Kundenrezensionen


63 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (47)
4 Sterne:
 (8)
3 Sterne:
 (4)
2 Sterne:
 (2)
1 Sterne:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen One of Koontz's stronger works
This is definately a worthwhile read. With some books I love Koontz, and with others I can't stand him (Intensity--loved him; Fear Nothing--Couldn't stand him.) This is definately a loveable book. He took an interesting take on the history of dissappearing cultures (Roanoke colony, Bermuda Triange, Myan City, etc.) This book definately has it's creepy moment; the two...
Veröffentlicht am 2. Juni 2000 von Anon

versus
2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Story nachträglich "modernisiert"
Die Erstausgabe von Phantoms erschien 1983. Diese hier erhältliche Ausgabe wurde 2002 herausgebracht und damit beworben, dass ein neues Nachwort vom Autor enthalten ist. Was aber nirgends steht ist, dass die Story nachträglich und völlig unnötig "modernisiert" wurde. Plötzlich werden Cell Phones, Computer, usw. verwendet. Sogar die O.J. Simpson...
Veröffentlicht am 25. August 2012 von N. I. Body


‹ Zurück | 1 27 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen One of Koontz's stronger works, 2. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Phantoms (Taschenbuch)
This is definately a worthwhile read. With some books I love Koontz, and with others I can't stand him (Intensity--loved him; Fear Nothing--Couldn't stand him.) This is definately a loveable book. He took an interesting take on the history of dissappearing cultures (Roanoke colony, Bermuda Triange, Myan City, etc.) This book definately has it's creepy moment; the two that got under my skin were walking down an alleyway with the feeling of being watched from above and below, and the "sink" scene. Don't judge this novel by the horrible movie that was made based on it; that would be far less than fair. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Phantoms: One of the best books in the horror genre, 23. Oktober 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Phantoms (Taschenbuch)
This is one of the few that I read for pleasure instead of a school assignment. My friend recommended this to me when I was in fifth grade and always intended to read it, just it was never a top priority. This is a surprisingly good story. And turned out to be my favorite book. I've never read a story from the horror genre (or seen a movie for that matter) that really developed its characters while at the same time make a far-fetched villain seem very real.
This book brings you to a tiny California Mountain town called Snowfield. It's unusually quiet as the two main characters Jenny, and Lisa Paige approach. Then they find the first body, it's very swollen and bruised on every square inch, then another, they then realize everyone in Snowfield is dead. The police arrive but they are as clueless as the sisters are. They find the whole town is missing. Then the truth is uncovered which is even more surprising than the disappearances. What killed them? "The ancient Enemy" did. This all happens within the first seventy-five pages. The next three hundred or so are about discovering the truth and dealing with the problem. This story also has the best villain of all time.
What I really liked about this book was Dean Koontz's use of historical background to make the book seem frighteningly more real, and believable. He uses a misunderstood Professor to tell about the true mass disappearances that have occurred through time, such as the Roanoke Colony during the American colonization, and the Aztec's in South America. I think these element make you think about "The Ancient Enemy" more, and make him seem much more believable. You may also remember the movie that came out around early April. The movie had actors from the likes of Peter O'Toole, and Ben Affleck. Unfortunately the movie never got much publicity and bombed. If you have seen the movie, you will probably like the book much better. Even if you thought the movie was horrible I think you should read the book because it's almost a totally different story than the movie, but still uses the same basic plot that the movie did. This is by far the best book I've ever read. This book even towers over any Steven King story I've heard. The bottom line is this is a great book that really held my interest the whole way through. If you like to be scared and like a good book with great characters this is it.
The book has wonderful character development and the best villain of all time. This is paced perfectly and really brings you to a great 'high noon showdown' at the end. It gives you a really good sense of closure because it doesn't just drop you off at the end; in result leave you wondering about what happened to your favorite character after the story. For example Mr. Koontz gives us a follow up of all the main characters, which I think more stories should do. This book won my approval for Dean Koontz. I give this book a solid five stars, no question.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Story nachträglich "modernisiert", 25. August 2012
Von 
N. I. Body - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Phantoms (Taschenbuch)
Die Erstausgabe von Phantoms erschien 1983. Diese hier erhältliche Ausgabe wurde 2002 herausgebracht und damit beworben, dass ein neues Nachwort vom Autor enthalten ist. Was aber nirgends steht ist, dass die Story nachträglich und völlig unnötig "modernisiert" wurde. Plötzlich werden Cell Phones, Computer, usw. verwendet. Sogar die O.J. Simpson Story wird erwähnt. Das zerstört das 80er-Jahre-Flair der, ansonsten ziemlich gut und spannend geschriebenen, Geschichte.

Wer eine Originalausgabe der Geschichte sucht sollte daher zu einer Ausgabe vor 2002 greifen. Offenbar wurden auch andere Geschichten im Rahmen der Neuauflagen von 2002 "verbessert", weil am Ende des Buches mit weiteren Ausgaben geworben wird, die ein neues Nachwort enthalten sollen...daher lieber zu den älteren Auflagen greifen!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Movie was a bomb...book is the bomb!, 26. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Phantoms (Taschenbuch)
Although the movie was a bomb the book is an excellent read. I was hesitant to watch the movie since most movies tend to ruin a great book. I should have followed my instinct and declined the movie. The movie did so badly at the box office that most people would steer clear of the book. A very bad decision.
The book was longer than an average Koontz book but progressed wonderfully. Koontz is great when it comes to throwing a reader directly into the story. He doesn't deal with the extensive characterization until it's absolutely necessary. Unlike some authors that will take up 300 pages of a 350-page novel to introduce characters who usually die shortly after.
If you've seen the movie and it has left a bad taste in your mouth please give the book a chance. The movie did absolutely nothing for the book so don't base your opinion solely on the movie. Make sure you have plenty of time to sit down and read Phantoms...once you start it will be nearly impossible to put it down.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen the shadows in the night will never be the same again, 27. Februar 1997
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Phantoms (Taschenbuch)
Since a year or so I have this preference of reading horror and thrillers (especially about serial killers). Every book I read was just for amusement, they just didn't scare me a bit.
Phantoms was a different story, it grabbed me like no other book in this genre. The shape changer is one of a kind.(luckily!)What was maybe the most disturbing about the creature is that he maybe picked up all evil from us people throughout the times. So, is Koontz saying that we should fear ourselves more than anything else?
Anyhow, since I read phantoms (or better devoured it) I'm again a little afraid of the dark, especially the shadows.When I walk my dog late at night I watch them and fear them!
I'm afraid The shape changer will have a place in my mind forever. Thank you (??!!!?) Dean Koontz.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen One of the best books I've ever read!, 3. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Phantoms (Taschenbuch)
Phantoms is the first book I've read by Dean Koontz. But I'm sure I'll read more of them, because this is one of the best books I've read. It's very thrilling and fascinating. You never want to put the book down. You want to know what will happen next. I finished this book today and have already bought a new Dean Koontz thriller that I will read as soon as I can. If you like horror thrillers (or any kind of thrillers), you will LOVE this book!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen A fascinating tale of mass disappearances, 10. Mai 1997
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Phantoms (Taschenbuch)
"Phantoms" is just one of Koontz's many fine horror stories. It offers an imaginative explanation for a tantalizing historical mystery: the mass disappearance (such as the famous Roanoke colony in the early seventeenth century). Koontz tells the story of the almost instantaneous depopulation of an isolated California mountain village, discovered by the town's doctor and her teenaged sister upon their return from attending their mother's funeral some miles away. These two find a terrifyingly quiet Snowfield, devoid of residents, dining room tables set with still-warm suppers. The mystery deepens when the county sheriff and deputies arrive and discover a few dreadfully bruised bodies sprawled lifeless in tightly locked rooms. As dark falls, it becomes clear that something is stalking the entire town of Snowfield--and its would-be rescuers--and that this hunter delights in savoring every morsel of fear it can extract from its prey. I do not want to give away any more of the plot, because Koontz paces the story of the discovery of the identity of the murderous "Ancient Enemy" so well that reading the book is a rollercoaster of an experience.
A word about my rating: Koontz is one of my favorite authors, and I have read quite a few of his books. Phantoms is one of his early novels and is imaginative and entertaining. Compared to some of his later stories, however ("Dark Rivers of the Heart" and "Twilight Eyes" immediately spring to mind), it is not as richly characterized and the level of suspense is not quite as nightmarish. It is like comparing two tornadoes from the movie "Twister": one may suck up cows, but the other swallows cows and barn whole. Each is a frightening experience, but the one is a more intense--and deadly--event. Thus, the seven.
Judith Abendschei
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen Phantoms = a cure for insomnia, 13. März 2000
Von 
L. Walsh (Hell's Kitchen, New York City) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Phantoms (Taschenbuch)
Dean R. Koontz' novel Phantoms is about as entertaining as reading the departure schedule at an airport, the difference being that at least in the airport there is a sense of slight apprehension that something unexpected and awful might happen. My teenage daughter tossed the book at me after 42 pages summing it up with "REALLY boring." I plunged in, determined to get my money's worth and after 340 pages, nearing the un-climatic end, I too have given up hope of being impressed by the author's ability to produce a story worth my time to read and have regaled it to the recycle bin of our apartment building... I don't dislike anyone enough to even halfheartedly recommend this word-filled outhouse accessory except as a cure for insomnia. Koontz' characters have as much depth as cardboard figures and I was grateful when they were terminated from the unending,unimaginative and repetitive script. His weak attempts at frightening the reader such as: electricity going off and on, (scary?) silence on the phone line or/and benign animal noises that sometimes turn ugly (scary) or a town of bloodless corpses re-described repeatedly throughout the book (scary!) oh, and let's not forget the giant moth that flies in for a cameo appearance (now THAT was scary! scary!). And in fact, if none of the "scary" items got your attention the first time around, Koontz, like an annoying schoolboy, figures he'll parade the same tired 'prank' again and again... and again - hoping to elicit a reaction at some point. Now that IS scary. My advice, if your looking for something well written and suspenseful and entertaining... look elsewhere. I highly recommend James Patterson's excellent mindbenders.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Definitely a page turner, 18. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Phantoms (Taschenbuch)
This was the first Dean Koontz book that I'd read, and perhaps the best praise to the quality of his novel is that I plan to read another one. Phantoms also marked the first real horror novel that I read, and I found it to be very captivating. Koontz does a very good job with suspenseful writing, and there was not a single dull moment in the book. From chapter one to the very last page, there is always some type of action occurring. This fast pace made the book a quick read, and one that I was anxious to finish so that I could see what the conclusion was. The plot was fairly good, though I do wish they could have been a few more characters that lived to the end of the book. Character development was reasonably good, but there wasn't much of a need for it since most of them ended up dying. The mystery of what happened to the town of Snowfield is one that keeps the reader interested, but the creature that finally turns out to be the culprit is a bit vague. No definite conclusions are drawn at the end of the book, which is somewhat of a let down. The events leading up to the end were actually more exciting than the conclusion itself, so the book was somewhat anticlimactic. Despite this, the book was, all and all very good, and I look forward to reading some of the others in the series.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen Enttäuschend und unglaubwürdig, 5. Dezember 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Phantoms (Taschenbuch)
Die Ärztin Jenny Paige kehrt gerade mit ihrer vierzehnjährigen Schwester Lisa nach Snowfield, einem kleinen, verschlafenen Dorf in Kalifornien / USA, zurück, als sie zu ihrem Entsetzen feststellen muß, daß ihre Haushälterin grausam ermordet wurde. Bei ihrem verzweifelten Versuch, Hilfe zu holen, stoßen Jenny und Lisa nur auf noch mehr seltsam aussehende Leichen - Snowfield scheint davon abgesehen menschenleer zu sein. Die beiden Frauen fühlen sich, obwohl sie scheinbar allein sind, beobachtet und bedroht und verständigen den Sheriff, Bryce Hammond, einer nahegelegenen Stadt. Bryce erkennt jedoch schnell , daß auch er und seine Männer ebenso wie eine zu Hilfe gerufene Spezialeinheit der Army dem unbekannten Gegner hoffnungslos unterlegen sind.......obwohl die ersten 200 Seiten wirklich spannend waren, hat mich dieses Buch maßlos enttäuscht. Die anfangs gute Story wird ungefähr nach der Hälfte unglaubwürdig - und das Ende ist wirklich an den Haaren herbeigezogen! Meine Empfehlung: Finger weg von diesem Buch - Koontz hat schon viel bessere geschrieben. (Dies ist eine Amazon.de an der Uni-Studentenrezension.)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 27 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Phantoms
Phantoms von Dean R. Koontz (Taschenbuch - 5. Februar 2002)
EUR 6,58
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen