Kundenrezensionen


 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


11 von 11 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen An adult review--and one teacher's viewpoint
May I tell you why I choose to have my ninth grade students read it? I have noticed a lot of reviews by young people, which I applaud, but an adult perspective might be helpful.
I don't particularly feel the need to defend its merits. (I am not articulate enough to do justice to that task.) As with any book, some will love it and some won't. Guaranteed, it...
Veröffentlicht am 8. Juni 2000 von Michele Lewis

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Um...no
This book downsizes life. Ms. Angelou writes well and thought-provokingly, but this book makes hardship and questioning your place in the world seem like experiences specific to African Americans. I agree that this book is slightly racist, though not in the blatant, harsh way that the author seems to have endured. The feelings, thoughts, and questions in the book are...
Am 30. Januar 2000 veröffentlicht


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A better understanding, 29. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings (Taschenbuch)
Hi, i am from Melbourne Australia. I am 19 years old, when i read 'I know why the caged bird sings' as one of my books for year 12. It discribed to me how the African Americans felt about, White people and the discrimmination there was between white and black people. Dr Maya Angelou, discribed her experience very well. She discribed in detail what she thought and how she felt, i could piture the scene in my head. Especially the shop her and Baily lived in, and how the sun set over the store. It was a grate experience for me, it has tought me a lot about the African American history. Dr Angelou inspired me as well as my class, and from then on, i have been reading all her books.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Truely a great book on her life., 11. Oktober 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings (Taschenbuch)
I remember reading this book when I was 10 on my own, and have never forgot it. I felt so many emotions while reading the: from sorrow to joy, from horror to surprise. It really and truely is a great book. It is understandable that a number of students will find it boring. Any book can seem boring when it is being read for homework. This book may also seem to jump around,and have no plot to some people; but it is about her life. It is non-fiction. It let's people see what went on while she was growing up. A vivid collecton of her memories. I highley recommend the book for anyone over 14. Younger than that, you need to have a high school level of reading comprehesion.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Keeps A Young Kid Interested!, 8. Dezember 1999
Von 
Well, I finished the book and I'd have to say I really enjoyed it. I have read many books over the past year and this has to be one of my favorites. So many things happened to Marguerite and she still had will power, it seemed nothing kept her down or unable to do anything. Many people told me to read this book becuase they said it was so great and they were right! This book really inspires me to do everything I want to and if something gets in my way I just have to get around it. She is such a strong woman and for that she deserves a lot of credit. Maya Angelou is a fantastic writer and I can't wait to read some of her poetry or another book!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Why are the reviews of this book so bipolar?, 27. Oktober 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings (Taschenbuch)
In perusing the comments made by others about this book, I was reminded of "The Jungle" by Upton Sinclair, so I looked at those reviews. Both sets of readers found these books to be very graphic, have poor endings, have a suffering main character, and questionable writing styles. Yet, "Caged Bird" readers either absolutely loved the book or hated the paper it was printed on, while "The Jungle" received milder reactions. I cannot figure out why this is; therefore, I ask the question: Are the stronger reactions for "Caged Bird" in either direction a direct function of Maya Angelou's race?
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Um...no, 30. Januar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings (Taschenbuch)
This book downsizes life. Ms. Angelou writes well and thought-provokingly, but this book makes hardship and questioning your place in the world seem like experiences specific to African Americans. I agree that this book is slightly racist, though not in the blatant, harsh way that the author seems to have endured. The feelings, thoughts, and questions in the book are NOT specific to a certain race, because nothing that counts for anything is specific to a certain race. If the book is meant to bring together races of people, it fails miserably. This books widens rifts, and in the end, even the reader feels stung.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen I'm not worthy!, 19. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings (Taschenbuch)
This is one of the best books that I ever read. It was a required book in the tenth grade, and I have to thank the person who made that decision. Maya's life, though riddled with the trails and tribulations of a little girl in a broken home,was one of the most endearing stories I have ever let my eyes scan. The way she entices the reader to cheer along to the Joe Louis fight, or cry when she is "mishandled" by a family friend. Her writing just swallows you up, it's easy to read and helps to form the pictures in your mind. I've read this book four times, it's a keeper. I can't praise it enough.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen inspires me to strive, 20. September 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings (Taschenbuch)
I enjoyed this book on so many levels. The way in which she wrote the book, where we see everything through her eyes at different stages of her life really amazed me. I was able to experience her life right along with her. This book touched me both on a spiritual, emotional, and physical level. At times I could feel the pain she was going through. Her emotions and mood would determine mine. This book has encouraged me to never accept anything but the best in life and to achieve my dreams no matter what.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen a black childhood in the South, 15. April 2010
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings (Taschenbuch)
As a German university student I've been introduced to the American South via a class. Amazon recommended Maya Angelou to me and I bought the book since it sounded interesting. And it was! For all lazy review readers, just some adjectives:

-interesting
-well-written
-poetic
-informative
-warm-hearted
-inspiring

Reading the book I got the impression that Maya Angelou is a smart woman, book- and street-wise.

The book itself has a pretty cover, a good print and good paper.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Every young person should read this, 3. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings (Taschenbuch)
This was an extraordinary book filled with stories like the ones my grandmother has told me. The struggles of a Black woman both in the south and north. It made me feel like I was right there with her going through it all and hoping she'd pull out ok. Ms. Angelo's style of writing made it interesting and colorful. I'd recommend this book to the younger crowd, showing them the struggle - that nothing came easy for her, but she never quit.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The struggles of a young girl and how she overcame them., 10. Juni 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings (Taschenbuch)
A quick review by Michelle A. Bejar.......I first read this book in my English class in the University I am currently attending. It became one of my favorites, that I will have in my own library of books. I know why the caged bird sings, is the biography about Maya Angelou herself, a book that helps understand the struggles of a little girl and her brother Bailey. They both had a hard life, living between Arkansas and California, but both overcame those issues in such a young age. Both children in their young age were not living with their parents due to the divorce, but rather were staying with their grandmother in Arkansas. The grandmother took on the father and mother figure for them, they later had begun to call her Mama too. After moving with their grandmother, the children were facing racial discrimination against them. I think that we can all learn from these issues to make life itself easier. Some readers might not realize this, but I feel that this book teaches us the hard facts about racial issues in life. In Maya's life racism was not the only issue she had to deal with. Once she moved back with her mother, she was raped by her mothers boyfriend at a young age. This is another way she shows the reader how she dealt with hard situations in her young life. I personally recommend this book to adolescent readers, it deals with issues that need to be learned at a young age. I feel that the book will help the majority of the readers to cross giant walls of cultures, race and people. It will help us to learn how to treat and learn about others who might not be the same way as we are. At the end, I think that it will strengthen the race relations between people for the better. In conclusion I would like to add that this book can be funny at time, but also heart breaking at other times. It is the genuine story of a girl, where at times we can relate too.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings von Maya Angelou (Taschenbuch - 21. April 2009)
EUR 6,70
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen