Kundenrezensionen


136 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (107)
4 Sterne:
 (12)
3 Sterne:
 (7)
2 Sterne:
 (4)
1 Sterne:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen ::Lost Souls::
Lost Souls, is an astonishing horror novel written in 1992 by the talented young author Poppy Z. Brite. The book is about four people or groups of people who are all connected to each other in some way, but don't realize it. The main character out of all, is a 15 year old boy whose name is Nothing. Nothing is determined to leave his home in search for his real mother...
Veröffentlicht am 18. Mai 2000 von sinisster

versus
3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen HUGE Dissapointment
WHAT A STEAMING PILE OF CRAP! I can't be more dissapointed in this book. After the hype about Ms. Brite and her work, I eagerly ran out and bought "Lost Souls" expecting a lush new vampire epic. Instead, I find "The Lost Boys on Acid go Gay porno!" Seriously, one 15 year old character over the course of two days has homosexual sex,group sex,prostitutes...
Am 27. Mai 1998 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 214 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen ::Lost Souls::, 18. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Lost Souls (Taschenbuch)
Lost Souls, is an astonishing horror novel written in 1992 by the talented young author Poppy Z. Brite. The book is about four people or groups of people who are all connected to each other in some way, but don't realize it. The main character out of all, is a 15 year old boy whose name is Nothing. Nothing is determined to leave his home in search for his real mother and his real family. Or at least just leave the home he lives in now, and find a fitting place to live. Ghost and Steve, two of the other main characters, are intelligent guys around the ages of 19 and 21. Together they have a band, Lost Souls, which is growing popularity around Missing Mile, North Carolina, where they live. "Lost Souls" is more than just a name for their band, it's a description for the both of them. Confused, lost, and drunk is how they live their lives most of the time. Molochai, Zillah, and Twig are the third group in this story. They are three immature vampires out for just a good time. Human morals don't exist, and they indulge themselves in their desired passion: killing people, depriving them of all their sweet blood and leaving their lifeless bodies to rot. Christian is the last main character. He, just like Zillah, Molochai, and Twig, is a vampire. The oldest one, and the most mature. He owns a bar in The French Quarter in New Orleans. In his bar is where he met Zillah, Molochai, and Twig for the first time. Since then, Christian has been determined to find them again. In the end, Nothing finds out the grotesque truth of his father and himself.
Poppy's unique style of writing, makes this book all the more interesting. Mental pictures of pale faces painted with thick black eyeliner, dark hair and skinny bodies, creates a world of dreary loneliness and wanting. Along with the drugs, lust, blood, and anguish. She adds twists to every chapter to lure the you into reading more. Lost Souls is an excellent book, definitely worth reading.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen HUGE Dissapointment, 27. Mai 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Lost Souls (Taschenbuch)
WHAT A STEAMING PILE OF CRAP! I can't be more dissapointed in this book. After the hype about Ms. Brite and her work, I eagerly ran out and bought "Lost Souls" expecting a lush new vampire epic. Instead, I find "The Lost Boys on Acid go Gay porno!" Seriously, one 15 year old character over the course of two days has homosexual sex,group sex,prostitutes himself,shoots heroin,smokes opium and tops it off by having sex with his father! Add to this moronic story Ms. Brites over-the-top descriptive style in which she hits you with every taste,color,texture,temperature.....etc. over and over and you get a very unsatisfying,amaturish"book". The only horror I experienced was when I remembered that I paid 5.99 for this piece of junk. AHHHHH! I really hope Ms. Brite uses the proceeds from her work for some writing lessons and psychiatric help. Perhaps she is better suited to return to her previous career as an "exotic" dancer. Much like the boy said to the Emperor;"I can,t see your new clothes Ms. Brite!"
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


11 von 13 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Read this book!!, 21. Juli 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Lost Souls (Taschenbuch)
If you love vampire stories, read this book
If you think you are something like a Goth, read this book.
If you like Bauhaus music and wear black clothes, read this book.
If your heart has ever tingled at hearing / reading the words "The children of the night! What music they make!" , read this book.
If you enjoy reading Anne Rice but find her a bit too cheesy, read this book.
If your mouth has ever watered at the sight of a drop of blood...
I think I read somewhere that Lost Souls is supposed to be pornographic: it is not. There is more graphic sex in a Jean M. Auel cavemen book. Poppy Z. Brite has managed to create modern-day vampires that are neither harmless, nor kitsch, nor camp, nor antiquated. Her settings are realistic, and she creates an absolutely magical Southern atmosphere - again, without resorting to Anne Rice-style orgies of expensive houses, clothes, equipment, etc. I think I fell in love with almost every character in the book while reading: with Zillah, with Ghost, and of course, most of all with Nothing. I'm very eager to read more of her books.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Zwiespältig, 19. Oktober 2007
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Lost Souls (Taschenbuch)
Brites Roman ist, wie der Titel schon treffend suggeriert, ein Sammelsurium für verlorene Seelen und handelt dementsprechend von der Verlorenheit der Protagonisten in der Welt und deren Suche nach einem konkreten Sinn im Leben.
Brite, die nicht zuletzt durch ihre blutrünstigen Werke Aufsehen erregte, hält sich auch in diesem Roman nicht zurück und und arbeitet abstoßende Thematik in ihr Buch ein. Themen wie Pädophilie, Inzest, Vergewaltigung und explizite Gewaltdarstellung werden direkt dargestellt.
Wird man davon abgeschreckt, sollte man das Buch besser gar nicht erst lesen.
Letztlich ist die unverblümte Art der Autorin aber auch mal etwas anderes und diese Direktheit und Schamlosigkeit ist nicht häufig anzutreffen.
Insgesamt benutzt Brite auch einen schönen, poetischen Schreibstil, der auch durch gelegentliche Fäkalsprache nicht getrübt wird.
Die Darstellung der Charaktere ist durchaus gelungen, erfordert jedoch teilweise Toleranz, da Brites Figuren recht ungewöhnlich sind. Leider ist die Darstellung von Molochai und Twig etwas platt und Arkady ist ein klischeebehafteter Charakter.

Brites Thematik mag etwas altbacken sein, doch die interessanten Charaktere und der erfrischende Schreibstil machen das wieder wett. Die mordenden Vampire hasst und liebt man zugleich. Wir leiden mit ihnen, wir frieren mit ihnen vor Verlorenheit. Auch wenn man sie manchmal töten könnte verkörpern die Charaktere in diesem Roman etwas, nachdem auch wir uns sehnen: Freiheit, Fernsein von den Zwängen der Gesellschaft, den gewöhnlichen Dingen und dem Leben entfliehen.

Meine etwas negative Wertung resultiert daraus, dass >>Lost Souls<< zum Teil reine Geschmackssache ist und mir persönlich einige Aspekte nicht gefallen haben.
So dreht sich hauptsächlich alles um die Entwicklung der Charaktere und deren Beziehung untereinander, wodurch der eigentliche Handlungsablauf zu einem Anhängsel verkommt.
Im Grunde genommen hätte die Autorin das Buch auch schreiben können, ohne Vampire einzuarbeiten, denn dadurch wäre ihr Werk nahezu unverändert geblieben und die Realitätsnähe wäre erhöht worden.
Die Gemüter werden sich allerdings eher daran scheiden,dass die Welt laut >>Lost Souls<< nur aus bisexuellen und pubertierenden Gothic-Anhängern besteht.
Schließlich ist es auch diese unglaubwürdige Sache, welche verhindert, dass >>Lost Souls<< ein gutes Buch ist.

Aufgrund der ungewöhnlichen Elemente sollte man sich also genau überlegen, ob >>Lost Souls<< es wert ist, gelesen zu werden.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen THE Definitive Neo-Gothic Vampire Tale, 13. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Lost Souls (Taschenbuch)
But so much more than just a vampire story ! I laughed, I cried, I fell deeply in love with every turn of the page. Poppy Z. Brite makes Ann Rice's books read like the back of a cereal box. Lost Souls was my first encounter with Ms. Brite, and by the end I felt like I had lived the lives of all her characters. Ms. Brite has a descriptive turn and a poetry in her prose that makes me look forward to reading more of her writing. If you enjoy Tanith Lee, Clive Barker, Edgar Allan Poe or H.P. Lovecraft, Poppy Z. Brite is right up your dark & ominous alley. Be sure to check out "Wormwood"- her collection of short stories, as well.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen I couldn't write enought to do this book justice!, 24. August 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Lost Souls (Taschenbuch)
I must agree with Miss Kali, the person from Kirkus Review must not be very dedicated to the notion of *reading* the book before reviewing it. NOTE TO THE STUPID KIRKUS PERSON: It's Missing Mile NORTH CAROLINA, not Louisiana, and there is only one rape in the entire novel. I'd hate to see what they'd say about "Exquisite Corpse". I hope the stupidity doesn't turn people off who've never read it...As with some others who have posted, I have also lost this book numerous times to "friends" i've loaned it to. Can't blame them, though it's such a FABULOUS novel. With so many characters, one wouldn't think Ms. Brite would be able to go into such depth of who they are as a person. Even Jessy, who makes the briefest appearance in the book (besides Laine, hee hee) touches you with her rebellion and romanticism. Poppy takes me on the vampiric trios journey, perfectly displays the sensitivity of Ghost, Nothing, Ann, and Steve, by the end of the book, I feel like I know them, they are friends. Not many authors can do that and the few that can aren't close to Poppy's caliber when it comes to description-I can smell, taste, see, and feel everything in this book. As anyone with a brain in their head should know, this book is not for people who don't indulge in decadent adventures, midnight road trips, or a good round of Chartruese (which I've been blessed enough to drink in Paree). For those yet to delve into the world of PZB, this first novel is the perfect introduction to her twisted, dead-on, dark-as-four-AM vision.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Ein Buch, das man nicht weglegen will, 29. Oktober 2008
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Lost Souls (Taschenbuch)
Ich war sehr froh, das ich "Lost Souls" auf Englisch lesen konnte, da das Deutsche momentan nicht zu bekommen ist. Denn es gab selten einen besseren Vampirroman. Trotz der relativ unromantischen Handlung und dem doch ziemlich harten Milieu ist das Buch sehr sehr spannend. Man fiebert an jeder einzelnen Stelle mit, ob es nun Nothings Suche nach seinem Vater ist, die verzweifelte Rache seines Großvaters an den Vampiren oder der dramatische Kampf um Anns Leben. Man will dieses Buch in nicht mehr aus der Hand legen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Chilling, dark, beautiful, 3. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Lost Souls (Taschenbuch)
This is a dark vampire story that is rendered beautifully by Ms Brite's wonderful descriptions. The story is sad, erotic and chilling, but even if you are not too interested in vampires or anything of the kind, make sure you read for the author's magical sensibility towards language. This is a book that makes you want to be a writer.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Simply The Most Beautiful Book I've Ever Read, 8. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Lost Souls (Taschenbuch)
This is the first Brite book I ever read--a friend gave me a copy. It turned out to be the most beautifully written thing I had ever read; even now, the only works that compete are other works by Brite herself. The story is touching, the characters are very well developed, and the plot is well constructed. This is also a beautiful addition to the Vampire legend. This is a must read for (non-homophobic) horror and/or vampire fans. Avoid it, however, if you are liberal with what you dub "pretentious." This is not for those who cannot feel or accept the artistic statement of feelings and emotion.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen yummy.... and all of the above, 30. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Lost Souls (Taschenbuch)
i absolutely adored this book. from the first page to the last.. the blood.. the sex.. .the dysfunctionalism... I LOVED IT. the whole concept was entertaining.. and i looked forward to my reading time every day .. when i was in the process of reading LOST SOULS. it's a must read for those who enjoy everything tasty. heh.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 214 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Lost Souls
Lost Souls von Poppy Brite (Taschenbuch - 10. September 1993)
EUR 5,80
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen