Kundenrezensionen


48 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (34)
4 Sterne:
 (9)
3 Sterne:
 (4)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Entertainment value top notch, but read with a grain of salt
I loved the story, and Turow does a wonderful job of portraying Harvard, but if you're hoping to find some hidden gems of how to succeed at Law School then look at the self-help area.
While the work-load at Harvard is daunting, I hardly find it unsurmountable, and haven't found myself lacking for a personal life as of yet.(3L) I will say this much, he is right on...
Am 24. Januar 2000 veröffentlicht

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen Entertaining, but not a primer...
There should really be two separate ratings for this book: realism, and entertainment value. As entertainment, insofar as it tells a great story with the skills of a good author, it's a good read. As a primer for law school, it will prove a disservice for those prone to paranoia. Unfortunately, in law school, over half the students are paranoid and over-stressed...
Veröffentlicht am 7. Juli 2000 von Jeff Trudgian


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Entertainment value top notch, but read with a grain of salt, 24. Januar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
I loved the story, and Turow does a wonderful job of portraying Harvard, but if you're hoping to find some hidden gems of how to succeed at Law School then look at the self-help area.
While the work-load at Harvard is daunting, I hardly find it unsurmountable, and haven't found myself lacking for a personal life as of yet.(3L) I will say this much, he is right on about the study groups, from the moment you sit down on the first day of 1L, you'd better be looking for the brightest and most motivated to get to know so that you can feed off of each others abilities. Law Review is crucial, and I find it very doubtful that Mr. Turow wasn't as motivated to make it as everybody else! Work hard, and accept your limitations, but make sure you have a study group that can make up for those limitations!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Prologue, 1. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: One L (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I read this book before I went to law school. I read it after I finished first year, and after I graduated. Not all law schools will be as hellish as Harvard, but many, such as Boston U and Hastings are. This book will prepare you for that by showing you that people can survive a sadistic socratic orator. If you are considering law school, this book might scare you, but it will also prepare you for the worst and most likely you will find you actual law school experience, a kinder gentler version of the book. It will show you the ropes and provide you with good warnings about becomming somebody you are not. It will also make you proud, in a twisted way, to study law.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Entertaining, but not a primer..., 7. Juli 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: One L (Gebundene Ausgabe)
There should really be two separate ratings for this book: realism, and entertainment value. As entertainment, insofar as it tells a great story with the skills of a good author, it's a good read. As a primer for law school, it will prove a disservice for those prone to paranoia. Unfortunately, in law school, over half the students are paranoid and over-stressed. Also, as some reviews have said below, not all law schools are created equally. Harvard is surely at the bottom of the quality-of-life scale, as can be seen in objective magazine reviews.
As a contrast, law school constituted three of the best years of my life. I made great friends and have terrific memories of my time in Tucson, AZ at an upper-echelon school. Turow, however, focuses on the worst year of law school at a school containing mostly kids who are educational zealots by definition and thus not well-rounded. In that sense, it's not a very educational book insofar as it purports to "prepare" the reader for law school.
In sum, most law students will enjoy "One-L" for its entertainment value and to appreciate how much better they have it than did Turow. Prospective students, however, should not read it as a Bible regarding whether the law school environment is for them.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen A good recount of the first year, 24. Februar 2000
Von 
Tanya N. Moran (Las Vegas NV) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
I thought this book was an interesting portrayal of an Ivy League law school - I read it the summer before I began law school at a Jesuit law school on the West Coast.
Many of the 1L experiences will be the same no matter where one attends - the stress from competition, for example - I liked to characterize it as "the thrill of victory" (to get a cherished A) or the "agony of defeat" (to make an idiot out of yourself in class, which, I am sorry to say, I did on more than one occasion!)
My advice to prospective (and current) law students would be to buy the book, and read it with a grain of salt. I believe that each person has the ability to create their own destiny, and there's a hell of a lot more to learning the law, and succeeding in your chosen profession, than being in the top 5% and on law review - make friends, have fun, and most of all, use your knowledge to help more less fortunate than you, no matter if you went to Harvard or number #176 on U.S. News's list of 177 law schools. That's the key to success as an attorney, and in life, for that matter. Just my $.02!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen Lighten Up, 23. März 2000
I didn't like this book when I read it at the beginning of law school, and I still feel the same way, now en route to graduate. I suppose it's a testament to the book's staying power that I remember it some 3 years later, though that's not a good thing in this case.
I thought the book was unnecessarily melodramatic, as if the author was trying to make sure his law school experience read like a cliffhanger or shoot-'em-up blockbuster, and that he kept the reader's attention despite the tale not being that interesting to begin with. Granted, getting called on in class and vying for a law review position are mildly harrowing experiences, but I imagine they aren't like being on the front line of combat in war, or performing open heart surgery for 14 hours. However, the author sets the kind of tone to make you believe he equates the two. Although I realize law school isn't all laughs, I thought more levity would have been appropriate, and I kept wanted the author to "lighten up".
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Good Read, but Limited Usefulness if Not Law School Bound, 30. Mai 2000
Von 
Matthew Wang (New York, NY) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
I picked this up randomly from my girlfriend's library primarily to see what my law school friends were going through. I am not a law school student and have never seriously contemplated law school, but I have many friends currently attending and finishing law school right now and I was curious to read about what they were experiencing. After devouring the first half vigorously, I was pleasantly suprised at how much interest I had for the book. Although the subject matter was not very exciting Turow kept my attention until midway through, where the book seems to lose some steam. I believe it was not the writer's fault but more of the lack of interest I had in pursuing a legal career and even though Turow tries to tie the legal classes to the daily tribulations for us non-law inclined, the second half of the book dragged on. I highly recommend this book to anyone contemplating law school and the legal profession, but it could prove difficult for anyone else to finish it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen One-L.. I had to read it twice, 13. November 1997
Von 
umindy@was.net (James J. Bayles University, Mississippi) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: One L (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I read this book for the first time during my first year of law school. Some of my friends warned me not to read it because they thought it might cause me to pack my things and leave quickly. Fortunately it did not cause me to flee, and I am now in my second year. I liked the personal accounts of the classes, group sessions, and egos that he confronted at the law school. I noticed many similarities in our experiences, but every time I became a little discouraged about my situation, I looked at that book perched on my shelf and thought, "well, it could always be worse." I liked being able to relate to the good, bad, and unique occurrences that can only be found in a law school. I would recommend this book to anyone who has survived law school or is enduring law school now. I would also recommend it to anyone who is a friend, parent, or relative of a person who is attending law school, so that they can have some understanding of what we go through.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Read this prior to your first yeat at any school!, 3. August 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Scott Turow's first book is a true inspiration to those who are entering law school or any school for that matter. A true account of his first year as a Harvard Law student, Turow explains how he narrowly escaped a nervous breakdown from studying so hard. As a Harvard alum myself, Turow's description of life in Cambridge is exact in every detail. A friend of mine was a classmate of Turow's and his character is actually mentioned in the book. He confirmed what their first year was like and praised Turow for such an accurate account. If reading about students studying all day and all night motivates you to get better grades..since that is all that matters at most schools, then this book is for you. If you are entering undergraduate or graduate studies to slack off and disapear from society for several years, don't read this book. It would really depress you.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Going to law school? READ THIS BOOK!!!!!, 20. März 1999
Von Ein Kunde
I have heard about this book from talking to friends about mystery writers. Scott Turow's name came up, and a mention of an auto-bio story about his first year at Harvard Law Scool. It has been a while since I read non-fiction, so I picked it up. All I can say is that this is one truely great book. You will get hooked from the first page to the last page. I only wish Scott Turow could write more about his other two years at HLS. I have an interest in law ever since I took a law course at Suffolk University in Boston. I have also thought about attending law school. After reading this book, I know that law school will be challenging, yet fullfilling. Scott Turow does not hold anything back about what happens at HLS. It is all about succeeding and working very hard. I recommend this book to anyone who is thinking or will be attending any law school.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen The TRUTH about Harvard Law, 2. Oktober 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: One L (Hörkassette)
For anyone considering attending Harvard Law School, or any other law school for that matter, do not let Turow's 1L intimidate you. I'm currently a 1L at Harvard Law, and Turow's account of life here is not completely accurate. Most people I've met are not like the jerks he knew, nor is the quality of life anywhere close to how he portrays it. The consensus among 1L's here is that times have changed, and more importantly, that Turow was a paranoid wimp while in law school. The opportunities and advantages of attending Harvard far outweigh the little inconvenieces that Turow encountered, like not seeing his wife for a couple of hours. If you've seen The Paper Chase, lump it together with 1L and cast them aside, for Harvard is not the monster it's portrayed to be.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

One L: The Turbulent True Story of a First Year at Harvard Law School
One L: The Turbulent True Story of a First Year at Harvard Law School von Scott Turow (Taschenbuch - 28. Dezember 2010)
EUR 11,60
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen