Kundenrezensionen


141 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (91)
4 Sterne:
 (15)
3 Sterne:
 (16)
2 Sterne:
 (8)
1 Sterne:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


19 von 19 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen definitive guide to the language, but not for beginners
As a language reference, I highly recommend this book. Every language feature is explained, with illustrative code snippets. Aside from the section on the standard library, this book improves on the previous edition by incorporating more material on designing using C++. This is significant because a major stumbling block to using C++ well is knowing when and where...
Veröffentlicht am 17. Juli 2000 von Noel E. Lecaros

versus
6 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen not very useful
First, the language reference manual, which appeared in the first and second editions, is now gone. This is terrible. Anyone who wants to do something nontrivial that requires a thorough knowledge of this very complex language will not find this book useful at all. Instead of useful information about the language, we get lengthy diatribes on Stroustrups's theories...
Veröffentlicht am 13. Januar 1999 von Victor Shoup (sho@zurich.ibm.com)


‹ Zurück | 1 215 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

19 von 19 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen definitive guide to the language, but not for beginners, 17. Juli 2000
Von 
Noel E. Lecaros (California) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
As a language reference, I highly recommend this book. Every language feature is explained, with illustrative code snippets. Aside from the section on the standard library, this book improves on the previous edition by incorporating more material on designing using C++. This is significant because a major stumbling block to using C++ well is knowing when and where to use a language feature.
Another major improvement is the section on 'advice' which can be found at the end of every chapter. This portion summarizes what the chapter was trying to teach, with pointers to the relevant part of the book.
As a tutorial for the beginner, I suggest you look elsewhere. The book is not easy to read, since the author tries to explain so much in so little space (if you can call 900 pages 'little').
You will probably read this book more than TWICE. First, to simply try out the language on your compiler (sit in front of your computer when you do). Second, to digest the material on designing using C++ (try doing this away from your computer). Third, to see if you missed out anything significant. You will.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


11 von 11 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent, useful, complete. Requires interest and effort., 11. Januar 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The C++ Programming Language Still Available: Language Library and Design Tutorial (Taschenbuch)
This book is inappropriate for a person who is new to programming. It is even more inappropriate for a quick-and-easy programmer who wants to learn practical skills as quickly as possible but lacks the interest and desire to achieve a high level of skill.
Bookshelves are overflowing with books for these two types of people. Instead of adding another title to that flood, Bjarne Stroustrup delivers a well-written, well-structured book that helps in a challenging area where good resources like this one are needed.
To those who dislike the writing style, I say "sorry, find another book." If you find the sentences hard to read, it is because they are written at a level of clarity and precision required by the concepts. If you find the concepts hard to understand, it is because they are presented with an insightfulness and thoroughness required by the academic/technical audience it is written for. This is neither your fault nor the author's: the book just wasn't written for you.
When I was learning C++, I also found this book difficult and challenging, but with effort I was able to read and understand it. The more I know, the more useful the book is to me, and the happier I am that I put in that effort. In a sense it is a complete reference not only to the language but also to the design paradigm(s) that inspired the language.
The concepts of OOP / generic programming aren't too bad at the surface level. But try and understand them enough to use them to construct complicated systems well, and they are genuinely hard. Every time I struggled with some aspect of the book, I realized once I understood it that Stroustrup had presented it in the best way possible. That's the best part of this book: you can trust that the author is guiding you from a position of knowledge and experience. But what else should we expect from the creator of C++? We are implicitly trusting him anyway by using his language.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


6 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen One of the Best & Most Completed C++ Books Ever!, 14. April 2000
From my years of being a C++ programmer, this is definitely the one of the best reference books I've ever used. This book cover all the aspects of C++, one of the most complicated programming language, with a nice detail of everything, including STL (Standard Template Library, the C++ new standard library).
However, this book is, like all of the previous editions, NOT a language/programming tutorial. To read this book, you will need tons of C++ & OOP knowledge, even if you are an ace C programmer (since C is quite different from C++ in "The Way of Thinking"). Especially, if you are a novice, please read one or two "good" primer book before coming to this one, otherwise you will get lost easily. (Believe me, it's happened to me before when I tried to read the 2nd edition).
Moreover. In this edition, the author, Bjarne Stroustrup, added 2 more appendixes on "locales" and "standard library exception safety", which would make this book even more useful and more complete than any previous editions. And would make this become "A Bible" for C++ Programmaing Language.
If you are a "serious" C++ programmer (or wannabe), you can't get anything better than this. This is a MUST!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


9 von 10 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Best there ever will be, 23. März 2000
I get extremely aggravated by people who read a book like thisand say how terrible it is, how the examples are hard to understand,and how hard the code is to understand, etc etc... Blah blah blah. It's pretty obvious to an experienced programmer that these people clearly are not the target audience of the book. The target audience of this book is programmers who have a couple years of experience programming (at least in C, preferably in C++). Additionally, you must be able to understand some rather complex terminology, and some concepts that go well beyond the basics of just writing simple programs. You must also have a desire to learn the C++ language inside and out, leaving nothing whatsoever unclear about the language. If all you want is the basic syntax of the language and lots of handholding then I cannot imagine why you're even looking at a book by the creator of the language in the first place.
That said, this is a truly amazing book. You will never, ever, ever find a more in depth description of the language, it's features and caveats, and how to make the language do what you want it to do and make programming simple in large systems. When you reach a certain point it isn't as simple as "okay let's have a class with some get and set methods here". You must have a thorough understanding of some extremely advanced features, and this book will definitely get you to that point if you put in the time. The way the explanations are worded and the examples that are given are difficult to understand because there's no simple way to explain such advanced concepts. And if you are one of the people that think there _is_ an easy way to explain such concepts in the same amount of detail, I invite you to go find an easy explanation of mathematical Field Theory or Quantum Physics.
If you are smart, part of the target audience, and mature enough to handle it, I doubt you will be able to find a better book.
And for those who are still convinced that simpler is better, I wonder if you can explain to me *why* overriding a function in a derived class makes all of its overloads in the base class inaccessible.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen It's really the best!, 25. Mai 2000
Just as many people said, this book is not an easy reading. One year ago, when I tried to read the paperback edition, I found it's difficult to follow and couldn't make any use of it. And well, I really went for VB. VB is really cool, but after times goes by (anf after I got my MCSD), I found Bruce's opinion about VB is true--VB just makes easy things easy! Then I went to learn Java. And it's elegant! But I want the best, the most flexible, and the most powerful one. I have to learn C++! And I picked up this book again. This time I found it is really the best! It explains! No ambiguous wording or just manual-like instructions. My humble opinion is that if you've decided to be a C++ programmer, go buy the book (and try not to scream or scold if you just don't understand some stuff in it in your first browsing). :)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A great reference/ tutorial for the motivated, 25. August 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The C++ Programming Language Still Available: Language Library and Design Tutorial (Taschenbuch)
Since I am rather a beginner to C++ (knew some BASIC and little C++), I cannot correctly evaluate the technical side of this book. I can, however, tell you how I feel about this book.
This book is a little too deep for me, but it provides details that facinate me. I'd say that if you know the basics of C++ reasonably well, you'll get much out of this book. The book is well organized and divided logically. I feel that the caculator program in this book is somewhat vague, and it interrupts the flow of the book. The style of writing is formal, which I do prefer. The excercises are good, but no answer is provided, limiting their usefulness for less-experienced programmers. The description for the C++ Standard Library and discussion of software designs are very interesting to me.
This book isn't a primer for C++; It gives a complete description of C++, but it isn't quite a reference either. I'd say it's a detailed description of the C++ programming language formatted as a tutorial while often being used as a reference by experinced programmers.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


6 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen not very useful, 13. Januar 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The C++ Programming Language Still Available: Language Library and Design Tutorial (Taschenbuch)
First, the language reference manual, which appeared in the first and second editions, is now gone. This is terrible. Anyone who wants to do something nontrivial that requires a thorough knowledge of this very complex language will not find this book useful at all. Instead of useful information about the language, we get lengthy diatribes on Stroustrups's theories of management, psychology, etc., etc.
Second, I find the attitude in this book obnoxious and condescending. C++ users have suffered for years with constantly changing language definitions, and poor and inconsistent implementations. Stroustrup suggests that if we don't have a compiler that supports the language, we go out and buy one. Unfortunately, this is not very practical for most people who are working in environments where they don't have that kind of choice, or who are trying to write portable code. Related to this is the fact that the new standard contains many changes to the language that are incompatable with previous versions (e.g., new keywords, changed semantics), and Stroustrup seems to show his readers/users absolutely no signs of remorse.
I would say that Lippman's "C++ Primer" covers essentially the same material, but in a more humble, down-to-earth and useful fashion. If you want to really get into the language, you need Scott Meyer's "More Effective C++" books. Whenever a new edition of the ARM appears, that will certainly be essential.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The C++ Programming Language, 13. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The C++ Programming Language Still Available: Language Library and Design Tutorial (Taschenbuch)
You want to learn C++ ? really understand it ? well "The C++ Programming Language" is a MUST.
I must warn you, it's not easy and I will probably not recommend it as a first book in C++, especially if it your first programming book. (If it's your case I will recommand C++ primer - the best text book in my opinion ).
"The C++ Programming Language" is mainly a C++ syntax book ,but it also full of precious chapters and paragraphes about how C++ is ment to be used ,and the ideas behind it .
I am in my 3rd year of learning C++ (yes it's takes time to know C++, really know it) and still reading it again and again , and every time I find more and more useful things and important guidelines .
The book is a starting point for all aspect of C++ , and I mean all. read it and you know what you want to know more about, and then go ahead in the long journy of C++ learning - ENJOY
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen unnecessarily difficult reading, 16. März 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The C++ Programming Language Still Available: Language Library and Design Tutorial (Taschenbuch)
I have found it hard to follow his train of thought while reading. Basic explanation of a language feature, its advanced use & the author's preferences are often mixed together, while how to best utilise the feature is not there (unless you are able to deduce from some very difficult sentences). Even though there is a lot of material, the presentation has let me down. A book like Navigating C++ & OO Design which explains clearly but takes you deep into the language is far better than a haphazard collection of information & ideas.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen You code C++ - you own this book., 16. Januar 2010
You are a C++ programmer - you own this book. If you don't, buy it, buy it right now. This is the reference work on C++, written by the original creator of the language himself: Bjarne Stroustrup. Although this isn't a book for beginners the text is very readable and concise. I particularly liked the code examples he gives, because they are not of your usual 'hello world' text book quality, but rather examples taken from the real world. He also doesn't commit the crime of many authors of presenting code with remarks like this: "this is not the way you should do it, you'll learn the correct way later". Bjarne isn't the die-hard, everything must be object oriented type of guy (that is a good thing!), thus presenting the more traditional style of procedural programming first. While still taking advantage of the OO facilities of C++, like stream IO for example, he doesn't overwhelm you with the responsibility of designing proper classes from page one. In the more philosophical chapters about design and 'the importance of the individual' the author demonstrates a very rational, non-preaching point of view backed up with lots of real world experience.
No compromises, this book is a must have.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 215 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The C++ Programming Language Still Available: Language Library and Design Tutorial
EUR 78,87
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen