Kundenrezensionen


22 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (17)
4 Sterne:
 (3)
3 Sterne:    (0)
2 Sterne:
 (2)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen The Future Through the Past
It is hard to think of Star Wars as just a film without wanting to look deeper into what goes on behind the camera, and in this case what is behind the camera is so much larger than a standard movie. Star Wars spawned industries and new technologies through Lucas' obsession with getting his vision on to the big screen, but Lucas' visions would be nothing were it not...
Veröffentlicht am 1. Mai 2000 von Mark Hills

versus
2.0 von 5 Sternen Good but not as good as other Star Wars Art of books
I must say that the paintings were fantastic and the conceptual drawings were excellent. The only problem was that I didn't see nearly the range of work from the film that I saw in the other Art of Star Wars books! Also the artwork in the book had been seen many times before on the official website and in the Episode 1 Insiders Guide CD-rom. In fact the CD-rom had...
Am 1. Oktober 1999 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen The Future Through the Past, 1. Mai 2000
Von 
It is hard to think of Star Wars as just a film without wanting to look deeper into what goes on behind the camera, and in this case what is behind the camera is so much larger than a standard movie. Star Wars spawned industries and new technologies through Lucas' obsession with getting his vision on to the big screen, but Lucas' visions would be nothing were it not for the legion of talented concept artists who rendered his thoughts on to paper, then a model or costume, and now, the computer. Indeed, the art department of Industrial Light and Magic-Lucas' preeminent special effects house, has some of the brightest, most imaginative artists working within the industry today.
For the Phantom Menace Lucas turned to Doug Chiang to provide much of the design work used within the film, most notably the ships and vehicles of the Trade Federation and those of the Naboo. The Art of the Phantom Menace takes us through the evolution of these designs from concepts to the screen, and in many cases abandoned ideas were often better than what eventually made it to the screen. Plus, it is easy to understand why Lucas wanted the Trade Federation army to be comprised mainly of robots instead of people-it is much more pleasant to have Jedi hacking the arms, legs and heads off of non-thinking robots than it would be if they were Stormtroopers or other living soldiers.
While these designs are nice, I found them to be conservative and far less evocative than the previous host of vehicles in the first three films. A Naboo N-1 Starfighter resembles a speed boat with port and starboard engines, garishly painted yellow with chrome accents; it also completely lacks the impact of an X-Wing with its variable geometry wings and more utilitarian design. The Queen's cruiser is little more than a silvery US Air Force SR-71 spy plane. In fact, much of the designs fell flat, whether it was the Trade Federation battleship-a toroid with a sphere mounted in the center just isn't as impressive as the fearsome wedge-shaped Star Destroyer. I however liked the AAT and MTT used by the Federation, the Armored Attack Tank had a decidedly insectile and alien appearance while the locomotive inspired Multi-Troop Transport seemed imposing and powerful.
The pod racers had a beautiful look-like much of the Star Wars designs, looked functional and well used, unlike the pristine pixie dust and polish that accompanies the vehicles and sets of Star Trek. I enjoyed the pod designs immensely and chuckled when I recognized that Sebulba's pod car was in fact the front end of an A-10 Fairchild with engines attached on either side of the cockpit. The book takes us through the evolution of not only vehicles, but also costumes and sets.
The big advantage Lucas in the Phantom Menace was that many of the sets were all done with CGI, meaning they were nothing more than blue walls behind the actors which were then rendered in during post production. Whether they were full-scale physical sets or CGI, it didn't matter, the background buildings of Naboo, Coruscant, and Tatooine add so much flavor to the film, because they are so varied and work well add distinctiveness to each of the locations through out the film. It also gives us a look at the creatures seen through out the film, the stages of gungan development from amphibians to Jar Jar Binks, beasts of burden and the myriad of creatures seen in the senate chambers, swamps, and deserts.
This book is for those who like to look beyond the film, to know how a vehicle or creature or building began as a rough piece of concept art to the finished product. Though as I said, I wasn't all that thrilled with the vehicle designs, I felt that the book itself was a worthy addition to my Star Wars library of art and special effects books. And while there isn't a lot of text to read (always a downside), the art more than makes up for it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Great look at the art behind Star Wars, 1. April 2009
Von 
Parka (Singapore) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Art of Star Wars: Episode 1: The Phantom Menace (Taschenbuch)
Länge:: 0:23 Minuten

When George Lucas started writing for the Star Wars prequels, he put together an amazing art department to help create and visualise the scenes he needed.

In this book contains the concept art, sketches, character designs, environment paintings and storyboards created for Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace. The creativity in the designs are phenomenal, and is showcased on every page.

The art are categorized by locations, specifically The Trade Federation, The Planet of Naboo, Naboo: Otoh Gunga, Naboo: The City of Theed, Tatooine: The Desert Planet and Coruscant: The City Planet.

The amount of art work churn out is amazing, and I'm pretty sure this book contains only a small portion. Almost every piece of art makes me think to myself,"Gosh, these guys are good." All designs are captioned to explain the story requirements.

Here are some artists from the concept design team:

* Doug Chiang - Design director
* Gavin Bocquet - Production designer
* Peter Russell - Supervising art director
* Iain McCaig - Concept artist
* Terryl Whitlatch - Concept artist
* Jay Shuster - Concept artist
* Edwin Natividad - Concept artist
* Kurt Kaufman - Concept artist
* Benton Jew - Storyboard artist

This book is highly recommended to sci-fi artists, concept artists and of course Star Wars fans. It might be hard to find the book since it was published way back in 1999.

There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Impacting wondeful and full of inspiration!, 1. Mai 2000
I am a product of the orginal trilogies and i am still impressed with what they were able to do even back then. technology has definetely worked on the side of movie creators, and Star Wars' creators are no exception. the art by which all of this amazing visual achievement is based is nothing short of spectacular. the work of all the artists who design costumes and sets to those who decide on the look for probably the best movie villian in recent history (Darth maul) is absolutely amazing. i recoomend this book to anyone who loves Star Wars, it's art, and the process that goes into building an element which has become a part of our modern culture.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A picture is worth a thousand words!!!, 6. September 1999
Von 
Empire X (Mountlake Terrace, WA USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
...so no words can give justice to this incredible book, filled with fascinating pre-production art, drawings, and paintings. When George Lucas started working on the script for THE PHANTOM MENACE in 1994, he hired a group of talented artists who turned Lucas' rough ideas into concrete concepts, helping the Jedi Master himself craft EPISODE I, the beginning of the STAR WARS SAGA... How many concepts that did not make it into MENACE will be used for EPISODES 2 or 3 is anyone's guess, but be on the lookout for those SITH WITCHES!!!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Product of many sleepless nights?, 11. Januar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
We can see the influence of Ralph McQuarrie, the artist most responsible for creating the "look" of the original Star Wars, in Doug Chiang's acrylic production paintings, from the use of color to the brush strokes to the dramatic perspectives. Doug Chiang didn't just take the baton from McQuarrie--he ran with it like crazy. This is a beautifully produced book which brings the Art Department of Episode One to the forefront. Organized by the locations of the movie--Naboo, Tatooine, Coruscant and the Trade Federation--this Star Wars book stresses illustrations and paintings over screen shots from the finished movie and prop photos. Those wanting to see close ups of Qui-Gon's light saber will have to look elsewhere. In that sense it is the Art Department's book rather than ILM's. That may disappoint those out there who want to see the "finished product" more than the "process of creation." But for aspiring artists and designers, this book is will serve as an inspiration. It also shows the amount of work that's necessary to become a professional in this field. Judging by the sheer volume of sketches and paintings represented by this book, it looks like Chiang didn't get much sleep during his years working at Skywalker Ranch on this movie.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Best of the series.They all should have been like this., 2. November 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Hmmm. The reader from Coral Springs states that this book didn't have the range of artwork that the other "Art of Star Wars" books did. That's strange, because if you actually OPEN these books, you will see that (s)he is absolutely WRONG. This book is MUCH richer than the previous ones. The only explanation I can think of is that (s)he must have accidentally placed a review of the "Making of Episode I" here, instead of a review of the "Art of Episode I." (S)he also complains that the Star Wars Insider CD-ROM has more artwork on it. Well, of course it does! It's a CD-ROM! It has a lot of memory and you can put a lot of art on there! More art than can be put in a book! What a silly criticism! This is a FANTASTIC book! It actually tells you something about the artwork and the process that went into creating it. The previous books in the series should have been done this way! Hopefully Lucasfilm will do the remaining books in the series in a similar fashion. (Please, George?)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen This book rocks, 16. September 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Its like a whole museum in one book, if you are an artist or a beginning one, this is the book to get your juices flowing. I get so inspired and full of ideas just by looking at the cover when its laying on my table. The art in the book is simply outstanding. It has doesens of pictures of buildings, starships, machinery, chracters all of wich are simply state of the art. It shows you how each item has been develped over the period of time. Darth Maul was originally a woman! A scary one too.
Lucas definetly had the best artists in the world working on that movie. I'd recommend it to everyone who draws, writes stories or just needs some inspiration and drive.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Impressive and fascinating! A STAR WARS must buy for sure!, 28. Januar 2000
Von 
Gustavo H B Alves (Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Jonathan Bresman has done a great job preparing this book, which is a genuine masterpiece not only for collectors and moviegoers but also to every single fan of the STAR WARS saga. I am a proud member of the generation that grew up watching STAR WARS, so the worldwide release of THE PHANTOM MENACE came right on time to satiate our thirst of new emotions reviewing all those planets, galaxies and characters again and again. I am very happy to add this book to my private "movie museum". Never before in my entire lifetime I've seen such a perfection and wealth of details. A must buy for sure. Five stars.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Einblicke in die "Kunst" von Episode I..., 2. Januar 2003
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Art of Star Wars: Episode 1: The Phantom Menace (Taschenbuch)
Wieder ein sehr gelungenes "Art-of" Buch der Star Wars Serie. Schon die Bücher über Episode IV, V und VI haben mir sehr gefallen. Enthalten sind nämlich Szizzen und Vorabzeichnungen der Figuren, Raumschiffe und Schauplätze von Episode I. Das interessante daran sind 1. die genialen Zeichnungen und 2. die z.T. sehr verschiedenen Vorversionen der letztendlich im Film verwendeten Dinge.
Einen Stern Abzug gibt es trotzdem: waren in den "Art-of"-Büchern von Episode IV und VI noch die (gesamten!) Filmskripte (Dialoge & Regieanweisungen!!) zu finden, vermisst man diese hier schmerzlich.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A great introduction for the "could be" of Episode I., 4. Januar 2000
This is just like the original Episode I picture: it still resembles with the original films. We can appreciate many aspects in the develpment of the story by watching the sketches, draws and production paintings, since Lucas likes to save some things for his next films, I do agree with the reviewer who said that it gives us a preview of the Episode I. I specially liked the second "Sith Witch" on page 196, who knows? maybe that's the sketch for the rumored new Sith villain named "Detori" that maybe will overwheal Darth Maul on ferocity.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Art of Star Wars: Episode 1: The Phantom Menace
The Art of Star Wars: Episode 1: The Phantom Menace von Jonathan Bresman (Taschenbuch - 5. September 2000)
Gebraucht & neu ab: EUR 20,67
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen