Kundenrezensionen


16 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (9)
4 Sterne:
 (3)
3 Sterne:
 (3)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


6 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Nice read but not overwhelming
The problem with canonical SciFi stories in a consistent universe is the limited amount of philosophical questions to ask. The culture universe seems to have reached a point where there isn't much new to discover (if you have read all his culture novels, that is).

Still this is a very good work that I enjoyed reading, but it either lacks the depth of some other...
Veröffentlicht am 3. Januar 2013 von Anonym

versus
4 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen It's a Culture novel
I think I have read them all - something keeps drawing me back. I didn't find it terribly satisfying, though. Culture, as Iain M. Banks developed it, is just too far from normal human concerns to still really grab the reader. If even the protagonists don't care how the story ends, why would the reader?
Veröffentlicht am 27. Dezember 2012 von Harald Berndt


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

6 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Nice read but not overwhelming, 3. Januar 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Hydrogen Sonata (Taschenbuch)
The problem with canonical SciFi stories in a consistent universe is the limited amount of philosophical questions to ask. The culture universe seems to have reached a point where there isn't much new to discover (if you have read all his culture novels, that is).

Still this is a very good work that I enjoyed reading, but it either lacks the depth of some other culture novels, or I couldn't see them. I think Banks wanted to make a point about pointlessness, but if so, he couldn't get the right traction for this concept - which may be his or my fault.

Anyway I have still big interest in Banks and the culture universe. I will almost definitively buy his next book, even if this one wasn't the best of all his SciFi novels.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


7 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Die Minds schlagen zurück, 26. Oktober 2012
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Hydrogen Sonata (Taschenbuch)
"The Hydrogen Sonata" ist ein leichtgewichtigeres Buch als Banks' vorangehende SF-Titel "Matter" und "Surface Detail". Der ironische, gelegentlich auch sarkastische Austausch zwischen den Raumschiff-"Minds" (künstlichen Intelligenzen), welche die Zivilisation der banksianischen "Culture" lenken und in diesem Roman in grosser Zahl auftreten, scheint dem Verfasser hier oft wichtiger als das Fortschreiten der relativ dünnen Handlung. Damit handelt es sich um einen seiner Mind-lastigsten Romane überhaupt, jedenfalls seit "Excession", und wer diesen Aspekt von Banks' Schreiben schätzt, wird ohne Zweifel voll auf seine Kosten kommen - für mich war das der Fall. Ich mag die Minds, das Konzept von Zivilisation, das sie repräsentieren - und ihre Exzentrik. Die Liste der albernen Raumschiffnamen wird um etliche ergänzt: von der ''Caconym'' (altgriechisch für "schlechter Name") über die "Refreshingly Unconcerned With the Vulgar Exigencies of Veracity" bis zur "Just the Washing Instruction Chip in Life's Rich Tapestry" hat sich Banks mal wieder kräftig ausgetobt. Obwohl "Matter" und "Surface Detail" gewiss tiefschürfender und origineller waren, gebe ich auch diesem Roman nun mit Vergnügen fünf Sterne - er liest sich einfach zu verflixt gut, um weniger zu verdienen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen a must-read of SF from Iain M banks, after Consider Phlebas, 20. Juli 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Hydrogen Sonata (Taschenbuch)
The Hydrogen Sonata is about the near Sublimation of the Gzilt, a civilisation at the same technological level than the Culture. For those that read mostly mainstream novels, this would be like a story about passing away from the material world and inheritance, although at the level of galactic civilizations. The Hydrogen Sonata is a clear return to form by science-fiction writer Iain M banks. It displays a rather mature shaping of the plot, the structure, and its characters. It is never easy (at least for me) to summarize in a few paragraphs the more than hundred thousands words typically delivered in each of his books, moreover because the content is challenging, complex, split, multi-layered, resonant, with a long-term remarkable interpretative added value, that a written, fixed, public review may only interfere with, unless the review remains vague and flexible enough to allow for new impressions.
The story is very astounding, even more than that of Surface detail, and it shows unequivocally that Iain M Banks is a great storyteller.
Whereas his first SF novels are "realistic" and action-driven ("travelling with the body though physical landscapes"), the latter novels are more caricaturesque and thought-driven ("travelling with the mind through galleries of ideas"). The first SF novel, Consider Phlebas, and The Hydrogen Sonata might thus constitute such antipodes, noting also that whereas in the first novel everything seems to spiral out, at least for the main protagonist, in the last novel everything seems to spiral in. In The Hydrogen Sonata, the events are assessed successively by- or reverberated across a chain of actors/observers, producing some redundancy, but it is not critical. Team work is well depicted. The wrong doings of the few Gzilt baddies appear incredible for a civilization that advanced, though one might hypothesize this is because the Gzilt do not surrender their governing or evolution to artificial intelligence like in the Culture. After Matter and Surface Detail, this is the third consecutive Culture novel with a female main protagonist reaching Contact due to special circumstances (though very different circumstances indeed). The novel offers a lot to reflect upon (on the one side, casual social engineering - not so like in Dune from Frank Herbert, exceptionalism, militarism, and over-conceptualized art, and on the other side, futuristic technology, embodiment, longevity, the beginnings of the Culture, and so on) and is a great read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Not his best... but still wonderful, 8. Juli 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
The Gzilt species is preparing to pass on to the Ultimate Enfold -the transition to an immaterial existence. Thy have a holy book which - unlike most - correctly predicted most societal development over the millenia, and is therefore the uncontroversial fundamental of Gzilt society. It was, however, written and "revealed" by an old species - itself passed on long ago - as an experiment in civilization-building. That old species - somewhat regretfully - left the order to inform the Gzilt about the origins of their scripture before they transcend. The powers that be, strongly pursuing the Ultimate Enfold, want to suppress that information, as it might disturb the orderly transition to beyond, while another fraction tries to verify it.
Vyr Cossont, a Gzilt player of the acoustic Antagonistic 11-string for four hands, gets involved in this struggle, which results in the galactic search for the memories of the most likely oldest Culture citizen.
Fun to read, especially the musical parts about a symphony whose beauty is that it's written for an instrument still to be invented, and requiring a four-armed very trained soloist, while at the same time sounding horrible.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen For a change, most of the cast survive., 27. Januar 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
The Hydrogen Sonata is one of those books that you spend half the book trying to figure out what it is about and the other half following the fragments of story that are revealed piecemeal. At the end however, you realise that it was worth it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen It's a Culture novel, 27. Dezember 2012
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
I think I have read them all - something keeps drawing me back. I didn't find it terribly satisfying, though. Culture, as Iain M. Banks developed it, is just too far from normal human concerns to still really grab the reader. If even the protagonists don't care how the story ends, why would the reader?
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen meaningless, 12. Februar 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Hydrogen Sonata (Taschenbuch)
absolutely meaningless ... at first a little bit disappointing. It took me some weeks to realize that exactly this is the point of the whole book. Don't get me wrong, there is a lot happening - people, minds and whole civilizations dying or changed for ever - there is a lot interesting stuff about minds too ... but in the end it is just meaningless. And the best of it: it is not depressing but enlightening. If you didn't get it at your first read, go back to page 211 ff. Thanks to Banks I have a lot more fun reading the newspaper now. This book hit me when I have been in the right mood.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


0 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen a very good read, but not excellent, 15. November 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Ich habe alle Bücher über "The Culture" gelesen, dieses Buch ist ein von den besten. Es gibt aber ein paar kleine Nachteile: die Sprache ist manchmal wirklich zu bunt, zu viel Homoerotismus für mich (obwohl ich kein Homophob bin), die Aliens (Gzilt) sind zu menschlich.
Trotzdem ein sehr gutes Buch.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Wieder mal sehr gut, 11. November 2012
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Als Banks-Fan der ersten Stunde bin ich begeistert von der 'Hydrogen Sonata'. Nachdem mir die letzten zwei oder drei Science Fiction-Bücher von Iain Banks nicht als außergewöhnlich in Erinnerung geblieben sind (obwohl ich sie gerne gelesen habe), schließt der Autor hier wieder an die Kraft, Dynamik und den Witz von 'Excession' an. Empfehlenswert!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Cultur at its best., 7. November 2012
Von 
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Ich kann mich der Vorrezension nur anschließen,auch bei mir kam sofort der Vergleich und die Parelellen zu Excession auf und das war klasse,weil Ich dieses Buch immer noch genieße und die Minds eben für mich das verkörpern was die Kultur so interresant macht,eben ihre verrückten Schiffe.
Dazu wieder geniale und sehr plastisch beschriebene Hintergründe ,man sollte das Buch wirklich genau lesen da Banks dicht gepackt schreibt ,trotz einfacher Story.Einfach ein fantastischer Lesespaß und ein Roman wie Ich in seit Jahren vermiße
in der Science Fiction ,wo gutes Lesefutter selten wird.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Hydrogen Sonata (Culture 10)
The Hydrogen Sonata (Culture 10) von Iain M. Banks (Taschenbuch - 10. September 2013)
EUR 10,50
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen