Kundenrezensionen


222 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (196)
4 Sterne:
 (17)
3 Sterne:
 (4)
2 Sterne:
 (2)
1 Sterne:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


57 von 58 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen So far, so hoopy...
This book has taught me more about life than Druzzt Berloa's "17 ways to have a ridiculous amount of fun in the Universe" (purchased in a little shop on Eroticon VI - 12 of them don't work, by the way). Sometimes I catch myself answering some of the more unnecessary questions I come across day by day by just saying "42" and enjoying the puzzled expression on people's...
Veröffentlicht am 25. Februar 2003 von RP

versus
1 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Klopapier
Zum Inhalt will ich hier garnichts sagen; nur soviel: die Qualität des Papiers ist mies! Es wellt sich schon nach 5 Minuten vom Handschweiß! (aber vielleicht habe ich auch nur besonders schweißige Hände - oder das Buch ist einfac super-spannend...)
Der Druck der Lettern ist wenn man genau hinsieht am Rande leicht zerlaufen, so wie man es...
Vor 5 Monaten von Dodekaeder veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 223 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

57 von 58 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen So far, so hoopy..., 25. Februar 2003
This book has taught me more about life than Druzzt Berloa's "17 ways to have a ridiculous amount of fun in the Universe" (purchased in a little shop on Eroticon VI - 12 of them don't work, by the way). Sometimes I catch myself answering some of the more unnecessary questions I come across day by day by just saying "42" and enjoying the puzzled expression on people's faces. I've not come as far as to keep a towel close at hand at all times, but this book definitely had an impact on my life. Almost everyday I come across situations that remind me of the "Guide" or make me wish a Vogon would take care of the person I'm dealing with. I've read the German edition of the trilogy about 10 times, but now, after going through the original edition in about 2 days, I realized that I've been missing a whole lot of fun. Even though the German translation is funny enough to make me stop reading from time to time because I'm laughing so hard, it can't keep up with the English version. Even "Mostly harmless", that I thought was the weakest part of the series, was stunningly funny in the original. This is a must-have edition for all froods.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


46 von 49 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Der ultimative Hitchhiker, 13. Juni 2005
Von 
Mario Pf. (Oberösterreich) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)    (HALL OF FAME REZENSENT)   
Arthur Dent wacht eines Morgens auf, nur um festzustellen, dass sein Haus gerade davorsteht einer Umfahrungsstraße zu weichen. Die Debatten mit dem Bauleiter bringen wenig und doch sind Arthurs Probleme an diesem Tag eher unbedeutend, denn wenig später ist es die gesamte Erde die einer Umfahrungsstraße weichen soll. Mit seinem Freund Ford Prefect, der sich plötzlich als Reisejournalist des Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy entpuppt, beginnt für Arthur eine unglaubliche Weltraumodyssee als sie auf einem Raumschiff der Bauflotte entkommen...

Doch obwohl The Hitchhikers Guide to the Universe zum Kultklassiker geworden ist und auch als Weltliteratur bezeichnet wird, das Buch an sich ist unvollständig. Sein Ende wurde etwa von Douglas Adams nach mehrfach überschrittener Deadline zwischen einem Telefonat mit seinem Verleger und der Ankunft des Boten verfasst. Natürlich stört das kaum einen Leser, auch weil die fehlenden Kapitel später als "The Restaurant at the End of the Universe" veröffentlicht wurden und dem Hitchhiker damit sein rechtmäßiges Ende verleihten.

Heute ist die Hitchhiker als Trilogie in fünf Teilen bekannt, der ein sehr seltsamer Kanon zu Grunde liegt. Schloss das Restaurant noch den Hitchhiker ab, war "Life, the Universe and Everything" bereits eher eine Fortsetzung, welche jedoch noch teilweise den Stil und die Atmosphäre des Hitchhikers weiterführen könnte und somit die Trilogie abschloss. "So long, and thanks for all the fish" wirkte dabei eher wie ein Anhängsel der Hitchhiker-Saga und brachte nur kurz eine Rückkehr bekannter Charaktere, während des Buchs von einer Love Story auf der plötzlich wiederauferstandenen Erde geprägt war. Douglas Adams selbst weißt im Buch darauf hin, dass man vielleicht gleich bis zu den letzten Kapiteln vorblättern sollte, da dort wieder Marvin und Ford vorkommen. Wohl auch wegen diesem irritierenden vierten Band, wollte Adams die Hitchhiker-Saga mit Mostly Harmless ein und für allemal beenden. Was er bereits mit dem eigentlichen Hitchhiker beenden wollte, endet daher im fünften Teil der Trilogie, jedoch eher verworren und zwischen den Dimensionen hin und hergerissen.

Insgesamt ist die Hitchhiker-Saga jedoch ein Meisterwerk, eine hochklassige Science Fiction-Parodie mit eigener Philosophie. Unkonventionell gelingt es Douglas Adams jede Ernsthaftigkeit zu vermeiden und mit viel Witz die Galaxis zu erklären. Dabei verzichtet er betont auf echte Helden, Arthur Dent bleibt etwa durch und durch ganz gewöhnlich. Die Handlung verläuft unberechenbar und ist von Wendungen gezeichnet, die völlig unwahrscheinlich wirken, den Leser aber intellektuell stets herausfordern.

In vorliegender Ausgabe ist die Hitchhiker-Saga vollständig in einem Band zusammengefasst, im Gegensatz zu manch anderen Sammelbänden aber ohne die Kurzgeschichten "Young Zaphod plays it safe". Diese ist jedoch ohnehin in Salmon of Doubt, dem offiziellen Nachlassband des Autors, enthalten. Rein preislich liegt diese Ausgabe relativ günstig und unter mancher Konkurrenz, wobei sie sich durch ein handlicheres Format und geringeres Gewicht hervortut.

Fazit:
Schlicht und einfach, der ideale Hitchhiker-Sammelband - günstig, einigermaßen handlich und natürlich vollständig.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


34 von 36 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen So long and thanks for all the books, 10. August 2005
There is a reason, why this book is so remarkable cheap. First it comes out of the publishing coporation of random house (bertelsman) - British book, reimported from the US. Second it s written in large friendly letters. But to find the words "Don't panic" you have to actually look inside the book (It is really worth it!).
Third it is slightly inaccurate, still claiming DNA dwells somewhere between London and France. He is very busy for being dead. Maybe he just did it out of tax reasons.
The book contains almost every story which has to do with the famed Hitchhiker's Guide. Almost because, the radio-scripts are missing. But otherwise, the Trilogy contains all five books, plus an extra story.
To be brief, I recommend this book to anyone who want's to get the whole story at once. You might not like the last book, but hey, didn't Agrajag warn you?
The first books are still funny and you might get a deeper understanding of modern culture. Like IBMs first chess computer batteling Kasparow or altavistas translating engine and some hidden cross-reference in "Total Recall" (starring the Gouvernator) but this is Someone Else's Problem entirely.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


15 von 16 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Einfach kultig!!, 27. September 2004
Von Ein Kunde
Zugegeben, das Buch ist ein bißchen abschreckend. Dick und schwer, nicht gerade das Richtige für die U-Bahn oder den Strandkorb. Aber dafür ist der Inhalt genial.
Allein schon das Vorwort, in dem der leider viel zu früh verstorbene Douglas Adams mit dem für ihn üblichen Humor beschreibt, wie ihm die Idee zum Hitchhiker kam... natürlich in Wien, wo auch sonst ;-)
Zu den Büchern insgesamt ist zu sagen, dass zwar nicht alle durchgängig das Niveau von "The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy" haben, aber sie gehören sicher zu dem Besten, was im Bereich Funny-Science-Fiction je geschrieben wurde. Auch für geeignet für Leser, die es sonst nicht so mit Science-Fiction haben.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


14 von 15 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A comic genius!, 16. Januar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Douglas Adams is possibly the funniest author I've read. His "Guide" is a wacky, crazy, hilarious tale of a totally clueless human's (Arthur Dent) travels in the big bad galaxy out there. Arthur, like millions of other humans, is totally ignorant about the Universe. Indeed, until the day the Earth is demolished (to make way for a hyperspace bypass!), he doesnt even know that his close friend Ford Prefect belongs to another planet - and is a researcher for the hugely successful book The Hitchikers Guide to the Galaxy.
But Ford & Arthur escape from Earth, and set out on a journey of a lifetime, spanning 5 novels so far, where time and space are equally trivial barriers that can be crossed at a leap. Along the way, Arthur finds out a lot he didnt know, and lots more than he ever wanted to know, from hitching rides on passing space ships and teaching their computers to make tea, to the real history of his planet and the knowledge that his is the third most intelligent species on earth(and not, as was widely believed, the second) He also grapples with scientific concepts way beyond his grasp like the Infinite Improbability drive, Somebody Else's Problem field, discontinuities along the probability axis, not to mention the End of the Universe(the universe's most spectacular & profitable catering venture) Douglas Adams serves up one wacky idea after another, a universe wildly beyond our imagination, yet very familiar in its core values of crass commercialization and tasteless marketing hype. The reader is hurled through a series of increasingly improbable events, all held together by equally crazy characters and brilliant, witty(and ofcourse crazy) dialogs.
So if I'm raving so much about the book, why do I give it only 4 stars? Because, like all artists, Adams has his highs & his lows, both of which are present in this collection. I would wholeheartedly recommend the first two novels - Hitchikers guide & Restaurant at the end of the universe. But coming after them, Life, the Universe & Everything is somewhat of a letdown, and So Long & Thanks for all the Fish even more so. Mostly Harmless is better, but still doesnt meet the standards set by the first two. All in all, this book is a collectors item for Adams fans - and I dont regret buying it. But for those just starting out on Adams, I'd recommend they try individual copies of the first two novels.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


13 von 14 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Genialer Klassiker des britischen Humors, 16. Januar 2008
Von 
Diese wundervolle, total durchgeknallte und wahnsinnig witzige Saga von Douglas Adams sollte bei jedem im Regal stehen, der den britischen Humor zu lieben und zu schätzen weis. Nachdem ich den Film gesehen hatte, habe ich mir sofort alle 5 deutschen Einzelbände zugelegt und sie in Windeseile förmlich verschlungen. Aber als ich diesen Schatz mit diesem wirklich wunderschönen Einband gesehen hab (und dazu noch für diesen Preis!!), musste ich einfach nochmal zuschlagen. Und ich muss sagen, dieses Meisterwerk macht sich prächtig in meinem Bücherregal!
Eigentlich war es ja nur als Anschauungsobjekt gedacht (wegen dem Einband...schließlich hab ich die Bücher ja auch auf Deutsch), aber als ich dann mal einen Blick auf die englische Version gewagt habe, hat mich diese Buchreihe noch mehr begeistert. Man muss dazu sagen, dass wohl leider bei der deutschen Übersetzung einige Gags ziemlich unter gegangen sind.

Deswegen ist jedem wahren Fan der wundervoll irrwitzigen Anhalter-Saga dieser geniale Sammelband auf Englisch wärmstens zu empfehlen!

(Ein kleines Manko muss hier dennoch angeführt werden: Trotz dieser nahezu perfekten Aufmachung, fehlen leider auf der Rückseite die in großen freundlichen Buchstaben gedruckten Worte "DON`T PANIK".... Sehr schade; das hätte echt perfekt zu dieser Ausgabe gepasst.)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


13 von 14 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Mostly...uh, 42, 6. Juli 2000
Von Ein Kunde
One memory I had as a child was sneaking to the library and pocketing the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy and reading it. I didn't get all the jokes, and some of it was over my head, but I read it not only as a fine work of humor but as a sci-fi book as well. When I was old enough to know better, I spend money on some of the novels, squirreled the other ones from my like-minded brother, and read through until the fourth book. We even bought the Infocom text adventure, expanding Adams's universe to the interactive novel.
Adams's book has done what few others have--transcended both genres it tries to emulate. HHGTTG is known, like Monty Python, as the epitome of UK humor, a few large steps above Tom Holt and Red Dwarf. But it also reads as a brilliant science fiction novel, and becomes what it tries to parody. Deep Thought was a crack on HAL, but soon Deep Thought *became* HAL, and a scifi classic was born.
The books are all very good--but, like any series, some are better than others. THHGTTG and The Restaraunt at the End of the Universe are serialized from the TV/Radio series, and read as such--episodic spasms of comedy wrapped in a loosely believable overall universe. Life, Universe, & Everything gets a full novel treatment, more lineral than the first two; it presents much of the same humor in a somewhat different, more traditional style. It suffers, but not significantly. So Long--regarded by many to be an abberation to the series--is not as bad as many fans think it is. It indulges perhaps too much in its own self-parody, and is less scifi than straight humor. Yet it makes up for itself in a rather fun (albiet depressing) end story. Mostly Harmless pits us back where we were before, highlighting poor neglected Trillian in what seems to be a wrap-up of the entire mess of a trilogy. MH may disappoint some--especially with the departure of many favorite characters--but levels the series out quite nicely.
Some series--like Asimov's Foundation--get better as the series progesses. Others, such as the Dune books, get increasingly inane and tiresome. Hitchhiker's does much like the former, perhaps bumpier for the ride, but a fruitful and glorious ride nonetheless.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


10 von 11 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Genial, intelligent, bekloppt., 24. Januar 2001
Von Ein Kunde
Eines der besten und witzigsten Bücher, die ich je gelesen habe. Sprühender Wortwitz mit einmaligen Formulierungen, geniale Charaktere. Nie zuvor habe ich bei einem Buch so oft laut lachen müssen.
Wer auf Realismus wert legt, sollte die Finger von diesem Buch lassen; manche Wendungen der Geschichte erinnern an Monthy Python. Angesichts der Art, wie Adams mit der Sprache spielt, empfehle ich unbedingt diese originalsprachliche Ausgabe.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


21 von 24 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen THE ULTIMATE HITCHHIKER'S GUIDE is the best book ever!, 4. April 1998
This is simply the best book ever written. Period. You really can't top this. Douglas Adams is so incredably funny, but there really isn't a way to say how funny he is! Let's just put it this way - I currently own FIVE copies of The Ulitmate Hitchhiker's Guide, and I'm proud of it! This book is like a mini hitchhiker's library. It contains all the books in the so-called "Hitchhikers Trilogy" (Vol. 1-5) For those of you who haven't read Mr. Adams' work, I strongly encourage you to buy this book. I promise you, you will be pleased, unless, of course, you are one of those people who absolutly despise humor and despise having a great time. You, yes you, the person staring at this review, you aren't one of theses people. I can tell because you are actually reading this review :) Also, those who have read Douglas Adams' work should buy this book, it's a must-have for everyone. When are you ever going to see the five hitchhiker books for such a low price again? The Ultimate Hitchhiker's Guide also includes a sixth story, not found anywhere else. Also, it has the TRUE story of how the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy came to be (the Introduction, it's non-fictional :) ). Plus, it comes with a nice, shiny cover...... Very colorful. So grab your towel and your credit card, and order NOW! No, seriously, order it now, it's worth it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


20 von 23 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A Must-Have For Hitchhiker Lovers, 24. November 2007
This is the most excellent edition of the Hitchhiker works I've ever seen - and bought. (And I own several editions of it, in several languages.)

The presentation of this comprehensive collection is elegant, fine and an enrichment for every room. And, let's not beat about the bush, if you will choose to buy this edition, the fact that you love Adams' works should be taken as a given.

The paper quality is equal to that of your common bible and the edges of the pages are, again, equal to that as they are gilded. Very nicely at that.

The fonts chosen for this print are nice to read and have a clear, elegant note to it, the main one being your typical Times New Roman and the more decorative one remins me of an Arial Bold surrogate. The size of the font is big enough to be comfortably read. The size of the pages as well as the typographical positioning of the text on them pleases the eye, in my opinion.

The black leather cover is padded and on it is the title et cetera printed with gold. The spine of the book contains the title of the series as well as the single titles of the books; the back of the book is left blank.

I bought this edition and do not regret it. Go and enrich your living room. Go and reread The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 223 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Ultimate Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy
Gebraucht & neu ab: EUR 33,42
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen