Kundenrezensionen


42 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (30)
4 Sterne:
 (3)
3 Sterne:
 (4)
2 Sterne:
 (3)
1 Sterne:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The Mahabharata and Bhagavad Gita in a golf setting
It's either funny or sad that none of the reviews I've read about this book, either in print or on Amazon, recognize the source of this story: the Indian epic, the Mahabharata. The Mahabharata is one of the greatest stories ever told - and the Bhagavad Gita is given smack dab in the middle of it.
"The Legend of Bagger Vance" is a retelling of this epic,...
Am 27. Juli 1999 veröffentlicht

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen Golfers will love it
This is Pressfield's first book and it is a very readable tale of a great, mythical golf match in Savannah in 1931. If you like Golf you will find this an intriguing book with a few mystical pages that may be confusing or seem pointless but a lot of vivid almost lyric description of the people, the game and the era. It is a fun read but maybe especially so for...
Veröffentlicht am 18. April 2000 von Newt Gingrich


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The Mahabharata and Bhagavad Gita in a golf setting, 27. Juli 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Legend of Bagger Vance: A Novel of Golf and the Game of Life (Taschenbuch)
It's either funny or sad that none of the reviews I've read about this book, either in print or on Amazon, recognize the source of this story: the Indian epic, the Mahabharata. The Mahabharata is one of the greatest stories ever told - and the Bhagavad Gita is given smack dab in the middle of it.
"The Legend of Bagger Vance" is a retelling of this epic, and a summary of the Bhagavad Gita, in a wonderful golf story. In the Mahabharata, Arjuna must fight a war against his step-brothers and cousins over possession of the kingdom. It is a righteous war, for he and his brothers are the heirs. But he refuses to fight, saying that war is futile and that it would be better to die than to fight one's family. So his charioteer, Lord Krishna, an incarnation of God, has to park the chariot and give him a really long lecture about why he should put aside his doubts, do his duty, and fight. Of course, it takes him the whole Bhagavad Gita to explain why this is a good thing to do, and it involves helping Arjuna understand who he really is, who God is, and what the nature of reality is. Along the way, he explains how to find peace in the midst of action, and to discover our true nature.
The Bhagavad Gita explains how to find union with God in the midst of daily life, and "The Legend of Bagger Vance" gives a very readable restatement of how to live a truly authentic life (and play great "golf" - whatever your form of "golf" is).
In "Legend," our hero, Rannulph Junah (R.Junah for those who like things spelled out) is a world-weary war veteran who is asked to play a game of golf with Walter Hagen and Bobby Jones. He reluctantly agrees, then tries to withdraw, saying that in a world torn apart by conflict and the Depression, it was futile, senseless, stupid, and insulting to hit a small dimpled ball around a course in yet one more form of combat. His caddy, Bagger Vance (Bhagavan, an honorific title for the Lord or for a spiritual master), then spends the rest of the story talking him through the 36-hole tournament, stripping away his confusion and delusion to help him find the truth of his Authentic Stroke and see the value of doing our inborn duty that life presents to us.
Does he succeed? Can we? Read this fun story and find out!
Afterwards, get Kamala Subramaniam's version of the "Mahabharata" and enjoy an even more interesting story.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A Surprisingly Fun Read, 13. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Legend of Bagger Vance: A Novel of Golf and the Game of Life (Taschenbuch)
I picked up a few golf books this Winter to get me into the spirit and look forward to the upcoming season. One of the books I picked up was recommended to me by a friend, "The Legend of Bagger Vance". I enjoyed this book as a reader and as a golfer.
The basic premise: can a golfer return to the game after a long absence, guided by a mystical caddie, to compete with a couple of the world's best competitors? As a golfer, I say no. When I haven't been playing for a while, it takes a lot more than my mental approach to get my game back on track.
This story takes you on a mystical journey on e legendary golf course on a foggy, windy island of the coast of Savannah. I always enjoy stories that take me to a different time using some actual characters of the day. The setting is one of the strong points of the book. This author does an excellent job describing the golf world in the early 1930s.
The real strength of the book is the mysterious Bagger Vance who encourages the lead character to transcend the physical world to overcome his golfing challenges. We all know how much golf is a mental game. This book takes it a step further. Forget about keeping your left arm straight, your head down, and your wrists firm, this book will remind you that there are "other" elements at play in the game of golf.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen An Incredible Fantasy of Golf, 22. März 2000
Von 
Bob Foofoo (the Red (actually, kind of mauve) planet) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
My father, an avid golfer, recommended "The legend of Bagger Vance" to me. As I picked it up and began to read, I expected nothing more than a simple innocent story about the underdog holding steady with the favorites in the golf match of a lifetime.
Three and a half hours later, I set the book down, sweat pouring down my face, hands numbly releasing the pages. "The Legend of Bagger Vance" is the most daring book I have ever read. In it, the entire face of reality is questioned, and cataclysmic issues are reopened over what appears to be a simple game of golf.
The plot is unimportant. What matters is the tone of the book. And believe me, it has tone.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen ein wunderbares Buch über das Leben, 3. Juni 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Das Spiel endet sich irgendwann, wie es gespielt wird und wie es am Ende ausgeht, hängt nur von den Spieler ab.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen ein Muß für jeden Golfer, 4. Oktober 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Legend of Bagger Vance: A Novel of Golf and the Game of Life (Taschenbuch)
Ist besser als jedes Golf - Mental - Trainingsbuch. Unterhaltsam, lehrreich, spirituell und das nicht nur für Golfer. Ein Muß für jeden Golfer.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen An Outstanding Story, 12. Juli 2000
Von 
G. Wendt (St. Louis, Missouri United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Legend of Bagger Vance: A Novel of Golf and the Game of Life (Taschenbuch)
In anticipation of the screen play scheduled for November 2000, I purchased the book and was thoroughly pleased with the story and its characters. The novel was writen to transform the reader to the early 1930's. I felt as if I were there to see the story unfold. I would recommend the novel for anyone who would like to see the mystical side of the sport.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen So good, you'll read again., 1. Juni 2000
This book will remind golfers why we play, and it will helpthose that don't to better understand why the passion for the game canrun so deep. I have read it once a year since 1995 and everytime I am reminded that golf is more than just a game.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Golfers will love it, 18. April 2000
Von 
Newt Gingrich (Washington, DC United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
("DER/DIE/DAS")   
This is Pressfield's first book and it is a very readable tale of a great, mythical golf match in Savannah in 1931. If you like Golf you will find this an intriguing book with a few mystical pages that may be confusing or seem pointless but a lot of vivid almost lyric description of the people, the game and the era. It is a fun read but maybe especially so for golfers. It is totally different from his Greek novels and that may be a tribute to the range of his writing skill.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2.0 von 5 Sternen A complete lack of subtlety, 4. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Legend of Bagger Vance: A Novel of Golf and the Game of Life (Taschenbuch)
Although my book group had a great discussion about the themes in the book, I can not say I enjoyed reading it in the slightest. First, the golf scenes are long and extremely detailed. You need to have some basic understanding and appreciation for golf in able to digest much of the story. Second, I found the author's use of metaphors extremely heavy handed. The author not only alludes to certain things - he reiterates explicitly that he was in fact referring to those things (I won't say what and ruin the story). At least it was a quick read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Good golf story muddled by poor attempt at mysticism, 21. Februar 2000
Von 
Spencer K. Stephens (Rockville, Maryland USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Legend of Bagger Vance: A Novel of Golf and the Game of Life (Taschenbuch)
This book reminds me of my own golf swing: it starts out promising, straight and true. But as it progresses, it takes a wicked slice and ends up somewhere in the woods, leaving disappointment in its wake. It is the story of an evening's encounter between a wise and experienced doctor/golfer and his young protege. The protege is considering abandoning both his medical career and his attempt to improve his very impressive golf game. The older man, hoping to intervene, begins with a story about a remarkable golf match long ago ... . The tale of the golf match is riveting and fascinating. I won't spoil it for you. But at the end of the match, the writer takes his reader on a detour of mystical proportions, applying golf to life in an impossible way that stretches credulity. This part of the story brings forth the mental image of a punctured balata: under pressure, it doesn't hold up.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Legend of Bagger Vance: A Novel of Golf and the Game of Life
The Legend of Bagger Vance: A Novel of Golf and the Game of Life von Steven Pressfield (Taschenbuch - 1. Juni 1996)
EUR 10,20
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen