Kundenrezensionen


66 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (46)
4 Sterne:
 (13)
3 Sterne:
 (3)
2 Sterne:
 (2)
1 Sterne:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Now Read "A Random Walk Down Wall Street" by B. Malkiel
As an analyst on Wall Street (yes, I do make a lot of copies) I must confess this was insightful reading even for me. If you want to work on Wall Street or you want to know what your broker really thinks of you, read this book. But to update the epilogue a bit, I temped at Salomon in 7 World Trade while waiting for my current job to begin. Much has changed. Real...
Am 16. Januar 1999 veröffentlicht

versus
9 von 13 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen I was working at Salomon Brothers at the time...
... that Mr. Lewis describes, and worked for the fixed income trading desk, so I know for a fact most of his descriptions are pure fiction. As for the rest, he has taken three years of events, embellished and exaggerated them, and presented them as if they occurred in a single day, creating an image of out-of-control mayhem in the company.
Mr. Lewis is a mediocre...
Am 24. Februar 2000 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 27 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Now Read "A Random Walk Down Wall Street" by B. Malkiel, 16. Januar 1999
Von Ein Kunde
As an analyst on Wall Street (yes, I do make a lot of copies) I must confess this was insightful reading even for me. If you want to work on Wall Street or you want to know what your broker really thinks of you, read this book. But to update the epilogue a bit, I temped at Salomon in 7 World Trade while waiting for my current job to begin. Much has changed. Real efforts have been made to combat the sexism in the system, though far more than mere vestiges remain. Each morning in the final months of the merger with Smith Barney pink slips were handed out and the process was very judiciously calculated. The pall of this book hung over each lay off. So be assured, if you have not read Liar's Poker, you are not culturally literate on Wall Street.
One final word: The Market is Efficient! Only the investment banks made money on the buyouts of the 80s. With Liar's Poker in one hand and A Random Walk Down Wall Street in the other, you'll have the basic insights to manage your relationship with both your broker and the market.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen sehr zu empfehlen, 17. April 2012
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Liefert gute Einsichten in die Welt des Bondhandels in den 80-er Jahren. Einiges davon ist heute noch existent, manches schon überholt. Sprache teilweise fachspezifisch, aber gut verständlich.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen How and when the mortgage market initiated, 25. August 2008
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Liar's Poker (Hodder Great Reads) (Taschenbuch)
More than ever there is meaning to this story. The author gives us an insider's view of the very first days of mortgage securitization. It is difficult not to be taken aback about how this market was originally designed to match the interests of the few who initiated it. At the time, the technical advance in the Fixed Income area of the S bros such that they could trick the Federal decision taker in whatever advantaged them. Only an insider could give such a microscopic description of greed and excess but also how financial innovation occurs to a young salesperson. And only an insider could point out the precise point when the decline started, up to the consequences we know now.
What is funny though is that figures will look quite modest to anyone familiar with finance today. I learned a lot reading this book which was given to me when I was a trainee in fixed income; however it really puts aside the genuine value added that financial industry has once striped of excesses, moral hazard.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Laugh at loud and enjoy yourself with a lesson in finance., 26. Juni 1999
After working for two years (going on my third before I graduate) in trading as an intern in college, I finally came around to read this wicked and funny book. It really gave me a new perspective on my experiences and an education on how the business evolved. Do not believe all you read- traders are more civilized nowadays. They don't swing phone handsets at trainees lke myself, nor they have food frenzies every Friday and are generally better educated and a bit more refined than what Lewis depicts them to be. However, this book really tells the insider's view of the trading world from spotting "Big Swingin Dicks" (and "Dickettes")to the trading floor culture to unwritten rules and codes that can make or break a new trainee. A very fast and enjoyable read recomended for all finance students and soon to be traders like myself.($$$$$$$$)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


9 von 13 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen I was working at Salomon Brothers at the time..., 24. Februar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
... that Mr. Lewis describes, and worked for the fixed income trading desk, so I know for a fact most of his descriptions are pure fiction. As for the rest, he has taken three years of events, embellished and exaggerated them, and presented them as if they occurred in a single day, creating an image of out-of-control mayhem in the company.
Mr. Lewis is a mediocre writer at best, lacking in financial expertise, and interested solely in pulp gossips and self-promotion. If you wish to read an actually well-written book on Wall Street, read "Barbarians at the Gate", "Market Wizards" or "Money Machine" - skip this trash.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen I love this author and his books!, 26. April 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Liar's Poker (Norton Paperback) (Taschenbuch)
He makes all of his books, which are based on true stories, sound like made up. Unbelievable! But super exciting and riveting. If you like to read about finance, banking and that sort of business, you will LOVE Michael Lewis' books!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Great Book!, 19. August 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Liar's Poker (Hodder Great Reads) (Taschenbuch)
If you like to know the Wall Street event 1986- read that book: funny, entertaining and real :)
If you buy a second hand book- it will look like a brand new one- folks reads it over one night!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Great book from a Wall Street/City insider, 28. Mai 2009
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Liar's Poker (Hodder Great Reads) (Taschenbuch)
An excellent book. One wonders sometimes if some of the things aren't perhaps just a little exaggerated... but they could just be completely true. Altogether, though, the gist is easy to get: Wall Street firms (at least in the 80s) were/are not well organized and are ruled by a culture of testosterone and risk-taking. No surprise really, but to see it in action can still be shocking and informative.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent Wall St expose, 23. Juni 2000
Von 
Lewis, as always, writes extremely well in this book. He spends most of the book explaining the details of bond futures, whole mortgages and other esoteric financial terms, but manages to do it in a way that never bores you. The book is filled with a colorful cast of characters who are entertaining throughout (although they're more down to earth than those in Po Bronson's Baombardiers).
The book looses a star, however, for its somewhat impersonal and inconsitant nature in parts. It starts with an account of Lewis's own start in Salomon Brothers, but then drifts into a narrative about people he heard about, or who worked with his friends, etc. In the last chapters, Lewis struggles to relate the story back to himself. Unfortunately, the ending left me frustrated -- Lewis talks about all the people leaving the firm for various reasons (mostly for more money) and says he'd never leave for money; "I'd leave Salomon Brothers for other reaons, however. And I did." That's more or less the end of the book. A wandering eplilogue closes without telling you any more about his motivations.
Those criticisms apart, Liar's Poker is a great book for anyone who's interested in how Wall Street really works, and especially what happened during the 80s boom.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The funniest book I have ever read!, 27. April 2000
Von 
Frank A. Melfa (North Bergen, NJ United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
I couldn't stop laughing and never wanted to put this book down. It takes you back to the rouring 80's when the junk bond market was getting started. Lewis brings his characters to life! I love this book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 27 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Liar's Poker (Hodder Great Reads)
Liar's Poker (Hodder Great Reads) von Michael Lewis (Taschenbuch - 5. Juni 2006)
EUR 11,60
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen