Kundenrezensionen


66 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (50)
4 Sterne:
 (9)
3 Sterne:
 (5)
2 Sterne:
 (1)
1 Sterne:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen CLIMB THE MOUNTAIN!
I have been to California and the Sierra Nevada Mountains, but after reading this thought provoking novel I realized I have never been there. Before I was just going through the motions of a tourist. Now when I go back(hopefully this Summer)I am really going to experience the beauty of the mountains and nature. This novel stirred up some very powerful emotions inside...
Veröffentlicht am 6. Januar 2000 von Paul

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen Gute amerikanische Literatur
Ein junger Klassiker, der im typischen Stil von Jack Kerouac manche sehr spezielle Gedanken wiederspiegelt. Ein Buch für junge und alte Hippies und Liebhaber amerikanischer Literatur. Ein junger Klassiker.
Vor 6 Monaten von Irmhild Rueter veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 27 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen CLIMB THE MOUNTAIN!, 6. Januar 2000
Von 
Paul (Tuscaloosa, Alabama) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Dharma Bums (Taschenbuch)
I have been to California and the Sierra Nevada Mountains, but after reading this thought provoking novel I realized I have never been there. Before I was just going through the motions of a tourist. Now when I go back(hopefully this Summer)I am really going to experience the beauty of the mountains and nature. This novel stirred up some very powerful emotions inside of me such as living life how I want to live it, not how everybody else wants me to live it (Up to this point in my life I am not sure I have been doing that). If it was not currently Winter I would be heading toward the American West with my rucksack, ready to climb the mountain. Read this novel I guarantee you it will be a rewarding experience.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen a different Kerouac, 22. Oktober 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Dharma Bums (Taschenbuch)
A more laid back series of tales from the life of Jack Kerouac. Very relaxing, unlike "On the Road". Makes you want to go climb a mountain.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The greatest book from the greatest American writer, 24. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Dharma Bums (Taschenbuch)
I cannot write enough words to describe how wonderful this book is. I could write a book about its greatness, its mind-numbing beauty, its special place in the pantheon of great human achievements. Jack Kerouac was a shooting star, a dharma bum in the truest sense of the word. This man has a style and fluidity to his writing that is otherworldly, and yet so magically human. He synthesizes poetry and prose in a way that not many have ever approached. His writing is lyrics to his life, my life, your life. He can express the human condition better than anyone I have ever encountered. In the Dharma Bums, he tells about his adventures with Japhy Ryder (Gary Snyder), a man who lived his life the way that Kerouac wrote. Spontaneous, beautiful and pure. This is a book with power, that has changed many peoples lives, including mine, and has the power to influence so many more. Buy five copies of this book and loan them out to your friends and strangers. Kerouac's dream of a rucksack revolution is one of the most beautiful ideas that I have ever known, and this book is the starting point for that inevitable revolution. So get this book and get started. Hit the road and things will never be the same. peace.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Simple, Beautiful Novel about the Rucksack Generation, 17. Mai 2000
Von 
Joe Parker "Deciduous" (Baltimore, MD USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Dharma Bums (Taschenbuch)
Dharma Bums is a beautiful story, though there's no real plot to speak of -- no damsel in distress, no hero facing adversity, no complicated twists . . . it's just about life.
The reader follows the typical Kerouac rucksacker as he floats along in his mid-twenties -- hiking the mountains of the west coast, thumbing his way across the country and swapping spiritual observations with Zen enthusiast and companion Japhy Ryder.
This book is a treasure, reminding the reader of the subtle beauties in nature, conversation, travel and friendship. It's a perfect fit for any fan of life.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Eeeha! That dharmy-boy Jack shore can smith them words., 26. April 1998
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Dharma Bums (Taschenbuch)
Eeeha! That dharmy-boy Jack shore can smith them words.  They bounce and spin, leap and unfurl in a cacophony of tremulous abandon in your mind's ear.

The pleasure in reading Kerouac is that he is such a remarkably good, wonderful person and he is so joyous and full of zealotry and surprise.  And he loves everyone, unconditionally.  But there is not a hint of treacle; it is all vividly authentic but awash in kindness.

THE DHARMA BUMS was written in the late 50s, and was a quick follow up to Kerouac's ground-breaking best-seller ON THE ROAD.  Both are less experimental than others of Kerouac's works, but are jaunty displays of Kerouac's famed spontaneous prose.

As with most of Kerouac's work, the novel is written in first person and closely follows events in Kerouac's life, with the identities of his real-life beat friends disguised by pseudonyms (at the insistence of his publisher).

The book begins in southern California in 1955 with Ray Smith [Jack] struggling to hop a fast train to San Francisco.  He arrives in The City after overcoming some difficulties and meeting a good-hearted hobo.  Once in the city, there is a quick chapter--not calling much attention to itself--about Ray's attendance at a poetry reading, which is noteworthy in that it is a fictionalized account of the most famous poetry reading of all time:  when Allan Ginsberg first read "Howl."  [In the novel the poet is named Alvah Goodbook and his poem is titled "Wail."]

Quickly, though, Ray [and the reader] meets the central character of the book, Japhy Ryder.  [It is fun to know that Japhy is based on the Pulitzer-winning poet Gary Snyder and the project Japhy/Gary is up to at the beginning of the novel is to draft the first Chinese-to-English translation of Han Shan's "Cold Mountain." Shan's epic poem is the inspiration of the current best-selling novel of the same name, set during the Civil War.]  Ryder is the ultimate, ebullient frees!pirit who whisks Ray off on an adventure, a climb up the Matterhorn (a peak just outside the current-day borders of Yosemite National Monument).  At all times, Japhy and Ray engage in happy dharma banter, swapping tales and lessons learned.  And back at Japhy's shack of a home there are orgies, jazz and meditation, exceptionally tasty plates of beans and bottles of cheap ruby-red port.

The book continues with fascinating similar events, all written in a lusty, swashbuckling style, full of dharma and comradery.  At the novel's conclusion, a final mountain is climbed--both figuratively and literally--and the experience left me fully satisfied.

Unlike almost all other novels, DHARMA BUMS and others of Kerouac's tales are not driven by a careful, classic  plotline.  There is no achy tragedy that you read your way into the heart of and then hope for a nifty, surprising conclusion.  The book barrels forward from the lust-for-life of its characters and the supreme genius of Kerouac at his craft of threading words.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Gute amerikanische Literatur, 17. Oktober 2013
Von 
Irmhild Rueter "IReaderJC" (Duesseldorf, Germany) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Von Amazon bestätigter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Dharma Bums (Penguin Modern Classics) (Taschenbuch)
Ein junger Klassiker, der im typischen Stil von Jack Kerouac manche sehr spezielle Gedanken wiederspiegelt. Ein Buch für junge und alte Hippies und Liebhaber amerikanischer Literatur. Ein junger Klassiker.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen What an Opening!, 4. Juli 2000
Von 
Frank Gibbons (Seekonk, MA United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Dharma Bums (Taschenbuch)
The opening pages of the Dharma Bums contain the most inventive, bodacious, interesting prose in Amercian letters. Who else could even dream of weaving St. Therese, compassionate Bhuddist wisdom, democratic, open road visions, the Mind of God, in a beautiful, fluent rush of prose? This is Kerouac, the pure writer!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Read Me Read Me Read Me, 25. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Dharma Bums (Taschenbuch)
Pretend that you've ever heard of Jack Kerouac. Forget you've ever heard the words "Beat Generation." Set down your ideas of what life should be like. Read this book. It will make you want to sell all your worldly possessions in a mammoth yard sale and take off to find It.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen On My Top 5 List, 19. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Dharma Bums (Taschenbuch)
I read this book every couple of years. It gives me a fresh view of things around me after I read it. It paints a vivid picture of the days he was writing about, and reading it is like being there for a moment. Kerouac shows a lot about himself in the book also. Each time I read it, it is as vivid and as new.
This is a good book to read if you are looking for what Kerouac's books are like. It's a quick read and I recommend it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Simple, Beautiful Novel about the Rucksack Generation, 17. Mai 2000
Von 
Joe Parker "Deciduous" (Baltimore, MD USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Dharma Bums (Taschenbuch)
Dharma Bums is a beautiful story, though there's no real plot to speak of -- no damsel in distress, no hero facing adversity, no complicated twists . . . it's just about life.
The reader follows the typical Kerouac rucksacker as he floats along in his mid-twenties -- hiking the mountains of the west coast, thumbing his way across the country and swapping spiritual observations with Zen enthusiast and companion Japhy Ryder.
This book is a treasure, reminding the reader of the subtle beauties in nature, conversation, travel and friendship. It's a perfect fit for any fan of life.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 27 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst
ARRAY(0xacf7b1b0)

Dieses Produkt

The Dharma Bums (Penguin Modern Classics)
The Dharma Bums (Penguin Modern Classics) von Jack Kerouac (Taschenbuch - 3. August 2000)
EUR 8,80
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen