Fashion Sale Hier klicken Sport & Outdoor calendarGirl Cloud Drive Photos Sony Learn More madamet saison Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Lego Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

3,1 von 5 Sternen64
3,1 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:10,50 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

Stellen Sie sich vor, Sie lesen die Kolumnen aus dem "New York Star"...

Bevor aus "Sex and the City" die weltberühmte Fernsehserie wurde, erschien zuerst die literarische Vorlage von Candace Bushnell. Die negativen Kritiken bezüglich des Buches resultieren schlicht und einfach aus der Unwissenheit der Leserinnen und den dadurch falsch erweckten Erwartungen. Denn das Buch hat mit der Serie nichts gemeinsam - zum Glück! Wo in der Serie die vier Damen teils wie läufige Hündinnen mit wechselnden Partnern im Wochentakt und geheuchelter Emanzipation durch New York stöckeln, geht es im Buch eine Spur realistischer zu.

Die Handlung ist klar bei den oberen Zehntausend angesiedelt. Das Leben und die flüchtigen Bekanntschaften wirken hier eher wie ein Spielplatz. Und jede der Kolumnen vereint ein anderes Subjekt zum Thema Sex, Liebe und eben die Großstadt. Treffend und scharfzüngig wird die Oberflächlichkeit zwischenmenschlicher Bindungen entlarvt und mit präzisem Blick beobachtet. Es tauchen immer wieder die gleichen Charaktere auf, aber auf die vier Damen in der gewohnten Konstellation muss verzichtet werden. Zudem sollte man das Alter des Buches nicht vergessen, ansonsten könnte es altbacken wirken.

FAZIT: Spritzige Kolumnen über Carrie Bradshaw und ihre Sorgen und Nöte mal als Single, mal mit Mr. Big oder dem illustren Freundeskreis - aber immer in New York. Bei weitem nicht so kitschig und realitätsfern wie die Fernsehserie und daher eher nicht für den Großteil der Damenwelt geeignet. Wer es aber gerne scharf, spitz und clever mag, und sowieso gerne urbane Literatur liest, sollte einen Blick riskieren und sich von den negativen Kritiken nicht abschrecken lassen. Wirklich empfehlenswert, wenn auch nicht für jeden.
0Kommentar|7 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. Juni 2000
Well, most of the people who will read this book will do so because of the great success of the HBO's series. But try not to expect too much. It was a good starting point for the TV show, but sometimes it is dissappointing in some details. In my opinion, the TV show is better. But hey, go ahead and read it! It is not bad at all. It surely shows some aspects of single-life here in New York, and the shallow characters are so easy to find in real life! I can say that, because I am currently living in Manhattan and I have seen similar weird situations depicted in this book. If you want some summer fun, pick up this book. I finished it in just 4 days...
0Kommentar|5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. Juli 2010
Das Buch hat mit der Serie leider nicht sehr viel gemeinsam. Wenn man sich, wie ich, aufgrund der Serie dieses Buch gekauft hat, wird man doch ein wenig enttäuscht. Ansonsten ist es nicht allzu schlecht. Es sind ein paar interessante Stellen dabei und manchmal ist es wirklich lustig. Ich hab eigentlich immer darauf gewartet, dass es endlich besser wird. Manche Charaktere sind doch ein wenig öde und berechenbar und hat weit aus nicht so viel Witz wie die Serie oder der Film. Also dafür, dass es eigentlich die Vorlage dafür war, hab ich mir wirklich mehr erwartet...
0Kommentar|5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. August 2003
When you read this book there are many things to consider.

1. The book is written in the style of a scientific work of a doctor student. Every chapter has an own topic. There is no coherent plot with the exception of the relationship between Carrie and Mr.Big. In this way the book is often very hard to digest, but once you have put up with this way of writing and swallowed the idea you can enjoy its wit and humour the more.

2. The book is quite different from the HBO serial. This serial deals with the life and sex relationships of four women, Carrie, Samantha, Charlotte and Miranda. In the book only Carrie has a distinguished part, the other women are three out of hundreds. At the beginning it is quite fastidious to have to read so many names of women and men, but at the end you get the idea why Candace Bushnell is doing this: all people consist of names and sex, nothing else.

3. Is this book a moral book? In my opinion it is very much, indeed. The relationship between Carrie and Mr.Big can be described with the following key dialogue. Carrie: "How come you never say 'I love you'?" Mr.Big: "Because I'm afraid if I say 'I love you' you're going to think that we're going to get married." The biggest compliment Mr.Big gives Carrie is: "We're close now, aren't we?" Sex without love. At the end Mr.Big uses all his influence and power to destroy Carrie.

4. When you have finished the book I advise you to read the first chapter again. It has the genious quality of both introducing the book and summing it up. Afterwards you understand what Candace Bushnell wants to tell us.
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. August 2009
If you think this book is going to be like the series - it's not! True, the series was based on this book - and as others have already said before me, usually a movie can never match up to a book, but in this case, it's the other way around. I'm a native English speaker and I even had trouble reading this - it's so disjointed it's all over the place and hard to follow. It's more like someone just jotted down notes about different life situations, then tried to throw them all together in a book with a couple of characters. The result - AWFUL!

Unfortunately I took this book on holiday with me and left it overseas, otherwise I would've sent it back to Amazon for a refund! I was going to buy some of Candace Bushnell's other books as a "fun" read, but will definitely steer clear of them after this experience. I hope after reading this review you will, too!
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. Januar 2002
Die Fernsehserie fand ich echt witzig, das Buch war dann eine Entäuschung. Zu viele Namen, keine echte Hauptperson. Ich bin jetzt auf Seite 180 und danke meinem Schöpfer dafür, daß ich einen Mann zum Heiraten und Befruchten gefunden habe. Das Buch bleibt weit hinter der Serie zurück und ist kein bißchen witzig oder originell. Die vielen neurotischen Leute langweilen einen auf Dauer.
0Kommentar|7 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. September 2010
Candace Bushnell hat auf jeden Fall einen extravaganten Schreibstil, der Spass beim lesen bringt.
Allerdings bin ich mehr Fan der Serie und habe auch die Serie zuerst gesehen, bevor ich das Buch las. Leider hat das Buch nicht viel mit Carrie und Co. gemeinsam. Carrie ist eher eine Tussi mit Alkoholproblemen, einige andere Figuren existieren gar nicht, die Geschichte der Freundinnen existiert eigentlich auch nicht, Mr.Big und Carries Beziehung verläuft völlig anders..und so weiter.

Unterm Strich ist es ein gutes Buch, aber man kann es nur dann mögen wenn man seine Erwartungen komplett von der Serie abspaltet.
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. Februar 2000
I've been watching the TV series for two years and just finished reading the book. I can't believe I waited so long to buy the book--it's terrific. Sure, it's different from the TV series, but anyone who is at least of normal intelligence will get the fact that the book is the real thing, while the tv series, although funny and witty, is the sugar-coated, hollywood-ized version. The book is much more complex and layered than the show, and, like real life, doesn't necessarily have happy endings (or even endings--are there really endings in life besides death?). The show is formulaic, while the book is not. It doesn't pander to the audience. Of course, this means that there are people who won't like the book or won't get it--probably because the truths it reveals make them uncomfortable about things they see in themselves (and don't want to admit to). It presents dating and relationships in a shockingly realistic way, which, I warn you, will probably frighten those people who insist on believing that life is a Harlequin romance or that Prince Charming is still going to ride up on a white horse. Some people complain that the characters are shallow, but the truth is, the characters are real, and, yes folks, we're all a bit shallow and superficial. If we weren't, we wouldn't be human. And that's the beauty of this book--it makes you laugh out loud at our all too human foibles.
0Kommentar|6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. Juli 2000
I am a huge fan of the HBO series SEX AND THE CITY starring Sarah Jessica Parker and gang. It's funny, edgy, and sometimes poignant. I was really excited about reading the book. But I was very disappointed. Unlike the series, Carrie and Co. are portrayed as bitter, angry women. Their relationships aren't developed, nor are their characters. The banter, the warmth of their friendships, and their hopefulness that they will eventually find relationships that work aren't there in the book as they are in the series.
My recommendation? Watch the series, buy the first season DVD, and skip the book!
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. Mai 2000
Maybe people that socialize in a certain circle can appreciate this book more than I can. I didn't even laugh once while reading it. It seems to me that the fabric of a dating scene has to do with who are in it. Can one expect deep relationships to be formed between shallow people? Maybe that's why the author could write up such a book just based on people in her life?
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden