Kundenrezensionen


6 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (2)
4 Sterne:
 (3)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Takes a bit of getting into but well worth the effort
This book initially took a bit of getting into and I feared that I wouldn't be able to finish it. But the more I kept reading, the more I became more and more engrossed in it. So don't be put off if the start feels a bit hard or unwieldy. Keep going!

In this book, the historical subject and subject of the conspiracy is Alexander The Great. As usual, Berry...
Veröffentlicht am 15. August 2009 von Mark O'Neill

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen Quite entertaining .. more suited to the screen?
This was my first Steve Berry Book (featuring Cotton Malone ... plot elements are already summarized above, so I won't repeat). While I found it entertaining, it reminded me more of an action film than what I enjoy most in a good read (e.g. character development). Perhaps I should have started with the first in the series, so that I would feel I know Cotton Malone better...
Veröffentlicht am 1. Dezember 2009 von kashew


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Takes a bit of getting into but well worth the effort, 15. August 2009
Von 
Mark O'Neill (Würzburg) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Venetian Betrayal: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
This book initially took a bit of getting into and I feared that I wouldn't be able to finish it. But the more I kept reading, the more I became more and more engrossed in it. So don't be put off if the start feels a bit hard or unwieldy. Keep going!

In this book, the historical subject and subject of the conspiracy is Alexander The Great. As usual, Berry introduces a secret society into the story - the Venetian League - which makes me feel as if I am surrounded on all sides by secret societies and ruthless assassins!

Berry also introduces a fictional country - The Central Asian Federation - made up of former Russian republics who have all banded together to form one country, under the dictatorship of Supreme Minister Irina Zovastina. Zovastina is a huge fan of Alexander and the Iliad and she is determined to find Alexander's grave. To this end, she instructs two of her men to find and take by force eight elephant medallions which were once the property of Alexander. She is convinced that these medallions hold the clue to what really happened to Alexander in his final days.

But she begins to attact the wrong kind of attention in the form of the US Government and once again, Cotton Malone, Cassiopeia Vitt and Henrik Thorvaldson find themselves fighting one of the world's biggest dictators for control of the Middle East. Added to the mix is a colleague of Zovastina's who is a multi-billionaire and head of the Venetian League. He is convinced he has found the cure for AIDS and he wants to make billions from it. But will Zovastina let him live long enough for that to happen?

A superb addition to the Berry series and I can't wait for the next one to come out in the next couple of months.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen top notch - Steve Berry simply does not disappoint his reader, 28. Oktober 2008
I have to admit that Steve Berry is fast becoming one of my favourite authors. He just does not disappoint his readers.

No. 6 in the Cotton Malone mysteries is not exception. As in the previous five novels Steve Berry offers the reader a fast moving plot linking present and past. It is a gripping plot from page No. 1 onwards. The plot is slightly weird and amusing: if one puts it very short: a power hungry dyke and head of state who fancied herself as the new Alexander the Great goes for world domination and an HIV cure to save her estranged and HIV infected lover. At the same time an equally power hungry financial cartel tries to dominate the world markets. All before the background of a new super power in Asia. There is enough background to make it not too unrealistic while at the same time keeps it clearly in the realm of a novel.

The chapters are short and easy to read and one simply wants to know what happens next. The main characters are the same as in books 1 to 5 and they develop further, becoming rounder and more human. It is not the so often lovingly portrait US vision of the (male) hero saving all on his own the world. Here it is a team, male and female, strong, but weak as well who fight the evil. But Steve Berry writes in such a way that one does not need to have read the first five novels in order to understand these characters. This novel is sequence but stands as well alone and makes perfect sense.

All in all, I just loved to be entertained by Steve Berry's writing: top notch. I am looking forward to his next novel.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen top notch - Steve Berry simply does not disappoint his reader, 20. März 2009
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Venetian Betrayal: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
I have to admit that Steve Berry is fast becoming one of my favourite authors. He just does not disappoint his readers.

No. 6 in the Cotton Malone mysteries is not exception. As in the previous five novels Steve Berry offers the reader a fast moving plot linking present and past. It is a gripping plot from page No. 1 onwards. The plot is slightly weird and amusing: if one puts it very short: a power hungry dyke and head of state who fancied herself as the new Alexander the Great goes for world domination and an HIV cure to save her estranged and HIV infected lover. At the same time an equally power hungry financial cartel tries to dominate the world markets. All before the background of a new super power in Asia. There is enough background to make it not too unrealistic while at the same time keeps it clearly in the realm of a novel.

The chapters are short and easy to read and one simply wants to know what happens next. The main characters are the same as in books 1 to 5 and they develop further, becoming rounder and more human. It is not the so often lovingly portrait US vision of the (male) hero saving all on his own the world. Here it is a team, male and female, strong, but weak as well who fight the evil. But Steve Berry writes in such a way that one does not need to have read the first five novels in order to understand these characters. This novel is sequence but stands as well alone and makes perfect sense.

All in all, I just loved to be entertained by Steve Berry's writing: top notch.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Quite entertaining .. more suited to the screen?, 1. Dezember 2009
Von 
kashew (Zurich Switzerland) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Venetian Betrayal (Cotton Malone) (Taschenbuch)
This was my first Steve Berry Book (featuring Cotton Malone ... plot elements are already summarized above, so I won't repeat). While I found it entertaining, it reminded me more of an action film than what I enjoy most in a good read (e.g. character development). Perhaps I should have started with the first in the series, so that I would feel I know Cotton Malone better. Of all the characters, the "bad guy" - in this case a woman - was the one I felt I knew best. There were so many characters, with the story jumping back and forth from place to place, that they all felt a bit one dimensional and stereotypic. There were lots of elements that reminded me of a Dan Brown book too - long lost secrets. All in all, I enjoyed the book and it was a quick read, but will probably check out any future Cotton Malone books from the library and spend my money elsewhere. As a final comment, the book seems like it would make a great TV movie.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


0 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Fairly good Steve Berry, 18. September 2012
A fairly good Steve Berry / Cotton-Malone novel. The historical background is interesting (the location of Alexander the Great's tomb) and the proposed solution is elegant and realistic. The idea of a middle Asian federation is also interesting and realistic. The topic of biological warfare and HIV is handled well in this novel. Nice especially the running gag with the Greek Fire machines. The new character Victor can appear again in following books. Well-done part of the series.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


0 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Cotton Malone geht in die dritte Runde, 13. Mai 2010
Mit 'The Venetian Betrayal' wandelt sich die Cotton Malone Serie endgültig in eine reinrassige Agentengeschichte, die allerdings vor dem Hintergrund historischer Fakten spielt. Berry entfernt sich weiter von den historischen Fakten und der Großteil des Romans ist tatsächlich eine klassische Agentengeschichte. Zwar bekommt Cotton Malone seinen Raum, in dem er ein altes Rätsel rund um Alexander den Großen aufklärt, aber die Geschichte um einen fiktiven zentralasiatischen Staat nimmt mindestens ebensoviel Raum ein. Außerdem wird der Romanaufbau komplexer, die Handlungsstränge werden verwobener und die Figuren undurchsichtiger.
Wer die bisherigen Bände mochte, wird auch diesen Band mögen, soviel ist klar. Allerdings muß man sich bewusst sein, daß man diesen Roman kaum noch mit beispielsweise David Gibbins vergleichen kann. Das bedeutet im Ergebnis nicht, daß es sich um einen schlechten Roman handelt, auch wenn er, wie die Vorgängerbände auch, etwas langsam in Schwung kommt und zudem droht sich in Nebenplots zu verheddern.
Was die Romane der Cotton Malone Serie und speziell auch 'The Venetian Betrayal' auszeichnet, ist die detaillierte und liebevolle Ausgestaltung und Beschreibung der europäischen Handlungsschauplätze. Die Figuren hingegen bleiben etwas eindimensional, wie man es in einer James Bond Geschichte erwarten würde. Die Charaktergestaltung ist nicht schlecht, aber der Fokus der Geschichte liegt eindeutig auf der Handlungsebene und weniger auf der Charakterebene.
Insgesamt ist auch der dritte Cotton Malone eine interessante Unterhaltung mit einem netten historischen Gedankenspiel, das so seine Highlights hat. (Stickwort: Saint Mark) Wie bei den Vorgängerbänden vergebe ich vier Sterne mit einer leichten Tendenz nach unten.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Venetian Betrayal (Cotton Malone)
The Venetian Betrayal (Cotton Malone) von Steve Berry (Taschenbuch - 18. November 2008)
EUR 7,59
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen