Kundenrezensionen


49 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (27)
4 Sterne:
 (12)
3 Sterne:
 (3)
2 Sterne:
 (4)
1 Sterne:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


48 von 55 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Heißer Kandidat auf den Gewinn des Booker Prize 2011
"History is that certainty produced at the point where the imperfections of memory meet the inadequacies of documentation" (17). Es ist ein Leitmotiv so alt wie die Menschheit selbst: Auf welche Art und Weise manipuliert der Mensch seine oder anders Leut Vergangenheit, um seinem Leben einen Sinn, einen zusammenhängenden Plot, zu verschaffen?

Tony Webster...
Veröffentlicht am 1. September 2011 von Michael Dienstbier

versus
24 von 31 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen A Page-Turner … as Far as I Remember
Julian Barnes’s novella “The Sense of an Ending” had been repeatedly recommended to me by various acquaintances, and so I finally bought it. Up to that moment, no real harm had as yet been done – quite the contrary! I was spending my days in glowing anticipation, thinking that a book that has been acclaimed by so many as an outstanding literary...
Veröffentlicht am 2. September 2012 von Tristram Shandy


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

48 von 55 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Heißer Kandidat auf den Gewinn des Booker Prize 2011, 1. September 2011
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Sense of an Ending (Gebundene Ausgabe)
"History is that certainty produced at the point where the imperfections of memory meet the inadequacies of documentation" (17). Es ist ein Leitmotiv so alt wie die Menschheit selbst: Auf welche Art und Weise manipuliert der Mensch seine oder anders Leut Vergangenheit, um seinem Leben einen Sinn, einen zusammenhängenden Plot, zu verschaffen?

Tony Webster ist ein in Ehren ergrauter Mitsechziger, der ein durch und durch normales Leben geführt hat, zwar geschieden ist, sich mit seiner Ex-Frau aber noch so leidlich versteht. Sein ereignisarmer Lebensabend gerät in Wallung, als er per Post von einer ungewöhnlichen Erbschaft in Kenntnis gesetzt wird, die ihn tief in seine Vergangenheit zurückführt. Die Mutter seiner manipulativen Jugendliebe Veronica hinterlässt ihm 500 Pfund und, viel wichtiger, das Tagebuch von Adrian Finn. Adrian bildete zusammen mit Tony und zwei weiteren jungen Männern eine Viererclique, die zusammen die Freuden und Leiden der Pubertät durchgestanden haben. Adrian, hochintelligent, immer umgeben vom Hauch des Genialischen, geht wenig später eine Beziehung mit Veronica ein, nachdem er zuvor brav um Tonys Erlaubnis gebeten hat. Mit nur 22 Jahren begeht er Selbstmord. In seinem Abschiedsbrief schreibt er, dass er das ungewollte Geschenk des Lebens aus philosophischen Gründen ablehnt. Für Tony beginnt eine Reise in die Vergangenheit, an deren Ende er feststellen muss, dass der Plot seines Lebens in der Tat umgeschrieben werden muss: "How often do we tell our own life story? How often do we adjust, embellish, make sly cuts? And the longer life goes on, the fewer are those around to challenge our account, to remind us that our life is not our life, merely the stroy we have told about our life. Told to others, but - mainly - to ourselves" (95).

Julian Barnes neuer Roman "The Sense of an Ending" steht vollkommen zu Recht auf der Longlist des diesjährigen Booker Prize. Überzeugend erlebt der Leser mit, wie der Ich-Erzähler dazu gezwungen wird, die Interpretation seiner Vergangenheit zu modifizieren. Barnes beweist einmal mehr, dass er wie kaum ein anderer englischsprachiger Autor Unterhaltung mit Anspruch zu verbinden weiß.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Brillant und intensiv, 10. Januar 2014
Von 
Felix Richter - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 100 REZENSENT)    (REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Sense of an Ending (Taschenbuch)
"Geschichte ist die Gewissheit, die dort entsteht, wo die Unvollkommenheiten der Erinnerung auf die Unzulänglichkeiten der Dokumentation treffen." Dieser Satz, mit dem Tony Websters Schulfreund Adrian seinerzeit den Geschichtslehrer in Verlegenheit brachte, ist das Motiv dieses Romans. Tony ist jetzt Anfang Sechzig, pensioniert, einigermaßen einvernehmlich geschieden und eigentlich der Ansicht, auf ein unspektakuläres, durchschnittliches Leben zurückzublicken. Das ändert sich in dem Augenblick, als ihm zu seiner großen Überraschung mitgeteilt wird, dass ihm die Mutter seiner ersten, komplizierten Liebe Veronica eine Erbschaft hinterlassen hat: 500 Pfund und das Tagebuch von Adrian. Der hatte Veronica nämlich später geheiratet, was Tony den beiden nie verziehen und den Kontakt zu ihnen mit einem ausgesprochen gehässigen Brief abgebrochen hatte.

Mit der Frage nach dem Grund für diese Erbschaft, vor allem aber danach, wie Adrians Schwiegermutter überhaupt in den Besitz des Tagebuchs gelangt war, holt Tony die Vergangenheit nach 40 Jahren wieder ein. Was er bei der schwierigen Suche nach Antworten herausfindet, deckt sich plötzlich nicht mehr mit den Erinnerungsfragmenten und Puzzlestücken, die für ihn bisher seine persönliche Geschichte so angenehm abgebildet haben, und es wird ihm erschreckend klar, wie er das Leben vieler Menschen irreparabel beeinflusst hatte, und das mit einem einzigen Brief.

Der Roman ist brillant geschrieben und frei von jeglichem seitenfüllenden Ballast. Fast wie in einem Krimi steigert Julian Barnes die Spannung und hebt die überraschende Auflösung doch tatsächlich bis zur letzten Seite auf. Auch dann muss man teilweise noch zwischen den Zeilen suchen, um der Wahrheit auf die Spur zu kommen - auch Tony Webster wurde es schließlich nicht leicht gemacht herauszufinden, was für eine Ereigniskette er ausgelöst hatte. Ohne es zu wollen, ohne es zu wissen und ohne wirklich dafür verantwortlich zu sein, auch wenn er das am Ende wohl anders sah.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A smoth story, 2. Dezember 2014
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Sense of an Ending (Taschenbuch)
This is a very engaging story that is insightful, thought-provoking and entertaining. It is also a page turner that sucks you in from the very opening pages all the way to the end. I came out of reading The Sense of Ending feeling I know Tony's life inside out. Not that many books delve into marriage, love, parenthood and friendship with so much ease and understanding as The Sense of Ending. It reminds me of the historical saga Disciples of Fortune in so many ways. The philosophical side of the story brought up deep questions that are answered in a subtle way in the course of the story. I find this book very entertaining and insightful. It is not only for those who have experienced the complexities of life, but even for those who are yet to face some of the many unexpected things life throws at us.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


24 von 31 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen A Page-Turner … as Far as I Remember, 2. September 2012
Von 
Tristram Shandy - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(VINE®-PRODUKTTESTER)    (TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Sense of an Ending (Taschenbuch)
Julian Barnes’s novella “The Sense of an Ending” had been repeatedly recommended to me by various acquaintances, and so I finally bought it. Up to that moment, no real harm had as yet been done – quite the contrary! I was spending my days in glowing anticipation, thinking that a book that has been acclaimed by so many as an outstanding literary masterpiece, written by Julian Barnes at that, would be the perfect companion for a six-hour coach trip I had to undergo.

You wish! I remember turning the pages of this book now distinctly; however, not in a sense of being fascinated by it, but rather in a desperate attempt at seeing how many of them there were still to go. “The Sense of an Ending” is told by Anthony Webster, who, after a rather uneventful life, whose turns and decisions were dictated above all by the will to live comfortably, in his mid-sixties is surprised at finding that the mother of his ex-girlfriend Veronica has bequeathed some money to him, plus the diary of his former friend Adrian, a highly intelligent young man, who committed suicide more than forty years ago. Unfortunately, upon her mother’s death Veronica took the diary into her possession and is not willing to hand it over to Anthony, whom she despises for his reaction to Adrian and her becoming lovers after Anthony had broken up with her. Anthony’s quest for the missing diary soon turns into a quest into the realms of memory and the spectres living in memory’s darker nooks.

As far as this goes, this may be a story taken from real life, and therefore it has a ring of everyday tragedy about it which is by far louder than stage tragedy could ever be: Life going by, at a slow pace day by day, everything seeming normal and pleasant, and finally you are left with the question what good it all was. Did you live your life, or did you just let it happen to you? Or, as the author puts it, “I remember a period in late adolescence when my mind would make itself drunk with images of adventurousness. This is how it will be when I grow up. I shall go there, do this, discover that, love her, and then her and her and her. I shall live as people in novels live and have lived. […] There was a moment in my late twenties when I admitted that my adventurousness had long since petered out. I would never do those things adolescence had dreamt about. Instead, I mowed my lawn, I took holidays, I had my live.” (p. 93) However, this kind of question was already explored many a time before, e.g., with a slightly different perspective in Henry James’s novella “The Beast in the Jungle”. Likewise, the arrogant young men sparring with their history teacher and discussing suicide as a philosophical question remind us of some of Dostoevsky’s characters – which was probably intended by the author. Also the author’s concern with the fallibility of memory and its readiness to ignore episodes that might prove painful or embarrassing to us is not at all new. Just think of Nietzsche, who wrote: “’Das habe ich gethan’, sagt mein Gedächtniss. Das kann ich nicht gethan haben – sagt mein Stolz und bleibt unerbittlich. Endlich – giebt das Gedächtnis nach.“ And of Freud, whose theories on the human mind are to a great degree based on the fallibility of memory – in fact so much so that “The Sense of an Ending” seems rather trite, philosophically.

If you don’t believe me, try this: “I certainly believe we all suffer damage, one way or another. […] Some admit the damage, and try to mitigate it; some spend their lives trying to help others who are damaged; and then there are those whose main concern is to avoid further damage to themselves, at whatever cost. And those are the ones who are ruthless, and the ones to be careful of.” (p.44) Given such never-heard-of chunks of wisdom, Barnes should really have improved the story of “The Sense of an Ending” in order to make the book more interesting, but instead he gives us not too believable a conflict which is based on a letter and the bitchiness of one female character. Why the protagonist after all these years should still feel any kind of interest in such a moody, uncommunicative and manipulative woman, and even glorify her as “mysterious”, completely eludes me.

At the end of the day, “The Sense of an Ending” was a disappointing book to me in that its characters remain distant, but also unconvincing and in that it came over as quite pretentious and unoriginal, probably relying on the assumption that if only a book bores people in a pseudo-existentialist way they might think this book an intellectual revelation.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Faulty Memories, 12. Dezember 2013
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Sense of an Ending (Taschenbuch)
What are we going to remember when we're old, the good times or the bad times? Will we even be able to remember anything further back than our last meal? Will the few things that do we remember be true to what happened at the time, or enhanced by our wishes, by faulty memories, by later events? Will something happen, during our younger days and looked back in old age that we regret, or will there be something we simply didn't know which, after many years hidden from view, returns to haunt us?

Julian Barnes has managed to incorporate all these questions, and a few more, in his latest work The Sense of an Ending which, as the title suggests, looks back at something in the past of Tony Webster which he didn't know then, and doesn't fully understand now. It is a book over drawing the line under an event, many years later, and recovering the memories of youthful days enhanced with new, surprising information. Something happened, back in the Sixties, that he didn't know about. Webster knew part of the story, but only from the one side and only coupled with events he partially witnessed, partly lived through. The whole story, he discovers in later life, brings a new light into events he had written off as history, forgotten, stored away. It is as much an exploration of the mind, of how we construct and reconstruct our memories as it is a glance into what we think we know, how we assess and remember people and events and, as such, it works exceptionally well.

The reader is left knowing, or believing that they know, what happened all those years ago, but there is no real ending. We see that not all the facts have been laid bare, only those which can be fished out from the past, pieced together from stories, new experiences and a few scribbled notes. History is written by the victors, but read by those who come later, interpreted and compared according to what we know now. Webster can put himself back into those times, having been there, having known all the characters Barnes carefully brings back to life, but that doesn't mean he can understand everything. We, the reader, are called upon to make our own assessment and work through events slowly, painstakingly to find not so much a sense of closure, more a hint of failure, of love lost, of lives wasted. A most enjoyable, poignant read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


15 von 20 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A decidedly male-sided account., 5. Januar 2012
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Sense of an Ending (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I'm about Barnes' or Tony's age, but I grew up in Switzerland. Thus, it struck me how similar the fifties/sixties were in both countries for high school kids, with single-sex schools and all. I like the book a lot, not reading many novels, I must say. However, there are a few things that bug me. For one, women seem to be "bystanders", mostly. Nothing about how they might have felt in the relationships involved. At best, they are either enigmas, or rather simple-minded types. The more interesting characters like Mrs. Frost remain too much in the dark. And the later conversations between Tony and Veronica are just so irritating that I can't relate to them. I very much enjoyed the first two thirds of the book. But the last third kind of seemed to be filled with not particularly important philosophical paragraphs. I could not decide whether they were needed to lengthen or increase the tension or to increase the volume of the book.

The final twist is sufficiently well hidden that I had to read it at least three times to grasp what it meant. And I would have liked a bit on how Tony really handled that. But he may have been such a cop-out that anything interesting might have been considered too unrealistic by Barnes. But then, there are two other cop-outs earlier in the game or plot. Two males commit suicide after their sexual partners got pregnant. Not facing up to responsibilities, leaving it all to the female part of the original pair is decidedly old school. But probably just typical for the time. Anyway, males don't come away very well, just concerned with their sperms it seems.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Nachdenklicher Blick auf die Vergangenheit, 4. Juni 2012
Von 
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Sense of an Ending (Taschenbuch)
Tony Webster war immer ein friedfertiger, ausgeglichener Mensch. Die Welt hat er nicht gerade aus den Angeln gehoben - weder privat noch beruflich - aber im Großen und Ganzen ist er zufrieden mit seinem Leben. Er ist über 60, seit Jahrzehnten geschieden und seit einiger Zeit in Ruhestand, als er überraschend von der Mutter seiner ersten Liebe etwas Geld und ein Tagebuch erbt. Eine Neuigkeit, für die er keine Erklärung findet, und die ihn dazu bringt, verschiedene Ereignisse aus seiner Vergangenheit noch einmal zu überdenken. Kann er seinen Erinnerungen wirklich trauen?

In einem sehr schönen, angenehm zu lesenden Sprachstil erlebt man auf nur 150 Seiten Tonys gesamtes Leben im Schnelldurchlauf. Vieles wird nur ganz kurz angedeutet, bei einzelnen Ereignissen verharrt er etwas länger. Trotz der Kürze des Buches und der episodenhaften Erzählweise hatte ich am Ende das Gefühl, Tony recht gut zu kennen. Die Charakterisierung der Hauptfigur ist gelungen, obwohl oder gerade weil er so ein Durchschnittstyp ist. Die Nebenfiguren bleiben dagegen relativ blass, aber das passt gut zu der Geschichte: Tony kennt die Menschen, die sein Leben eine Zeit lang begleitet haben, auch nicht so richtig gut - zumindest nicht annähernd so gut, wie er lange Zeit denkt.

Etwas enttäuschend fand ich den Schluss. Der kommt relativ abrupt, und die Erklärung, die Tony schließlich für das rätselhafte Testament findet, ist nur mäßig überzeugend und nicht der überraschende Paukenschlag, mit dem ich gerechnet (bzw. auf den ich gehofft) habe.

Dennoch ein insgesamt schönes (etwas zu kurzes) Buch, das mich auch Tage nach der Lektüre noch beschäftigt hat.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen We can't change the past, 23. März 2012
Von 
Lars Nitsch (München) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Sense of an Ending (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I think I was in the beginning of my twenties when I read my first Julian Barnes (I guess it was 'Metroland'). I liked the book very much, bought more novels of the author and became a huge fan of him. Then, I don't now why, I made a pause and didn't touch a work of Barnes during the last five years. Some weeks ago, I read about 'The Sense of an Ending' and revived my enthusiasm: Barnes is as excellent as he has ever been, maybe even bettern than a dozen years before.

What remained the same are the issues Barnes likes to serve to his readers: Again, as in many other works, he is concerned with the past. The past which leaves a prominent imprint on every man, which influences us and our live very drastically, always confronted with the fact that we aren't able to change bygone actions and experiences. In 'The Sense of an Ending' Barnes emphasizes on the way we see ourselves and think that has to be our objectiv appeareance. But in fact, history is a very uneasy ground and conditions which were considered as facts may be be quite precarious in reality. And again, Barnes talks about guilt, bad things we have done without wanting or even knowing it.

Barnes is a skilled writer and I enjoyed the fast read very much. As his diction is finely tuned, I am sure a reread will unveil many subtleties missed before. I defintely recommend this book to anyone. I am quite happy I rediscovered Barnes and surely will read the few novels I skipped until now.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Geschichte entsteht aus dem Vergleich von Eigenbild und Fremdbild, 20. Mai 2012
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Sense of an Ending (Taschenbuch)
Es gehört zu unserer Überlebensausstattung, dass wir im Laufe der Zeit eine glatte Legende des Verlaufs unseres Lebens modellieren. Barnes Protagonist Tony Webster hat dies auch getan. Als geschiedener Rentner wird er gezwungen, sich mit seiner eigenen Lebenslegende noch einmal kritisch zu beschäftigen und einige Elemente neu zu denken.
Mich hat das kleine 150 Seiten starke Werk fasziniert. Der Autor geht mit dem Leser noch einmal zurück in die Schulzeit , in der vier äußerst unterschiedliche Freunde ihre Pubertät leben, in die Zeit erster Liebe, schließlich Heirat und Scheidung und so fort. Dabei zwingt der Autor den Leser, das Geschehen aus der Blickrichtung des eher nachdenklichen als handlungsaktiven Helden Webster zu betrachten. dabei bleibt Vieles unbeantwortet, so dass ich manche Passage wiederholt las und zu anderen Bewertungen gelangte. Die Schilderung von Websters Schulzweit oder von Veronicas Familie erinnerte mich an meine Schulzeit in den Fünzigern bis Anfang der Sechziger und zeigt mir, dass einige Grundelemente des Erwachsenwerdens unabhängig von Sprache oder Nationalität eine ähnliche Ausprägung haben. Mich hat das Büchlein zum Nachdenken gebracht, was mir bei heutiger Literatur auf Grund ihrer Selbstverliebtheit nicht immer passiert.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Masterpiece, 29. Oktober 2013
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Sense of an Ending (Taschenbuch)
Three adolescent grammar school friends co-opt a fourth member, Adrian, who has newly arrived at school. He is intellectually their superior but never prides himself on it. He wins a scholarship to Cambridge, graduates with a First. Soon after, he kills himself, aged 22. This rich novel has several lines of inquiry and is written from the perspective of one of the trio, Tony some 40 years later, when he inherits 500 Pounds and Adrian's diary from the mother of his and later, Adrian's girlfriend Veronica's mother. The novel is about Tony's efforts to gain possession of the diary and a confrontation with his past.
Key themes are time and its passing, how it selectively affects one's memory and history. How it is willed forward in adolescence to reach the stage when real life will finally begin. And looking back, remorse about how risk-averse one has actually lived. Another type of remorse overwhelms Tony in the final pages of this short, intense novel, which won the 2011 Man Booker Prize. Highly recommended, instantly re-readable and quite suitable for reading groups.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Sense of an Ending
The Sense of an Ending von Julian Barnes (Gebundene Ausgabe - 4. August 2011)
EUR 18,96
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen