Kundenrezensionen


101 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (47)
4 Sterne:
 (4)
3 Sterne:
 (3)
2 Sterne:
 (1)
1 Sterne:
 (46)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


27 von 28 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Its the Best! Its the Worst! Why the split?
I think its fascinating that there is such a split between those who love and hate this book. Most reviews give a bell-shaped curve of star ratings; this one has a peak at 1, a peak at 5, and very little in between. How could this be? I think it is because SICP is a very personal message that works only if the reader is a computer scientist (or willing to become...
Veröffentlicht am 9. Mai 2000 von Peter Norvig

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Does a shoddy job of teaching
I liked some of the ideas in this book, but I later realized they were not presented by the author, but where merely good features of Lisp. After reading this book, I haven't learned all that much, and whatever I did learn, was a long and boring process. Regardless of subject matter, books *can not* be this inconsiderate of the reader. The author should show some...
Am 25. Juni 1999 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 211 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

27 von 28 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Its the Best! Its the Worst! Why the split?, 9. Mai 2000
Von 
Peter Norvig (Palo Alto, CA USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs, 2nd Edition (MIT Electrical Engineering and Computer Science) (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I think its fascinating that there is such a split between those who love and hate this book. Most reviews give a bell-shaped curve of star ratings; this one has a peak at 1, a peak at 5, and very little in between. How could this be? I think it is because SICP is a very personal message that works only if the reader is a computer scientist (or willing to become one). So I agree that the book's odds of success are better if you read it after having some experience.
To use an analogy, if SICP were about automobiles, it would be for the person who wants to know how cars work, how they are built, and how one might design fuel-efficient, safe, reliable vehicles for the 21st century. The people who hate SICP are the ones who just want to know how to drive their car on the highway, just like everyone else.
Those who hate SICP think it doesn't deliver enough tips and tricks for the amount of time it takes to read. But if you're like me, you're not looking for one more trick, rather you're looking for a way of synthesizing what you already know, and building a rich framework onto which you can add new learning over a career. That's what SICP has done for me. I read a draft version of the book around 1982 and it changed the way I think about my profession. If you're a thoughtful computer scientist (or want to be one), it will change your life too.
Some of the reviewers complain that SICP doesn't teach the basics of OO design, and so on. In a sense they are right. The book doesn't directly tell you how to design and write an object-oriented program using the subset of object-oriented principles that show up in the syntax of Java or C++. Rather, the book tells you what those principles are, how they came to be selected as worthwhile, how they can be implemented from the ground up, and how a different combination of principles might be more appropriate for a particular problem. This approach requires you to understand the range of possibilities, and to think about trade-offs as you go through the design process. Programming is a craft that is subject to frequent failure: many projects are started and abandoned because the designers do not have the flexibility, experience and understanding to come up with a suitable design and implementation. SICP gives you an approach that will succeed, but it is an approach based on principles and wisdom, not on a checklist. If you don't understand the principles, or if you are the kind of person who wants to be given a cookbook of what to do rather than to think creatively, or if you only want to work on problems that are pretty much like the problem you worked on last time, then this approach will not work for you. There are other approaches that will be more reproducible for a limited range of simple problems, but there is no better way than SICP to learn how to address the truly hard problems.
Donald Knuth says he wrote his books for "the one person in 50 who has this strange way of thinking that makes a programmer". I think the most amazing thing about SICP is that there are so FEW people who hate it: if Knuth were right, then only 1 out of 50 people would be giving this 5 stars, instead of about 25 out of 50. Now, a big part of the explanation is that the audience is self-selected, and is not a representative sample. But I think part of it is because Sussman and Abelson have succeeded grandly in communicating "this strange way of thinking" to (some but not all) people who otherwise would never get there.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


30 von 32 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The Classic, 20. Mai 2000
Von 
paul graham (Cambridge, MA United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs, 2nd Edition (MIT Electrical Engineering and Computer Science) (Gebundene Ausgabe)
This is one of the great classics of computer science. I bought my first copy 15 years ago, and I still don't feel I have learned everything the book has to teach.
I have learned enough to write a couple books on Lisp that (currently) have four to five stars. Yet SICP, which is pretty much the bible of our world, has only three? How can this be?
Reading the reviews made it clear what happened. An optimistic professor somewhere has been feeding SICP to undergrads who are not ready for it. But it is encouraging to see how many thoughtful people have come forward to defend the book.
Let's see if we can put this in terms that the undergrads will understand -- a problem set:
1. Kenneth Clark said that if a lot of smart people have liked something that you don't, you should try and figure out what they saw in it. List 10 qualities that SICP's defenders have claimed for it.
2. How is the intention of SICP different from that of Knuth? Kernighan & Ritchie? An algorithms textbook?
3. Does any other book fulfill this purpose better?
4. What other programming books first published in the mid 1980s are still relevant today?
5. Could the concepts in this book have been presented any better in a language other than Scheme?
6. Who is al? Why is his name in lowercase?
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


17 von 18 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen This book is the bomb, 19. September 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs, 2nd Edition (MIT Electrical Engineering and Computer Science) (Gebundene Ausgabe)
The comments written about this book on this site are glaringly stupid. One guys writes, "one of the assignments is to write a scheme interpreter in scheme! How much dumber can you get?"
Well, obviously not much dumber than you. You don't writing a think meta-circular interpreter would teach you anything about computer languages? (Isn't that the point?) Or programs expressed at the most mathematical level possible? You probably don't think learning about recursion is very important either. Oh yeah, that's just something you had to learn about when there weren't loops. Obviously, if all you do is hack perl scripts, don't buy this book. If you don't want to learn something really important that requires doing things a different way other than to which you're accustomed and getting at the basis of things, don't buy it.
The fact that the material in this book is taught to freshmen at MIT and Berkeley and other top computer science programs in the nation might say something to you. It may come off as archaic and worthless to some, but that couldn't be farther from the truth. The more I reflect on the things I learned from SICP, the more I realize they are important. The lambda calculus and scheme are simplicity and elegance at their finest. The difference between the understanding those people have of this material and that which is illustrated by the comments by 'programmers' here reminds me that they're right, this book isn't for programmers. It's for people who want to learn computer science.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


6 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen What does Scheme have to do with it?, 24. Mai 2000
I have read a lot of reviews here which lament the use of Scheme for teaching the fundamental concepts in this book. People have stated that while the book pretends to be language-independent it relies solely on Scheme, which invalidates the point.
I disagree strongly!
I think part of the problem is that it takes a bit of time to really "grok" Scheme. If you've never been exposed to it before (as I haven't), Scheme may seem strange and unnecessarily arcane to you at first. However, after doing it for a bit you will realize (as I have) that Scheme is amazingly flexible, succinct, powerful and unbelievably elegant. It incorporates all the features that other languages such as C++ take for granted and skip over, and exposes the real machinery behind them, without introducing a whole host of obscure syntactical details. This clarity and elegance of Scheme has helped me understand all other languages I have to deal with so much better!
Thus, in presenting the topics of this book in Scheme, the authors are actually succeding in making their discussions language-independent! Truly, the difference here lies in what your goals are: if you want to program in some specific language and just memorize it, this is not a book for you. However, if you actually want to understand how that language works, this will be akin to an epiphany for you. A very good book!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Outstanding, 16. Juni 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs, 2nd Edition (MIT Electrical Engineering and Computer Science) (Gebundene Ausgabe)
The negative reviewers entirely missed the point of this book. The issues are not c++ versus scheme, nor the gap between the book's examples and real-world programs, nor that recursion is less intuitive than looping.
The real point is to teach some very core foundations of computer science that show up everywhere. For example, supposedly revolutionary XML looks a heck of a lot like a nested scheme list, first described in 1960. And processing an active server page (or Java server page) is very much like the textbook's specialized language evaluator. Finally, c++ polymorphism through vtables and part of Microsoft's COM mechanics are the exact same thing as the book's data-directed programming section.
This is very deep material for a programming newbie to learn outside a course, but for an experienced nerd who's looking for a systematic framework, it's absolutely terrific. I had done lots of lisp and compiler work before reading the book, so many of the concepts were not new. But it's with this framework in mind that I learn new technologies, and this approach greatly speeds up how long it takes to understand each week's "new" hot product/language/tool/mindset. Put another way: why do so many popular computer books take 1000 pages to describe a few trivial concepts?
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Von wegen "überholte Sprache", 18. März 2009
Ich kann mich der Meinung, dass dieses Buch nur für's Studium - sozusagen als "Zwangslektüre" - geeignet ist, überhaupt nicht anschliessen. Ich bin über C++ Template Meta-Programming darauf gestossen und es hat mir sehr geholfen, Funktionale Programmierung, "excessives" Arbeiten mit Rekursionen, das lambda-Kalkül, lazy-evaluation, etc..., besser zu verstehen.
Will sagen: Der Inhalt ist nicht überholt, bloss weil die Gedanken in Scheme formuliert sind!
Das SICP ist sehr lehrreich und es wird durchgängig mit anschaulichen Beispielen gearbeitet, die das Beschriebene prägnant (kurz & knapp) auf den Punkt bringen und die man während des Lesens auf seiner Linux-Kiste mit dem 'gcl' gleich ausprobieren kann.
Mfg!
Frank Bergemann
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Absolut lesenswert, 16. Januar 2006
Von 
Marco Bakera (Dortmund) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Ein absolutes Standardwerk und ein Muss für jeden Informatiker. Werden hier zwar die Grundlagen mittels Scheme vermittelt, so gehen die Autoren doch auch darüber hinaus vermitteln einen Blick auf die Informatik, wie man es sonst nicht findet.
Ich war - bis auf den später doch arg technischen Teil, der Erstellung eines Lisp-Interpreters - doch die ganze Zeit sehr angetan und begeistert von diesem Buch.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Fantastic book, but not for beginners, 26. November 1999
Von 
Michael Vanier (Pasadena, CA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs, 2nd Edition (MIT Electrical Engineering and Computer Science) (Gebundene Ausgabe)
The reviews of this book are just hilarious; I've never seen a book with reviews so sharply polarized between one and five stars. I think the reason for this is that most of the one-star reviewers had this book rammed down their throats in an introductory CS course, and it blew their minds. This doesn't surprise me; despite the fact that the book is meant to be an introduction to computer science, for most students it will be just too abstract and too difficult. I've been programming for over ten years, and I had to work really hard to understand a lot of the concepts presented here. Nevertheless, I think this is a great book because it discusses lots of ideas that receive inadequate or no coverage elsewhere. The material on compilers, for instance, is difficult (and idiosyncratic because they're compiling scheme, which has its own pecularities compared to, say, compiling C) but if you can work through it you get a pretty deep understanding of what's going on, without having to get bogged down in parsing or other trivial stuff. My suggestion: DO NOT read this book if you are just learning how to program; come back to it after a few years of experience and it will stretch your mind. Also, if you're having trouble I recommend Harvey and Wright's "Simply Scheme" as a much gentler introduction to the same material.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen computer books rarely rise to the level of poetry...., 4. Juli 1997
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs, 2nd Edition (MIT Electrical Engineering and Computer Science) (Gebundene Ausgabe)
... and sadly this book is no exception. Nonetheless, in 20 years of being a nerd, this is the only great book about computers that I've encountered.

If you're already a great programmer,
it will take you an evening to read the first few chapters and you'll
discover a precision vocabulary for discussing what you've spent 10
years learning the hard way. If you're not already a great programmer,
I would have thought that these few chapters would save you from having
to spend years flailing around in the dark. Unfortunately, there
doesn't seem to be a substitute for practical experience.

Sidenote: the authors used to have a review wall outside their offices
at MIT. University professors from around the world writing in
scientific journals said "finally I understand what all this computer
science stuff is about; this is the most brilliant book ever. I'm glad
that we're using it to teach freshmen now." In the center was a review
from Byte magazine: "I didn't understand any of this book."

SICP is tougher to read than _Teach Yourself to be a Dummy in 21
Days_ but it is the real thing, well organized and written.

I shudder as I type this, but SICP can even help you write better Perl scripts...
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The perfect Mix - Book & Lecture !, 13. Januar 2008
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs, 2nd Edition (MIT Electrical Engineering and Computer Science) (Gebundene Ausgabe)
Together with the online lectures which one can get for free from the internet this book is the perfect mixture for a thoughtful autodidactic introduction to computer science fundamentals. It requires a lot of work to get the most out of it but its worth every hour. It has opened a new perspective to the subject to me. Don't be afraid of Scheme (Lisp dialect) - you learn everything you need to know on the way through the book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 211 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs, 2nd Edition (MIT Electrical Engineering and Computer Science)
Gebraucht & neu ab: EUR 42,47
Auf meinen Wunschzettel Zahlungsmöglichkeiten ansehen
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen