Kundenrezensionen


101 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (78)
4 Sterne:
 (10)
3 Sterne:
 (5)
2 Sterne:
 (2)
1 Sterne:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen ein gutes buch, nicht ganz einfach...
Ich finde es etwas schwierig, über dieses tolle Buch etwas zu sagen. Es geht darin um das Leben der heutigen Maori, aber irgendwie auch nicht - es finden auch zahlreiche andere, ernste Themen Erwähnung: Alkoholismus, Kindesmissbrauch, Krankheit, Tod. Man muss es sicher mehr als einmal lesen, um es vollends zu verstehen, aber es verdient alle 5 Sterne.
Es...
Veröffentlicht am 16. September 2003 von Holly Short

versus
3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen No fey "art" can make up for the horror in this book.
I've read through these reviews and I have to join the small but articulate group of horrified readers. Forget the style -- either you like magic realism and/or stream of consciousness or you don't -- or the cartoonish, adolescent, possible author's alter ego of the main character or even the admirable goal of showing the effects of being cut off from one's family,...
Am 11. April 2000 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 211 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen ein gutes buch, nicht ganz einfach..., 16. September 2003
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Bone People: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
Ich finde es etwas schwierig, über dieses tolle Buch etwas zu sagen. Es geht darin um das Leben der heutigen Maori, aber irgendwie auch nicht - es finden auch zahlreiche andere, ernste Themen Erwähnung: Alkoholismus, Kindesmissbrauch, Krankheit, Tod. Man muss es sicher mehr als einmal lesen, um es vollends zu verstehen, aber es verdient alle 5 Sterne.
Es ist wunderbar geschrieben - nicht ganz einfach zu lesen, aber dabei auch erfrischend anders sowie sehr tiefgründig, besonders was die Charaktere angeht. Kerewin, Joe und Simon sind die drei Hauptpersonen, die auf unorthodoxe Weise aufeinander treffen, und man findet sich oft zwischen Sympathie und Unverständnis für jeden von ihnen hin- und hergerissen. Kurz, ein facettenreicher Roman, tiefgründig, und einfach "anders"! Wird auch den Einzelgäger in so manchem Leser ansprechen, zumindest hat es das bei mir. Lesen!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen No fey "art" can make up for the horror in this book., 11. April 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Bone People: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
I've read through these reviews and I have to join the small but articulate group of horrified readers. Forget the style -- either you like magic realism and/or stream of consciousness or you don't -- or the cartoonish, adolescent, possible author's alter ego of the main character or even the admirable goal of showing the effects of being cut off from one's family, roots, tradition. Here's the rub: The book portrays the escalating torture of a small child graphically, even pornographically, and has the chutzpah, as one reader noted (with praise!), to not present it as "a black-and-white issue." This isn't a paddling gone wrong. At the life-threatening, coma-and-deafness-inducing level portrayed, the abuse is that of a psychopath. Whether or not the abuser is evil is not the point -- the point in the context of this book is whether the abuser should be separated from the child. Personally, I felt Joe should have been tossed into a Turkish prison to learn the receiving end of what he dished out. The book, in its precious fantasy-land, allows Joe to rejoin Simon after a self-centered spiritual awakening. Despite some enchanting language (and some annoying excesses), I regret reading this book. I would warn off both tender hearts, and more hardened intellects. P.S. -- I'm a second-generation Kiwi-American, and there has to be a better representation of a proud and beautiful land and people than this.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Verwirrend, verstörend, hoffnungsvoll, faszinierend, 28. Dezember 2004
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Bone People (Taschenbuch)
Keri Hulme macht es ihren Lesern nicht leicht, in die Welt ihres Romans einzutauchen.
Unkonventionell, ja exzentrisch ihre Erzählweise; eigenwillig, von herb-poetischen Satz- und Wortschöpfungen geprägt ihr Stil. Das Ende am Anfang erschließt sich nur dem, der sich einlässt auf die faszinierende Reise durch die raue Schönheit der neuseeländischen Landschaft ins Innere der Charaktere und in die Mythen der Maoris.
Die drei Protagonisten - eine Malerin, ein Maori, ein stummes Kind - sind traumatisierte Seelen, die vom Zufall zusammengeführt werden. Es sind Menschen von unbändiger Eigenständigkeit, die einander brauchen. Und doch, so sehr sie sich bemühen, einander zu lieben, zu helfen und zu heilen, entkommen sie nicht der Hölle ihrer eigenen Verletzungen. So entsteht ein explosives Gemisch, das sich in verstörender Gewalt entlädt. Erst als alles verloren scheint und jeder für sich alleine seinen eigenen Heilungsprozess durchlaufen hat, finden sie zusammen zu einer neuen, starken Einheit.
Keri Hulme macht nicht den Fehler, alle Fragen zu beantworten und alle Geheimnisse zu lüften - und auch deshalb lässt einen dieses Buch nicht mehr los!
Leider geht in der deutschen Übersetzung viel von der linguistischen Kreativität und dem Wortwitz verloren. Wer kann, sollte das Buch im Original lesen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen A confronting and difficult novel, 25. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Bone People: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
In many ways this was a difficult novel to read. Having just returned from a trip to New Zealand (which took place in the middle of my reading the novel) I appreciated the impact of Hulme's settings upon the emotions and actions of its characters in a way which I might not otherwise have done. Perhaps this is why a New Zealand chain of booksellers had `The Bone People' at No.5 in its Top 100 books of the 20th Century. The writing style is idiosyncratic, but gets easier to follow with time. However, the most confronting thing about this novel is its topic. It deals with domestic violence against children, and does so in a direct and challenging way. Perhaps as a consequence, it was only the child (Simon, Haimona, Clare) that I felt any real sympathy towards, and it was the sections which featured his narrative voice which were the most engaging. I don't know whether it is possible to say I enjoyed reading a novel with this theme. Perhaps the major letdown was the happy ending, which felt forced. While the desire of the characters to be together fitted with my limited knowledge of domestic violence, the implication that everything would work out almost belittled the brutal realism that we had seen earlier. I hope, as others have suggested, that the ending might have been some sort of dream.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen An unusual style for an unusual story, 10. Juli 2003
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Bone People (Picador Books) (Taschenbuch)
Set on a rough coast of the South Island of New Zealand, three unlikely characters find each other and finally themselves after a life of hardships, break ups and violence. Kerewin, the one-eigth Maori artist, lives in her tower away from others. Joe, a Maori with a white orphaned boy he calls Simon, suffers because of his lost wife and son. All three of them drink to heal them, but their wounds break open again and again, giving way to violent child abuse. Only Kerewin, who has great compassion for the suffering of others, leaves her seclusion to help the man and his boy. When all seems well, it comes to the worst and each of them alone must find their way back into life.
Hulme has written a book steeped in Maori myth, and her poetic style is the perfect medium for its rendering. Life is a spiral, and the ending is only a new beginning. That is why Hulme begins with the ending of her story and ends with another beginning.
The book includes a glossary of Maori words (very helpful!), and I recommend it without reservation. It won the 1985 Booker McConnell Prize.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A Stunningly Sensual Experience, 16. Mai 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Bone People: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
This is one of those (Few, very few) books that you wish you hadn't read so you could experience the extremely passionate joy of reading it again. I lived in the book and suffered and celebrated with the main character. The colors, the spirituality, the strength and heart of the book captured me. It's been two years since I read it for the first time and if I don't read it every 6 months or so I feel bereaved. I keep trying to get my high school girls to read it but so far I've not had many takers. Some day I know some of them will have the breath knocked out of them by the courage of this book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen wer je in New Zealand war, muß dieses Buch gelesen haben, 20. Januar 2001
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Bone People (Taschenbuch)
Wenn Sie je eine Reise nach New Zealand gemacht haben und die Maori-Orte besucht haben - und dabei vielleicht (wie wir) sich gesagt haben:"Das ist ja eine ganz fremde Gedankenwelt", dann müssen Sie das Buch von Keri Hulme lesen und Sie bekommen einen Zugang zu dieser Welt. Über detaillierte Natur- und Ortsbeschreibungen verschafft Ihnen dieses Buch einen Einblick in die Zusammenhänge zwischen der Maori-Kultur und der wilden, ungezähmten Szenerie der neuseeländischen Südinsel/Westküste. Nach einer Neuseelandreise ein "Muß" - sie werden viel wieder erkennen und noch mehr verstehen!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Another -1 vote for the worst novel I've read in years, 24. November 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Bone People: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
I wouldn't have trashed this book except that I think the customers' reviews might deceive a sophisticated reading group. Mine selected this book, and I was homicidal(!).
The author was young when she wrote it, and since I wrote some pretty appalling things when I was young, my criticism is not of the author as she exists today.
The youthful author had no ear for language and no awareness of the properties of matter--so her metaphors got not only mixed but bizarrely mangled. I have seen writing this bad only in the annual Bulwar-Lytton contest. Examples: "'go down at night--down to Sheol or some other gibbering dark or ride the restless tumbril of dreams." "His mind weaves it into a spiral fretted with stars." "...an engraved spiral, one of the kind that wound your eyes round and round to the center..." "the secrets that crept and chilled and chuckled in the marrow of her bones." "'How touching,' says Kerwin's innermost being, squirming through a gamut of connotations..." etc. etc.
The novel feels as if it were written by an 18-year-old, still infatuated with Tolkien and still suffering from the illusion that grown-up sophistication and character consist of being a sarcastic loner and having lots of "interesting" tchatkes around the house. The initial descriptions of Kerwin and her home were so obviously adolescent that they made me blush to recall my own similiar silliness at 17.
The author's romantic fairy tale metaphors are wielded with the subtlety of bludgeons. She thinks that feyness is enchanting, so that she introduces mystery unwarranted by the plot--as if she were spraying Car-so-new into the air.
It's impossible to believe that Kerwin is an artist because nothing seen through her eyes is seen with an artist's eye. Physical description is minimal-and what little there is, is cliched or nearly unintelligible.
The characters have little physical reality and the author's notion of what happens during conversation is expressed almost entirely in terms of meeting or not meeting one another's gazes, grinning, blushing, or hiding emotions behind a "blank face." Kerwin, when alone, spends a lot of time staring at the fire or listening to the rain or the "omnipresent sea."
The adult characters act as a romantic (and somehwat depressed) young person imagines that adults act. Kerwin's supposed sophisticated prickliness is cartoonlike. I could no more believe in this novel than in an old-fashioned stage melodrama.
I can handle horrible prose or unconvincing characters or shallowness of insight--but not all three in the same novel. If you have any regard for your book group at all, do NOT suggest this novel.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Wonderful Novel!!, 27. März 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Bone People: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
I have to comment on this novel after reading the review suggesting the "sophisticated" readers will be fooled by the reveiews into reading it.
By all means--*read* this novel. I just got my Master's degree in English literature-- so you can probably rank me up there with "sophisticated" readers (since really it would only mean experienced). I love this novel. The characters are true, the metaphors are good. It is, however, a post-colonial novel and is not meant to stick to your expectations of what a novel "should" be--because, after all, who sets these norms? Expect something different and open your heart to a new kind of truth.
Think about the cycle of abuse, healing, patterns of behavior then think about the difference between the tower and the spiral structure at the end. What are the significances. Who is the Moari (sp?) man in the floor? What does he mean? Why do people love Joe so much? What does it reveal about ourselves?
These are just things that have stuck with me over the years. It is a book with many layers. The thing I like best about the novel is Simon. We all love him, and we love Joe because we feel Simon's joy in his presence. But why is Simon so abnormaly hungry for his love--could it be the same feeling that allows people to put up with abuse in their own lives? In addition, there is a great mystery within. Read it. Pay attention. Please, don't be so shallow as to just see it as different and condemn it. Open your eyes, come out of the tower, and spiral your way into a new understanding of reality.
Heather
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Keri Hulme and I on my personal desert island..., 25. Juli 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Bone People: A Novel (Taschenbuch)
I read The Bone People for the first time 5 or 6 years ago, and have reread it many times since. I cannot adequately express how quickly the book sets to work on you, the immediate way in which the writing style changes your understanding of how a book can be written. I have deeply read countless--I mean that--books, and rarely have I had the intense experience I had with The Bone People. I couldn't shake it off for a long time; I'm not entirely sure I'll ever shake it off. There is utter magic in this book, a kind of spooky singularity born of Keri Hulme's publishing silence outside of it (at least in America), as well as my feeling that if I were to write a book of this caliber and intensity, I would be eaten up and maybe unable to write anything of quality ever again. I bring people to this book like I'm calling for converts. I knew after I had first read it that it would be the book I would want with me anywhere and everywhere, my proverbial desert island choice, despite the fact that I've never really been much good at such decisions, or even seen the value of them. In the same spirit, I've never been very much inclined to do a review for amazon, either. Any words outside of the actual book itself can seem, worst-case scenario, superfluous. But I want to draw attention to this book in spite of that, because of its very real ability to alter the stuff of your spirit and the stuff of your brain. Blessings, Keri Hulme. You show us how it can be done.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 211 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Bone People
The Bone People von Keri Hulme (Taschenbuch - 9. November 2001)
EUR 11,80
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen