Kundenrezensionen


103 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (50)
4 Sterne:
 (21)
3 Sterne:
 (10)
2 Sterne:
 (4)
1 Sterne:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


5 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Wieder gut
Nachdem ich kurz hintereinander alle Grisham-Romane gelesen habe - glaube ich auch wie viele meiner Vorredner, dass es einer seiner schlechtesten Romane ist. Die Geschichte, um eine junge Studentin, die mit Ihrer Recherche den Mord an zwei Supreme Court Richtern aufdeckt und dabei in politische Fallstricke gerät ist an sich nicht schlecht und ich habe mich auch dabei...
Veröffentlicht am 8. April 2003 von Marc Stoeber

versus
2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Good Plot, But Grisham Lacks Any Real Writing Talent
This is the first Grisham book I have read and I am in the middle of it. I find the plot enjoyable, but the writing is stale, the charachters are poorly developed and the description, what little there is, leaves quite a bit to be desired. The story line is enjoyable and if this was writen by someone else with more skill for writiing, I would think it should be a...
Veröffentlicht am 14. Juni 2000 von alpine18


‹ Zurück | 1 211 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Good Plot, But Grisham Lacks Any Real Writing Talent, 14. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Pelican Brief (Taschenbuch)
This is the first Grisham book I have read and I am in the middle of it. I find the plot enjoyable, but the writing is stale, the charachters are poorly developed and the description, what little there is, leaves quite a bit to be desired. The story line is enjoyable and if this was writen by someone else with more skill for writiing, I would think it should be a wonderfull book. I like the aspect of espionage, but find the parts about the governmet layers boring. When the setting changes and Callahan enters the plot again, I don't mind reading. These chapters at least have a few semi-well developed characters and it is not a whole bunch of boring lawyer drible. In fact I rather like Callahan's character, but he plays a bit of a minor role in the plot so far. Well I won't bore you any more, you'll have to make your own call on this one, if you like a strong plot and don't mind bad writing, you would probably like this book
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Wieder gut, 8. April 2003
Von 
Marc Stoeber - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(HALL OF FAME REZENSENT)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Pelican Brief (Taschenbuch)
Nachdem ich kurz hintereinander alle Grisham-Romane gelesen habe - glaube ich auch wie viele meiner Vorredner, dass es einer seiner schlechtesten Romane ist. Die Geschichte, um eine junge Studentin, die mit Ihrer Recherche den Mord an zwei Supreme Court Richtern aufdeckt und dabei in politische Fallstricke gerät ist an sich nicht schlecht und ich habe mich auch dabei ertappt, dass ich den für Grisham typischen Redefluss hineingezogen wurde - aber irgendetwas fehlt. Nach langem Überlegen bin ich zu dem Schluss gekommen, dass man bei Grisham jetzt eine gewisse Sättigung erreicht hat. Anders als andere Bestseller - Autoren, die sich immer wieder neue Orte bzw. grundsätzliche andere Geschichten erzählen (siehe Ken Follet, der nach langer Zeit sich wieder einmal seinem Ursprungsthema Spionage im zweiten Weltkrieg zugewandt hat) ist die Abfolge bei Grisham relativ gleich. Die Romane spielen immer im Süden der USA und immer ein juristisches Umfeld. Das diesmal eine politische Note mit integriert wurde spielt da eigentlich keine Rolle. Zwar fühl man sich in den Büchern von Grisham „wie zu Hause", aber nach einiger Zeit merkt man, dass die Erinnerung an die einzelnen Romane langsam zu verschwimmen beginnt. Es fehlen einem neue Anreize bzw. Überraschungseffekte. Da hilft es auch nicht mehr, dass Grisham einen sehr lockeren Sprachstil hat, der es einem das Lesen einfach gestaltet. Für jeden, der sich an der gesamten Grishamthematik noch nicht leidgelesen hat ist dieses Buch mit Sicherheit ein Gewinn, da man in gewohnter Qualität unterhalten wird.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen The Pelican Brief, 7. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Pelican Brief (Taschenbuch)
John Grisham, who has written many best-sellers, authored The Pelican Brief. The book is about a legal brief written by the main character, Darby Shaw, who is a law student. Darby's document is her theory about who committed the double assassination of two Supreme Court justices. The book is fiction, set in present day Washington D.C. and New Orleans, Louisiana. Another main character is Gray Grantham, a news reporter for the Washington Post.
During the course of the book, Darby Shaw witnesses a murder. She is the intended victim. Luckily, she survives by not being in the car when it explodes. At this point, she realizes that she is being followed. While she tries to get away from the killers, she desperately searches for someone she can trust. The person she turns to is Gray Grantham, who helps her find out who is trying to kill her and why. John Grisham weaves an intricate story as Shaw and Grantham attempt to solve the mystery. If I were to give this novel a rating from one to ten, it would be a seven. The book is very intriguing but lacks action. For those who like law stories, this would be a great book to read. For ones like me who like action books, I would recommend it, but not highly. There is a movie based on this novel which I think is more exciting than the book. I say that because the movie is easier to understand and it doesn't have statements meaningless to the story. The novel is written in the third person. I prefer a book written in the third person because it gives a broader perspective.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Good even after the movie, 18. Juli 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Pelican Brief (Taschenbuch)
My husband cannot understand why I prefer to read a book before I see the movie because it's such fun to see what they leave in, what they take out, how they cast the characters, etc. But I didn't have the opportunity to do so with this book. It was the wonderful movie with Denzell Washington and Julia Roberts which sent me looking for Grisham's books. I've been reading them in the order in which he wrote them and have found them all wonderful. The Pelican Brief exhibits very well something I often find in Grisham's work - the expert unfolding of the story and of the details about the characters' lives. This book, in particular, has a complex plot and a secret long-held within the pages of the book (and as well in the movie) that keeps you spell-bound. I found both main characters to be interesting and I kept wanting to know more about how they thought and how they ticked as they tried to save their lives. Read the book first and then see the movie!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Corrupt Lawyers Act on Behalf of a Corrupt Client to Manipulate Corrupt Politicians and Be Chased by Investigative Reporters, 25. April 2008
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Pelican Brief (Taschenbuch)
If you are thinking about going to law school, this wouldn't be a bad novel to read to get a sense of what the profession is all about before you commit yourself to three expensive (and potentially boring) years of education. I don't recall a book that displays so many of the corrupt sides of legal practice and education in a single fictional tale. If that weren't enough, the book also delves deeply into the international assassination genre and creates a modern-day fictional version of investigating a government cover-up at the highest levels, a la Watergate.

But a pure heart among all the jaded ones can make a difference . . . that's the morale of this story as beautiful, dedicated, and brilliant law student Darby Shaw speculates on what motive might tie the assassination of two Supreme Court justices back to a pending legal case. Improbably (the weakest part of the story), she sniffs out the potential that no one else does -- that this is an attempt to fix an appeal.

The Pelican Brief as a title is a misnomer. Darby writes her thoughts (a crude essay, not a brief) about what might be going on and shares them with her professor lover who passes them along to a counsel for the FBI. Pretty soon someone is taking her ideas seriously, and the pages will fly through your fingers as fast as you can read until you get to the end.

John Grisham doesn't quite have his genres down in this book, and apparently the success of The Firm meant that his editors were more interested in getting The Pelican Brief published than making it better. You could fix this novel into a five-star effort with about two hours of editing to reduce the improbabilities and speed up the slow parts.

But if you don't mind having unlikely events pull a riveting story together, you'll have a lot of fun with The Pelican Brief. I listened to the reading by Alexander Adams and felt that the story worked better listened to than it would be if read silently.

I admire John Grisham for the imagination to conceive of such a wild story. He kept surprising me with his plot developments, and the trip was almost all fun.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2.0 von 5 Sternen A lamer version of "The Firm", 30. November 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Pelican Brief (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Let me say upfront that I don't think John Grisham is a good writer. That being said, I thought "A Time to Kill" was a very good book -- not quite at the level of "To Kill a Mockingbird," but still well-written. I wouldn't call "The Firm" a good book by any means, but it created an atmosphere of paranoia effectively.
"The Pelican Brief," however, began a downward slide for Grisham, the depths of which I stopped monitoring after "The Client."
First, "The Pelican Brief" is just too much to swallow. In "The Firm," Mitch had the FBI helping him -- sort of -- so you can suspend some disbelief and think that he might survive his employment with the mob. But in "The Pelican Brief," Darby is a second year law student with no help at all. It just strains credulity to believe that she could survive.
But that's hardly the worst flaw in the book. The worst sin committed herein is that Grisham CHEATS. In an effort to generate suspense, he withholds from the reader the information that would explain why everyone wants to kill Darby Shaw. Why? Because of the contents of the Pelican Brief, which she wrote. So while Darby knows why everyone is after her, the reader doesn't find out until two thirds of the way in, when Grisham finally deigns to share the brief with us. This is a mark of a lazy or untalented writer.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen HATE IT, 24. Januar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Pelican Brief (Gebundene Ausgabe)
This was my first Grisham book and I hated it. It began with a bang only to have Chapter Two issue nothing more than a whimper. From there it was all downhill. Grisham introduced far too many characters with nothing to do but attempt to keep the suspense high--I needed a scorecard just to keep track of who was who and there are a few I never figured out. Finally, I gave up trying..it wasn't worth the effort. The characters were cliches and too unbelievable for words. When we finally do find out the contents of the infamous Pelican Brief, it's a supreme letdown. My first reaction was--that's IT? Grisham should also get his facts straight. He has the beauteous (and stupid) Darby changing her hair color from black to pale blonde to red. If Grisham would have consulted his wife he might have known that it is impossible--you can't lighten the dark colors! Grisham's writing also sounds belaboured, he tries to hard--in one sentence a character says he would have continued talking if another hadn't showed him his palms. Showed him his palms! It took me three months to figure that one out. People say Grisham's books are good so everyone else runs out to buy a copy. This being the case, why should Grisham even try?
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Brainless beach or vacation reading, 3. Dezember 1996
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Pelican Brief (Taschenbuch)
Grisham has been quoted as saying that he created the character Darby Shaw with actress Julia Roberts in mind. This girl is just too darn perfect-looking to be real. And, oh how convenient that she has a trust fund and doesn't have to work for a living. Now I realize Grisham's novels aren't necessarily about "everyday" life--but when the characters are believable and true to life, then in my opinion it's easier to suspend your disbelief and go along for the ride. I'm sorry, but I just can't work up any sympathy for this woman. I actually rooted for the bad guys in this one. By the end of the book, when she's out of the country in her little tropical paradise playing coy with her hero, I'm thinking, "what took you so long, you dingbat?" This book just felt too mass-produced--as though Grisham were starting to write with an eye on what would make a good movie rather than a good book. (The two aren't always related, you know) Still, as mindless escape fare, this one's not bad. Judging by how well it sold and how many people were reading it in Florida when I was there in 1994, it fills that bill pretty well. But that's about it. It's certainly not "must reading" in my book. Grisham's done better. .
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Eventful, Convincing & Well Plan, 23. Mai 2000
Von 
Cakra Wala (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Pelican Brief (Taschenbuch)
An attractive woman (as usual), in this case a law student, come up with her own theory of the murder of two supreme court judges. And it happened to be the truth; the biggest truth ever told and to be exposed after Watergate.
By now, you should be able to guess what would happened next. The bad guys got the info, the chase began, almost everybody died but she's the heroine and heroine seldom dies. However, a skillful Mr. Grisham had made her not only lucky to be alive, she has every reason to continuing being so. There's where the fun begins and there's also when another good guy come in and together the made the difference.
The story looked simple isn't it? Fortunately, it's not. The plot was well planned, the style is distinctive and the story, as i said it, very eventful and convincing. No flaws as far as i could tell. READ IT. It's not a MUST READ, but READ IT and Grisham could easily fits as your favourite writer, especially if you are a first time reader of his book.
One thing though, do not compare this book with the film. It's totally 2 different thing and the latter does not do any justice AT ALL to the former.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen If you're under 100 and like suspence.... This is THE Book !, 21. Januar 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Pelican Brief (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I read this book in 1993. Even though it's been a long time since I read it, I still have the enjoyment I felt as I read it fresh in my memory. For that reason I've always wanted to publish a review on it. The most sincere coment I can say about this book is, "It's the very best book I've read in my whole life". This book was so interesting and captivating to me, that when I first picked it up and read the first pages, I couldn't put it down. I stayed up one whole night, and through a day and half, I slowly read the whole book; absorving everything. I'm a 20 year old, third year pre-med student now. When I read this book I was about 15. Therefore, I think that my oppinion of this book can be easily shared with younger and more fresh minded people. Please do not listen to reviews done by people over 100 years old, they can't even see their noses. So all in all, if you like suspence and meet the criteria for this book(under the vegetable age) then you will agree with me 100%!!!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 211 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Pelican Brief
The Pelican Brief von John Grisham (Taschenbuch - 1. Februar 1993)
EUR 6,00
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen