Kundenrezensionen


167 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (92)
4 Sterne:
 (19)
3 Sterne:
 (13)
2 Sterne:
 (17)
1 Sterne:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A Very Inspiring Book
"The Art Of Happiness," is a very good book. I didn't appreciate the beauty, and genius behind the thinking of this book, until after I had finished it. While reading, I was most interested, and thought it was very good, but after I had finished the whole thing, I was in a better position to integrate all of the ideas, and see that not only was the book set on a nice...
Veröffentlicht am 15. Juli 2000 von sayie

versus
7 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen A treatise on happiness
Always one to be skeptical of these kinds of collaborative book efforts, I think it's important to point out that 'The Art of Happiness' was written not by the Dalai Lama, but by Howard C. Cutler, a psychiatrist.
Dr. Cutler weaves together exerpts from numerous conversations with the Dalai Lama spanning many years, and from public talks given throughout Arizona in...
Am 3. August 2001 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 217 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

7 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen A treatise on happiness, 3. August 2001
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Art of Happiness: A Handbook for Living (Taschenbuch)
Always one to be skeptical of these kinds of collaborative book efforts, I think it's important to point out that 'The Art of Happiness' was written not by the Dalai Lama, but by Howard C. Cutler, a psychiatrist.
Dr. Cutler weaves together exerpts from numerous conversations with the Dalai Lama spanning many years, and from public talks given throughout Arizona in 1993. The result is a treatise on a topic of widespread importance: happiness (or the lack thereof). If it's Buddhist wisdom you seek, I highly recommend you read "Open Your Mind, Open Your Life: A Little Book of Eastern Wisdom" by Taro Gold.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A Very Inspiring Book, 15. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Art of Happiness (Gebundene Ausgabe)
"The Art Of Happiness," is a very good book. I didn't appreciate the beauty, and genius behind the thinking of this book, until after I had finished it. While reading, I was most interested, and thought it was very good, but after I had finished the whole thing, I was in a better position to integrate all of the ideas, and see that not only was the book set on a nice premise, but fulfilled its promise - It sets out a clear, achievable, and loving way for people to attain what has become somewhat of a myth to some people: true happiness. I would recommend people read this book at least twice, because there are so many ideas that are portrayed, that they should be absorbed fully. The book has the potential to be a nice first step for many people, myself included. It presents very deep, although sometimes deceptively simple ideas, and the book itself motivates people to be the best they can be. If someone fully integrates the ideas presented into their life, I imagine they would be among a very special few.
The book's form leaves a little to be desired, however. Although mostly effective, the narrative style was sometimes tiresome, it made the flow of the book seem a bit choppy at times, and the reader is subject to some of Cutler's whims, which results in disjoined ideas, and a chapter starting on one premise, and ending on another. That said, the narrative effect is often very effective, and all in all, makes the reader feel more connected with his Holiness.
I was very surprised while reading some of the other reviews of this book. The main complaints were that the book is too simplistic for an avid Buddhist, merely rehashing concepts and ideas they already know, into a more muddled form, and that His Holiness the Dalai Lama was under-utilised, with Howard Cutler being the real writer of the book.
The first complaint, in my mind, if looked at from a slightly different angle, is a bit of a bonus for a non Buddhist, or for new Buddhists. I found that the simplification of some points, and the stripping of a lot of the classic spirituality (such as the concepts in Buddhism of reincarnation etc) to do with Buddhism, made the parts portrayed in this book more effective, more real, and more possible to the average man on the street. Books which are highly accessible, without changing the base message of the higher concepts can be shunned by the establishment, but in fact, should be embraced, as the message will be able to reach, and help, so many more people as a result. This book says itself that it is not a recourse for Buddhist spirituality, and offers a number of books by his Holiness, that are purely on the Buddhist Spiritual practise. If looked at from this way, as a guide for living a happy life, for everybody, Buddhists and non-Buddhists alike, I think a lot of the disappointments that people have voiced about this book, especially those complaining about its simplicity and lack of attention payed to spiritual matters (although there is a quite large section at the end on how spirituality - any, not just Buddhist spirituality - is more beneficial to ones overall happiness) will dissolve.
The second complaint is a valid Point. This is undeniably Cutler's book, however, that is not in itself negative. I personally found that Cutler's comments, and back up evidence to be invaluable, and persuasive, a very effective way of explaining how some of the Buddhist-type principles His Holiness stated could be stripped to their essentials, and effectively used to help every day people lead a happy life. I think naming His Holiness as the author of this book was misleading, but I was never disappointed. I think the mix of Cutler's Western medical knowledge, and His Holiness' principles of compassion, love and respect was most effective, and all together a lot more self contained than a book on the same subject by each separately. I bought this book for the Dalai Lama's ideas, not specifically because I thought he was the sole writer. Although for the many who may have bought it because they wanted a solid Dalai Lama written book, these pre-conceived expectations would be let down. But I do believe, if they perhaps take the book for what it is, a concise, straight, 'how-to' manual for lack of a better word, they wont be so disappointed, and the fact that the Dalai Lama didn't write it fully won't be such a disappointment.
In all, I would highly recommend this book, just so everyone can make up their own mind, and also, I do believe everyone who reads it will pick up something of value from it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


11 von 13 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Superb way for people who think too much to get happy!, 30. August 2001
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Art of Happiness: A Handbook for Living (Taschenbuch)
I disagree with the review from the reader from Oxford. This book is not meant to be a collection of buddhist philosophy obviously there are books written for that. This book written by Dr Cutler is easy to read and is especially useful for people who have no experience of buddhism as it is written from a Western viewpoint and gives examples readers can relate to. It is a superb book which helps people to work out their priorities and cuts to the core regarding the roots of suffering and seeds of happiness. I recommend it to anyone interested in being a happier person be they a buddhist or not!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen East meets West and West meets East, 4. August 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Art of Happiness (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I couldn't help but to write a few more words regarding the recurring debate on the part of Howard Cutler's work in this book.
For those who are critical about Cutler's writing and case studies, put yourself into the shoes of a Western trained psychiatrist with strong background in psychoanalysis. You've been working all your life in this profession. How easy is it to take in the Eastern philosophy wholesale without a single question? Eastern mindset takes all master teachings for granted and would not raise a single question. Western training emphasise on critical thinking.
What we are reading in the book is a blend of the two. On one hand, we are reading the stories of the Dalai Lama and his speeches/teachings/elaborations - which some of us take it for granted as something should not be questioned; on the other hand, there are readers who are not familiar with the concept of buddhism and seek ways to try an grasp the ideas - to them (probably through the eyes of Cutler) the questions raised will help answer many questions which some buddhists dare not to ask.
If you read the book from a Eastern perspective and expect something that is more Oriental in nature, you would come out saying that Cutler has unnecessarily taken a negative stance towards the teachings. If you read the book from a Western perspective, you probably would come out thinking that there's a great deal of intriguing insights and healthy dialogues probing the philosophy of the East from a Western perspective.
The way to appreciate this book is, to me, to separate the quotations and Cutler's comments mentally when reading it. Each one would have their own uniquely different contribution to the understanding of happiness (one from the East and the other from the West). Then, put the two together mentally and you will find the book to be a very enjoyable read. It is a good way to train yourself to switch perspective and attitudes and take on a different views on the same subject.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Happiness is the birthright of every human being., 23. August 1999
Von 
Thomas Tollefsen "totolle" (Milwaukee, WI, USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Art of Happiness (Gebundene Ausgabe)
This Buddhist leader and winner of the Nobel Peace Prize brings to a general audience his teachings of the Buddha Nature, which is the state of mind, present in all human beings, that is completely untainted by negative emotions and thoughts. He teaches the basis of being happy is to gain access to the warm and compassionate states of mind, that we all possess the potential for compassion, and our basic nature is gentleness.
Often during his interviews, the Dalai Lama would break into a robust laugh, revealing his marvelous and gentle sense of humor. This book brings about a meeting of psychology and Buddhism, and shows us a way to defeat ordinary depression, anger, and anxiety. The Art of Happiness crosses the boundaries of all religious traditions to help readers with difficulties common to all of us, with discussions based on 25 centuries of Buddhist meditations. When I finished reading this book, I felt a strong longing to someday meet His Holiness the Dalai Lama, and until then, look at everything I could find on television and on the Internet about the author. (If you have a chance, watch CNN's documentary, "The Dalai Lama: At Home in Exile" which originally aired August 8, 1999, 9:00 PM E.T.)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Cross Culture, 5. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Art of Happiness (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I have spent much of the last two years completely enveloping myself in study of Tibetan Buddhism and Tibetan Culture. I was a little unsure at first of how I would feel about His Holiness' words being filtered through a psychologist. In the end, I was delighted with the outcome of the book. The Dalai Lama feels it is so important to cross cultural boundaries and promote understanding and peace between cultures and religions. I believe this book does just what the Dalai Lama strives to do. It opens a window into Tibetan Buddhism and Culture and finds a way to cross the boundary into Western skeptical society. I loved that Cutler was so honest about his original views about some of the things the Dalai Lama had to say and how seeing those ideals put into practice, and actually finding psychological study to corroborate these practices, changed his view of what might be considered sentimental idealism. It's a perfect way to bring Tibetan Buddhism out of the esoteric and into the mainstream.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Views of the Dalai Lama as seen by American Pop Psychology, 20. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Art of Happiness (Gebundene Ausgabe)
When I purchased this book, I was unprepared for the enormous amount of filler provided by Cutler. I get the impression that, were this book truly about the beliefs of the Dalai Lama as gleaned from Cutler's interviews, the book would only be 10-20 pages long.
Writen for sale to the mass market, not necessarily out of Cutler's intrinsic interest in the underlying complexity in the Dalai Lama's views per se.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen An interesting book, 10. Juli 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Art of Happiness (Gebundene Ausgabe)
This book provides insight into the wisdom of the Dalai Lama. It also shows the answer's to life's questions by this religious leader based on his values derived from the Tibetan Buddhism. It's a very interesting read and should be in every personal library. Another book along these lines that deals with the art of happiness and is also a tremendous handbook for living which has helped me a lot and I must recommend highly is Dietmar Scherf's "I Love Me: Avoiding and Overcoming Depression"--also available at Amazon.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Inspirierend und wegweisend, 16. Juli 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Art of Happiness (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Für mich war dieses Buch eine erste Begegnung mit einem wichtigen Aspekt tibetisch-buddhistischen Denkens, Fühlens und Handelns - mit Idealen, die leider in der christlich geprägten westlichen Welt nicht in dieser Form gelehrt und gelebt werden, zumindest nicht der kulturellen Prägung nach und bestimmt nicht im Mainstream.
Der Dalai Lama ist sehr viel mehr als die politische Führungsfigur, der friedliche Kämpfer für die Unabhängigkeit Tibets (als diesen hatte ich ihn medienvermittelt bis zur Lektüre dieses Buchs nur wahrgenommen). Er ist gleichzeitig ein Fundus an Weisheit und Inspiration; nicht zuletzt ist er ein brillanter Psychologe. Die hier wiedergegebenen Gesprächen zwischen einem US-amerikanischen Psychiater und dem Dalai Lama ("seiner Heiligkeit" liegt mir auf der Zunge, aber meine atheistisch geprägte Ratio legt nach wie vor ihr Veto ein) sind insofern auch interessant als eine Konfrontation zwischen einem wissenschaftlich basierten Bild von psychischer Gesundheit, Krankheit und Therapie und einem jahrtausendealten, religiösen Verständnis vom Menschen und seinem Welt-Erleben.
Zwischen den Interviews berichtet der Psychiater von seinen persönlichen Erlebnissen mit dem Dalai Lama, dessen ungemein positiver Ausstrahlung, sein herzliches, nie zynisches Lachen, die Reaktion anderer auf ihn... nachdem ich zwischenzeitlich den Dalai Lama mehrere male im Fernsehen live erlebte, habe ich nicht mehr den Eindruck, daß Cutler in seiner Beschreibung etwas übertrieben haben muß. "Erleuchtet" ist ein Attribut, daß mir immer wieder in den Sinn kam.
Behandelt werden Themen wie das Recht auf Glück, mentale Voraussetzungen für Glück, Intimität und der Kontakt zu anderen, der Wert des Mitgefühls (Compassion - also nicht nur Mitleid, sondern auch Mitfreude), der Umgang mit Leid, das Bewirken von Veränderungen, der Umgang mit Wut und Haß, sowie der Abbau von Ängstlichkeit / Nervosität (anxiety) und der Aufbau von Selbstsicherheit.
Ein durch und durch inspirierendes Buch - die konkrete Anwendung der vorgestellten Ideen und Methoden, der erwähnten Werte ist natürlich eine Herausforderung ... und bei gegenteiligen Gewohnheiten bestimmt kein Zuckerlecken. Aber es ist eine Art Wegweiser und ich denke, ich habe einige Situationen in Gedanken an diese Gespräche positiver gemeistert. (Dies ist eine Amazon.de an der Uni-Studentenrezension.)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen AWE INSPIRING, 7. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Art of Happiness (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I have for a while been looking to make some positive changes in my life and this was the book that helped me do it. It has changed my entire outlook on life, the way I see other people as well as myself. The methods the Dalai Lama presents at first seem simple, too simple, then when you go out and try them you find that not only are they simple, but right on the money. It's good to finally read a book that teaches love, compassion, empathy, gentleness, and kindness. I would recommend this book to anybody.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 217 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Art of Happiness: A Handbook for Living
The Art of Happiness: A Handbook for Living von Howard C. Cutler (Taschenbuch - 8. November 1999)
EUR 11,60
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen