Kundenrezensionen


5 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (2)
4 Sterne:
 (1)
3 Sterne:    (0)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Other than expected
I was visiting the MIT bookshop and saw a staple of these books. I regonized that John Maeda is a MIT professor, scanned the table of content and decided to buy the book. I did not know that Prof. Maeda is a designer and therefore I expected an engineer talking about system engineering for complex technical systems.

I like the book title "Simplicity" instead of...
Veröffentlicht am 4. Juni 2011 von Michael Heiss

versus
7 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Superficial, bloated, rambling, pretentious, not worthwile
I have a lot of respect for John Maeda's work, but not for this one. This one is just superficial ramblings.

It's actually a very good example how NOT to deal with the subject matter - the use of the completely meaningless acronyms is simply confusing and muddles the point. There are some very good books on simplicity in industrial design, and I guess most will...
Veröffentlicht am 30. Januar 2008 von Frederik Reisinger


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

7 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Superficial, bloated, rambling, pretentious, not worthwile, 30. Januar 2008
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Laws of Simplicity (Simplicity: Design, Technology, Business, Life) (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I have a lot of respect for John Maeda's work, but not for this one. This one is just superficial ramblings.

It's actually a very good example how NOT to deal with the subject matter - the use of the completely meaningless acronyms is simply confusing and muddles the point. There are some very good books on simplicity in industrial design, and I guess most will be more worthwile than this.

Maeda keeps coming back to the iPod to make some shallow remarks about who in his family understood the interface and who didn't. It would be much more interesting to look at how that design has evolved from the ideals of Dieter Rams of Braun, to Johnny Ive of Apple.

Nothing like that happens here; inflated anecdotes replace what should have been insights, and where you expect a meaningful thought you find a limp joke.

I learned nothing from this book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Other than expected, 4. Juni 2011
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Laws of Simplicity (Simplicity: Design, Technology, Business, Life) (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I was visiting the MIT bookshop and saw a staple of these books. I regonized that John Maeda is a MIT professor, scanned the table of content and decided to buy the book. I did not know that Prof. Maeda is a designer and therefore I expected an engineer talking about system engineering for complex technical systems.

I like the book title "Simplicity" instead of possible other titles for the same book like "Management of Complexity".
I like the easy to read style of the book - a book about simplicity should not be too complex. I also like the auto-biographic components - the anecdotes of his live.

I also like books which do not tell you how to solve your (complex) problems but let you think by your own and just trigger your own thoughts in your brain. The book is definitively no book which tells you how to do it, but animates your own creativity. It starts more concrete at the beginning and gets more and more abstract towards the end of the book. In Chapter "Law 9: Failure" the author criticises his own book and shows what is not perfect and could be improved.

All in all a very unconventional book, completely different from what I was expecting, but nevertheless I liked to read it (and I liked my own thought during reading it). The book is more a piece of art than a book with classical content.

If I had time for it, the book would animate me to write the engineering book which I expected when I bought it. I am sure you could write an excellent engineering book in the field of management of complexity with the same chapter titles:

Law 1: Reduce
Law 2: Organize
Law 3: Time
Law 4: Learn
Law 5: Differences
Law 6: Context
Law 7: Emotion
Law 8: Trust
Law 9: Failure
Law 10: The one

(In this new engineering book, the chapters 7 and 8 would be the most difficult but maybe most interesting.)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


9 von 12 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen With all due respect to the author, 3. Dezember 2007
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Laws of Simplicity (Simplicity: Design, Technology, Business, Life) (Gebundene Ausgabe)
A book review might inform you about the book as well as about the reviewer. With this in mind, I take the risk. I did not like this book....at all! I find it dogmatic and a bit of an ex-post explanation of "why the shot could not be missed with the i-pod". Remains the possibility that I totally missed the point...
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen einfach & prägnant, 15. Dezember 2009
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Laws of Simplicity (Simplicity: Design, Technology, Business, Life) (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Die englische Ausgabe ist schöner gestaltet und liest sich viel angenehmer! Auch mit mittelmäßigen Englischkenntnissen sollten die geneigten Leser besser auf diese Originalausgabe zurückgreifen. Dann ist das Buch bestens geeignet, zum analysieren der eigenen Arbeit oder Maedas Lieblingsbeispiel, dem iPod, anzuregen. Ein hübsches Standardwerk mit goldenen Regeln zum lesen in der Badewanne oder für Gestaltungsfremde. Definitiv kein Handwerkszeug für umfangreiches Gedankenwerk.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Never underestimate the Complexities of Simplicity! Must-Buy!, 7. November 2007
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Laws of Simplicity (Simplicity: Design, Technology, Business, Life) (Gebundene Ausgabe)
balancing simplicity and complexity is the challenge we all encounter in design, business, technology and life. john gives us ten simple laws to master that challenge, where the last law encompasses all others.
law no.10, which he calls 'the one', says: "simplicity is about subtracting the obvious, and adding the meaningful."

and he is right, we could live with that single law. in all our aspects of live. but we would have to practice a lot to achieve excellence in that.

it's a goal worth trying to reach. let's act! don't talk!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Laws of Simplicity (Simplicity: Design, Technology, Business, Life)
The Laws of Simplicity (Simplicity: Design, Technology, Business, Life) von John Maeda (Gebundene Ausgabe - 4. August 2006)
EUR 17,58
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen