Kundenrezensionen


37 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (24)
4 Sterne:
 (5)
3 Sterne:
 (6)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


10 von 11 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A mind opening book that makes you smile from the heart
Of my two favorite memories of Campbell's talks with Bill Moyers of PBS, which is what this book transcribes and encapsulates, the one that comes to mind is an introduction between Campbell and a Catholic Priest, perhaps a Cardinal, that he retells. After they are introduced and the Priest is told who Dr. Campbell is and a little about his life, he asks him, "Are...
Veröffentlicht am 22. Juni 2000 von Earl Hazell

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen A very good read
I got alot more out of this book than i thought i would. i often reflect back to this book and new "clicks" happen for me by comparing cultural myths and beliefs. If this book is read in the right frame of mind you can see alot of a bigger human spiritual picture out of it. This is a good read for a tired after work weekday night. Not hard reading soft...
Veröffentlicht am 1. April 2000 von greymagician


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 4 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

10 von 11 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A mind opening book that makes you smile from the heart, 22. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Power of Myth (Taschenbuch)
Of my two favorite memories of Campbell's talks with Bill Moyers of PBS, which is what this book transcribes and encapsulates, the one that comes to mind is an introduction between Campbell and a Catholic Priest, perhaps a Cardinal, that he retells. After they are introduced and the Priest is told who Dr. Campbell is and a little about his life, he asks him, "Are you still Catholic?" To which he replies "No, Father." He then asks- and Campbell was impressed by his specificity- "Do you believe in a *personal* God?" To which Campbell replies, "No, Father."
The Priest then replies, almost as if to engage in a debate and denigrate the atheist's worship of the rational mind uber alles simultaneously (and an atheist is what you are led to assume he thinks Campbell is), "Well, I guess there is no way to logically prove the existence of God." And Campbell answers, calmly, "If there were Father, what would be the value of faith?"
"It's been a pleasure meeting you Dr. Campbell, have a nice day."
Regardless of your faith, interest, background or education, you will find yourself in the same shoes of that Priest when you read this. Campbell's erudition and knowledge of the many ideas, subtexts and similarities inherent in the world's treasure trove of mythology is daunting to say the least, and his approach is designed to have it all make sense to the modern human's heart. THE POWER OF MYTH may be the best Campbell book to serve as the doorway to his world, his incredible mind, and the eternal wisdom of mythology, as it manifests itself in every culture- not to mention our personal lives.
To say it will make you think is almost denigrating it; it will make you ponder. It will lead you (after quite possibly confusing the hell out of you, as you try to absorb it into a preexisting way of thinking that may become obsolete via what he teaches) to wonder the way children wonder. And in the end, you will smile from the soul, not just the heart. I highly recommend this as a Joseph Campbell and Mythology primer- and recommend HERO OF A THOUSAND FACES after this has whet your appetite's soul.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Free Your Mind Before Beginning This Book!, 26. Mai 2000
Von 
K. Street (Dickson, TN USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Power of Myth (Taschenbuch)
Do not begin this book with a closed mind. Joseph Campbell can lead you into a new passage of your life if you are ready for it.
The question and answer format can be, at times, ponderous and tedious, however this is the best introduction to Mr. Campbell's work. There were sections that I longed to be able to interject my own questions following the direction that I felt the conversation was naturally heading, but Mr. Moyers felt that it was going another way. This can be my only complaint.
Mr. Campbell goes into explaining many symbols that saturate our society. Some symbols we are experiencing everyday, but are unconscious of them. This is the collective unconscious of things that we have stored in our collective memory banks. Mr. Campbell attempts to explain some of these. He also draws many parallels between a variety of sources including poetry, literature, and art. This book is an overall culture lesson that everyone needs. The basic "knowledge" that is in-bred in each of us needs to be examined. However, only a small amount of people today even attempt to understand that. My point is, those symbols and experiences are our bonds as human beings. This is important to humanity.
Read this book if you are prepared to dwell on the things that he has put before you. Have a highlighter ready to remind yourself of those most important quotes from the book!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Following Your Bliss, Aurally, 27. März 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Power Of Myth: Programs 1-6 (Audio CD)
Moyers and Campbell's conversation first aired on the PBS special: "The Power of Myth." The tapes capture the relaxed and entertaining essence of six programs: The Hero's Adventure; The Message of the Myth; The First Storytellers; Sacrifice and Bliss; Love and the Goddess; and Masks of Eternity. There is something very comforting in hearing Campbell's voice respond with ease to Moyers questions about myth: questions that anyone might ask. Campbell was a great storyteller, but it is his range of stories and depth of insightful interpretation that will keep the listener engaged - maybe awed. Taking place on George Lucas' Skywalker Ranch, "The Hero's Adventure" discussion has an interesting piece where Campbell laments the paucity of modern heroes and its consequences for adults and children alike. Then he relates the plot from the Lucas film "Stars Wars" with elements of the hero's journey; the listener can hear Campbell's optimistic excitement as he links the film's characters and plot to the Hero's rite of passage. The listener can sense Campbell's hope for future hero/heroine role models with universal appeal as his voice trys to keep pace with his thoughts. After listening to a tape individuals may feel a sense connectiveness to all that surrounds them: touched by the wisdom of myth. Campbell's words still echo in my ears, "If you follow your bliss . . .the life you ought to be living is the one you are living." For those who need to see the words and visually hold them in space and time, Moyers and Campbell's book "The Power of Myth" [edited by Flowers] provides the orginal PBS transcipt and additional material that was edited out. In addition to the six topics detailed on the tapes, the book includes the program on The Journey Inward.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen WOW, 8. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Power of Myth (Taschenbuch)
I am usually a men of many words, but I will be very concise here.READ THIS BOOK.JUST READ THIS BOOK.If you don't read anything else in your life, READ THIS BOOK.I believe that this book should be mandatory reading for any college philosophy,psychology, or religion course.I believe it is also an asset for artists, musicians and writers.Anyone who deals on a day to day basis with the world of the human mind.Life just made so much more sense to me after I read this book.But beware...if you have been braiwashed in any way by organized religion, you may have to learn to think rationally and clearly before you can get the message in this book.So free your mind, and open a great book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A book that changed my life, 20. April 2008
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Power of Myth (Taschenbuch)
This is the 1st. book I read from Joseph Campbell. In this interview (buy the DVDs with the original interview as well) Campell discribed the heroes path and compare the importance of myths over the ancieant civilizations until today and how the humanity got these myths lost and the consequences for us. He talks about the mistery of Life and Death and the connection to a higher power seen from the point of view of different and isolated cultures and how similar (or even the same) in their essence. It is not a religious book, since Campbell does not preach for a religion but for values that held preserved the humanity over the centuries. To importance of rituals and the myths, sometimes bizzar on today world, where finance and individual pleasure overcome the truly meaning of life.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen - an enlighting discussion -, 27. April 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Power of Myth (Taschenbuch)
A marvellous and highly sophisticated trip through the world of mythodology encompassing a wide range of topics - presented in the format of an extended interview that gives the whole story a little more juice than it would have received without the nonchalant chat between two elderly "silverbacks" who star the dissussion of archetypical motivs that make up good stories to the present day.

Campbell excells in giving us a kaleidoscopic insight into evergreens of narration that people love to hear about for ages - ranging from the expatriation of adam & eve from paradise to the more contemporary adventures of luke sykywalker.

A history of mythodology that evolves in the course of a sometimes very personal and at other times sober and academical but always well balanced and here and there also ironic and humorous disscussion.

It my be stated that the book has a - it my be justified to sa so - enlighting quality to it in that it discusses and reflects with profound knwowledge and wisdom the everlasting quest of people of all ages, cultures and ethnics for sense and guidance in their being - and Campbell knows the stories to tell the stories of the quest. It is truly a good read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Captivating, 12. Juni 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Power of Myth (Taschenbuch)
Basically, transcriptions of a series of really great conversations. Though I can't say I agree with all of his conclusions, Campbell's erudition is astonishing, & it's wonderful fun hearing him hold forth on everything from Jesus & Buddha to John Lennon & Star Wars. This is the best kind of book - one that sends you scuttling off to the library in search of a dozen other titles. Probably the best general introduction I've read on mythology, religion, & their importance in our lives & culture.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen A very good read, 1. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Power of Myth (Taschenbuch)
I got alot more out of this book than i thought i would. i often reflect back to this book and new "clicks" happen for me by comparing cultural myths and beliefs. If this book is read in the right frame of mind you can see alot of a bigger human spiritual picture out of it. This is a good read for a tired after work weekday night. Not hard reading soft and entertaining. I would recommend it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen WOW, 8. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Power of Myth (Taschenbuch)
I am usually a man of many words, but I will be very concise here.READ THIS BOOK.JUST READ THIS BOOK.If you don't read anything else in your life, READ THIS BOOK.I believe that this book should be mandatory reading for any college philosophy,psychology, or religion course.I believe it is also an asset for artists, musicians and writers.Anyone who deals on a day to day basis with the world of the human mind.Life just made so much more sense to me after I read this book.But beware...if you have been braiwashed in any way by organized religion, you may have to learn to think rationally and clearly before you can get the message in this book.So free your mind, and open a great book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A Must for the Thinking Person's Library!, 6. Dezember 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Power of Myth (Taschenbuch)
I have seen the Joseph Campbell interviews on PBS with Bill Moyers. I loved that series so much that when it came out on video, I rented them to watch again. Never having been privileged to take one of Joseph Campbell's courses at Sarah Lawrence I am deeply grateful that I have the benefit of his knowledge through television and books.
He makes the spiritual images of my childhood's faith come alive with his explanations of the timeless themes of mythology.
Endless facinating; highly recommended!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 4 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Power of Myth
The Power of Myth von Bill Moyers (Taschenbuch - 1. Juni 1991)
EUR 11,60
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen