Kundenrezensionen


50 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (29)
4 Sterne:
 (7)
3 Sterne:
 (6)
2 Sterne:
 (4)
1 Sterne:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


7 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent contents, but...
The contents of this books are absolutely excellent as many previous readers said. It should be a must-read for every engineer and every engineering student as well as their bosses. But I found this book seems not organized well enough. The key principles should be highlighted more. The design of subtitles is confusing or at least helpless for readers to construct a...
Am 25. Februar 1999 veröffentlicht

versus
12 von 14 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen interessant und witzig, aber später auch anstrengend
Die ersten 60 Seiten sind für jeden - wirklich jeden - äußerst witzig und lehrreich zu lesen. Norman stellt zahlreiche Beispiele vor, mit denen es Probleme gab, die es scheinbar nicht geben sollte.
Beispielsweise Türen und Telefonanlagen. Wer hat Probleme, durch eine Tür zu treten? Anscheinend sehr viel mehr Personen als man meint.
Nach...
Veröffentlicht am 20. Oktober 2004 von Karsten Berlin


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

5 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Strong point, but missing the main ingredient..., 18. September 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Design of Everyday Things (Taschenbuch)
This book is a very good waterdown introduction to the issues most designers have to deal with when developing a project. All types of designers should read this book. It is very helpful because even though Mr. Norman often focuses on industrial products, the information he discusses is pivotal to the success of any product during its design stage. This applies to web designers as much as to industrial designers. I was a little disappointed to read reviews about this book from web designers saying that it was not necessarily helpful because it did not talk directly about web design. The reader should be more open and apply the concepts to their specific design field.
Now, there is a major flaw that I need to note about the book. This one deals with the practical issues behind a design, such as the pressure to show a unique interpretation that might win a prize and at the same time be a best seller with consumers. But the book does not deal with the issues behind desire -- the fact that people often buy things which are not usefull to them but are bought to fulfill their undefined desires. The book does not address this aspect of consumerism at all. All designers need to understand desire as much as possible. Mr. Norman merely mentioned it in the last two paragraphs of his final chapter. And it was in the passing; something which could be missed by someone who is not familiar with that topic in relation to design.
Be aware of that. I do recommend this book to be read. But it would be a very different book if he explored the fact that designers are not only pushed to develop something useful for the consumer, but are also pushed to create myth and desire which will keep the consumer coming back for more things which are not necessary to everyday life.
be aware of this, big, big, big boooooo boooo by Mr. Norman.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Well written on a very important topic, 26. November 2012
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Design of Everyday Things (Taschenbuch)
This book is a breath of fresh air in a world surrounded by poorly designed objects. I cannot recommend this book enough to anyone involved in the design process, or in the use of designed objects (hint: this book is useful for anyone).
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Great book even if you are not in Human Factors engineering, 16. Juni 2000
Von 
atmj (Rochester, NY USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Design of Everyday Things (Taschenbuch)
I had to read this book for a course. However once I started it, I wanted to read it. All those oddball things like pushing the wrong side of doors, not knowing whether to push or pull, that we all do and blame ourselves, are not our fault. Something in the design led to our incorrect behavior. This is a fundamental concept of Human Factors and Don Norman captured it perfectly. A must read for Human Factors engineers and an interesting read for the rest of the world. I'm buying more of his books.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Best IA book I've read, 17. Mai 2000
Von 
Catherine Skidmore (Peoria, AZ) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Design of Everyday Things (Taschenbuch)
The Design of Everyday Things is a great book for designers, information architects, programmers and technical architects (and that's just in my field!). The author uses real life examples to illustrate design flaws and examples of good design. Our info arch team read this in preparation for doing site layouts and designs, and they recommended it to me - and I highly recommend it to anyone needing an overview of what makes good things work.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The difference between designers and users, 9. Mai 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Design of Everyday Things (Taschenbuch)
Let me start by acknowledging that the book is not perfect. The end notes are annoying and Norman can have a tendancy to ramble and I guess that not everyone would find that charming. However, I assert that the strengths of the book more than make up for its weaknesses-- it is an important book, and one that anyone engaged in designing things for other people should read.
The central point is simple-- the needs of the user are different from the needs of the designer. The designer might want everyone's actions with his system to be precise, the user might need to have a "good enough" range of precision approximation. The designer wants to make the knobs the same so they look good together, the user wants to be able to tell quickly which knob applies to which function. It's a basic concept that can't (particularly on the Internet today) be repeated often enough.
Norman looks at the kinds of errors people make in usage and discusses how designers can plan to prevent these kind of errors. He discusses some of the basic things that users find valuable and walks the reader through some classic (and often funny, because so recognizable) design errors.
The writing is clean and (with the exception of the aforementioned rambling) very clear. Norman's voice is full of humor and a real passion for the subject, and that voice is conveyed very well by the book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Great Introduction to Usability and Design, 14. März 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Design of Everyday Things (Taschenbuch)
A number of reviewers have made points about the end notes. I corresponded with Professor Norman on this subject. He informed me that more people comment on the usability (or lack thereof) of the endnotes than of any other aspect of the book. Having said that, don't let this design error interfere with the great content.
This book is not for people with strong backgrounds in usability and design. It is an excellent introduction and overview. Prof. Norman makes many great points which were new to me because I hadn't studied these concepts before. If you design anything and you haven't studied usability, get this book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen I am glad to have read it, even though the reading was dull., 13. Juni 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Design of Everyday Things (Taschenbuch)
This is actually a really bizarre book, in that it is as much an autobiography of Dr Norman's experiences in his own home as it is about design. Dr Norman is like the Charlotte Bronte of engineering -- although appaerently trapped in his own little world, he manages to discover universal truths that are relevant way beyond it.
Don't be confused: this is a rather tiresome book to read, as Dr Norman evaluates the design and usability of taps, light-switches, telephones and door handles (lots of door handles), but in a cosmic sense, worthwhile.
In short: I am glad to have read it, even though the reading was pretty dull.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Mittlerweile gibt es einen Online Kurs auf Udacity, 19. April 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Design of Everyday Things (Taschenbuch)
Ich habe mich durch den Anfang gelesen und war recht schnel gelangweilt, weil das Usability Beispiel vom Auto am Anfang doch etwas altbacken war.Habe mich doch nicht so sehr für das Thema interessiert um das Buch durchzulesen. Allerdings gibt es mittlerweile einen Online Kurs auf Udacity... Ich glaube so macht der Stoff mehr Spaß.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Today's review is brought to you by the letter U, 3. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Design of Everyday Things (Taschenbuch)
The Design of Everyday Things is the ultimate vehicle for translating usability design issues into everyday experiences. Once reading this book, one is no longer able to ignore the ergonomic, conceptual, and structural design flaws of everything from doors to complex information system interfaces. This book is clear and concise case-based information on how to recognize, diagnose, and design for usability in every arena. To the ever growing population of Information Systems and Web developers: you NEED this book for its insight on the human interaction experience; don't just develop an interface because you can- create a user-based system through the instruction of Don Norman's principles outlined in this book. Don Norman is a god!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Clever Thoghts about Dumb Things with a User Interface, 27. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Design of Everyday Things (Taschenbuch)
Have you ever been taking a shower in a hotel room, having no clue how to adjust the water temperature? Are your refrigerator cooling 24 hours/day because you never figured out the panels of buttons? Donald A. Norman takes a look at all those frustrating user experiences in a very funny and insightful manner, but instead of just pointing out all the stupidities, he also uses his knowledge of human psychology to explain exactly why so many user interfaces are so troublesome. This book is not about software design, but is nevertheless extremely useful for anybody involved in the development of software since Mr. Norman focusses his attention on topics which are fundamental for any kind of user interface (wheter in the form of door handles or advanced airplane controlling software applications). The design of the book itself is fairly boring with dull black and white photographs, simple line drawings and a general bad layout. In spite of this being a book on design, it is however not that important, since Mr. Norman delivers his message in a very elegant and witty manner. Therefore this book get 5 stars of 5 possible.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Design of Everyday Things
Design of Everyday Things von Donald A Norman (Taschenbuch - 23. Dezember 2013)
EUR 17,75
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen