Kundenrezensionen


1.106 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (338)
4 Sterne:
 (203)
3 Sterne:
 (164)
2 Sterne:
 (199)
1 Sterne:
 (202)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Outstanding. Hard to put down.
T. Clancy has been dissed for writing in too much detail. But in Rainbow Six, he has seemingly found a fine balance: He has been able to avoid too much technical minutae which led me to skip whole sections of other books (like The Sum of All Our Fears). At the same time, he has still included enough information to give the feel of authenticity. This combination...
Veröffentlicht am 19. Mai 2000 von Eric V. Moye

versus
2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen A Popcorn Novel
Like most of those who have slammed this book in their reviews, I was once a big Tom Clancy fan, however, his latest work is mortally wounded by Clancy's overly preachy undertones, uninspired action sequences and a complete lack of development for both the good guys and the bad guys.
His political views are pretty apparent, I would bet $200 he votes Republican...
Veröffentlicht am 20. August 1999 von gregk@innrspc.com


‹ Zurück | 1 2111 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen A Popcorn Novel, 20. August 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Rainbow Six (Jack Ryan, Band 9) (Taschenbuch)
Like most of those who have slammed this book in their reviews, I was once a big Tom Clancy fan, however, his latest work is mortally wounded by Clancy's overly preachy undertones, uninspired action sequences and a complete lack of development for both the good guys and the bad guys.
His political views are pretty apparent, I would bet $200 he votes Republican. Though one might call some of the fringe environmental issues debatable, I don't think even the most right wing types out there view everyone who cares about the environment as a completely insane wacko. Those who like to go into the woods and make bang bang with big guns like Clancy have to admit that at least a passing concern for the environment is a must.
I sometimes couldn't tell if I was reading a fiction novel or a ballistics report from an ammunition manufacturer. Also, as much as some of his more testosterone supplied readers might like to read descriptions of 10mm hollow point bullets entering bad guy's skulls, it takes away from the usually accurate and realistic tone of his other works. Reading about people's faces being turned into "pink puffs of vapor" might be enthralling for weekend Navy SEALS, but anyone with any combat experience dreads the thought of being put in any situation where such is necessary to do to someone else. I don't mind a novel or even a movie using such descriptions to enhance some sort of realism (i.e. Saving Private Ryan), but anyone who enjoys such thoughts as much as Clancy apparently does (with the sheer volume of text devoted to exploding craniums), scares me.
Even the world's best counter terrorism units have amazingly high failure rates in close quarters combat... which is why most scene commanders heavily resist their usage, even under the most optimal circumstances. Rainbow seems to not have these problems at all. Other complete lapses of tactical accuracy are shockingly bad compared to the usually sharp knowledge Clancy displays in other books.
As shallow as the anti extreme environmentalist plot was, it is only aided by half baked development of antagonists and protagonists which leave the reader only really caring about one or two people at the most. "Ding" has got to be one of the worst nicknames in the history of writing. Back in the cold war days, Clancy could deliver "black and white" participants who's general thinking conformed to the two main real life organizations who trained and paid them (the CIA and the KGB), however with the demise of the Cold War, much more diversification is required, and I don't think Clancy can deliver.
All in all, where the classic Clancy novels got one thinking about the dreary outlook that the global political stances adopted by DC and the Kremlin, or the middle east's effect on world politics, Rainbow Six serves only as an "Popcorn Novel." Entertaining for those who don't know much about the technical aspects of which Clancy writes, but not the sort of work that ignites the mind any longer.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Outstanding. Hard to put down., 19. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Rainbow Six (Gebundene Ausgabe)
T. Clancy has been dissed for writing in too much detail. But in Rainbow Six, he has seemingly found a fine balance: He has been able to avoid too much technical minutae which led me to skip whole sections of other books (like The Sum of All Our Fears). At the same time, he has still included enough information to give the feel of authenticity. This combination makes for a very informative and still entertaining book. This cannot be read in a day, or on one plane trip. But it is great to take on a vacation, when one has several hours over several days to devote to it.
The story has bee discussed above. Suffice it to say that Clancy has put together a string of plausible ideas (save perchance the eco-terrorists overall grand design). Unfortunately, we are so used to terrorism these days that each of the other terrorists acts are things we have come to expect on the evening news.
Like another reviewer, I find Domingo Chavez and John Clark to be a couple of engaging recurring characters. I wonder what will happen to them next, and worry that like John Ryan, they may get to the place where there is nothing left for them to conquer. We ain't there yet, though, and like thousands of others, I anxiously await their next adventure.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Down the tubes, 6. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Rainbow Six (Jack Ryan, Band 9) (Taschenbuch)
This book is even worse that "Executive Orders", and that is really saying something. And it's too bad, because Clancy is still capable of writing fanastic action scenes. But Clancy isn't writing technothrillers anymore-- he's writing moron right-wing screeds that should embarass anyone who once called himself a Clancy fan.
In this one Clancy has yet another pathetic woman who messes everything up, and yet another terrorists-release-virus-to-kill-everyone plot. I can't believe he had the guts to recycle that from "EO", and I was in even greater disbelief when he has the president of the Sierra Club thinking out loud how great it would be if the President got himself assassinated. That's just pathetic, such a lazy cheap shot that I can't believe the punching bags called his editors let it slide.
The book is boring, like "EO" was, and stupid. Still, the parts where something is actually HAPPENING, the parts when the Rainbow Six team is actually going about its business, are still a blast to read. But that's maybe 5 percent of the book. The rest is just a mess.
Now that Clancy is an industry and not a writer (see his NetForce and OpCenter imprints) he apparently doesn't feel the need to put out work of the quality of "The Hunt For Red October". It's too bad. I used to look forward to Clancy's latest release with baited breath. Now I won't waste my breath. This will be the last Clancy novel I read, unless I hear that the book is under 600 pages and actually makes some sense.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Real Clancy, but going downhill..., 24. August 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Rainbow Six (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I don't know what's going on these days, but several of the good thriller writers are beginning to let their personal political beliefs get in the way of creating great fiction. First it was Clive Cussler, whose latest book is a nutty paen to xenophobia, and now it's Clancy (a much better writer) who lets his extremist anti-environmentalist views screw up what could have been another solid book in the Ryan/Clark series.
What's really a shame is that Clancy is such a good writer that you cringe when he comes up with a preposterous book like this one. While the action scenes are up to his usual snuff, the plotting, characters, misogyny, conservative rhetoric and even some of the technology are just awful [sigh].
I've read all of Clancy's own books, and until now the works, while of somewhat variable quality, have generally been worthy of their length (unlike the godawful OpCenter and other series to which he lends his name just to make a buck.) Rainbow Six, however is the first Real Clancy from which I came away disappointed. Tom, PLEASE get an editor to go over the next book and go back to well-crafted thrillers...instead of this well-written but poorly crafted piece of polemic.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen This book was a complete bomb., 17. Oktober 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Rainbow Six (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Our Writer's Guild decided a few months back to discuss current fiction works by best selling authors. I had the misfortune of selecting Clancy's new book for review. I can't tell you what a let down it was. The characters are weak, redundant, and have too much irrelevant background information. The plot is boring, twisted, and has unresolved issues at the end. The length of the book is a mystery as any amateur editor would have cut 35 to 50 percent of it out and thrown it in the trash can. It seems like he took pieces from his previous books and tried to change the plot and characters to fit. Not one of seven writers who reviewed the book liked it. I read the first 100 reviews and realize some fans would like reading Tom's grocery list and would give it 5 stars. I also agree with the reviewer from Denver who read Brad Steiger's new book, Alien Rapture. It's the talk of our fiction group and is a gripping fast read with characters you'll never forget. Also The Notebook is excellent. Also see 'No Safe Place' by Patterson and Blood Work by Connelly. There is a reason this book went from number 1 to the 40s in under two months.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Definitely below par for the course, 26. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Rainbow Six (Jack Ryan, Band 9) (Taschenbuch)
As an avid Tom Clancy fan, having read all of his Jack Ryan novels as well as his previous John Clark story, I was excited about reading his new book. But unfortunately, I finished it with a bitter taste in my mouth. The story, while well researched as always, and including all the technical detail Clancy novels are known for, was just too far-fetched. While one could easily imagine his other stories as really happening in the real world, this was just too much to grasp. The majority of the characters were very two-dimensional, leaving you wanting for more insight. Not to say that there weren't good parts...the terrorist takedowns were very exciting, and Popov's role was intriguing, but it didn't make up for the glaring weaknesses elsewhere...and the ending was very frivolous, with the superhuman team armed with everything going against people with next to nothing...he could have done it much better. Overall, quite disappointing.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen packende Story!!, 29. März 2001
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Rainbow Six (Taschenbuch)
Ich kaufte das Buch eigentlich ohne grosse Erwartungen und wurde überrascht!! Die Handlung um eine international agierende Anti-Terror-Gruppe ist zwar nicht unbedingt neu, aber die Charaktere sind brilliant ausgearbeitet und die Handlung stmmig. Auch dass man erst spaet dahinter kommt, wie die ganzen Terroranschlaege zusammenhaengen, macht das Buch so spannend!! Einzig der Schluss ist meiner Meinung nach etwas unglaubwürdig. Aber alles in allem kann ich "Rainbow Six" nur empfehlen, ein grosses Lob an Tom Clancy!!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2.0 von 5 Sternen The devil is in the details, Tom . . ., 28. Juli 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Rainbow Six (Jack Ryan, Band 9) (Taschenbuch)
The first half of this novel will not disappoint fans of Mr Clancy's previous thrillers. The prose is tightly written (as usual) and the plot intriguing. As expected after Executive Orders, Jack Ryan has reached his 'use-by' date. He's the President. He's saved the world from devastation (nuclear, biological and financial). Tom can't really wring much more out of the character because he's already 'been-there done-that' -and come out the other side, still the cool, smart, moral man's man. He's got nowhere left to go, except to fade into obscure statesmanhood. So the main characters in this novel are John Clark and Ding Chavez. For that reason, I approached this novel with caution, wondering if they were really broad enough to bear the weight of the book on their own. They are.
It is not the characterization, or action that kills this novel. It is not the controversial plotline of environmentalists so radical as to threaten the survival of the human race. I've read far more bizarre things than this, and still been happy to go along for the ride.
The problem here was research, or perhaps a lack of it. It stopped the novel dead, particularly when the action moved to Sydney for the Olympics. The Australian setting could have been any large city in any English-speaking country. The only reason we knew it was Sydney was because Tom told us. (I've got a vague memory that he even refers to Melbourne instead earlier in the book) The one or two small details he drops into the story, like the road the Rainbow team takes from the airport, are incorrect. The Olympic site could have been nearly any large sporting arena, but not the real one at Homebush bay. The few Australians we meet are washed-out photocopies of British army officers, with dialog to match I've heard of Australians calling men 'blokes', and 'guys', but never 'chaps'! Similar errors of detail occur earlier in the book, with mistakes on the location of Hereford, and the speed limit in the UK.
These are not major criticisms of the novel, whose prime focus centers on John Clark and his Rainbow organization, but whenever I read a Clancy novel now, even when I re-read the earlier ones, I will be wondering just how much is well researched, and just which details he couldn't be bothered to find out, so made up instead..
It's hard to believe that a writer of Mr Clancy's obvious experience and talent, would let such a poorly researched book loose in a genre so preoccupied with detail.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen So, You Want to be a Commando?, 15. Juli 2000
Von 
Justin Evans (West Wendover, Nevada United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Rainbow Six (Jack Ryan, Band 9) (Taschenbuch)
Having read all of the Jack Ryan novels, as well as No Remorse, I think this book is a marvelous addition to the series. In fact, along with Executive Orders, this book I bought when it came out in hard cover, and feel it was worth the wait and the price of admission. With that said, I should go into why I liked the book so much.
When I was in the army, my S-4 1lt., a real go-getter, always had a Tom Clancy book under his arm. At the time, 1990, I had no idea why someone would read a Tom Clancy book while they were living the "real thing," so to speak. However, after being discharged, I am able to read on of Mr. Clancy's books and suppress the occasional longings I have for the military life I departed. I read and re-read the books often, and I get the same feeling of fun, excitement, and suspense each and every time I do. Not too many books of this nature can make this claim with me.
I also admire Mr. Clancy's research and detail. I am no techno-weenie, but being a historian who has researched counter terrorism, I enjoy what he is able to provide to the reader in understandable language. Specifically, highly plausible and factual information within a grand plot.
So why four stars instead of five? Well, to be honest, this plot borrows too much upon continuing a theme brought forth in the book, Sum Of All Fears. Namely the means by which the terrorists use to attack the United States. Also, with Clancy, I see a reluctance to allow bad things to happen to major characters within this last book. Yes, the terrorism hits close to home, but that is all, just close. I understand an attachment to characters, but these people are the luckiest people in the world to have all of this danger strike so close yet never hit a major character.
In the end, I am hooked, for good reason I might add. To this end, Rainbow Six is a wonderful book, even if you have never read any of the other Jack Ryan Books.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Its Clancy, but at his worst...., 6. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Rainbow Six (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I waited a long time for Clancy to releae his next novel after Executive Orders, and I'm afraid that Rainbow Six was a big let down.
The plot of the book centers around John Kelly aka John Clark - who prior to this book is a complete badass in all of the other Clancy novels in which he appears. So, when I heard R6 would be centered around Clark, I thought it was fantastic.
Unfortunately, the book did not live up to my high hopes. Clancy is an accurate writer, and because he sets this book even farther in the future than Executive Orders, he has to come to grips with the aging (or at least, no longer youthful) Clark - and so Clark himself, while certainly at the center of the plot, hardly deserves to be called a main character as his role, while central, is also minor in terms of the number of pages devoted to him and in terms of what he actually does in the story. Instead, the real main character is Ding Chavez, who is also a great Clancy character but doesn't hold the mystery and auora that Clark does.
I also think the plotline that Clancy chose, that of Clark starting an elite anti-terrorist group, limitted the story outside the scope of what Clancy does best - set up, and then tell the tales of naval, air and land battles - not the sneaky covert stuff that permeates this book (in fairness, Kardinal of the Kremlin, which centers around exactly this, was a killer book).
Finally, the antagonist in this book hatches a plan that is far too similar to the trials that confronted Jack Ryan in Executive Orders - that of an attempted biological attack. In fact, I think to a large degree this problem has haunted Clancy since the Sum of All Fears, where terrorists manage to nuke denver, to Debt of Honor, where the Japanese threaten the US with nuclear weapons, to Executive Orders, where Japan's cohorts in Debt of Honor show up with a new weapon of mass destruction, germ warfare, and now this book, where the exact same plot is repeated again.
To sum up my feelings on this book, I would suggest checking out any of the aforementioned books by Clancy, or some of those that I did not mention, before spending money on this. If you're a die hard Clancy fan, you'll probably want to buy this book and you should, but for everyone else, its just not that good and probably not worth bothering with.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2111 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Rainbow Six (Jack Ryan, Band 9)
Rainbow Six (Jack Ryan, Band 9) von Tom Clancy (Taschenbuch - 1. September 1999)
EUR 6,70
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen