Kundenrezensionen


213 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (129)
4 Sterne:
 (42)
3 Sterne:
 (16)
2 Sterne:
 (7)
1 Sterne:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Very entertaining - Eye opener
They say that if something seems to good to be true, it probably is. That is the best way to describe the storyline of this book. The book is action packed and is full of surprises and the ending is edge of your seat kind of suspence. Grisham is very detailed in his writing. I loved the different settings. Wonderful story and a wonderful writer. If you join a...
Veröffentlicht am 19. September 2000 von Amazon Customer

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Fun story, TERRIBLY written
I admit, I was sucked in by the plot. Grisham has a good story here, but his WRITING! I honestly think that a high school freshman Creative Writing student could have produced better, more interesting prose. Boring, repetitive character descriptions, an extraordinarily limited vocabulary, sentence fragments galore...
For good lawyer-based fiction, I'll stick...
Am 3. Mai 2000 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 222 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Very entertaining - Eye opener, 19. September 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Firm (Taschenbuch)
They say that if something seems to good to be true, it probably is. That is the best way to describe the storyline of this book. The book is action packed and is full of surprises and the ending is edge of your seat kind of suspence. Grisham is very detailed in his writing. I loved the different settings. Wonderful story and a wonderful writer. If you join a firm, make sure you know what you're getting into.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen THe Firm, a great introduction to John Grisham, 18. Juni 1996
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Firm (Taschenbuch)
As I started to read this book,I was cought up in the intricate tale of a young brilliant lawyer with a beautiful wife and a promising future; make his way up the
socieconomic ladder and establishing himself within his associates...then later to find that his entire
future is in jepordy. I highly recommend this book to anyone who has never read any of Grisham's
books or has not the silightest interest in law or any matters related to it. This is a fantastic novel that
I managed to stay up untill 4 AM sometimes reading it because I could not put it down. As I said,
this is a great way to be introduced into John Grisham's works. By far this is my favorite novel of his
and of any other multitude of genre or author I have had the pleasure of reading. The Firm is also
probabally the most ejoyed and is revered as his finest work. This is true, pure Grisham at his best.
This book I highly reccommend.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Still a good read, 18. Juli 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Firm (Taschenbuch)
I saw the movie "The Firm" years ago and, unusually for me, the story was so good that it stuck in my mind. So, I went into reading the book with many of the details of the story still clear to me - I could even picture the scenes in the movie. As with other films I've seen that have been made of Grisham's books, the moviemakers have stayed very close to the book - a little less with this one, but you won't be terribly unhappy with the places where they've taken liberties. I've already given my opinion away, really, any movie that I remember well for more than a year has to be good. In this case, the plot surprises and its complexity keep you fascinated. Grisham is such a good writer that even having seen the movie, you don't mind seeing the plot unfold again. It's not Tom Cruise, but then the casting was excellent! Do read the book with or without him in mind!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Fun story, TERRIBLY written, 3. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Firm (Taschenbuch)
I admit, I was sucked in by the plot. Grisham has a good story here, but his WRITING! I honestly think that a high school freshman Creative Writing student could have produced better, more interesting prose. Boring, repetitive character descriptions, an extraordinarily limited vocabulary, sentence fragments galore...
For good lawyer-based fiction, I'll stick with Scott Turow-- he tells a good story AND tells it well.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The Firm,, 24. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Firm (Taschenbuch)
The Firm a book written by John Grisham is a suspenseful and intriguing book about a remote law firm in Memphis Tennessee, called Bendini, Lambert, & Locke which the FBI suspects of dealing with illegitimate money. The main character of the story, Mitch McDeere a recent graduate of Harvard Law School, is the top recruited graduate in the country. Mitch has been sought by all of the top law firms around the United States. The firm that caught his attention was the tiny, forty-one-lawyer firm that offered unbelievable benefits to their new recruits. He would receive a new BMW, an extremely low mortgage rate, his student loans would be paid off, and the firm would finance his new house. For Mitch McDeere this sounded too good to be true, because before all of this wealth, he was living in poverty. He starts off at the firm, and things are going great until two soon to be partners, Marty Kozinski and Joe Hodge were killed in a very suspicious diving accident in the Cayman Islands. The investigators looking into the killings think that this was no accident. Soon, FBI agents, who tell Mitch they have been watching the firm, approach him. They believe the firm is handling illegal and illegitimate money, and the FBI wants Mitch to help them shut the firm down. I loved this book because the plot kept you wondering what was going to happen next. You always had to keep reading, because you needed to know what was going to happen with Mitch's situation. John Grisham really did a wonderful job developing the characters, because as the plot thickened you knew the characters well enough that you knew how they would react in different situations. The story is exciting, eventful, and the words are extremely descriptive so you can really get a good sense of what is going on. This book is a lot like John Grisham's other book, The Client. The Firm and The Client are similar because they both are action packed thrillers, which keep getting better as the story progresses. If you are a fan of John Grisham's or you like nail biting thrillers it is imperative that you read The Firm.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen One of John Grisham's finest peices of work., 2. März 1997
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Firm (Gebundene Ausgabe)
John Grisham has written one of the most intense legal thrillers of our time. It is simply a great book, but certainly not without its flaws. I found it difficult to get absorbed into the book at the outset. I found it lagged a little at the beginning, but I can't regard that as a setback. Most thrillers take a while to build up, after all. Maybe I was expecting too much. The first chapters certainly were good, as they established character and mood, and set me up for surprises.

Once the conflict was established, I could not put down the book. I became deeply involved in and distraught over the plight of the unfortunate young lawyer, sharing his and his wiife's grief over their horrible dilemma. Part of the reason the novel affected me so personally, and made my body freeze in sheer horror as I was reading it, was the fantastic narrative style tailored by the author. Grisham's technique of using sensory appeal is refreshing. His talent for this device is often overlooked.

Of course, Grisham is notorious for writing enthralling works, and this book doesn't disappoint. It excites, and pushes all the right buttons. And its strongest feature is the utter humanity of the main characters, not to mention the imposing creepiness of the firm with the wrong connections, where nobody gets out alive.

A little formulaic, and certainly not as powerful or involving as Grisham's highly personal and disturbing A Time to Kill, but I enjoyed it immensely. The action was superb, the dialogue flowed. Reading this book was one of my most enjoyable experiences. The Firm stands as maybe a modern classic, if just for igniting the career of one of the world's most successful and profitable authors
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2.0 von 5 Sternen Give me a break., 26. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Firm (Taschenbuch)
A law student gets wooed by a "small firm in Memphis" paying top dollar and promises huge returns. Yeah, that wasn't suspicious. Okay, suspend belief. Greedy lawyer takes obvious bait. Now, go cheat on your beautiful wife with a stranger on the beach? Please. Who does that? Mitch is endeared to his wife, Abigail. Grisham makes that abundantly clear, so he cheats? A bit too convenient, don'tcha think? Photos for blackmail - whew, couldn't see THAT one coming. Come on. The worst thing about the book is that the last 30 pages feels as though Grisham is trying to figure out a way to clear McDeere. He runs around the south east, to Florida, gets on a boat to escape, blah, blah, blah. I think the ending of the movie was more creative than the book. At least the mail fraud was plausible.
The central idea of the book was my favorite part. I thought the mafia cover up for laundering money was a great idea, and sucking in unsuspecting lawyers was smart. But Grisham could have done better with the twists and turns, and could have developed a better escape path than just having McDeere run around until he fell onto a boat. Further, having the Firm's security team doctor fake photos of McDeere and mistress would be far better than tarnishing his reputation. Same effect of blackmail without the shame.
"The Firm" is an easy read with shallow characters and shallow, convenient plot line, and a lame ending.
Enjoy the movie. Cruise is a perfect McDeere, and the ending is better.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Suspenseful, With a Complex Plot, 2. März 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Firm (Taschenbuch)
I read The Firm for a book report at school, and I have to say, this was a really, really good book. It was about a Harvard Law graduate who gets a dream job offer from a small firm in Memphis. Once he takes the job, he suddenly starts having mysterious encounters with the FBI. The plot was suspenseful, and the characters were very realistic. The book kept me on hold for an entire day, and I finished it in about two days. There were many characters, which was nice, because it wasn't always the same people talking. There wasn't really a small passage that you could read, and feel the suspense. You had to read the entire book, and ease into the story, absorbing the characters and their personalities, and finding out whose side they were on, which wasn't always that easy. Then, the book kept you hooked, leading you higher and higher to the climax, and then gave you a satisfactory ending. It seemed like a movie, and I could just see the plot unfolding, the characters interacting, and their emotions. I enjoyed the book, but I thought the plot was confusing at times. There was some strong language in it, which didn't offend me, but it might some people. In short, The Firm was very well written, with an intriguing plot, but could use a little clarification at times. I recommend this book to anybody that enjoys suspense; and a mature read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Auch für Nicht-Englischprofis lesenswert!, 27. Juli 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Firm (Taschenbuch)
Ich schreibe die Rezension auf deutsch, da ich eben aus Deutschland komme und mich auch speziell an nicht englische Leser wenden will. Ich habe mir dieses Buch gekauft, um a) meine Englischkenntnisse aufzubessern und b) um ein schönes Buch zu lesen. Beide Punkte wurden bravorös erfüllt. Die Story ist interessant und das Buch bleibt bis zum Schluß spannend. Man messe das Buch nicht am Film, da der (wie so oft) mit dem Buch auf keinster Weise mithalten kann. Die Entwicklung die der junge Anwalt im Laufe seiner Zeit bei der Firma erfährt ist gut beschrieben und es macht Spaß, ihr zu folgen. Für all diejenigen, die eine gute Urlaubslektüre suchen und sich in ein Buch vertiefen wollen, ist "the firm" ideal, da es Spannung garantiert. Das Werk als Höhenflug der amerikanischen Literatur zu bezeichnen wäre sicherlich falsch, vielmehr handelt es sich hier um "leichte Kost", deren Konsum dem Leser viele schöne Stunden bereiten kann. Die Sprache ist recht einfach gehalten, so daß auch ich mit meinen bescheidenen Englischkenntnissen alles mitbekommen habe. Somit ist das Buch auch gerade für nicht englisch sprechend aufgewachsene Leser eine tolle Sache und man sollte sich ruhig mal trauen, sich an das Original heranzuwagen. In diesem Fall wäre das dann lehrreich und spaßbringend!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen The Firm, 3. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Firm (Taschenbuch)
PLOT: Mitch McDeere is fresh out of Havard Law School with an ambitious attitude and the will to succeed. He receives the best job offers from the largest firms in the country, but a small firm out of Memphis brings him in with the best pay, a new home, relief of his student loans, and a new BMW. Within his first week at the firm, two of his coworkers are killed in a mysterious explosion off the coast of Grand Cayman Island. This makes him suspicious and later finds out that five lawyers have died in the past fifteen years, all very suspicious. An encounter with an FBI agent investigating the firm arouses his curiousity with the security of the firm and starts to unravel a downward spiral of crime, corruption, danger, and possibly death.
GENRE: Drama-Suspense
STRENGTHS/WEAKNESSES: Grisham's character development is perfect in a sense where you know the characters, but not too well. The predictability of the book is impossible as well as the ability to put it down. The scene changes act as a stimulant for the reader, not elaborating one part of the book too much. Grisham did a supurb job in entailing drama, suspense, and humor into his work.
This book was the first of Grisham's I read and it will not be the last.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 222 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Firm
The Firm von John Grisham (Taschenbuch - 4. Januar 1992)
EUR 6,00
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen