Kundenrezensionen


43 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (33)
4 Sterne:
 (4)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:
 (1)
1 Sterne:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


6 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Magnificent!
This book is one of my very favourites. It is the story of an English couple which has moved to France and their struggles with the French bureaucracy, getting their house finished and freezing in the chilling winds of the mistral. But it is also about the joys of French cuisine, lovely neighbours and the stunning provencal landscape. It is truly a masterpiece. It is...
Veröffentlicht am 15. September 2007 von Taffetapunk

versus
1.0 von 5 Sternen If you get the chance to read this book, DON'T
Rarely has a book received so much critical acclaim for so little reason. One year in the life of a boring snob, even worse, a food snob. Peter Mayle does nothing to help us understand another culture. No truffles of wisdom here.
Read this book if you want twelve chapters of the eating habits of an elitist snob. My advice - if you get the chance to read this...
Veröffentlicht am 1. September 1999 von Luke


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

5.0 von 5 Sternen Lovely visit to France-for its Italian=read AS THE ROMANS DO, 5. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
I read and re-read A Year in Provence and longed for the European sensibilities; the sensual, amusing, delicious ways. Then I visited France and although it was beautiful I found it lacking in something that I couldn't put my finger on. Then I visited Italy and my life changed. Years went by and I finally took the plunge and moved to the place that captured my heart, bella Roma. Then recently I read the new book by Alan Epstein, As the Romans Do: The Delights, Dramas and Daily Diversions of Life in the Eternal City and he described exactly what it was I was feeling. If you didn't get enough with a Year in Provence or if you love Italy as much or more than France then you MUST read As the Romans Do.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen wonderful book, 8. Dezember 1999
This was a very enjoyable book. Mayle's descriptions of France are intricate and his humor profusely evident. The books takes the reader through all aspects of the Provencal life--from cooking to farming to hunting and even to a goat race. Perhaps Mayle's most amusing character is Massot, a fox-hunting, trespasser/camper- hating neighbor who is perpetually seeking someone to buy his ramshackle farm. In every chapter there is plenty to keep readers amused and amazed--as in the rich variety and emphasis in the culture regarding food. The descriptions of the work on the narrator's newly acquired house may have been a little too frequent and extensive--but overall, a wonderful book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen I have died and gone to heaven, 18. Juni 2000
Von 
Lynda Lowman "book yenta" (Bonners Ferry, Id USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
I live in northern Idaho where we are at the whimsy of the elements and when I stumbled onto this lovely book I was entranced. I can understand moving to an area where it is hard to communicate with the natives.......we have several ethnic groups here.......and although they are a source of enlightenment, sometimes it is hard to get the work done. Mayles has the unique ability to transport one to a place where we all would like to be. Would that we had the wherewithall to accomplish our desires. His sense of humor is not to be excelled. I loved this book and it set me up for the rest. Keep on Mayles! I'm awaiting the next book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen CAPTURES THE ESSENCE OF PROVENCE--PERFECT IN EVERY WAY, 13. Januar 2000
I was born in and grew up in Provence. In this book, Peter Mayle does the seemingly impossible--he captures the essence of a place so perfectly the reader is almost transported. Far from being a travel book, A Year in Provence is a timeless classic, both beautifully written and hilariously funny. Mayle is a genius when it comes to Provence. His characters are lively and full of fun, the situations (e.g., German campers) real, and the tone of book so perfect it's a dream. Read it for enjoyment, read it to learn about Provence. Either way you will be entertained and you certainly can't go wrong.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Very fine escape from the mundane travel writing we see now., 2. August 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Mayle presents travel escapism at it's best, although this book should be digested in small portions to avoid the feeling that you've eaten too much candy. Mayle's Provencal lifestyle and the true, colourful characters he encounters in his day-to-day life are just the ticket for the hordes of stressed-out office workers who are still three months away from vacation who seem to read his books.
In all, a book to be celebrated. Much better than Frances Mayes insensitive, griping, shallow "My important vacations in Tuscany" series.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Oh la la... La Provence, 5. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
With my wife coming from the region of Provence in the South of France, and having spent numerous vacations hiking the hills, swimming in the sea, eating the food, and drinking the Pastis of Provence I must say this book is a delight to read. From the "langue provencal" to the rain that is simply "pas normal" I am touched with each turn of the page. Peter Mayle does outstanding work describing an outsider view and is a must read for anyone who likes France and especially the wonderful region in the south.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A Year in Provence, 15. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
It is like taking a vacation in the South of France. Every page makes one want to win the lottery and leave for Provence tomorrow; of course with other books by Peter Mayle in your luggage. This author makes one feel like he/she has found utopia, despite the hardships that Mayle and his wife faced trying to communicate in French and with the Frenchmen. This is the retirement destination of all who can afford it. Peter Mayle makes you wish your next vacation is to Provence-with its vineyards and countryside.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen If the truth be known......, 1. Dezember 1999
Von Ein Kunde
this book is hilarious, because it is actually an accurate account of life in France for an ex-pat. Having lived in France for 5-years there isn't a chapter I do not relate to in some way. And, with fond, fond memories. I read this book in the second year of my residency in this incredible country, and enjoyed it even more the second time around having left France 4 years ago. I had never thought of it as a travel book before, except it makes me yearn to return also.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A great read at bedtime ..., 24. September 1998
I encountered this book in Florence, Alabama at a B&B in which I spent a restful and rewarding weekend a little while ago. This book was on the shelf just above the lamp table. Having spent a little time in Provence, I picked it up, and immediately got involved with the author's delicious mastery of turning impossible Provencal denizen doings into vivid and often hilarious English. I intend to continue to read this fine author's works in future.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen A healthy and hilarious lesson in how to shrug-it-off., 5. September 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Year In Provence (Gebundene Ausgabe)
While Peter Mayle's style may not be described by some as literary, his skill at recording the humourous details of daily life in a new culture made me laugh out loud. The people of Mayle's adopted country are represented with respect, something that is not always found in the travel genre, and there is the strong feeling that Mayle loves the country because of it's inhabitants. For me, like many others, this book has inspired travel plans.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

A Year in Provence
A Year in Provence von Peter Mayle (Taschenbuch - 1. Juni 2000)
EUR 11,30
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen