Fashion Sale Hier klicken Kinderfahrzeuge studentsignup Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More madamet Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Autorip Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,4 von 5 Sternen48
4,4 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:9,40 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 19. Mai 2015
The formatting is completely messed up. Several sentences stretch over multiple pages. The original book is very helpful, but this kindle version is useless.
0Kommentar|Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. November 2015
Although directed at authors, I found this small Do's-and-Dont's list very helpful for writing scientific papers. Every word in this book has a meaning and that is basically also the main message: make every word count and get rid of the clutter. The Elements of Style's list of contents almost reads like commandments "Though shall enclose parenthetic expressions between commas" or "though shall not break sentences in two" to name a few. It is only about 80 pages of actual content, excluding the introduction, afterword, glossary, and index, but it is worth to read and internalize every word.
I give it my highest recommendations and thank the authors for a great improvement of my latest papers.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. Januar 2000
I no longer read the rules. I know most of them now, and I know which ones I will break if I am not careful.
I still read the introduction, and I still glance through the book looking for encouragement and inspiration. The effort pays off when I write a ghastly sentence in the middle of an important e-mail and consider pressing the "send" button. I remember that I may save one reader by re-writing that sentence.
I could slink off the field of battle, but instead, I lower my lance and charge. Strunk and White remind me that the battle is worth it and that, by God, it's fun.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. November 2013
Kompakt und schnell gelesen, dient es sowohl als kleines Lehrbuch als auch als Referenzwerk für gutes Englisch. Zudem gibt es auch einige Regeln, die auch zu einem guten Schreibstil in Deutsch passen. Zum Beispiel der Tipp, unnötige Wörter weg zu lassen, ebenso wie ein guter Maler auf unnötige Striche verzichtet. Es hilft mir sehr für mein Studium in Oxford hier zum Beispiel, wo es sark darauf ankommt viel Information und unterschiedliche Gedanken klar strukturiert in kodensierter Form darzubieten. Ich würde es allerdings auch schon Abiturienten empfehlen.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. Januar 2015
This little book is everything you could ever want (or need) to prepare for life as a writer. Even if you don't aspire to be a great novelist and just want some tricks for everyday use, this is the book for you. It's short and to the point with simple rules and do-nots and really just the small bible you can carry everywhere. It is, to sum it up in one word, perfect.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. März 2016
A wonderful tiny tome, just a little over 100 pages. I consult this book on a daily basis, as a non-native English speaker I might find myself in one of the pitfalls of using the language :) Very clear explanations, for things like infer vs imply, punctuation and style. But also a short but not hasty, deeper examination of the writer's (and the readers') psyche.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. November 2014
Not to say it isnt helpful; but take some tips more as a suggestion than a fact. Some examples in chapter 9 and 10 tell the reader to use "None of us is perfect" and "The culprit, it turned out, was he". Moreover, he states that you should not use singular "they" and switch between he / she or leave it out alltogether.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 7. September 2008
I highly recommend this little book to everyone writing English texts. Even experienced writers should be able to improve their English by reading it. The book is not a boring list of abstract gramar rules that don't help anybody in practice; every single rule is well-explained and illustrated with useful examples. Simply great!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 7. Juni 2000
This is, of course, a classic, but it should be noted that some of the examples in the book have been updated. The revisions are subtle and pleasing. They don't change the book radically, but make it just slightly more interesting. Toni Morrison is mentioned, for instance. The book is essentially still the same firm, friendly, concise Strunk and White most of us grew up with.
0Kommentar|2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. März 2000
This was assigned reading my senior year of high school. Ever since, I've tried to read it once a year. You can skim it in about an hour. It's enjoyable (for a book on grammar and style, that's a feat) and it reminds you of all those rules you break the rest of the year.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden