Kundenrezensionen


58 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (26)
4 Sterne:
 (9)
3 Sterne:
 (5)
2 Sterne:
 (9)
1 Sterne:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


9 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Menschliches Verhalten aus der Sicht der Evolution
Vor längerem hatte ich Steven Pinkers erstes Buch "The language instinct" gelesen, bei dem aber einige Kapitel sehr trocken und theoretisch waren, andere aber sehr interessant. Daher hatte ich erst etwas gezögert nochmal ein Buch von ihm zu lesen, aber ich bereue es nicht es doch getan zu haben. Denn dies Buch ist von Anfang bis Ende sehr interessant,...
Veröffentlicht am 16. November 2001 von Andreas Hörstemeier

versus
1 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Nicely written, but overlong and misleading
An example of the narrow-mindedness encouraged by Pinker's computational brain:
In the middle of the book Pinker cites Lakoff (1987) and a few of the examples given in the latter's _Women, Fire, and Dangerous Things_ to show that the traditional criterial-attribute model of categorization is incorrect. Now, the well-read reader knows what Lakoff was trying to...
Am 31. Oktober 1998 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 26 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

9 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Menschliches Verhalten aus der Sicht der Evolution, 16. November 2001
Rezension bezieht sich auf: How the Mind Works (Taschenbuch)
Vor längerem hatte ich Steven Pinkers erstes Buch "The language instinct" gelesen, bei dem aber einige Kapitel sehr trocken und theoretisch waren, andere aber sehr interessant. Daher hatte ich erst etwas gezögert nochmal ein Buch von ihm zu lesen, aber ich bereue es nicht es doch getan zu haben. Denn dies Buch ist von Anfang bis Ende sehr interessant, und deckt ein weites Spektrum des menschlichen Wesens ab - angefangen davon was das Gehirn von (heutigen) Computern unterscheidet, wie das Gehirn Logik, dreidimensionales Sehen, oder (als Linguist natürlich Pinkers Spezialgebiet) die Sprache meistert; dann aber auch in den weiteren Kapiteln wie die menschlichen Verhaltensweisen - positive wie Liebe, Freundschaft oder Altruismus, genauso wie die negativen wie Eifersucht, Mord oder Krieg - sich aus der Sicht der Evolution erklären lassen, denn hätten sie sich nicht positiv für die Fortpflanzungserfolg ausgewirkt hätten sie sich nicht entwickelt. Die Ideen aus dem zweiten Teil sind zwar nicht neu, Bücher wie "The selfish gene" gibt es ja schon länger, aber die Kombination dieser mit den Erklärungen der "einfacheren" Hirnfunktionen macht das Buch empfehlenswert.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Red yet? Tow truck two!, 16. Januar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: How the Mind Works (Taschenbuch)
Ok, so it's not like Mr. Pinker drew a road map of our more-tangled-than-Christmas-lights neuron web, explaining the actual physics of the functioning mind. That's good! If Pinker could write such a book, who in their right mind (thank you for your courtesy laugh) would want to read such a bland text?
Do you enjoy reading your car's manual? No! But, if you didn't already know, you probably would like to know the logic, the ideas, and the purpose behind the handy glove box or the mysterious distributor cap.
This book is not a great scientific achievement because it enables us to build a mind out of various items found between our couch cushions. It's a great scientific achievement because it helps explain the window through which we all experience our world in a fun and easy to read text that omits trite details.
Well studied scientists, geniuses, and PHD's might find this book a waste of time. Good! Go write text books or something. But if you're an average person interested in a introduction to the mind that natural selection built, buy this book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen "The best book ever written on the human mind", 7. Juni 2000
Von 
William Podmore (London United Kingdom) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: How the Mind Works (Taschenbuch)
Steven Pinker is Professor of Psychology at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and author of the renowned books, 'The language instinct' (Penguin, 1995) and 'Words and rules: the ingredients of language' (Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 2000). In this book, described by one reviewer as 'the best book ever written on the human mind', he puts forward a general theory about how and why the human mind works the way it does. Yet it is not a ponderous book; it is beautifully written and full of jokes and stories.
Pinker marries Darwin's theory of evolution to the latest developments in neuroscience and computation. He shows in detail how the process of natural selection shaped our entire neurological networks; how the struggle for survival selects from among our genes those most fit to flourish in our environment. Nature has produced in us bodies, brains and minds attuned to coping intelligently with whatever our environment demands. Housed in our bodies, our minds structure neural networks into adaptive programmes for handling our perceptions. Pinker concludes, "The mind is a system of organs of computation, designed by natural selection to solve the kinds of problems our ancestors faced in their foraging way of life."
Our beliefs and desires are information, allowing us to create meaning. "Beliefs are inscriptions in memory, desires are goal inscriptions, thinking is computation, perceptions are inscriptions triggered by sensors, trying is executing operations triggered by a goal." Pinker writes that the mind has a 'design stance' for dealing with artefacts, a 'physical stance' for dealing with objects, and an 'intentional stance' for dealing with people. "Causal and inferential roles tend to be in sync because natural selection designed both our perceptual and our inferential modules to work accurately, most of the time, in this world." With this down-to-earth kind of explanation, there is no need to invoke mysterious intangible powers: "We don't need spirits or occult forces to explain intelligence." Pinker sums up the recent amazing developments in neurobiology and cognitive science. This book, like those by his colleagues Daniel Dennett ('Darwin's dangerous idea' and 'Consciousness explained') and Richard Dawkins ('River out of Eden' and 'Unweaving the rainbow'), should be required reading. They are all Darwinians, but then why shouldn't they be? It is just like saying that all physicists are Einsteinians nowadays, or that all poets and playwrights are Shakespeareans, or that all osteopaths are Stillians. Their books make Karl Popper, so hostile to Darwin, and Californian gurus like Fritjof Capra, sadly outdated.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen interesting but flawed, 22. Juni 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: How the Mind Works (Taschenbuch)
This book is interesting and had me thinking so I can easily recommend it. Unfortunately there are a couple of things that troubled me.
I have an autistic son and the one page about autism implied a lot more understanding and consensus about this condition than I believe exists. I can't help wondering if this overconfidence is a problem in other parts of the book where I don't have any prior knowledge.
I was also troubled about the tone he used toward religion. I don't expect belief or even the suspension of disbelief but I came away wondering if Steven Pinker thought that all religious leaders were not only wrong but knew that they were wrong. Comments about shamans and Jesus stick out. I wonder if the same sort of "I'm right and their blatently wrong" attitude affected his assessment of scientists who disagreed with him.
These two points would be minor nits if I could point to other parts of the book that I thought were right on target. Since I am new to the subject I will have to leave it as this book was fascinating but I need to do some more reading.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
2.0 von 5 Sternen Nicely written, but overlong and misleading, 31. Oktober 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: How the Mind Works (Gebundene Ausgabe)
An example of the narrow-mindedness encouraged by Pinker's computational brain:
In the middle of the book Pinker cites Lakoff (1987) and a few of the examples given in the latter's _Women, Fire, and Dangerous Things_ to show that the traditional criterial-attribute model of categorization is incorrect. Now, the well-read reader knows what Lakoff was trying to demonstrate; that classical logic is inadequate when it comes to explaining how people categorize. Much of his book is devoted to showing the many interesting ways people actually do categorize. It's all centered around Eleanor Rosch's prototype theory, and the significant factor played in best examples of a category, radial categorization, metaphor, metonomy, etc., etc.

Pinker's "refutation" of Lakoff's examples is amazing. Without mentioning prototype theory (there or in the entire book), he argues that Lakoff's mistake is not realizing that such fuzzy categories are the result of "idealizations". Having satisfied the ignorant reader that Lakoff is on the wrong track, Pinker moves on to other topics.

But the hypocrisy is obvious. Pinker's concept of an "idealization" is not too far removed from Rosch's "prototype"!And in the process of ignoring the vast empirical data in support of how minds *really* categorize, Pinker feels safe to remain in the classical framework of categorization.

Since I cannot believe that Pinker is ignorant of what Lakoff was actually talking about in his book, or the work of Rosch, I must conclude that by avoiding the real issues behind prototype theory he was being deliberately deceptive. And he is a very charismatic writer and speaker, so his popularizations have a better chance of reaching the public than the sometimes admittedly dense and verbose _Women, Fire, and Dangerous Things_. He leaves his readers with a biased report on the state of cognitive science, using what appears to me to be outright deception in the process, such as in the above example.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Wow, 13. Juli 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: How the Mind Works (Taschenbuch)
Let me start out by saying that I am an eighteen-year old reader who will be attending college next year and pursuing the study of neuroscience.
I remember sitting on the airplane yesterday and, while reading the section on the sexes, thinking to myself, "Wow. If someone just glazed this section over and missed the underlying point Pinker makes, this could appear really sexist." Lo and behold, I read the review below by Ms. Aloupie, and it appears to me that she has missed the point entirely.
The first clue is when she calls it "His theory" -- she may have missed the preface in which he states that almost all of the ideas are not his; he has merely compiled the best ones. He is not sexist towards anyone; he is simply pointing out how nature works as per relations between males and females. Where does he call anyone a "sissy?"
Here is where Ms. Aloupie's main argument doesn't make sense. She states that he is vehemently sexist towards both men and women. Let me get this straight: sexism is the discrimination against someone based on his or her gender. This means that to discriminate against someone, another person must be benefitted on similarly unjust grounds. For example, if I am a racist, I might give a job to a white person over an African-American simply because he is white. Pinker cannot, therefore, discriminate against both sexes; who is getting the benefit, I ask? Hermaphrodites?
Ms. Aloupie talks about Pinker's sorry lack of proof (which I must have missed in reading the entire book); however, she herself fails to cite a single quote or specific instance in her entire review.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


0 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Very good, 11. Juni 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: How the Mind Works (Taschenbuch)
I am satisfied both with the book's condition and the speed of its delivery. I recommend this service wholeheartedly. Thank you.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


0 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Excellent book that elucidates many areas of the human mind., 15. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: How the Mind Works (Taschenbuch)
"How the Mind Works" by Steven Pinker is one ofthe best books available today about the human mind. It is wideranging, extremely well written, and has an thorough bibliography.

The book gives an excellent introduction to cognitive science, which explores the human mind in terms of the composite fields of psychology, sociology, anthropology, biology, neuroscience, artificial intelligence, and philosophy. One can read the entire book, take notes, and learn as much in a week or two as one would in a semester college course(s).

The central ideas of the book involve the computational theory of mind and the theory of evolution. Pinker argues that the mind is a modular, information processing, natural adaptation.

In reading about current brain research, I must say that it is amazing how much scientists can learn about the brain simply from close observation of animals, children, brain injury patients, twin siblings, and computerized robots. Pinker also includes important topics such as human emotion, social relations, and the arts.
...Pinker clearly and emphatically addresses the naturalistic fallacy. The naturalistic fallacy involves deriving "ought" from "is". That is to say, the way things were is not necessarily the way things have to be or should be. He leaves plenty of room for human freewill and ethics.

To sum up, an excellent book that elucidates many areas of the human mind.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


0 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A Well-Written and Brilliant Book, 4. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: How the Mind Works (Taschenbuch)
Although I'm leary of biological explanations for human behavior, Steven Pinker convinced me. He has two main points in the book: the mind is an incredibly complex computer, and the mind is the result of evolution. You might think that this denigrates the human mind, but Pinker shows how truly amazing our brains are. Computer scientists find it very difficult to solve problems that human minds solve easily every day, including distinguishing objects from their surroundings, recognizing faces, determining whether someone is lying, eliminating irrelevant facts to go to the crux of a problem, and, yes, making decisions. Pinker writes beautifully. He's funny, easy-to-understand, and has a huge frame of reference, pulling in references to The Simpson's, the latest brain research, and Mark Twain with equal ease. This isn't as focused as his book The Language Instinct, but that may be because the topic is so much broader.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


0 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen How the Mind Works, 15. März 2000
Von 
Atheen M. Wilson "Atheen" (Mpls, MN United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: How the Mind Works (Taschenbuch)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It certainly covered a lot of territory; including computor technology, evolution, art, scientific thinking, society and socialization, etc. Mr. Pinker was able to take even a comparative novice through his arguments regarding human and artificial intelligence, primarily by showing the complexity of the task of creating the "awareness" of human intelligence in the latter (or even of the advisability of it). He also gave a lucid account of why humans think as they do--that is, not always as the scientist might advise--and how this might have arisen evolutionarily. It is not a book to be read quickly, however, especially by the nonprofessional, as it is densely packed with information and requires (and deserves) time to consider it all.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 26 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

How the Mind Works
How the Mind Works von Steven Pinker (Taschenbuch - 1999)
EUR 15,20
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen