Kundenrezensionen


19 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (7)
4 Sterne:
 (5)
3 Sterne:
 (3)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


5.0 von 5 Sternen Annoyingly Insightful
She's good. Plain and simple. The book gets slow in places,but overall she gets at the 'why' of why we ride. It's worth the pricefor the first chapter alone. I'm not thrilled when she gets off on tangents about fear of injury, men, etc. but that's just personal preference. I've given this book to several people who say, "This is dangerous, you could get hurt,...
Veröffentlicht am 9. Februar 2000 von fortuna_juvat

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Good title, bad book
This thing must have gone straight from the author's word processor to the printing press without editing. Her autobiographical story reads like a sad search for companionship and an identity crisis rolled into one, disguising itself as being about motorcycling. She gets her first bike to spend more time with a boyfriend, not because she wants to ride. Even so, it can't...
Veröffentlicht am 18. Februar 2000 von Bob


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Good title, bad book, 18. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Perfect Vehicle: What It is about Motorcycles (Taschenbuch)
This thing must have gone straight from the author's word processor to the printing press without editing. Her autobiographical story reads like a sad search for companionship and an identity crisis rolled into one, disguising itself as being about motorcycling. She gets her first bike to spend more time with a boyfriend, not because she wants to ride. Even so, it can't just be any bike. The Moto Guzzi represents exclusivity bought, the ability to condescend, which she does with boring frequency throughout the book. The bike sits idle alot when there is no one to ride with her, it's lonelier than she is. She doesn't care to turn a wrench herself, or simply ride some anonymous road alone that isn't taking her to some special destination or must be there event. The used jap bike she passed over, the hogs and sportbikes she looks down her nose at, the dirt bikes she never considers, all are probably enjoyed by their owners far more than she could ever appreciate.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Promise unfulfilled, 27. März 1999
Von Ein Kunde
After reading the foreword, I plunged into this book thinking I was in for a real treat... after all, Melissa described so well the experience of starting a ride - one that I have experienced myself for over thirty years. By the time I was half way through the book, I couldn't wait for it to be over, I was so disappointed! Melissa insidiously put down the Harley Davidson owner (my chosen ride), stereotyping us all with her sophomoric, Psych 101 impressions, as working class, fixated individuals. I have 2, count them Melissa, 2 graduate level degrees and yes, I am still a biker and go on Hell's Angels' runs.
I was beguiled by her facile use of the language until I realized half the time she was not saying anything meaningful - except perhaps to herself. This was definitely a self-serving, rambling book and I am sorry I wasted time and money on it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Intriguing Title; Disappointing Content, 20. Februar 1999
Von 
John B. Dorgan (Smithville, Texas United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Perfect Vehicle: What It is about Motorcycles (Taschenbuch)
After an impatient wait to finally get my hands on this book, I started to read it with great enthusiasm, but soon became aware that there were far more agendae being pursued by Pierson than the one presented in the title. By the second chapter, I got the impression that the author was a female avatar of Woody Allen, and I was stuck following an off-topic nebbish tale that quickly became a chore to read. In the hopes of a late turnaround, I did stay with it to the end, and found that it managed to stay discursive right up to the very last page. It then occured to me that the author may very well have written this particular book as some sort of expiatory exercise suggested by her therapist. Not recommended.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen I'll Tell You What It Is About Motorcycles., 28. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Perfect Vehicle: What It is about Motorcycles (Taschenbuch)
The author hits so many nails right on the head; I wish I could meet her. Her insecurity and uncertainty about men notwithstanding, she has written one of, if not THE, best books about the Motorcycles Mystique ever. Shame on the men, or women, that think women should not write, read, or ride anything to do with motorbikes. I've given this book to my girlfriend and my mother. That is possibly the highest review I can give it. Sure some parts of the book are lacking but so is having two wheels instead of four.This is not War and Peace, just a good winter weekend read. Perfect.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Annoyingly Insightful, 9. Februar 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Perfect Vehicle: What It is about Motorcycles (Taschenbuch)
She's good. Plain and simple. The book gets slow in places,but overall she gets at the 'why' of why we ride. It's worth the pricefor the first chapter alone. I'm not thrilled when she gets off on tangents about fear of injury, men, etc. but that's just personal preference. I've given this book to several people who say, "This is dangerous, you could get hurt, why do you do this?" Melissa's reply is more detailed and less cryptic than my standard, "Well, that's sort of the point. It's life lived first hand. Get it?" They usually don't, but this book helps.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Great Book!, 1. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Perfect Vehicle: What It is about Motorcycles (Taschenbuch)
This is a great book. It's smart, introspective and varied enough to keep you interested. The book is a good personal expression of things most "bikers" don't express well, if at all. Makes you want to go out and get a Guzzi.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen an OK book, 19. Januar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Perfect Vehicle: What It is about Motorcycles (Taschenbuch)
This is an OK book to read, once you get past the occasional diatribe against men, about biking and the "philosophy" behind it.This book comes in a distant third (at least)however, when compared to "Zen and the art of motorcycle maintenance" or "Rebuilding the Indian". It's probably worth the purchase price if it's a rainy day and you want something to read!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Pierson dives into corners and life., 4. Januar 2000
Von 
Duncan C. McDougall (Campton, NH United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Perfect Vehicle: What It is about Motorcycles (Taschenbuch)
A motorcyclist of thirty-eight years, I opened 'The Perfect Vehicle' with low expectations, expecting fluff. I found instead a young life already as affected as mine by the mysteries of motorcycling, and by 'the long ride.' Pierson writes beautifully. (That sentence stands alone.) She writes with acute descriptive power of times spent in the saddles of her Guzzis, and movingly of the human interactions surrounding those times. I also enjoyed the historical research Pierson reports on Moto Guzzi, and on women riders. Thanks for a good read, MHP, and if you happen to see this review, I've a first-edition copy that needs your autograph.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Not as bad, nor as good, as the reviews below indicate, 9. Juni 1999
Von Ein Kunde
As a memoir, I think this book needs a little work. At certain points, Pierson conveys her ardor and emotional connection to every aspect of moto-culture. I like the fact that she is able to give a sense of herself so that we can better understand her point of view. These sections are good. But her narrative hits some dead points too. I found myself simply skipping some of the history lessons because she tends to dwell on early rather than later motorcycle history. I also find it ironic that she claims that Italian bikes are sensual but Japanese crotch rockets are Mighty Morphin Power Ranger-esque. Personally, I prefer Ducati, but (with the exception of the new 'busa, which does look a little Power Ranger-esque) the aesthetic differences are not great enough to make such a qualitative distinction. Maybe its because she rides a Guzzi. Can you say "bias?" There was also a bit much of the feminist rhetoric. If you're looking for a vicarious, visceral experience, then some parts of this book will satisfy you, but the others can be a drag.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A womans search for self and self expression by riding bikes, 1. Juni 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Perfect Vehicle: What It is about Motorcycles (Taschenbuch)
A delightful story of how a woman comes to terms with her life by coming to terms with her beloved Moto Guzzi's. She broadens her outlook to include all rides and holds up to examination some old wives tales, some cliches, and more than a few real dangers.
While it is more than a story and less than an autobiography the author uses her riding experinces to attempt to bring logic to explain why we indulge in knowingly dangerous activities. In the end of course, she fails, but in that failure she conveys something of the basic lonelyness of being human, and how the spirit can be set free.
This is not another " How I Rode My Bike To xxxx " story. It is much deeper, and at times chilling if like Melissa, one rides.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Perfect Vehicle: What It is about Motorcycles
The Perfect Vehicle: What It is about Motorcycles von Melissa Holbrook Pierson (Taschenbuch - Mai 1998)
EUR 14,10
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen