Kundenrezensionen


23 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (14)
4 Sterne:
 (6)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen How philosophy helps us in our life
The author shows how philosophy supplied Socrates with convictions in which he was able to have rational confidence when faced with adversity. In Socrates' time, the opinion of the majority was equated with truth. He thus suffered the sad fate to be good and yet judged evil. We should therefore strive to listen to the dictates of the reason and not the dictates of public...
Veröffentlicht am 28. Oktober 2007 von HORAK

versus
3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen no clothes on this emporer
Oh, thank goodness for brick-n-mortar book stores! Had I notbeen able to inspect this book, I might have spent at Amazon basedonly on the above reviews.
I opened the book at the beginning and read several pages and put it back on the shelf with a puzzled shrug. Later, recalling these glowing reviews, I went back and read more. And put it back with a frown. And,...
Veröffentlicht am 19. Juni 2000 von David


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen no clothes on this emporer, 19. Juni 2000
Von 
David (PALO ALTO, CA, United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Oh, thank goodness for brick-n-mortar book stores! Had I notbeen able to inspect this book, I might have spent at Amazon basedonly on the above reviews.
I opened the book at the beginning and read several pages and put it back on the shelf with a puzzled shrug. Later, recalling these glowing reviews, I went back and read more. And put it back with a frown. And, baffled at the absence of the wit and wisdom others claim to have found, I circled back yet a third time and read part of another chapter.
Folks, you are all able to see some clothing on this emporer that escapes my gaze entirely. This is a bad book. It is dull. It is shallow. Its attempts at humor are forced and intrusive. What is worse than attempted whimsy that falls flat? And this book's whimsy is a flat souffle indeed.
This book reduces the richness of the thought of several great minds to the thinnest of platitudes -- and it surrounds those platitudes with page after page of the author's self-centered ditherings and irrelevant graphics.
There certainly is a market for a book that makes the thought of any philosophers accessible and relevant. This one is not that book. It is a disservice to the philosophers and to its readers.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen How philosophy helps us in our life, 28. Oktober 2007
Von 
HORAK (Zug, Switzerland) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Consolations of Philosophy (Taschenbuch)
The author shows how philosophy supplied Socrates with convictions in which he was able to have rational confidence when faced with adversity. In Socrates' time, the opinion of the majority was equated with truth. He thus suffered the sad fate to be good and yet judged evil. We should therefore strive to listen to the dictates of the reason and not the dictates of public opinion.
The philosophy of Epicures places an emphasis on the importance of sexual pleasure and he promises that philosophy will guide us to superior cures and true happiness. Friendship and freedom are the two most important items on the Epicurean acquisition list.
Seneca conceived of philosophy as a discipline to assist human beings in overcoming conflicts between their wishes and reality. He saw that we must reconcile ourselves to the necessary imperfectability of existence. We will cease to be angry once we cease to be too hopeful.
Cicero claims that scholarship furnishes us with true means of living well and happily, to spend our lives without discontent and without vexation.
Montaigne saw that we have to accept our body with all its flaws: it smells, aches, ages, throbs and pulses.
Booksellers are the most valuable destination for the lonely, given the number of books that were written because authors couldn't find anyone to talk to. Actually every difficult work presents us with the choice whether to judge the author inept for not being clear, or ourselves stupid for not understanding the ideas.
For Schopenhauer, a man of genius can hardly be sociable, for what dialogues could indeed be so intelligent and entertaining as his own monologues? For him, art and philosophy help us to turn pain into knowledge. "The prudent man strives for freedom from pain, not pleasure."
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Best way to start understanding and appreciating philosophy, 2. Juni 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
For most people, including myself, phylosophy is a field that is perceived to require such a strong humanistic education, that one does not really try to start seriously reading a book of a known phylosopher (besides just reading some quotes out of context). This book by Alan de Botton is one of the most motivating ways to understand life, thinking and circumstances that led selected phylosophers come up with their views. Very easy to read, written for helping the non expert reader understanding and not - as it often happens with books in this fields - written from experts for experts to prove each other the finesse of their insights.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Philosophy in perspective, 30. Juli 2000
The Consolations of Philosphy is a great book, that bridges the gap between the abstract image many people have of philosophers and what they were like as human beings. De Bottom, while considering each philosophers importance and influence on Western thought, also paints a collection of touching portraits that bring them down from the pedestals by giving us an intimate look into the people and places behind the ideas. After finishing this book you will never look at Socrates, or Schopenhauer the same way again. In the portraits that De Bottom gives us, we are reminded of both the importance of philosophy, and the unhearlded, events that produced it. In Reading these stories you are invited to take a rare glimpse into the minds of some of the most important thinkers of Western culture, and in the process, gain a better understanding of what philosophy really means, not only to the world but to oneself.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen True Consolation, 29. Juli 2000
Von 
Don't confuse a light-handed approach with lack of substance. The author is obviously knowledgable about the philosophers whose thought he deals with in this book. Rather than a Victorian-style heavy meal, he prepares a 'nouvelle cuisine' dish full of subtle flavor. And the book really is useful as a self-help volume..when a friend recently remarked that I seemed to be adapting well to our newly-appointed boss's directives, I replied based on deBotton's chapter on Seneca: "A dog can either run behind the cart, or be dragged along, either way, he's going where the cart goes... and I intend to run, not get dragged." My only quibble is that there is no mention of the exalted philosopher Boethius, from whose work the title and the concept (philosophy as healing) are derived. I would have sincerely loved a chapter discussing Boethius, for example his notion of predestination v. free will. Maybe next time... but I still love this book!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Don't worry Be happy, 21. Juli 2000
When a man who has just suffered a serious problem (eg. his house burnt down) is interviewed on the news, and he remains calm and composed ("At least I got out alive, things could be worse"), the reporter describes him as being philosophical.
De Botton takes being philosophical to another level, demonstrating that even philosophers can be "philosophical". He takes six philosophers and culls from their writings (in the case of Socrates, Plato's) ways to handle difficulties in life.
He offers:
Socrates on being unpopular ("We shouldn't care all that much about what the populace will say of us, but about what the expert on matters of justice and injustice will say"); Epicurus on not having enough money ("when measured by the natural purpose of life, poverty is greath wealth; limitless wealth, great poverty"); Seneca on frustration ("Unseasonable weather upsets the health; and we must fall ill...we cannot change this order of things...it is to this law (of Nature) that our souls must adjust themselves, this they should follow, this they should obey...That which you cannot reform, it is best to endure"); Montaigne on inadequacy ("We are richer than we think, each one of us"); Schopenhauer on a broken heart ("In the course of his own life and in its misfortunes, he will look less at his own individual lot than at the lot of mankind as a whole, and accordingly will conduct himself...more as a knower than a sufferer"); Nietzsche on difficulties. Nietzsche, at least on a simplistic level, seems to have dealt with difficulties by going insane. This doesn't seem, to me, to provide much consolation. His writings may offer some consolation, but one also can't ignore the life that he lived. Constrast him with Socrates and Seneca who went to their prescribed deaths with utmost equanimity. Perhaps I could be wrong, but he might have done better had he embraced his father's religion rather than abhorring it.
De Botton makes the musings of these men accessible to a general audience. The book is easy to read and may even spur you on to read the actual works of these philosohers.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Consolation fits best, 5. Juli 2000
Von 
Shaun Hazel (Tacoma, WA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
One entering the world of philosophy, will find that they begin to open their minds to new worlds. One begins to compare and realize that even from some of the oldest philosophers, Socrates, Plato, and Seneca, we all can relate no matter the time frame.
This terrifically written book, sums up to me the world which is out there, only we struggle to reach it when sometimes the answer is right in front of us.
I highly recommend this book, simply for the enjoyment of seeing what the human mind is capable of producing.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen consolation from critics, 5. Juli 2000
Von Ein Kunde
How best to speak of Schopenhauer? Lightly or seriously?
Both ways work.
Really a shame that this book got pounded in the New York Times Book Review, because I got a lot out of it. Just a few months earlier, John Portmann got pounded in the New York Times as well for being too serious in When Bad Things Happen to Other People. Both that book and The Consolations of Philosophy devote chapters to Schopenhauer and to Nietzsche; both books tease out of these philosophers lessons for us to profit from today. Both ways of talking about Schopenhauer pan out.
A good idea, no doubt, to take book critics with a grain of salt. No need to worry about consoling De Botton, in any event -- he has taught himself where to look for solace, as this snappy book shows.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Simplicity can be profound, 27. Juni 2000
The great complaint one might make against this book is to say, 'What the philosophers are saying is simple.' That certainly is true; it is simple. You don't need a Phd to understand Montaigne or Nietzsche - whatever philosophy professors might argue. However, simplicity shouldn't be confused with banality. There is - admittedly - a knife-edge of difference between them, but a difference no less; and Alain de Botton knows the difference. He is that rare thing; someone interested in writing about the good life, and who sees this project as seriously as - say - Nietzsche saw it. I strongly recommend the book - a bold and rare piece of art.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Come ye disconsolate!, 22. Juni 2000
Von 
Charles S. Houser (Binghamton, NY) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Somehow, I managed to get through high school and college without ever seriously reading any of the great Western philosophers. The Consolations of Philosophy is an excellent introduction and quick (I mean,QUICK) overview of six of these men. The deadwhitemales discussed are Socrates, Epicurus, Seneca, Montaigne, Schopenhauer, and Nietzsche. The discussion is lively and thought-provoking--and amusingly illustrated. This book would serve as an excellent secondary text for an introduction to philosophy course. Even the most jaded undergraduate will want to learn more about the teachings of the philosophers covered. I found the chapters on Seneca ("Consolation for Frustration"), Montaigne ("Consolation for Inadequacy"), and Nietzsche ("Consolation for Difficulties") the most engaging and challenging. De Botton's writing and thinking are fresh and remind me, for some reason, of the cultural essays of Susan Bordo (and Camille Paglia in her more reasonable moments).
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Consolations of Philosophy
The Consolations of Philosophy von Alain de Botton (Taschenbuch - 1. März 2001)
EUR 12,80
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen