Kundenrezensionen


55 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (51)
4 Sterne:
 (2)
3 Sterne:    (0)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The Best Book Written By Cherie - I Couldn't Put It Down
This book is about a girl with many hopes and dreams, one of which is winning Miss America. She has a best friend, an alchohoic mother, a 'perfect' father, and the perfect body. All her hopes are shattered when she suddenly starts gaining weight. Her mother - who is as skinny as a stick - pesters her about losing weight. No matter how hard she tries, she just can't...
Veröffentlicht am 26. Juni 2000 von Scave31

versus
2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Fat Lane Shmat Lane
This book is shalow and the author must think that all girls that read it are terribly focused on their looks. The story is way too predictable and tthe characters are unrealistic. the character get themselves into situations that would never happen in real life and then deal with the situation in a dumb way. The authour will describe a character as intelligent and...
Am 23. Mai 2000 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 26 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Fat Lane Shmat Lane, 23. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
This book is shalow and the author must think that all girls that read it are terribly focused on their looks. The story is way too predictable and tthe characters are unrealistic. the character get themselves into situations that would never happen in real life and then deal with the situation in a dumb way. The authour will describe a character as intelligent and insightfull and then have them in a bathroom having a stupid conversation and saying how fat they look. This is an awful book and I would not recomend reading it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The Best Book Written By Cherie - I Couldn't Put It Down, 26. Juni 2000
Von 
Scave31 (Puyallup, WA United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
This book is about a girl with many hopes and dreams, one of which is winning Miss America. She has a best friend, an alchohoic mother, a 'perfect' father, and the perfect body. All her hopes are shattered when she suddenly starts gaining weight. Her mother - who is as skinny as a stick - pesters her about losing weight. No matter how hard she tries, she just can't seem to lose weight. Soon after, she gets put in the hospital with some disease....
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Unvarnished truth about life as the Fat Girl, 22. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Life in the Fat Lane (Gebundene Ausgabe)
This is now my favorite fat girl adolescent novel ever. A teenage beauty queen named Lara gets a mysterious disease that causes her, despite her best intentions, to gain weight - lots of it, fast. In the first chapter (numbered 118, her weight at the time) she's rich and has a perfect family...except that Mom's insecure and vulgar, Lara's friends hit on dad, and little brother is a sullen stoner. But they all look GREAT. Mom was a beauty queen herself). Lara thinks she's a liberal; she has a chubby sidekick (Molly "the Mouth") and doesn't join in when her spiteful skinny friends mock all the outcasts (but she doesn't do much to stop them either). When she suggests to the school Fat Girl, Fatty Patty, that maybe they could work out together, she is hurt and puzzled when Patty lashes out at her. Little does Lara know that within a year she will be known as "Lardass."
As the chapter numbers rise with her weight, watch her transformation from Prep With It All to bitter, defensive, jazz afficianado. She not only has to be the Fat Girl at her new school (they've moved so Perfect Mom can get Perfect Dad away from Perfect Mistress),but with NO TRAINING in how to be the fat girl and survive. So she's surprised when what looks like flirting is just the setup for a horrible joke, at the horrors of gym class, at how her old friends are shallow and horrible. She even starts putting up with thoughtless garbage from her boyfriend while getting clingy and jealous like a fat girl!
References so modern they're already dated abound (unfortunately for future readers, who will trip over every one of them). The word "y'all" is thrown in, possibly at random, every few sentences in the first chapter to show that it is the south, but it tapers off. These are petty flaws and wouldn't be noticeable if the rest wasn't dynamite.
I can say no more without giving away key information, but this book is far more true and complicated than the cover photo suggests. Anyone that has anything to do with weight or adolescents needs to read this book. Bennett captures so many of the little (and huge) indignities that I could almost swear she herself was fat.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A solid, thought-provoking novel, 8. Juni 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Life in the Fat Lane (Gebundene Ausgabe)
In LIFE IN THE FAT LANE, Cherie Bennett skillfully takes thereader on a journey through the life of Lara Ardeche, a talented andpopular pageant winner who finds that her life completely changes when she begins to experience a severe weight gain. As Lara continues to mysteriously gain weight, she discovers who her true friends are and what is most important in life.
During Lara's weight gain, problems within her family are brought out into the open. Her mother discovers that Lara's father has been having an affair with a younger woman. This subplot adds much to the novel, reiterating how women are treated and portrayed in today's society when they gain weight and/or grow older.
Lara experiences many difficult changes after she and her family move in hopes of learning more about her condition. She must deal not only with being the new girl, but also with continuing to be the "fat girl." In addition, she finds herself on thereceiving end of lookism, which causes her to realize that her looks, previously the main reason that many people liked her, are now what make her an outcast.
Cherie Bennett paints a realistic image of the media's power and influence over many people in today's looks-obsessed society. She also uses Lara's various weights as "chapters" in the novel; for example, the book begins with Chapter 118 (Lara's original weight). This is a unique touch and allows the reader to follow Lara throughout her weight gain.
LIFE IN THE FAT LANE is a powerful, compelling novel that gives the reader the opportunity to truly see what life is like on the other side of the fence. Genunine and heartfelt, it also makes the reader think and leaves him/her with numerous lessons that apply to all of our lives.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Review for Life in the Fat Lane, 22. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Life in the Fat Lane (Gebundene Ausgabe)
The book starts out in Nashville, when a girl named Lara is the main character. She is the model student, the model friend, and the model woman. She was declared homecoming queen in her sophmore year, and was the winner of many beauty pageants. But all of a sudden, she has an allergic reaction and she begins to gain weight. She keeps on gaining weight until she is almost two times the weight she was to begin with. This book is about her life with a weight-gaining disease, and her life in the "fat" lane. As I said before, the main character is Lara, the perfect woman/student. Her mom and dad are also perfect, that is, in body shape. They are both fit and very healthy. When their daughter begins to gain weight, they get embarassed and are unhappy about her. Her best friend, Molly, is overweight, but since Lara is such a good person, she stays best friends with her through thick and thin. Since Lara is very popular at the beginning of the book, she has many secondary friends that are mentioned. Her boyfriend, Jett, is a very supportive person, and is a great boyfriend. This book is set in Nashville, and about halfway through the book, she moves to Detroit, which is a totally different environment. The time is about 1997, and like I said before, Lara is a sophmore in high school. The main theme in this book is don't judge a book by its cover. This is the main theme because even though Lara became fat, she was still the same person, and people didn't think that. I recommend this book to anyone who is a teenager, because it is very real-to-life, and it is just an overall good book. I give it 5 stars.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen Full of superficial characters, unrealistic and depressing, 8. Mai 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Life in the Fat Lane (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I borrowed this book from the library expecting a book about being positive in a world where plus-size people are already ostracized. I could not believe how superficial the characters were...and after spending three consecutive hours reading the book, I only came to one conclusion: I had wasted my time. It's bad enough that most teenagers are insecure, but to write about a girl, who was supposedly perfect and making her gain weight to be imperfect and having everyone tease her is only damaging to a child. Perhaps I expected too much from this book...but with so many books out on the market, I was hoping against hope that this would not be your run-of-the-mill "The fat person is the loser, being thin is beautiful," story. Life isn't perfect, but to create a character who is assumed perfect because of body size is stupid. There are many kids out there who are easily influeneced by such literature, that something that many have been intended as helpful can actually be harmful. I gave this book one star, because despite the storyline, it was very well-written. I'm surprised that a book like this would be published in the 90's. With so many teens struggling with weight issues, the last thing that is needed is a book about a girl who thinks being fat means being a failure. Maybe this was not Bennet's intention, but believe me, I know many people who would interpret it this way. Maybe the sequel to this book will have her as a plus-size model in MODE or something. We can only hope, right?
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen An extraordinary book, 13. April 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Life in the Fat Lane (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I am in awe of Cherie Bennett. She actually manages to combine a compelling story, strong characters, a profoundly important theme, and highly unfashionable (but true) ideas. On one level, this book works as a parable about the shallowness of popularity. On another, it examines the fragility of one supposedly "stable" family, and how little it took (Lara's weight gain) to blow it apart. On yet another, it simply tells the truth. 98% of all diets fail. We are bombarded by impossible and unhealthy ideals of thinness. People gain weight *from the process of dieting*. There's every reason to believe (e.g., Steven Blair's work) that weight in and of itself is not a meaningful yardstick of health. Low-fat diets cause breast cancer. (New England study involving over 9000 nurses. The same study showed that weight was not an indicator of early death-- unless people were too thin! Exactly the opposite was wrongly reported in the popular press. George Orwell, anyone?)The NIH, in 1994, pronounced that dieting was dangerous and useless. (A fact that everyone seems to have gotten total amnesia about!) When you hear the opposite, as we so frequently do, check the actual facts-- you will be shocked. Cherie Bennett was not afraid to take a very unpopular position, and I applaud her courage. The only downside is that many will avoid this book because it's marketed for teens. It is not a typical teen book. Do yourself a favor and read it!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Finding out it's not about size when your own gets bigger., 24. Juli 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Life in the Fat Lane (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Lara Ardeche has it all-popularity, a cool boyfriend, a great best friend,and a size 1.Things are great-that is until she gains weight-and not just 1 or 2 pounds. Not only that but it won't stop. It's every teen's worst nightmare come true. Join Lara as she learns about how life is-in the Fat Lane.This was a great book.The characters are realistic and believeable.I found that all the characters were like people that you meet in every day life, they could be you, someone like you or someone you know. Lara is who every girl wants to be and at the same time how every girl should learn to be without having to have a tremendous weight gain.It's a perfect example of how our society is unaccepting of people with weight problems.This book really makes you think twice about how you treat people because tommorow it could be you.Sometimes people forget that and this book is a good reminder.When I read this book it remeinded me a lot of how my school is,from Patty Asher-the school'! s overweight girl that everyone makes fun of to Molly the slightly overweight girl who is pressured to lose weight even though she's perfectly healthy to Lara and the in crowd who makes it hard for everyone.I would recommend this book to anyone because it helps you to see that size is only a number.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Life in the Fat Lane: How stereotypes can hurt., 3. November 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Life in the Fat Lane (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Life In The Fat Lane by Cherie Bennet has quickly become one of my favorite books. This is for many reasons, but most importantly how it makes readers aware of the affects of stereotypes. But first, a little about the book. Lara Ardeche, a junior in high school has the perfect body, and the perfect life (or so it seems). She's pretty, popular, and she's the Homecoming Queen. Sounds great, huh? Well, everythings perfect, until she begins gaining weight. No matter what she does, exercising, whatever, she just keeps gaining. Finally, it is determined that she has Axell-Crowne Syndrome. After awhile (and about 200 pounds!) the weight gain tapers off and she begins to lose weight. Throughout all this, she goes from popular to the butt of all jokes. The stereotypes that occur because of weight gain are just one problem in today's society, however. There's also the quest for the "perfect body." What is that supposed to mean. Every person is an individual, and looks are just part of it. It's also the personality. Your looks can change, but your personality is what makes you you. I think this book makes the readers aware of this fact. And that's the truth.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen How "Life in the Fat Lane" helped me., 18. Juli 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Life in the Fat Lane (Gebundene Ausgabe)
As I flipped through "Life in the Fat Lane" I realized that being thin isn't everything. I was moved to tears many times while reading this wonderful novel. I found myself seeing how I was hurting my body while trying to lose weight. I've always been over weight and when I heard of this book I told myself that I would read it and take its information into consideration. Being from a small town where you find yourself out of work unless you look "good" is hard especially when you are a teenager. This book by Cherie Bennett made me realize that you don't have to look like a model for someone to care about you. In our society we tend to judge people on how they look, this book tells us that even the fattest person could have been Prom Queen, Model looking, or beautiful at one time. I have now tryed not to get down on myself when I find something doesn't fit, or I feel fat, whatever the case may be. It takes a lot to change many years of socie! ty saying, "NO you can't do this" and "NO you can't wear that", all because of the way you look. Thanks a lot Cherie for writting a book that made me see the light!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 26 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Life in the Fat Lane
Life in the Fat Lane von Cherie Bennett (Taschenbuch - 12. Juli 2011)
EUR 8,50
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen