Kundenrezensionen


82 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (38)
4 Sterne:
 (33)
3 Sterne:
 (6)
2 Sterne:
 (2)
1 Sterne:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen i wrote this when i was sick...dont be too harsh please...
Arhtur Miller's "The Crucible" is a masterful work in its representation of the horrific time period in early-American colonial history during the 17th-century when the Salem witch trials were taking place. As well as doing the aforementioned within his play, it presents a stunning metaphor for a time period in which America was plunged into the communism...
Veröffentlicht am 19. September 2000 von Money Mike Luedke

versus
1.0 von 5 Sternen Three-room boredom
How incredibly dull! What poor character development! Miller has to develop his characters through long, boring paragraphs instead of just allowing them to speak and define their personalities that way. This guy should take a hint from Shakespeare (specifically, Romeo and Juliet, Julius Caesar): develop characters by what they say and the way they say it. And...
Am 24. Dezember 1998 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 29 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen i wrote this when i was sick...dont be too harsh please..., 19. September 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Crucible (Plays, Penguin) (Taschenbuch)
Arhtur Miller's "The Crucible" is a masterful work in its representation of the horrific time period in early-American colonial history during the 17th-century when the Salem witch trials were taking place. As well as doing the aforementioned within his play, it presents a stunning metaphor for a time period in which America was plunged into the communism scare by Wisconsin Senator Joe McCarthy. Accusations were hurled both in Salem and in the McCarthy-era and a "disease" of sorts was taking root within these misguided ways. In the case of Salem, those in question were subjected to court proceedings of the most unjust and one-sided ways. The fear of Satan influenced the ways of the Salem population and therefore, all who were suspected of mingling with the Prince of Darkness were executed. In the case of McCarthy, if one failed to conform to the "true" American way, they were immediately suspected of communist ideals and dealings and accusations were further hurled and imprisonment was in line. For one to fully understand the aim of Miller's work, the reader must first understand the time period in which he was writing and the events therein. However, if one would simply desire to get a look into not only a dark side of American history, but a dark side of the human being itself, "The Crucible" depicts both in excellent style and is well worth reading. In the words of Levar Burton though, "...you don't have to take my word for it..." PEACE!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A classic - withstands the test of time., 28. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Crucible (Plays, Penguin) (Taschenbuch)
A considerable number of plays from the 50s come across as melodramatic, cynical and stilted today. In contrast, Miller's classic remains powerful and universal - but not for the usual reasons you'd expect. As a drama it has more in common with 19th century works in the tradition of Ibsen or even the novels of Hugo than with the 50s authors like Williams, Beckett, O'Neill, or even the Miller of Death of a Salesmen. Instead of the drab, pathetic, cowardly, sad, sniveling, or absurdist characters of some of his contemporaries we see people of moral stature. People in the mist of an irrational hysteria with normal human frailties but with moral sense. An interesting dimension is added in the portrayal of the villains. At one point in the play it seems expedient for the 'chief inquisitor' to temper or betray his crusade. He chooses to follow his vision (I am being vague to avoid giving away any plot). Compare this to Hugo's Javert in Les Miserables. By writing the villain in such a manner both authors create a drama that pits two moral codes - two views of reality. This elevates Miller's play to the level of a romantic realist drama.
Many of the other reviewers will point out the intended parallels to events of the 50s. However, Miller's play is more universal and can be viewed in relation to any fanatical hysteria. This is still timely today given the Politically Correct hysteria on college campuses.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Beautiful Work!, 18. Februar 2000
Von 
rareoopdvds (San Diego, CA United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Crucible (Plays, Penguin) (Taschenbuch)
This is the first play by Arthur Miller I have read, and I inquired into mostly because of my interest with Witchcraft and the Salem trials. A wonderful play that shows the hypocrisy of a town threatened by purported withcraft. The cried of "witch" by anyone in this town aroused and scared everyone. The lead characters Abagail Williams along with Reverend Parris and John Proctor. I will not give any story here, for you should read it and be surprised and amazed. Nonetheless, the story lets one wonder how such a town and belief in the Bible (more so than God) can lead to such havok. The laws are simple: 1) You are not a witch until someone points the finger at you. 2) You can deny these charges, but you will be hung. 3) If you confess you are a witch, then the sentence is jail. 4) If you do not believe in withcraft you will be hung. These were the beliefs of the time, and it is demonstrated in this marvelous play. Arthur Miller tells an exciting story based on history (although he says its not literal history for there were some need for dramatic purpose), of a time when things were simple in America and Massachusettes, yet like all towns in the world, there is always something brewing in the minds of the good who want to banish evil from their homes. Highly reccomended!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A Miller's Social Drama of Moderation, 16. Juli 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Crucible (Plays, Penguin) (Taschenbuch)
Certainly Arthur Miller's The Crucible is a social play. Miller dramatically represents "the way men ought to live," a life of moderation. Social plays, according to Miller, must not destroy he who becomes cognizant as the curtain falls. The Crucible destroys neither Rebecca Nurse, nor John Proctor; this piece destroys those who seek to destroy. The drama is social because man must choose the middle ground; if not he destroys his fellow man. Contrary to conventional wisdom, Miller's play is not merely a parallel to the McCarthy era, but an additional reminder that moderation is the true path in life. Social dramas, as Miller defines, show man the way to live; The Crucible tells man that in order to prosper he must eschew dichotomy. Only he who obstinately clings to the dichotomy of right and wrong and good and evil will truly suffer, while inhibiting man's progress...Arthur Miller's The Crucible is a brilliant social drama. Miller brilliantly accounts that in 1692 and 1953 "the world is gripped between two diametrically opposed absolutes"(Miller 33). These absolutes are the Devils who haunt Salem, depriving the town of its life. Miller's social drama opens up to man the haunting historical fact that if man should stray from the center, he will destroy his polis, and his fellow man. "The concept of unity, in which positive and negatives are attributes of the same force," Miller elucidates, "in which good and evil are relative, ever-changing, and always joined to the same phenomenon - such a concept is still reserved to the few who have grasped the history of ideas"(Miller 33). Moderation is the key to man's happiness; with dichotomy present, so too is the evil of man.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen renee's review of the crucible, 10. November 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Crucible (Plays, Penguin) (Taschenbuch)
This was a good. I think this because it was talking about real life, and what happened to the people that didn't confess that were accused. It showed the truth about how the witch hunts went and how the accused people got treated. Abigail Williams was very inconsiderate of others. She just was saying the lies so she wouldn't get in trouble. No one was listening to all the sides of the stories and so later if they found out that they were not witches they wouldn't care. So if they were to listen so many people wouldn't have been in jail. Also the characters were brave especially the one's that were punished. Thamas Putnam was very selfish in how he wanted the land for himself. I think he should have gotten hung, but not for witch craft but for killing for no good reason, but to help himself and his money. Also when the girls just started to yell out names everyone believed them. I couldn't believe the judges believed the girls when they were acting like they were getting witch craft fellings from Mary Warren. The judges were just believing anything that was brought to him that involved witch craft. Rev. Hale I thought acted very well and was trying to stay within what God thinks is right.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen The Complex Characters of "The Crucible, 19. September 2000
In Harris' "The Crucible", we are introduced to many interesting and complex characters fit in 1692, Salem. The antagonist, Reverend Parris, is a selfish, power-hungry, father and preacher. He shows his evil ways by using his status as a respected preacher, going around accusing any person who challenges his power. Another great character is the protagonist, John Proctor. A simple, heathen, farmer, he leads the revolt against the leaders of Salem, Reverend Parris and Judge Hawthorne. He saves the day by being martyred for his determination and morals, to save the women of Salem. The farmer is not an avid churchgoer he is accused by Parris, of course, of dealing with the devil. The other minor characters are the Abigail and Goody Putnam. The conniving Abigail plays little ms. innocent who at the start is perceived as a girl who was corrupted by Tituba. However in actuality, Abigail is the leader and instigator, who has a black name in the town because of her titillating encounters with John Proctor. The characters in "The Crucible" make this social drama a great one. It displays all the great characters: the antagonist, the protagonist, and the complex characters.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Just The Crucible!, 23. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Crucible (Plays, Penguin) (Taschenbuch)
The Crucible is a book that we are reading in my class these days. I had been waiting for the book to reach my hands since the day the teacher agreed on reading this book as a class syllabus. It was a long wait for me before the book reached my hands.I was mainly interested in the witch craft. The day I got it I promised myself that I will read the whole book in the night before I got to sleep.Well it took me two nights instead to finish the book. But I was and still am very facinated by the book. I even managed to write a poem on the book.Mainly about John Proctor, Elizabeth Proctor and Abigail.The love story between them. It is very suprising that a group of young teenaged girls could be so effective in conspiring again the prominent figures of the Salem Village and be responsible for their crucification. The Crucible is a great book and very thought provoking.I was once haunted by the book in the night when I thought that I could hear something tapping on my window.Actually the book has nothing to do with real witches but it is all about the evil people. I guess I am running out of my word limits here.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Dramatic Tension At Its Best, 10. Mai 2000
Von 
Mark Valentine (Port Angeles, WA United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Crucible (Plays, Penguin) (Taschenbuch)
For dramatic tension, for a resounding lesson in the ethical treatment of others, this four-act play excels. Set in the 1692 Salem witch trial debacle--a black eye in our heritage--Miller wrote the play parallel to the McCarthy hearings. America in the 1950's was then in the classic, titan struggle against a new threat: Communism.
But in 1692, 19 people were executed for the crimes of witchcraft and associating in the black arts. Miller takes this historical arena, stirs in a failed love tryst, and the dramatic tension never lets up.
The play is worth studying for several reasons: First, it has a strident moral tone that is extremely important for students to explore. Justice is not always a given in our society, and in the execution of justice, if we lose our sanity, we can err into several pitfalls of bad logic, or fallacies--the fallacies of Bandwagon, Hasty Generalization, False Cause, Two Wrongs Make a Right, and so on. Second, it teaches us our own history, with scars. Third, through Miller's deft use of language, we watch (read) a classicly structured play develop.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Pretty good., 28. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Crucible (Plays, Penguin) (Taschenbuch)
Like so many others, I can never enjoy a novel or play if it is being forced down my throat, I am set to hate anything the school offers me. (Except for To Kill a Mockingbird, that was a brilliant choice on the Board of Education's part.) I found that however negative my attitude to school books was, it disappeared throughout this play. It was not close to the best play ever written (especially when it has Shakespeare as it's competition) but it was nevertheless, ultimately very entertaining in watching war movie kind of way. You cannot comprehend what is occuring, yet you cannot tear your eyes away from the truth. (Or part of the truth.) The characters annoy every facet of my mind, with the selfish Abagail, the (what must be pedophilic) John Protor and of course the Preist Parris. How could I forget. I imagine this would be a very powerful play to see, although it is not great, it is still relatively entertaining and worth the read. I suggest you avoid the tape, because whilst I will agree Titaba's voice is highly entertaining, the tape is a very boring piece of listening.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


11 von 15 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Beeindruckende Schilderund der Salem Witch Trials, 25. August 2001
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Crucible. (Taschenbuch)
Das Stück "The Crucible" habe ich zum ersten Mal im Zusammenhang mit dem Geschichtsunterricht gelesen, und es hat mich sehr beeindruckt, in welcher Weise die Geschehnisse des Salem Witch Trial dargestellt wurden. Der Leser ist zum Teil beinahe schockiert über die Gewissenlosigkeit, mit der einige Charaktere vorgehen, er schüttelt aber auch den Kopf über deren Ignoranz. Realistisch wird dargestellt, wie Verleumdung und Falschaussage zu den schrecklichsten Geschehnissen führen kann.
Beunruhigend ist, dass in "The Crucible" Kinder Anklage erheben und unschuldige Frauen als Hexen bezeichnen, wodurch letztere verurteilt werde.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 29 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Crucible: A Play in Four Acts (Penguin Modern Classics)
The Crucible: A Play in Four Acts (Penguin Modern Classics) von Arthur Miller (Taschenbuch - 24. Februar 2000)
EUR 7,90
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen