Kundenrezensionen


173 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (123)
4 Sterne:
 (30)
3 Sterne:
 (5)
2 Sterne:
 (5)
1 Sterne:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


24 von 26 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Die Würde des Menschen
Der Inhalt dieses Jahrhundert-Romans ließe sich zur Not in ein, zwei Sätzen wiedergeben: Arme Teufel geraten durch ein System, das sie nur allmählich und bruchstückhaft durchschauen, unwiderruflich und immer tiefer ins Elend. Warum also einen über 500 Seiten dicken Roman darüber lesen? -- Antwort: Weil er gut ist, und weil keine einzige...
Veröffentlicht am 15. September 2005 von weiser111

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen A Decent Novel
Although I liked THE GRAPES OF WRATH, I'm not sure why it attracts so many 5-star ratings and raves from literature buffs. I am not a high school student who hated the interculary chapters (some of which were the best ones in the book...especially the one about fermenting anger). My biggest problem with this book is that Steinbeck simply takes it too seriously. The...
Am 27. Juni 1999 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 218 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

24 von 26 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Die Würde des Menschen, 15. September 2005
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Grapes of Wrath (Penguin Modern Classics) (Taschenbuch)
Der Inhalt dieses Jahrhundert-Romans ließe sich zur Not in ein, zwei Sätzen wiedergeben: Arme Teufel geraten durch ein System, das sie nur allmählich und bruchstückhaft durchschauen, unwiderruflich und immer tiefer ins Elend. Warum also einen über 500 Seiten dicken Roman darüber lesen? -- Antwort: Weil er gut ist, und weil keine einzige Seite, kein einziger Satz überflüssig oder gar langweilig wäre. Seine unsentimentale Sprache ist dermaßen plastisch, dass es kaum auszuhalten ist.
"Grapes of Wrath" beruht auf Steinbecks eigenen Recherchen; er hatte selbst eine Familie auf dem Treck von Oklahoma nach Kalifornien begleitet und die Zustände unterwegs und in den kalifornischen Lagern miterlebt. In weiten Passagen des Romans verwendet er eine Sprache, wie sie auch seine Protagonisten hätten verwenden können, und vor allem übernimmt er ihre Perspektive. Vielleicht erklärt das die unglaublich dichte Atmosphäre seines Romans, die den Leser mit voller Wucht trifft und ihn nie auf Distanz gehen lässt. (Die Leser seien aber gewarnt -- das gute alte Schulenglisch allein reicht nicht aus, den Roman im Original zu lesen.)
Oklahoma, Anfang der 1930er Jahre: Infolge des Börsencrashs 1929 wird vielen kleinen Farmern der Kredit gekündigt, und zu allem Elend machen Dürren, Bodenerosion und Überschwemmungen die Ernten zunichte. Ganze Landstriche werden entvölkert; es entstehen die unüberschaubaren Riesenfarmen, die seitdem die Landschaft des Mittleren Westen prägen. Ein endloser Treck enteigneter Familien zieht nun über die gar nicht romantische Route 66 ins Gelobte Land, nach Kalifornien -- es kursieren Handzettel, dass man dort guten Lohn für leichte Arbeit zahle. Die Phantasie der Farmer wird bevölkert vom weißen Häuschen im Schaten der Orangenbäume und von Waschtrögen voller Trauben, in die man sich hineinsetzen kann; ihre Realität aber bestimmen Armut, Hunger und Heimatlosigkeit.
Steinbeck kontrastiert immer wieder von Kapitel zu Kapitel die Einzelschicksale der Menschen mit journalistischen Berichten und Analysen über die Gesamtsituation der heimatlosen Farmer, über Ursachen und Zusammenhänge der Katastrophe, veranschaulicht anhand der Zustände in Kalifornien Marx'sche Begriffe wie Proletarisierung, Verelendung, Entfremdung oder Mehrwert, ohne diese Begriffe je nennen zu müssen -- die Zustände sprechen für sich und brauchen keine Schlagworte. Auch diese "überpersönlichen" Kapitel sind, wie der ganze Roman, in der Sprache der enteigneten Farmer verfasst.
Vor allem geht es in "Grapes of Wrath" jedoch um das Schicksal der Joads, einer typischen Farmersfamilie aus Oklahoma. Auch sie können ihren Kredit nicht mehr abbezahlen und werden brutal von ihrer Farm vertrieben, auch sie beladen einen schrottreifen Lastwagen und ziehen nach Kalifornien: Eltern, zwei kleine Kinder, die Großeltern, die älteren Söhne Tom, Noah und Al, die schwangere Tochter mit ihrem Mann, ein Onkel, und der desillusionierte Wanderprediger Jim Casy (letzterer mit Zügen von Steinbeck selber). Auch wenn ihr Schicksal für das von Abertausenden steht, sind die einzelnen Figuren keine Schablonen, sondern eigenständige Persönlichkeiten mit ihren widersprüchlichen Charakteren, würdevoll auch im ärgsten Elend. Es sind die unzählbaren kleinen, genau beobachteten Szenen, die diesen Protagonisten und mit ihnen dem ganzen Roman ihren unverwechselbaren Charakter verleihen, diese stete Balance von stoischer Schicksalsergebenheit und Rebellion, Mutlosigkeit, innerer Stärke und verhaltener unsentimentaler Zärtlichkeit. --
Schon unterwegs zeichnet sich immer deutlicher ab, dass die Mutter der Fixpunkt der Familie ist, während ihr Mann und ihr Schwager angesichts des wachsenden Elends von Tag zu Tag, von Misserfolg zu Misserfolg immer mehr resignieren. Zusammen mit ihrem Sohn Tom versucht sie, die allmählich zerfallende Familie so gut es geht zusammenzuhalten -- die Großeltern sterben unterwegs, ein Sohn und der Schwiegersohn setzen sich ab, der Wanderprediger schließt sich protestierenden Arbeiter an und wird daraufhin ermordet.
Der soziale Abstieg geht auch im Gelobten Land weiter -- die Löhne werden systematisch unters Existenzminimum gedrückt und der Gewinn der Großfarmen maximiert, die Heere der Arbeitslosen bis zur Weißglut provoziert. Schließlich tritt Tom Joad der Arbeiterbewegung bei und geht in den Untergrund.
Das Ende der Joads und ihrer abertausend Leidensgenossen, ob zum Guten oder zum Bösen, erfährt man nicht im Roman; die Schlussszene könnte ein Wendepunkt sein, oder auch das definitive Ende. Bleiben wird aber Tom Joad: Er wird überall dabeisein, "wherever there's a fight so hungry people can eat, [...] where there's a cop beating up a guy[...]. I'll be in the way guys yell when they're mad. I'll be in the way kids laugh when they're hungry and they know supper's ready. And when the people are eating the stuff they raised, and living in the houses they build, I'll be there, too."
Steinbeck machte mit "Grapes of Wrath" bei dessen erstem Erscheinen Furore; das Buch wurde zeitweilig verboten und nur noch mehr gelesen, es erhielt den Pulitzer-Preis, wurde zum Ausgangspunkt soziologischer Untersuchungen -- und beeindruckt seine Leser bis heute.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


7 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Ein Meisterwerk, 1. März 2002
Von Ein Kunde
In den Dreißiger Jahren muß die Farmerfamilie Joad, wie viele andere, nach Jahren der Dürre und der Mißernten ihre Heimat in Oklahoma verlassen. Sie machen sich auf den Weg nach Kalifornien, wo es genug fruchtbares Land für alle geben soll.Aber statt dessen finden sie nur Mißtrauen, Verrat, Gewalt und Ausbeutung, aber auch Hilfe und Solidarität von völlig unerwarteter Seite.
Steinbeck erzählt hier die Geschichte aller Menschen, die sich auf den Weg in die Fremde machen müssen, deren einziger Besitz ihre Arbeitskraft ist - und die Hoffnung auf ein menschenwürdiges Leben. Dieses Buch ist heute so aktuell wie vor sechzig Jahren.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen One of the most relevant and poignant books of all time., 6. Februar 2013
Von 
Ned Middleton (British professional underwater photo-journalist & author) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Grapes of Wrath (Taschenbuch)
Who am I to review one of the greatest literary works of all time? Could I possibly give this book anything less than the maximum rating it so richly deserves? Should I even commence? Those were just some of my private thoughts as I finally put down a copy of this book - read. This is the book which stirred the American conscience, caused political reform and brought about change when first published in 1939. This is the book which described how families were starving to death because of corruption. This is John Steinbeck at his exceptional best. For those people who never got around to reading this engaging and absorbing account of the Joad family, may I suggest you actually purchase a copy (any copy!) and finally read it.

Today the world is either in recession or emerging from the dark grip of this latest financial catastrophe. Whilst we may live in a time when millions of families are no longer allowed to starve to death - well, not in the developed world at any rate, I earnestly believe there are lessons to be learned from this book about the rich and powerful who care not for their fellow man but only for personal gain. More importantly, those lessons are as relevant today as they were in 1939.

Another similarity also failed to escape my notice; In this book we see how US police and other officials use their positions of authority to threaten and even blackmail the many thousands of American migrants who were simply looking for work in order to feed hungry mouths. These people had not arrived from any foreign country and were not even black - something which would have made their persecution much easier. No!, these ordinary white American folk were honest farmers who had been forcibly evicted from their homes and the land they had worked for generations. Seventy years on, here in the UK, we are besieged by TV programmes depicting our different police forces undertaking their various duties around the country. Yet more cheaply produced "reality" television! Significantly, however, I have occasionally noticed how some police officers deliberately provoke a hostile situation where none exists. Whilst not on the scale portrayed in this outstanding work, it is interesting that I should recognise that underlying attitude of arrogant superiority.

Whilst some may find the book slow going at the start, Steinbeck quickly gathers in those loose strands until they suddenly pull together to assume a story, reveal a mental photograph and produce a relevance into which the reader becomes fully immersed. I promptly learned local words and understood the dialect in which they were spoken as the Joad story unfolded. I could hear those southern accents as hardships are endured and explained through the actions of those who lived them. This was the organised, legalised daylight robbery and exploitation of the poor by the rich who were actively supported by the law enforcement agencies. A week's work for 1,000 fruit pickers paying 50 cents an hour is advertised to 3,000 hungry people who then pass on the message. Consequently, 5,000 starving workers arrive in search of that employment. With so much competition, the rate is lowered to 30 cents - take it or leave it! It was a deliberate ploy repeated time after time. Anyone attempting to organise his fellow workers is photographed, black-listed and branded a communist. Now feed that to your children. Then the banks insist the farmers reduced the rate to 25 cents and any landowner who questions that decision is swiftly reminded of his own vulnerability as a mortgagee! In short, either you pay them 25 cents or you join them! My own immediate reaction was to recognise a similarity between then and now - specifically with those modern banking practises which preyed on the sub-prime market. Anyone who cared to consider precisely what "sub-prime" meant, knew it was a policy destined to fail. And fail it did in spectacular fashion - and yet, the fat cat bankers still draw bonuses based on "personal performance" and not on their company's overall profit or loss...

I note from some of the comments appended to certain editions of this book, that various issues have been produced in which, apparently, Steinbeck's prose are changed to make the work an easier read. Please don't take the easy option, take the version written as it was intended to be read - i.e. the version written by Steinbeck. If not, you cannot claim to have read this book at all - instead you have the equivalent of, say, a Romeo and Juliet story - set in Manhattan in the 21st Century - and there are plenty of those...

In closing, I would urge anyone (indeed everyone) who has not already read an original version of this book, to go out and buy a copy - any old copy, and then simply read it. Having done that, you too will draw parallels with our modern age and understand what I mean. You will also be richer for having done so - as would those fat cats who, unfortunately, will probably never bother. Having finally finished reading this outstanding work, I wonder how many of you will still be wondering whatever happened to that perfectly matched pair of Bays! I do...

NM
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Die Würde des Menschen, 13. September 2005
Der Inhalt von Steinbecks Jahrhundert-Roman ließe sich zur Not in ein, zwei Sätzen wiedergeben: Arme Teufel geraten durch ein System, das sie nur allmählich und bruchstückhaft durchschauen, unwiderruflich und immer tiefer ins Elend. Warum also einen über 500 Seiten dicken Roman darüber lesen? -- Antwort: Weil er gut ist, und weil keine einzige Seite, kein einziger Satz überflüssig oder gar langweilig wäre. Seine unsentimentale Sprache ist dermaßen plastisch, dass es kaum auszuhalten ist.
"The Grapes of Wrath" beruht auf Steinbecks eigenen Recherchen; er hatte selbst eine Familie auf dem Treck von Oklahoma nach Kalifornien begleitet und die Zustände unterwegs und in den kalifornischen Lagern miterlebt. In weiten Passagen des Romans verwendet er eine Sprache, wie sie auch seine Protagonisten hätten verwenden können, und vor allem übernimmt er ihre Perspektive. Vielleicht erklärt das die unglaublich dichte Atmosphäre seines Romans, die den Leser mit voller Wucht trifft und ihn nie auf Distanz gehen lässt. (Die Leser seien aber gewarnt -- das gute alte Schulenglisch allein reicht nicht aus, den Roman im Original zu lesen.)
Oklahoma, Anfang der 1930er Jahre: Infolge des Börsencrashs 1929 wird vielen kleinen Farmern der Kredit gekündigt, und zu allem Elend machen Dürren, Bodenerosion und Überschwemmungen die Ernten zunichte. Ganze Landstriche werden entvölkert; es entstehen die unüberschaubaren Riesenfarmen, die seitdem die Landschaft des Mittleren Westen prägen. Ein endloser Treck enteigneter Familien zieht nun über die gar nicht romantische Route 66 ins Gelobte Land, nach Kalifornien -- es kursieren Handzettel, dass man dort guten Lohn für leichte Arbeit zahle. Die Phantasie der Farmer wird bevölkert vom weißen Häuschen im Schaten der Orangenbäume und von Waschtrögen voller Trauben, in die man sich hineinsetzen kann; ihre Realität aber bestimmen Armut, Hunger und Heimatlosigkeit.
Steinbeck kontrastiert immer wieder von Kapitel zu Kapitel die Einzelschicksale der Menschen mit journalistischen Berichten und Analysen über die Gesamtsituation der heimatlosen Farmer, über Ursachen und Zusammenhänge der Katastrophe, veranschaulicht anhand der Zustände in Kalifornien Marx'sche Begriffe wie Proletarisierung, Verelendung, Entfremdung oder Mehrwert, ohne diese Begriffe je nennen zu müssen -- die Zustände sprechen für sich und brauchen keine Schlagworte. Auch diese "überpersönlichen" Kapitel sind, wie der ganze Roman, in der Sprache der enteigneten Farmer verfasst.
Vor allem geht es in "The Grapes of Wrath" jedoch um das Schicksal der Joads, einer typischen Farmersfamilie aus Oklahoma. Auch sie können ihren Kredit nicht mehr abbezahlen und werden brutal von ihrer Farm vertrieben, auch sie beladen einen schrottreifen Lastwagen und ziehen nach Kalifornien: Eltern, zwei kleine Kinder, die Großeltern, die älteren Söhne Tom, Noah und Al, die schwangere Tochter mit ihrem Mann, ein Onkel, und der desillusionierte Wanderprediger Jim Casy (letzterer mit Zügen von Steinbeck selber). Auch wenn ihr Schicksal für das von Abertausenden steht, sind die einzelnen Figuren keine Schablonen, sondern eigenständige Persönlichkeiten mit ihren widersprüchlichen Charakteren, würdevoll auch im ärgsten Elend. Es sind die unzählbaren kleinen, genau beobachteten Szenen, die diesen Protagonisten und mit ihnen dem ganzen Roman ihren unverwechselbaren Charakter verleihen, diese stete Balance von stoischer Schicksalsergebenheit und Rebellion, Mutlosigkeit, innerer Stärke und verhaltener unsentimentaler Zärtlichkeit. --
Schon unterwegs zeichnet sich immer deutlicher ab, dass die Mutter der Fixpunkt der Familie ist, während ihr Mann und ihr Schwager angesichts des wachsenden Elends von Tag zu Tag, von Misserfolg zu Misserfolg immer mehr resignieren. Zusammen mit ihrem Sohn Tom versucht sie, die allmählich zerfallende Familie so gut es geht zusammenzuhalten -- die Großeltern sterben unterwegs, ein Sohn und der Schwiegersohn setzen sich ab, der Wanderprediger schließt sich protestierenden Arbeiter an und wird daraufhin ermordet.
Der soziale Abstieg geht auch im Gelobten Land weiter -- die Löhne werden systematisch unters Existenzminimum gedrückt und der Gewinn der Großfarmen maximiert, die Heere der Arbeitslosen bis zur Weißglut provoziert. Schließlich tritt Tom Joad der Arbeiterbewegung bei und geht in den Untergrund.
Das Ende der Joads und ihrer abertausend Leidensgenossen, ob zum Guten oder zum Bösen, erfährt man nicht im Roman; die Schlussszene könnte ein Wendepunkt sein, oder auch das definitive Ende. Bleiben wird aber Tom Joad: Er wird überall dabeisein, "wherever there's a fight so hungry people can eat, [...] where there's a cop beating up a guy[...]. I'll be in the way guys yell when they're mad. I'll be in the way kids laugh when they're hungry and they know supper's ready. And when the people are eating the stuff they raised, and living in the houses they build, I'll be there, too."
Steinbeck machte mit "The Grapes of Wrath" bei dessen erstem Erscheinen Furore; das Buch wurde zeitweilig verboten und nur noch mehr gelesen, es erhielt den Pulitzer-Preis, wurde zum Ausgangspunkt soziologischer Untersuchungen -- und beeindruckt seine Leser bis heute.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


8 von 10 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Longman-Ausgabe mit super-Hintergrundinformationen, 20. Juni 2002
Von Ein Kunde
Ein absoluter Top-Hit für Freunde guter englischer Bücher. Zunächst einmal ist es ein gutes Buch. "The Grapes of Wrath" wird als bestes Werk des Nobelpreisträgers J. Steinbeck angesehen. Es ist eine spannende Geschichte, die gleichzeitig viel Kritik an einem reinen Gewinn-Kapitalismus enthält. Die Familie, deren Schicksal erzählt wird, wächst dem Leser schnell ans Herz. Um ein Bespiel (von vielen) herauszugreifen: Mir gefielen besonders gut die großartigen Schilderungen des Verhaltens, Fühlens und der kleinen Gemeinheiten der "little Fellows", besonders Ruthie.
Jetzt ein paar Tips: Ich habe eine englische Longman-Ausgabe bei Amazon gekauft und habe es nicht bereut. Die reichlaltigen Dialoge in amerikanischer Umgangssprache, versteht man nach einiger Gewöhnung gut. Um den Lesespaß zu erhalten, sollte man nur die zum Verständnis wichtigen Vokabeln nachschauen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen The Grapes of Wrath, 27. Februar 2000
The first thing that came to mind when I read Steinbeck's classic The Grapes of Wrath was its parallel to Upton Sinclair's The Jungle - the downward spiral of a migrant family who find themselves in a struggle to subsist in abject poverty. (Fortunately, where Sinclair rams Socialism down our throats in The Jungle, Steinbeck merely offers us a spoonful here.)
Steinbeck provides wonderful development for each character in this story; though none of them could be called bright, each figure possesses a unique depth and personality. Tom Joad is the angst-ridden main character who has just been released from serving a long prison sentence. Ma is the family matriarch who provides strength and optimism even in the worst times. Jim Clancy is the fallen preacher who joins the Joad's on their sojourn. (Clancy is certainly the novel's most over-analyzed character - he has been likened to a metaphor for Jesus Christ, but I just didn't see it.)
This now classic tale takes place during 1930's, and is about a family of Oklahoma Dustbowl farmers who, like countless others, migrate to California after losing their farm. But they don't give up without a fight, leaving only when the bulldozers come to raze their home. Packing up all of their possessions in the family jalopy, they make their way across a Depression Era America that has little pity on "ignorant Okies". Along the way they meet other Okies fleeing back home from California after finding only starvation in the so-called promised land. (One of the most heart wrenching figures in the novel is the Okie who is returning after helplessly watching his child die of starvation). But, just like the Rudkis family in The Jungle, the Joad's are sure that, with some hard work, things will be different for them. Though the family does find work picking fruit, it is not the Garden of Eden they'd hoped it would be. Even the children must endure twelve hour days of backbreaking work in the hot sun under the cruel eye of their supervisors at their slave-labor-like work camps. They are forced to live in infested wooden shacks called "company housing", and to buy their food at the "company store" whose prices are exorbitant and which comes out of their already paltry pay. The most horrifically ironic part is that while their meals usually consist of gruel "with bacon grease for strength", they dare not eat the fruit they pick for fear of swift and severe punishment. Forced to flee the camp after Tom assaults a would-be rapist, the family is all but lost. The final scene is heart wrenching and unforgettable - and proves Ma's claim that the poor are the ones who can be counted when somebody is in need.
The Grapes of Wrath is considered one of this century's greatest literary masterpieces, and with good reason. Its many layers are deeply thought-provoking - and provides insightful social commentary which could address many issues we deal with even today. Read it!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen A realistic view of the hardships faced by the migrants, 20. Juni 1999
Von Ein Kunde
When I was first assigned to read John Steinbeck's book The Grapes of Wrath in English class, the first thing that I noticed was how huge it was. Over 600 pages! I was afraid it would be a story that wandered all over the place and didn't really have a point. Even after I had begun reading, it seemed that this assumption was correct since all book seemed to be doing was telling a very detailed and slow-moving story about a family in Oklahoma. However, as I continued reading, I began to realize that the very way the book portrays the life of these people so realistically and what the reader learns from their situation is itself the point of the book. The Grapes of Wrath is the story of the Joad family, an Oklahoma family of tenant farmers during the Great Depression who are kicked out of their homes because they cannot make a profit on their crops. As more and more farmers are kicked off their land to be replaced by men on tractors, over 300,000 people migrate west to California in hopes of earning a living picking fruit, cotton, etc... for owners with larger farms. Hardship follows them during the long trip to California. Even once they get there, they're divided against themselves as they compete for work so they can just feed their families. Throughout the book the family encounters opposition from all sorts of people, including land owning farmers who must pay extremely low wages in order to make a profit, cops who cause more trouble than good, locals who are afraid of the massive influx of people, and a government that seems unable to help. In the end it's sheer will that gives them the strength to continue to fight as the Depression relentlessly tries to break the people's determination and the family bonds. The Grapes of Wrath gives a very realistic view of the Great Depression and tells it from viewpoints you don't see from just reading about it in a history textbook. The book is divided into narrative chapters that tell the story of the Joads, and, every other chapter, the inter chapters that give information about the situation in a style that's part documentary, part editorial. Throughout the book, especially during the inter chapters, Steinbeck uses symbolism to convey ideas. In particular, there are many allusions to the Bible, including the title. Due to its realistic portrayal of the life of the migrants, the book has also come under considerable controversy for its profanity and sex, since those things were parts of the lives of these people. Also, Steinbeck uses the inter chapters both to make people aware of the problems and to give suggestions for how to deal with them, and many of his beliefs could be seen as Communistic. I have really found The Grapes of Wrath to be a difficult book to rate. On the one hand, it's a slow-moving book that contains a whole lot of talk that people who aren't really into reading books for fun will likely find boring, and it's just too long to hold some people's interest. On the other hand, however, the character interaction is very realistic and human, being based on actual migrants Steinbeck knew. Because of this, we get to feel like we really know the people in the book. The seemingly excessive length of the book is actually needed to give us a real understanding of how these people lived their lives. When the characters get into intense situations that threaten the physical and psychological well-being of the family both as a group of individuals and as a single unit, the book reaches hights of drama and emotional intensity that is almost never matched today in movies, books, video games, music, or any of our other forms of art. I often found myself just sitting there thinking about what I'd just read for a while after I finished with the required reading for the day. There's not really space within this 1,000 word limit to fully discuss my thoughts on this book, but what I can say is that it will draw you into the world of the migrants in the 1930's and show you plainly and truthfully just what it was like. I can understand the opinion of people who hate this book because it's all a matter of taste, and some people just would not be able to forgive the many parts they consider agonizingly boring. Although I give this book four stars overall, there are parts of it that I'd give 10 stars if I could. I highly recommend this powerful book to anyone.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen What is it like to starve to death?, 15. September 1998
Here is a book about a family living in the most desperate of conditions. In fact, as the book proceeds, you come to realise that not only has this family lost its land - its home and livelihood for generations - but that they are also in danger of losing their lives, to of all things, starvation.
Today, with our Western economies booming, low unemployment, improving standards of living, most of us desperate to lose weight rather than gain it, it's easy to take for granted the simple things in life: a roof over your head, enough food to eat, running hot and cold water, the respect and friendship of your fellow countrymen, the health of yourself and your family.
What most impressed me about this 58-year-old book is that it made me understand something of what it must have been like for those people that made the terribly hard journey to California. I understood their dreams of finding a new home, new friends, new jobs, new life. I understood their fears as news started to filter through that things might not be so wonderful in the new world after all, that the future was increasingly uncertain. I understood their desperation as their loved ones began to leave or die, and their hunger began to grow.
As the book proceeded, I grew to feel that these characters - Tom, the Preacher, Ma, Pa, Rose of Sharon, Winfield, etc. were real people, people I wanted to overcome the terrible treatment they received, to succeed, to survive.
It shocked me that such horrors could have occurred just 60 years ago in the wealthiest country on the planet. Surely, if it can happen in America, it can happen anywhere. We know that many people in Africa and Asia still live in such squalor. Perhaps similar deprevations are now being inflicted upon the Russian people.
Solzhenitsyn's "A day in the life of Ivan Denisovich" gives a moving account of a man living for his next meal in a prison camp. However, it is all the more shocking when you see a whole family living (or dying) this way.
The ending of "The Grapes of Wrath" provides a shocking image, even by today's cynical and graphic standards. Even now, over a month since I finished reading the book, I cannot shake this image from my head. Perhaps that is the best tribute I can pay it: even after all these years, it's a book that still has the power to shock.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen There's a reason scholars call it a masterpiece., 31. Oktober 1999
I get personally offended when I read reviews accusing this masterpiece of being "boring." I suppose if one is extremely uneducated, this towering drama of American restlessness can seem boring, but if one is that uneducated, one should stick with Mary Higgins Clark. Steinbeck isn't difficult stuff, people. The language is far from that horribly stuffy Charles Dickens crap; rather, it's closer in style and elegant simplicity to the pinnacle of 19th-century American literature, Mark Twain. The dialogue is NOT trite, it's sparse. The descriptive passages are NOT monotonous, they're stark and yet detailed. The plot is NOT far-fetched, it's based on a journey undertaken by thousands of discontented pilgrims.
I will not go so far as to call this work the Greatest American Novel, or even the Greatest American Novel of the Twentieth Century. It's up there, without a doubt, if only because of its social influence and the underbelly that it exposes. But in addition to being one of the GREATEST books, it is also one of the BEST books. It's genuinely interesting...gripping...engaging. I read it a few years ago, I think during the summer between the 10th and 11th grades, and I could barely put it down. It's one of those rare novels: a page-turner, yet with prose sometimes delicious enough to roll through your imagination a few times, savoring the language composition. And after you've finished reading, you find that the novel has left you profoundly affected.
So it's not just a Great Book; it's a really really good book as well. It's powerful, it's enjoyable on every level. Read it and be changed.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen California dreaming, 16. Januar 2000
One of the great novels of the 20th Century. This should be required reading at the high school level.
The story is that of the Joad's, a displaced family from Oklahoma who migrate West,looking for work in the rich agricultural areas of California.
No novel tells the story of depression era America better than the Grapes of Wrath.
The Joad's, like millions of other Midwestern and Southern farmers, lose their land through a combination of generations of bad farming techniques, dry weather that occurred several growing seasons in a row, and the depression.
The end of the rainbow is California, rich in agriculture with the promise of plenty of work. Along the way the family endures physical and emotional hardships, as well as ridicule and humiliation.
Once they arrive in California, the Joad's find that the labor supply is so plentiful that the promised jobs are either non-existant or the pay is paltry. Furthermore, the California land barons want the 'Okies' to stay only long enough to pick the crops and they employ whatever means necessary to keep workers migrant.
There are many poignant scenes in this novel and the character of Ma Joad is truly a classic as she strives to keep her family together and from starving to death. The last scene involving the loss of a child and a straving man are heart rendering.
But the real value of this novel is in the social conscience that it attempts to evoke. For his work Steinbeck was villified as a Communist, although his later work showed Steinbeck as a political moderate.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 218 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Grapes of Wrath (Penguin Modern Classics)
The Grapes of Wrath (Penguin Modern Classics) von John Steinbeck (Taschenbuch - 7. September 2000)
EUR 8,80
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen