Kundenrezensionen


390 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (324)
4 Sterne:
 (29)
3 Sterne:
 (16)
2 Sterne:
 (10)
1 Sterne:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


22 von 24 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Der ewige Kampf von Gut und Böse
Nachdem ich mir dieses Buch als "leichte" Zwischenlektüre geleistet hatte, fiel es mir zu Anfang doch wirklich richtig schwer, einmal damit anzufangen. Doch wenn man die ersten 100 Seiten überwunden hat, kann man gar nicht mehr aufhören. Die Charaktere gehen einem unheimlich nahe und Follet schreibt auch so, dass man sich wirklich eingebunden fühlt...
Veröffentlicht am 4. August 2003 von Bienchen

versus
3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Much Ado About Nothing...Really
I read The Pillars of the Earth in a "Name of the Rose"-mood, meaning that I was doomed to feel disappointed about the value of the book. Ken Follet writes entertainingly but this time his novel is centered around a weak plot in a distant and faint dark ages landscape with few and pale and in some cases unplausible characters. The scope of Pillars of the Earth...
Veröffentlicht am 5. Juli 2000 von Walter Nicolau


‹ Zurück | 1 239 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

22 von 24 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Der ewige Kampf von Gut und Böse, 4. August 2003
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Pillars of the Earth (Taschenbuch)
Nachdem ich mir dieses Buch als "leichte" Zwischenlektüre geleistet hatte, fiel es mir zu Anfang doch wirklich richtig schwer, einmal damit anzufangen. Doch wenn man die ersten 100 Seiten überwunden hat, kann man gar nicht mehr aufhören. Die Charaktere gehen einem unheimlich nahe und Follet schreibt auch so, dass man sich wirklich eingebunden fühlt. Sehr eindrucksvoll kommt bei diesem Werk der Kampf zwischen Gut und Böse heraus. Die Hauptpersonen sind leicht in die Lager einzuteilen, aber man fiebert ständig mit deren Schicksalschlägen mit. So triumphiert mal das Gute in Form Priestern, Baumeistern und deren Familien über das Böse, vertreten durch die Monarchie und Landadel, um gleich darauf niedergeschmettert zu werden.
Die Liebe kommt auch nicht zu kurz und hat so ein bisschen was von "Salz auf unserer Haut", also ein Hin und Her über "Kriegen sie sich oder nicht", so dass man bis zum Ende spannungsgeladen an der Lektüre sitzt und die Welt um sich herum vergessen kann. Man möchte förmlich einschreiten und die Personen zusammen führen, muss sich jedoch hilflos dem Ideenreichtum des Autors unterwerfen und abwarten, ob es zum Guten oder Schlechten ausgeht.
Schlimm sind die Hindernisse, die den Personen in den Weg gelegt werden, manchmal so sehr, dass man fast verzweifeln möchte an so viel Ungerechtigkeit. Aber gerade das macht das Buch auch so anziehend und interessant, dass man mitfühlen kann und der definitve Ausgang bis zum Ende offen bleibt.
Die Schicksale all dieser Menschen sind verbunden durch den Bau einer Kathedrale, die es in solcher Form im damaligen England noch nicht gab. Die Errichtung eines solchen Bauwerkes nahm damals viel Zeit in Anspruch und über eine ebenso lange Periode hinweg begleitet der Leser die Personen auf ihrem schwierigen Weg.
Wie akkurat die Geschichte aus historischer Hinsicht ist, kann ich nicht beurteilen, aber diejenigen, die ein richtig gutes Stück Literatur, mit allem, was man von einem solchen Epos erwarten möchte, suchen, werden hier sicher Zufriedenheit erfahren.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Enormous and Fantastic Tale - As real as if you lived it!, 11. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Pillars of the Earth (Taschenbuch)
Follett takes his time building the characters in this epic tale of life, death, honor, love, evil and the strength of human sprit. Epic, which is USUALLY a code for unnecessarily long and boring, is anything but boring here.
It reads a little slow at first as the characters are developed, but it is so worth it as we follow them all through several generations. Seldom have I read a novel in which I truly cared about the characters. All of the heroes are incredibly real and human with tremendous strengths as well as fatal flaws and the evil are equally real and easily despisable. On more than one occasion I found myself yelling at the cast (hopefully not out loud lest my neighbors think me mad!).
Follett's knowledge of the era and of the cathedral building process ring true, although I am no middle ages scholar, and his work appears well researched. The depth of the technical details could easily have brought down the readibility of the story but were instead handled masterfully by the author and served to enhance the reading experience.
I could never have just one favorite book, but this certainly ranks among the top.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


8 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A surprisingly oringal and complex book for Follett, 3. Dezember 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Pillars of the Earth (Taschenbuch)
The Pillars of the Earth is a surprisingly original and complex book for Ken Follett. Those familiar with his other writings know that his books tend to be much shorter and more formulaic than this one, and, except for The Eye of the Needle, seldom carry much punch. This sparwling novel with a several generations cast of characters has as its central figure, not a person at all, but a building - a gothic cathedral from its inception to completion with a multitude of interrelated stories forming the book's plot.
I don't know how accurate this book is as history or architecture, but I know that it is a very satisfying book as fiction. It is original, in its way, and has the added satisfaction of giving us mulitple stories - each as self contained as a good short story, but all naturally related to the overriding story of the building of the cathedral.
I have recommended this book to many people and have discussed it with many others who had already read it. I have yet to find one who didn't feel that they had had a wonderfully rewarding reading experience with this book.
I highly recommend it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Much Ado About Nothing...Really, 5. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Pillars of the Earth (Taschenbuch)
I read The Pillars of the Earth in a "Name of the Rose"-mood, meaning that I was doomed to feel disappointed about the value of the book. Ken Follet writes entertainingly but this time his novel is centered around a weak plot in a distant and faint dark ages landscape with few and pale and in some cases unplausible characters. The scope of Pillars of the Earth is over ambitious; it spans over more than 30 years and tries to capture a broad range of events and destinies, therefore its focus is seldom clear throughout the reading. The plot is straightforward with the classic many loose ends tying in at the end in a very predictable way; good always prevails, evil always gets hammered.
Overall, The Pillars of the Earth makes a fair, relaxed reading; a simple and straightforward subject about everyday life in a 12th century English monastic community with all pertinent ingredients: bigot monks, power hungry bishops, treacherous kings, ruthless landlords and a few good men caught in the middle. If you think you can read 980 pages about this and you are prepared to ignore some common sense breaches here and there, then I recommend the book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


11 von 13 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Possibly the best book I have ever read, 23. Mai 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Pillars of the Earth (Taschenbuch)
Ken Follet writes this tale as though he personally experienced the world in the 11th century. It takes truly magnificent imagination to create something of this magnitude and genius. Obviously well-researched but interwoven with fiction, this story does not only lend itself to reading, it ABSORBS the reader. Despite its length, I devoured in in one sitting. I did not sleep at all, such was the thrall of the epic (and it IS an epic). I have since reread 'Pillars of the Earth' at least five times, and I shall read it again (as soon as my friends stop 'lending' it permanently). I have had to buy three different copies of this book, and at the moment I am in possession of none. I feel obliged to recommend it to any who care to listen to me for longer than two minutes, and as a result I keep losing my precious copies. I have read few other novels with impact such as this, and anyone who is in the slightest bit interested in English history, revenge and absolute perfection in narration should give this classic book a read. It won't be your last! If you would like any other 'classic' recommendations, you should give 'The Power of One' by Bryce Courtenay, and 'Roots of Outrage'(I cannot recall the author's name at present - scandallous since he is one of my favourites), which both juxtapose fictional characters with chronicled events in South Africa's history. Both of these recommendations are relatively on par with 'Pillars...'. Superb!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


6 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Überraschend gut, 5. Mai 2008
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Pillars of the Earth (Taschenbuch)
Wieder so ein Buch, das irgendwie jeder kennt und das mich trotzdem nicht so wirklich interessiert hat. Ich bin weder ein Fan von Ken Follett, noch besonders am Mittelalter interessiert. Da die Taschenbuch-Ausgabe aber so günstig war und die Nachfragen meiner ebenfalls lesebegeisterten Mitmenschen ("Hast du das schon gelesen?") irgendwann etwas genervt haben, habe ich mir das Buch eben doch zu Gemüte geführt.

Und wie so oft bei solchen Käufen wurde ich sehr positiv überrascht. Das Buch ist gut geschrieben und liest sich sehr flüssig. Innerhalb kurzer Zeit war ich total versunken ins Mittelalter und die Geschichte rund um den Bau einer Kirche, die mich auch bis zum Schluss gefesselt hat - bei knapp 1000 Seiten keine leichte Sache. Wie akkurat der geschichtliche Hintergrund beschrieben ist, kann ich nicht beurteilen, aber als Unterhaltung ist der Roman wirklich bestens geeignet.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Holding up the sky, 17. März 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Pillars of the Earth (Taschenbuch)
Turrets reaching to the sky in supplication, flying butresses supporting the heavens, cathedrals are man's way of worshiping God by building a church fit to encompass His Very Self. Mysterious, majestic, awesome-they have a power over the human psyche to captivate and control the frail minds of people and take absolute power over their souls. Surreal beauty for real beauty, a cathedral can build or destroy those who have built it and pray within. In times long gone, the cathedral was the point around which the entire town revolved.

Tom Builder is consumed by a cathedral. Ellen Builder is consumed by Tom. Jack Jackson is consumed by the same cathedral and by his long-time love Aliena. Earl William is consumed by Aliena and destroying the cathedral. Prior Philip is consumed by his religion and the cathedral. The whole town revolves around the cathedral. Ken Follet's book, The Pillars of the Earth, is nothing if not historically accurate. The cathedral sets the background of the story, encompassing a period of history from 1123 to 1174 in an unromanticized Medieval England, covering the time in the town of Kingsbridge from the burning of the old cathedral through two rebuildings to the introduction of Gothic architecture to England. We follow the Builder family through prosperity and starvation, from the loss of his first wife Agnes to his life with his heathen second wife Ellen and her son Jack. We see the proud daughter of an Earl, the Lady Aliena, run from her nemesis William to poverty then to prosperity beyond imagining. We watch as young Philip maneuvers around his enemies to become a prior in his youth then see him at the end of his life while punishing King Henry II for the murder of Archbishop Thomas Becket. We watch, yet we live with them, experience everything they do, understand what they understand.

Follet really does a superb job describing twelfth century England, showing in-depth research into the topic. He also conveys a sense of realism in his characters, making them as dirty and hopeful and uneducated as most of the inhabitants of that time were. Sure, he employs occasional literary liberties concerning the believability of some characters' actions or the results of these motions, but it can be forgiven in the name of audience appeal. Though long, the novel is worthy; though involved, the themes, morals, motifs, et cetera, are clear. Impressive are the people who hold up the walls of the buildings that hold up the sky and clouds that are the very pillars of the Earth.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen an excellent piece of historical fiction, 11. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Pillars of the Earth (Taschenbuch)
I actually listened to this book on tape, while my wife read the paperback. Both of us loved it. I not only recommend the book, but also urge people to rent the Book on Tape version, narrated by David Case, whose acting and narrative talents shine through, bringing the various characters to life. (But still purchase the book from Amazon!) I came to Pillars of the Earth after spending about two solid years reading, in my spare time, nothing but medieval histories, with a focus on fourteenth century England and the Plantagenet kings. I had never before read a book by Follett, who I had assumed mass-produced pulp spy fiction. I only chose the book because of of my interest in medieval history. To my delight and surprise, I discovered the book to be a true work of literature, which might well still be read in 100 years. I found myself amazed by Follett's ability to create an extremely complex and compelling plot, with compelling characters, against a backdrop that seemed true to the histories I had been reading. The early twelfth century is a period neglected by us moderns; but it's one that's inherently interesting. Who, today, has even heard of King Stephen (who preceded the famous Henry II, immortalized twice by Peter O'Toole in the 1960s movies Beckett and Lion in Winter)? Because, in England at least, Stephen's reign was a time of virtual anarchy, Follett was able to use the period to create characters who demonstrate the brutal lengths to which people can go when unconstrained by law and an effective legal order. At the same time, though, he has created religious and other well-meaning characters who, if alien to us because of their belief in Hell and a God intervening almost minute-by-minute in human afairs, display courage and the best of intentions in the harsh face of barbarism. This juxtaposition of the brutal and the well-meaning makes for an interesting meditation on human nature and on the hope for the gradual further civilization of our species. His ultimate message is encouraging, though he certainly doesn't shrink from depicting the nastiness of which humans are capable. In short, the book is a marvelous piece of fiction, in which Follet has done an excellent job capturing the feeling of a distant and neglected period of history.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Best historical novel I've read in 10 years, 3. November 1999
Von 
Suzanne Cross "Bibliophilos" (Santa Fe, New Mexico United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Pillars of the Earth (Taschenbuch)
I've never been a fan of Follett, and picked this book up with some misgivings - anyone these days can try to do an "historical" novel with some quick sex, some fake archaic new-speak, and a TV-movie-miniseries concept of history. While there are some minor flaws in this book, its sweep, characterization, tensions, and love of its subject are simply riveting. I could not put the darned thing down and have lost sleep for a week compulsively page-turning. Follett, unbelievably, seems to have made little splash with this book when it first came out - more shame to the critics who missed a "Gone With the Wind" from a conventional thriller author.
His primary strength in the book is his magnificent characters. By the end, Prior Phillip, Aliena, Jack, Richard, "Witch" Ellen, William of Hamleigh, Waleran Bigod, and a host of supporting characters are as real as people you know. Their strengths and weaknesses feel as sound as earth. I've just reached the part where the Cathedral is finished, and its magnificent image, built in love, hardship, and devotion, colors the whole book like light through stained glass. And I suspect the ending will be as immensely "right" as the entire rest of the book in its proportion in spinning out complicated human lives and emotions.
Follett manages to write of an age of religious devotion without tumbling into the two pits - making fun of medieval Christian faith, or uncritically adopting it. An IMMENSELY satisfying read.
I could quibble with what I feel is some gratuitous sex, some slightly contrived plot twists, but that's like complaining about some flotsam in the river as you're going over Niagara.
DO NOT MISS THIS BOOK if you love wonderful story-spinning and history.
Well done, Mr. Follett!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


8 von 10 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen This book has definitely changed my way, 1. November 2007
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Pillars of the Earth (Taschenbuch)
Of looking at old churches or cathedrals! Just realising that bunches of people spent their whole life to build those beautiful monuments to praise God - it's incredible. The plot of this book also is. It's the story of Phillip, Prior of Kingsbridge and his lifelong struggle and fight to get the cathedral built, run the priory and be a good monk. It's also the story of Tom and Jack - both of them addicted to masonry and especially to building cathedrals. And it is the story of Ellen, Aliena and Martha - three women whose life was intertwined with the cathedral built, not matter if they liked it or not. It is also a story about power and greed, political intrigues and personal interests of people around the King and in the Church who all have different reasons to want to stop the building of the cathedral. An excellent story that keeps you thrilled from first to last sentence. I would also recommend reading Tino Georgiou's masterpiece--The Fates--if you haven't read it yet.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 239 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Pillars of the Earth
The Pillars of the Earth von Ken Follett (Taschenbuch - 7. April 2007)
EUR 7,90
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen