Fashion Sale Hier klicken Jetzt informieren b2s Cloud Drive Photos Erste Wahl Learn More HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,5 von 5 Sternen
259
4,5 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:8,99 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 2. Januar 2001
Donna Tartt's first (and only) novel is, in my humble opinion, one of the most exciting books of the 20th century! It's one of those rare books that is both, intelligent and thrilling! I had to read it in one go, getting hardly any sleep during those days, yet always hoping that it wouldn't be finished too soon! Set in an New England élite college, 'The Secret History' manages to introduce the reader to the world of ancient Greek mysticismon the basis of a modern-day murder mystery.Ms. Tartt's writing is so elegant and powerful, yet so thrilling it takes your breath away.I bought this book shortly after its initial release in 1992 almost by accident: I was waiting for a plane in Frankfurt airport and decided to buy a book in the airport bookstore. Somehow the cover of 'The Secret History' caught my interest. And what a surprise... Since then, I have read this book 3 times and it never failed to thrill and enthrall me, time and again.Highly recommended, a definite must-read !!Matthias Gumz - Berlin, Germany
0Kommentar| 26 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
VINE-PRODUKTTESTERam 20. Januar 2008
The book is exceptionally well written and has an interesting plot with remarkable characters that keep your interest to the very end. It is told in the first-person perspective by a young college student from a a humble background who becomes a member of a clique whose members are from a a better social class, well, at least some of them. Their privileged background doesn’t really help their characters and morals, so very soon a murder occurs which needs to be covered up. The reader learns early on about the murderers so the tension lies, among other things, when the murderers will be discovered. Nothing is, however, that easy or even what it seems. The author keeps you guessing till the end, but then the novel is more about the moral depths in all of us than a simple tale of murder and cruelty. Very recommendable.
0Kommentar| 8 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. Januar 2016
Durch die Beschreibung "the secret history tells the story of a group of classics students at an elite American college, who are cerebral, obsessive and finally murderous... is a compelling and brilliant piece of fiction (The Times) - habe ich Erwartungen oder Vorstellungen gehegt, die nicht erfüllt wurden.
Denn die Beschreibung wurde dem Roman nicht gerecht.

Vorab: Es ist ein Schmöker und ein Page-Turner, und man kann nicht davon lassen, sobald man angefangen hat, darin zu lesen.
Die klassischen Stereotypen werden aber nur bedingt bedient.
Spannend ist, dass die Geschichte vor Zeiten von Smartphone, Twitter und Facebook spielt (1992 veröffentlicht), und so vielleicht in der heutigen Zeit gar nicht mehr glaubhaft wäre, man fast etwas Nostalgie im Stil von Agatha Christie Romanen spürt. Fesselnd und gar nicht schonend wird die Geschichte um eine kleine Gruppe Studenten der klassischen Philologie beschrieben, das Uni-Leben, Probleme von Mit-Zwanzigern, insgesamt aber düster und melancholisch.
Ernüchternd würd ich den Ton nennen, gerissen der Plot, kühl und schrecklich (positiv) die Figuren.
Es ist Hitchcock, nur auf 670 Seiten.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
TOP 1000 REZENSENTam 29. Juni 2014
"The Secret History" ist eines dieses Bücher, das man nicht weglegen kann und wo man am Ende wirklich fast verzweifelt ist, dass es nicht mehr weitergeht, so sehr ist man abgetaucht in die Welt der Geschichte. Dabei gibt es im Buch eigentlich keine Figur, mit der man sich irgendwie identifizieren kann und mit der man aus diesem Grund mitfiebert. Alle Figuren tragen eine Schuld in sich und bei keiner Figur weiß man, wie sehr man ihr vertrauen kann. Und auch wenn jeder schuldig ist, hofft man doch in jeder Sekunde, dass die Schuld nicht aufgedeckt wird und jeder davonkommt. Auch wenn es um einen Mord am Freund geht. Gleichzeitig weiß man, dass die Figuren nicht davonkommen. Man merkt, dass sie sich selbst zerstören. Das ist alles so faszinierend zu lesen. Auch sonst hat das Buch viel zu bieten. Die Sprache ist dicht und gut, die Atmosphäre an der Universität sehr anziehend -- dieses Schweben im Dekadenten, zu dem der Mensch neigt. Dass dies eine klassische Tendenz im Menschen ist, zeigen die alten Griechen, die den Figuren als Beispiel dienen. Ich mochte das Buch also wirklich sehr und empfehle es daher uneingeschränkt.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Juni 2000
The Kirkus review is way off the mark, the usual drivel in search of profound statements. I don't know what he/she has been reading, but I will say, this is a story which reaches to the primal streak in all our souls. The story is fantastic. The detail is worthy of Michener but focused entirely around emotions and affairs of the mind of people, those elusive, rational yet clearly unpredictable qualities all of us are afraid of revealing or even thinking for fear we could get get comfortable with being the monsters we know humans are capable of. The story revolves around the fallacies of life, the follies of thinking, and the lines of so-called normality we all brush up against and fear we might cross. And this book lays out those fears, that indeed, in a different time and place, we are all capable of not only seeing the demons inside us most clearly but embracing them to act uncivilly in the most civilized manner. A great read, but be prepared to have a more than passing knowledge of Classical history. A good reference to the Classics will be helpful, for many of the references serve only to underscore the truly barbaric nature from hence we all sprang. On a different note, being from Vermont I was a tad dismayed with the apparent lack of knowledge of the area displayed by the author, which took away from the credibility of the story. Another failing on the part of the author and the editor(and contradiction) to clearly establish the time period. If it's the early to mid 60's (which is the right time frame for the feelings and practices) then there are at least three references which cause someone who pays attention to that consternation (I know, it's only a story!) I'll still give it 5 stars, and hope I never visit the depths of my mind as these characters do.
0Kommentar| 6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. September 2014
Richard ist nicht glücklich zu Hause. Seine Eltern interessieren sich nicht sonderlich für ihn und als er dann auch noch Zukunftspläne schmiedet, die mit denen seines Vaters nicht übereinstimmen, entziehen sie ihm jegliche Unterstützung sowohl finanzieller als auch persönlicher Art. Er ist also völlig auf sich gestellt, als er im College seiner Wahl eintrifft. Sein Augenmerkt fällt auf einen Kurs, der sich mit griechischer Geschichte auseinandersetzt und zu dem nur einige Auserwählte, vorzugsweise gut situierte Schüler Zugang finden. Mit einer Notlüge verschafft er sich das Ticket und sieht sich plötzlich aufgenommen in den elitären Zirkel um Professor Julian Morrow. Die Gruppe lernt nicht nur gemeinsam sondern verbringt auch fast jede freie Minute zusammen, so dass Richard, isoliert vom Rest der Studentenschaft, eine Welt kennenlernt, die nicht nur für ihn neu und geheimnisvoll ist.

Auf den ersten Blick erwartet man eine Studenten-Internatsgeschichte, wie man sie schon oft gelesen oder im Kino gesehen hat. Nicht nur einmal hatte ich das Gefühl etwas Ähnliches schon vorgesetzt bekommen zu haben. Doch der Schein trügt hier gewaltig. Die Autorin erzählt in einer ruhigen entspannten Art und Weise, die gut unterhält und angenehm zu lesen ist. Allerdings baut sich die Dramatik langsam aber stetig auf, ein ungutes Gefühl schlich sich ein, und, nachdem ich bemerkte, worauf die Handlung hinauslief, war es mit dem wohligen Anfangsgefühl auch schnell vorbei. Wie es Donna Tartt anstellte, dass ich mich zeitgleich unbehaglich und in der Geschichte gut aufgehoben fühlte, ist mir ein Rätsel. Sie erzählt aus objektiver Sicht, scheinbar ohne Wertung und verzichtet mühelos auf offene Kritik. Dies alles überlässt sie dem Leser, und Haltung zu beziehen ist nicht immer einfach. Aber man muss sie einnehmen und wenn man dies tut, findet man keine Ruhe mehr.

„The Secret History“ ist kein actiongeladener Thriller, der blutrünstig auf den Leser losgeht und dennoch fällt es schwer, die Gedanken selbst in Pausen von dem Lesestoff zu lösen. Ruhig und ich möchte fast sagen in einem heiter wirkenden Tonfall wird eine beklemmende Geschichte erzählt, die noch lange nachhallt und nicht nur das Leben der Protagonisten nachhaltig verändert.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. Dezember 1999
I read this book the summer after it came out and it changed the way I look at contemporary literature. The characters are well-developed and you learn to know them as if they were your friends down the street. Eventually, as if you've known them for years. The descriptive details that Ms. Tart uses paints the scenes beautifully. She truly captures the feel of each season as the book unfolds. I have two copies of this book. I read it every winter and it reminds me that the contemporary literature isn't dead yet. Those who don't like this book, i'm going to guess, may lack the skills to comprehend the many references to popular culture and classical literature and art. For those of you clued in and intelligent, you'll wish you'd have found it years ago. A read you won't put down until it's finished, this book is for unpretentious, well-read intellectuals who think most books that are written today are simple formulas by people out of touch with the real world. The Secret History is written by a brilliant young writer for clued-in young readers, simply put. If you don't understand this novel, you probably weren't supposed to. And please, please Donna Tart: Those who read this book and feel it, are patiently awaiting your second novel.
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. Mai 2015
For simple reasons, this is my alltime favorite!
-Donna Tartt's extremely intelligent way of writing, painting pictures with her language, giving background knowledge about all kinds of things
-Her smart way of comparing the Greek mind to today's by giving insights into the ancient world
-Well described, deep characters that you can imagine to be real
-Awesome story. Even though we know who gets killed right from the beginning, the incidents leading to the murder (part 1) and the consequences (part 2) are still drawing the reader into the world of the students
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. Dezember 1997
There is no question that Donna Tartt is a writer of great talent. She masterfully creates her characters and vividly potrays their isolated world. The mystery is well-paced and makes reading this book a very intense pleasure. Perhaps "pleasure" is not quite the right word, however, because my ultimate feeling from this book was deep depression. The characters are revealed as vapid, egocentric, spoiled rich kids with no moral compass whatsoever, and -- for all their academic brilliance -- too ignorant to realize their fundamental weakness. Tartt's detailed description of the characters' downward spiral into alcohol and drug excess demonstrates a powerful talent. Unfortunately, "The Secret History" uses that talent to present a story that is both troubling and depressing. I have read far less talented writers who succeeded in identifying, examining and explaining noble aspects of the human spirit. There is none of that here. Perhaps that is why the book has remained so long on my mind: I wonder what Ms. Tartt could do if she focused her enery on a broader world -- the world beyond the snobby, amoral world of privileged preppies and their wannabe hangers- on.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. November 2002
One of the most fascinating books I' ve ever read. Sometimes it's cruel, then, in a way it's really funny. A mixture of a teenager story and a deep view inside human being. You need a long breath but it's really worthy.
It's entertainment and a really good story.
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

9,99 €