paar bereits bekannten Charakteren begleitet zu werden.
Das ganze Buch hindurch glaubte ich zu wissen, wie es schließlich enden wird, nach jeder neuen Information änderten sich meine Erwartungen ;-) Das tatsächliche Ende war dann allerdings komplett anders als erwartet. Was ich allerdings etwas bedauere, da meiner Meinung nach, der Schluss von "Drawing Blood" fast ein bisschen zu "positiv" ausfiel. Ich betrachte das allerdings als Resultat meines persönlichen Geschmackes und nicht als Fehler des Buches (und wenn ich mich zu sehr nach einem total schockierenden Ende sehne, les ich einfach nochmal "Exquisite Corpse" *ggg*)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen absolut abhängig-machend, 22. Februar 2002
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Drawing Blood (Taschenbuch)
Es war das zweite Buch von "lovely Poppy", das ich gelesen habe (ich begann mit "Lost Souls") und ich liebe es!! Es ist meiner Ansicht nach ihr Meisterstück.
Ich bin ein absoluter Fan des Vampir-/Goth-/Psychologischer Horror-/Dark Fantasy-Genres und habe von vielen verschiedenen Autoren die unterschiedlichsten Ausfertigungen dazu gelesen, von denen ich viele sehr gerne mag und bewundere, aber Poppy ist die MEISTERIN!!
Sie besitzt die Gabe mit gezielten Worten eine Situation, Personen, die Umgebung und besonders Gerüche so lebhaft darzustellen, dass es für mich jedesmal traurig ist, wenn eines Ihrer Bücher zu Ende geht und ich wieder aus dieser Welt schlüpfen muss. Sie erschafft einen Mikrokosmos, der so real erscheint, dass man glaubt darin zu existieren. Die Charaktere erscheinen wie alte Bekannte und man LEBT in dem Buch.
Ich würde jedem Leser empfehlen, der sich das zutraut, die Bücher in der Originalsprache zu lesen. Das ist Sprachgenuss PUR!!
Poppy, you're the Queen!!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Long live Poppy!, 13. Juli 2000
Von 
Josh Hitchens (Philadelphia, PA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Drawing Blood (Taschenbuch)
I recently read "Lost Souls," Poppy Z. Brite's first novel in two two days. Yesterday I purchased "Drawing Blood" and finished all 403 pages of it one sitting. Poppy is now my favorite author of fiction.
"Drawing Blood" is a haunted house novel. But where many authors make the mistake of putting the spirited house front and center, Poppy puts it on the back burner. Brought down to an excrutiating simmer, she focuses on her two protagonists. Zach is a hacker on the run who ends up in Missing Mile. Trevor is the only survivor of his father's murderous rampage through the shadowy hallways of the house on Violin Road. Tortured Trevor returns there twenty years later to confront the horrors that still reside within the bloody house. The narrative counts more on vivid descriptions and the beautifully executed relationship of Trevor and Zach, giving this novel far more power, soul, and love that her first fantastic outing.
This hypnotic book could have faltered and been ruined by Poppy's lengthy description of Trevor and Zach entering another world. When Anne Rice does this sort of thing, I am bored to death. When Poppy Z. Brite does it, I'm captivated, hanging on to every richly conceived word.
It's interesting to ponder the role of women in Poppy's books. In "Lost Souls," Jessy and Ann die, and in "Drawing Blood" Eddy doesn't get what she wants most.
In short, Poppy Z. Brite is the most creative and captivating blockbuster novelist of our time. Anne Rice doesn't deserve the title.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Brite - Großartig, wie jedes Mal, 24. Dezember 2001
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Drawing Blood (Taschenbuch)
Es ist nicht leicht, sich auf diese Art von Büchern ein zulassen - tut man es dennoch, wird man alles andere als enttäuscht! Poppy Z. Brite ist eine außergewöhnliche Autorin mit außergewöhnlichen Ideen. DRAWING BLOOD sollte man in Ruhe für sich lesen und wirken lassen - ohne es an anderen Büchern der Autorin zu werten.
Dann erkennt man das wahre Potential ihrer Arbeit - in der Intoleranz, Kleinbürgerlichkeit und Oberflächlichkeit keine Chance haben. Haben können. Jede Handlung, jeder Satz trifft - wenn man bereit ist, sich ohne Vorurteile in ihre Welt zu begen. Ich wünsche ihnen eine ungewöhliche Leseerfahrung und Bekanntschaft mit Zach und Trevor...Grüßen Sie die beiden herzlich von mir...
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Mein absolutes Lieblingsbuch..., 19. Januar 2007
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Drawing Blood (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Ich liebe dieses Buch! Es ist der einzige Roman, den ich in meinem Leben mehrmals gelesen habe.

Das Buch ist einfach verdammt unterhaltsam - Horror! Sex! Drogen! Gewalt! Rock'n'Roll!

Aber was wirklich beeindruckt, was am Ende im Gedächtnis haften bleibt, ist die absolut herzzerreißende, rührende, wunderschön beschriebene Liebesgeschichte.

In gewisser Weise ist das Buch naiv, jung und unbeschwert - eine wilde, lustige, manchmal abstoßend brutale, dann wieder anbetungswürdig süße Achterbahntour. Sicher nicht jedermanns Sache, aber auf jeden Fall zu empfehlen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen This book is TOTALY AWESOME!, 21. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Drawing Blood (Taschenbuch)
First of this book was recomended to me by a friend, I usualy dont read many novels, but I decided to give this one a chance ... IM SO GLAD I DID! Not only could i not put the book down, I got sooooooo into the charactors, its like i knew them personaly! It was incredible! IF I COULD RECOMMEND ANY BOOK THIS IS DEFINALY IT! IF YOU EVER WANNA CHAT ABOUT THIS BOOK OR JUST WANNA SAY HI MY E-MAIL IS JETSTREAM@NOVIA.NET HOPE THIS HAS BEEN HELPFULL!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Brite surpasses Rice...and does it with fewer words, 7. März 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Drawing Blood (Taschenbuch)
I stumbled onto Poppy Brite quite by accident. I read the cover summary of her first book, "Lost Souls?" and thought it sounded interesting. I read that title in two days. Luckily, her second novel, "Drawing Blood," had just been released. I picked it up and finished it in one day. When I put it down, my first thought was, "Good, but not as good as 'Lost Souls'." But as the days went on, it was "Drawing Blood" that continued to reverberate in my mind. I have now read it over 10 times and find more depth with every reading. Brite has the ability to create characters that feel as if they are your best friends, and creates locales with the mastery of a poet. A big Anne Rice fan, I was amazed by Brite's ability to accomplish far more with her characters and settings with less verbosity. Never once did I skim any of Brite's books. Don't get me wrong, I am still an Anne Rice fan, but with Anne Rice, I often found myself skipping over pages that detailed one cornerstone of a building. Also, unlike Rice, Brite does not mince words about her characters' lives. Whereas Rice hints at same sex attraction between her characters, Brite creates no allusion...her characters are out-and-out gay just as her straight characters are definately straight. "Drawing Blood" is an amazing character study, an endearing love story, and a treatise on psychological horror. Think of it as "The Shining" of the nineties with a distinctly GenX flavor.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Please add more stars- 5 just don't suffice., 8. August 1998
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Drawing Blood (Taschenbuch)
Despite its trappings of horror, this book is not primarily about ghosts, or violence, or any of the other cliched mainstays of the genre, but about the characters. Poppy Z. Brite is the best descriptive writer that I have ever encountered - she pulls you into the scenes that she imagines, changing them from printed words to sensory memories. Half the time, I find myself re-reading her words thinking "oh, yeah, that is how it smells/tastes/feels!" For example - I read this book when I was sixteen, single and lonely. I thought that her descriptions of the relations between the characters were both painfully evocative (in terms of unrequited love/lust - remember being sixteen?) and impossibly perfect (in regards to the requited emotions). Then, a couple of years later, after finally falling in love, I can remember looking up and thinking "this is awfully familiar" - but the familiarity was not due to any personal experience, but rather to the me! mory of her words, as experienced by her characters. All in all, it is the most honest novel that I have ever encountered in terms of the reality of human interactions. All of the descriptions are remarkable, but particularly those concerning love , both physical and metaphysical. Personally, I think that it is the best work that she has produced to date - so whether you've enjoyed her previous work or not, try this one - all that you're risking is five dollars, and you stand to gain a great deal more than that.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen My favorite Poppy book..., 23. Oktober 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Drawing Blood (Taschenbuch)
I recently re-read this book, and I was amazed all over again at how good it is. Okay, Poppy may very well be the most obsessed writer since David Goodis (I'm not sure she could write a book without going into her manias about "beautiful gay boys in love" and how cool it is to get drunk and smoke pot and overglorification of the whole superficial goth scene), but she writes so incredibly well that it's pretty easy to overlook those things. Poppy's the kind of writer who makes you jealous... if you write, it's inspirational to read her because you continually run across a finely-turned sentence or a certain description that just floors you, and you want to try and top it. And, you usually can't. I'm now re-reading _Lost Souls_ and enjoying it, too, even though I think this book is still the best thing she's written so far. I reccommend all her books, and if you like Poppy, then you're sure to love Caitlin R. Kiernan as well - _Silk_ is incredible. Poppy's not for everyone, I think - it's strong stuff in many ways - but if you can handle it, you'll be well-rewarded.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Another Mississippi review, 15. Juli 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Drawing Blood (Taschenbuch)
I'm writing this review in hopes that Poppy Z. reads it. I have to agree with the previous review from Mississippi...you have SO more to offer than entertainment for the Beavis and Butthead crowd and with this book you begin to prove this point. When I read LOST SOULS I was disappointed. I expected more than drugged out experiences, acid rock, and unwashed bodies. I purchased LOST SOULS and DRAWING BLOOD at the same time. After reading the first book, DRAWING BLOOD collected dust for awhile before I could talk myself into giving the 2nd book a chance. Thank goodness I did. Still more drugs and unclean people than I care to read about, but a wonderful STORY! Totally entertaining and HIGHLY recommended. Dear Poppy Z., please write more of the mysteries of the south in your books. You know exactly of what I speak. PLEASE PLEASE can I persuade you to write a gothic horror tale based in New Orleans with clean people and no dopers? I think you would have jillions of us "adult" horror fans rushing to Amazon for that one!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 26 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Drawing Blood
Drawing Blood von Poppy Brite (Taschenbuch - 1. Oktober 1994)
EUR 6,00
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen