Kundenrezensionen


68 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (32)
4 Sterne:
 (19)
3 Sterne:
 (9)
2 Sterne:
 (5)
1 Sterne:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


9 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent, but too long in the end
For a first issue at age 25, this book is quite remarkable. Considering how much I myself love to write, I would never be able to do something like this.
The plot is hilariously funny, tragic and sad at times, but slips away in the end, when less would have been more, and pages just go on and on.
Nevertheless, this is highly recommended if you're into...
Am 9. April 2001 veröffentlicht

versus
13 von 15 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Quirky Debut Novel
"White Teeth" is a modern variation on the dreaded "sweeping family epic," but adds a large dollop of eccentric humour and a multi-cultural family background. Sometimes the book feels too long, but don't the "sweeping family epics" always feel too long? I think I would have enjoyed the book more than I actually did if my expectations had not been inflated by the publicity...
Am 15. September 2004 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 27 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

9 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent, but too long in the end, 9. April 2001
Von Ein Kunde
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: White Teeth (Taschenbuch)
For a first issue at age 25, this book is quite remarkable. Considering how much I myself love to write, I would never be able to do something like this.
The plot is hilariously funny, tragic and sad at times, but slips away in the end, when less would have been more, and pages just go on and on.
Nevertheless, this is highly recommended if you're into multi-culti, superethnic London. You will build a movie in your head shortly, with the picturesque language Zadie Smith uses. If she keeps her style, but refines a bit, she'll be a gift to us in five years' time.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


8 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Great Potential and a Great Achievement, 26. März 2001
Rezension bezieht sich auf: White Teeth (Taschenbuch)
Serious themes, seriously meant and you just can't stop laughing.
That is, when you have a teeny weeny bit of insight into how it is for the first and second generation immigrants. If you have no idea what it's like, or take things too seriously (like our reader in Germany below) then I can't say for sure if you're going to get all of the perspectives right in this one, which undoubtedly leads to missing all of the best jokes.
It's like being the fly on the wall as the wonderfully developed characters shuffle through the confusion of who they really are.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


14 von 15 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Perhaps you have to have been there...., 22. April 2002
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: White Teeth (Taschenbuch)
I loved this book and was very surprised by the two German-language reviews which both gave 1 star. Perhaps you have to know England/London fairly well to appreciate it. I haven't lived in England for 20 years but I still recognised the characters and enjoyed the humour very much. Definitely worth a read!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


11 von 12 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Mitreissendes Debüt, 4. Juli 2005
Von 
Werner, Henry (Berlin) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: White Teeth (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
Zadie Smith ist mit "White Teeth" ein mitreissendes Debüt gelungen. Ironisch, mit Biss und dennoch liebe- und respektvoll beschreibt sie die Werdegänge von Aussenseitern, Migranten, Sonderlingen. Beizeiten will Smith ein wenig zu viel und verzettelt sich in Ausführungen, die zu "gewollt klug" sind. Auch zum Ende hin wird die Geschichte etwas straff und konstruiert. Das sind allerdings nur zwei kleine kritische Anmerkungen zu einem Erstlinswerk, das mich ansonsten voll und ganz mitgerissen hat.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Eine wundervolle Gesellschaftssatire, 6. März 2004
Rezension bezieht sich auf: White Teeth (Broschiert)
White Teeth veranschaulicht sehr gut das Problem,wie es ist, fremd zu sein, zwischen zwei Kulturen aufzuwachsen, ohne zu wissen, wo man jetzt eigentlich hingehört.Die Autorin Zadie Smith machte diese Erfahrung selbst, denn sie ist die Tochter einer Jamaikanerin und eines Engländers.
Gerade in Großbritannien haben Immigranten und Ausländer jeden Tag mit neuen Problemen zu kämpfen: Diskriminierung, Vorurteile von anderen und ein eigenes Identitätsproblem. Dieser Roman beschreibt das Schicksal zweier Familien, den Joneses ( aus England und Jamaica) und den Iqbals ( aus Bangladesh) über eine Zeitspanne von 25 Jahren. Vor allem die Jugendlichen haben große Probleme, in zwei Kulturen aufzuwachsen.
White Teeth ist mit einer Doku-Soap aus dem Fernsehen zu vergleichen und hat auch heute keineswegs an Aktualität verloren. Anspruchsvoll und sehr nah an der Wirklichkeit erlebt der Leser die Handlung der Hauptfiguren. Ein etwas anderes Genre von Roman, aber unbedingt empfehlenswert!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen What goes around comes around...., 10. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: White Teeth: A Novel (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I can't remember when I read a book that made me laugh so hard I cried. And--not in just one place but over and over from the beginning to the last page. If this book doesn't win the Booker and every other award in England...well let's give it a Pulitzer in the U.S. And Oprah..I sure hope you can endorse books written by citizens of the U.K.
It's too easy to call this book zany. And, having read Simone de Beauvoir's writing, I can understand how a 24-year old can be brilliant. "White Teeth" is a masterpiece: complex, confounding, existential, and hilarious. Smith takes a wry look at social relationships, including friendships, marriages, parent-child connections, young lovers, gangs, cultural groups, religious cults, intellectual circles, and guys who hang aroung greasy pubs. She meticulously attends to what she observes and deftly records all the nuances of character and behaviour. She is the Jane Austin of the Age of Aquarius. She is the Coraghassan Boyle of Britain.
Smith accurately reflects and humorously depicts the times we live in--a world where individuals are struggling to define the meaning of existence via psychiatry, religion, science, and personal relationships. A world where cultural imperatives are not nearly as critical as "who made me" and "why do I exist."
This is a story of generations and generatonal warfare. Of children who don't understand parents, of parents who don't understand children or each other. Of children who think someone else's parents are superior. Of grandparents who are Jehovah's witnesses and ride motorbikes with former boyfriends who have "seen the light" and great-grandparents who start mutinies but fail to pull the trigger.
Every thread of the narrative is woven into a seamless tale--there are NO loose ends. "What goes around comes around" until the end of time. What is set in motion affects the life that set it in motion. Is this fate? Is it the result of rational thought and action? Is it the will of Allah, God, Jehovah?
How is the Nazi Herr Ferret, with the bleeding tear ducts, Archie Jones and Samid Iqbal encounter in WWII Romania tied to the creation of the SuperMouse by Marcus Chalfen (alias Chalpinski a Jewish emigree from Poland via Germany).
How do the genes of Englishman Captain Charlie Durham ("damn fool bwoy") who sacrificed a thousand Jamaican people for a woman he never knew come to reside in Hortense, Clara and Irie of Jamaican descent. How does Clara loose her teeth, loose Ryan, and manage to fall for another Englishman of dubious intelligence?
How does the identical DNA in Magid and Millat Iqbal coincide with such different personalities. Samid sends Magid to Bangladesh to be raised in the Muslim culture--but he becomes more English than the English and, in spite of his father's protests, returns to England become patent lawyer involved in Marcus Chalfin's SuperMouse project.
Millat, the twin who Samid cannot afford to send to Bangladesh grows up in North London, smokes and sells Marijuana, has a zillion girfriends and loves gangster movies. His heroes are de Niro, Liotta, Pacino. He attempts to renounce these devilish pursuits when he encounters the green-bowtie wearing militant Muslin gang known as KEVIN (yes,they know they have an acronym problem). KEVIN seeks the destruction of all ungodly behavior, including Marcus Chalfin's ungodly experiments with mice. Millat's affinity with gangsters seems convenient ("As far back as I can remember, I always wanted to be a gangster" becomes "As far back as I can remember, I always wanted to be a Muslim.")
Marcus's son Joshua grows a Jewfro and joins FATE, an animal rights group living in a Victorian mansion trashed by Australian illegal immigrants. FATE is the violent arm of Greenpeace that targets the inhumane treatment of animals--including mice raised for nefarious purposes.
Suddenly, it's New Year's Eve and all the characters are headed for Trafalgar Square. FATE travels in it's liberation bus borrowed from a social worker. KEVIN and Sam and Archie and their wives, and Meena the lesbian "niece of shame" travel via subway. Hortense and Ryan follow the Jehovah's Witness bus on their motorscooter. Is it the END OF THE WORLD?
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


13 von 15 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Quirky Debut Novel, 15. September 2004
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: White Teeth (Roman) (Taschenbuch)
"White Teeth" is a modern variation on the dreaded "sweeping family epic," but adds a large dollop of eccentric humour and a multi-cultural family background. Sometimes the book feels too long, but don't the "sweeping family epics" always feel too long? I think I would have enjoyed the book more than I actually did if my expectations had not been inflated by the publicity surrounding this book on its appearance. Far too much hype here, no-one could live up to it. I'm giving the book 3 stars due to its (for me) unwieldy feel, but will follow Zadie Smith with interest. Verdict: worth reading, but not a must.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Tradition oder Fortschritt?, 4. Juni 2003
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: White Teeth (Taschenbuch)
Die Geschicht verschiedener Immigranten in London. Ihr Backround, ihre Geschicht, sowie die Ihrer direkten Vorfahren werden zwischen dem täglichen Leben der ersten und zweiten Generation erzählt. Der Wunsch sowie die Abneigung sich in einer fremden Kultur anzupassen werden vermischt mit unterschiedlichen Ansichten über Religion & Wissenschaft und Tradition & Fortschritt. Auch der Generationskonflikt bezüglich all dieser Elemente ist wunderbar beschrieben. Diese Mischung vielfältiger Themen sowie der erfrischende, neue Schreibstil von Zadie Smith machen das Buch absolut lesenswert.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Zurecht hochgelobt!, 27. April 2003
Rezension bezieht sich auf: White Teeth (Taschenbuch)
Der Debüt-Roman der 28jährigen Zadie Smith, vor drei Jahren erschienen, hat eingeschlagen in der britischen Literatur-Szene.
Mannigfaltige Handlungsstränge, bunt schillernde Charaktere, wechselnde Zeitebenen - dennoch ist "White Teeth" keineswegs schwierig zu lesen. Smith schreibt klar, schaut den Leuten auf die Schnauze und verzichtet auf manirierte Prosa. Um was es geht? Um zwei Immigranten-Familien in London und deren Kinder. Die zweite Generation enttäuscht die Eltern, sie verlieren den "wahren" Glauben (den des Islams [Magid] bzw. den der Zeugen Jehovahs[Irie]) und werden westlich, allzu westlich - oder sie verfechten den Glauben fanatisch [Millat]). Beide Elternpaare und die Kinder sind durch zahlreiche schicksalhafte Ereignisse miteinander verbunden, die Handlung treibt zu einem unguten Finale hin (so glaubt man), das wird spätestens im zweiten Teil des Buches klar, im Kampf für oder gegen die gentechnisch veränderte FutureMouse, ein Forschungsprodukt von Marcus Chalfen, einem Bekannter der Kinder beider Familien. Manchmal erscheint mir das Ganze ein bisschen zu geschickt verwoben, die literarischen Zufälligkeiten sind eines Thomas Hardy würdig. Nichtsdestotrotz: ein lesenswertes, lebendiges, abwechslungsreiches Buch, mit Humor und Verstand geschrieben.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Most likely to recommend, 14. Juli 2000
Von 
Arnold Kling (Silver Spring, Md USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: White Teeth: A Novel (Gebundene Ausgabe)
This novel is not easy to describe. Yes, there is a plot. But like "Bonfire of the Vanities," the plot is secondary to the humor, the creative style, the zany minor characters, and the cultural observations.
Unlike Tom Wolfe, Zadie Smith gives her characters a fairly sympathetic treatment, even as she exposes their flaws and absurdities. That actually makes her slightly more enjoyable, at least to me.
If four-letter words bother you, then stay away from this book. Smith's lower-echelon Londoners cannot speak two consecutive sentences without using the f word.
Otherwise, when people ask me for book recommendations this year, "White Teeth" probably will top my list among novels.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 27 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

White Teeth (Roman)
White Teeth (Roman) von Zadie Smith (Taschenbuch - 30. November 2000)
EUR 7,90
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen