Kundenrezensionen


44 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (36)
4 Sterne:
 (4)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:
 (1)
1 Sterne:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Grotesque-triste
Justine is a gallery of desperate characters, lost in the labyrinth of the self. Incapable of helping themselves or each other, they wound one another or allow themselves to be wounded, instead. In the character of Justine is the intensification of the novel, its bruised and bloody heart. The lines between cruelty and weakness blur and dissolve in her person, and we...
Veröffentlicht am 30. März 2000 von Raskolnikov

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Impressive prose marred by defective sociology
I read Justine, the first of the Quartet, and was initially very taken with Durrell's great facility in sketching emotional landscapes, and an almost mesmerizingly poetic prose style. Unfortunately, the book is marred by quite a few blatantly racist descriptions, of black people in particular; I'll spare you the details. Surprising in a book written past the...
Am 17. Mai 1999 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Grotesque-triste, 30. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Justine (Alexandria Quartet) (Taschenbuch)
Justine is a gallery of desperate characters, lost in the labyrinth of the self. Incapable of helping themselves or each other, they wound one another or allow themselves to be wounded, instead. In the character of Justine is the intensification of the novel, its bruised and bloody heart. The lines between cruelty and weakness blur and dissolve in her person, and we quickly learn that everyone is a victim of their own temperament, and that no one is to blame.
Justine is a book full of awful music and terrible poetry, of helpless posession and excorcism,of bitter truths & life-sustaining illusions. A pained and painful meditation on Love and, ultimately, Life.
For all of Mr. Durrell's masterfully crafted and stirring descriptions of Alexandria, the city soon falls off (like so much dead skin) and, there emerges the Human Face - grimacing.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Impressive prose marred by defective sociology, 17. Mai 1999
Von Ein Kunde
I read Justine, the first of the Quartet, and was initially very taken with Durrell's great facility in sketching emotional landscapes, and an almost mesmerizingly poetic prose style. Unfortunately, the book is marred by quite a few blatantly racist descriptions, of black people in particular; I'll spare you the details. Surprising in a book written past the half-century mark (published in 1957, I believe) and purportedly about an ultra-cosmopolitan city.
The other problem I had was the complete implausibility of most of the dialogue; it was as if Durrell didn't know how to make his characters distinct from the narrator's own sensibility; they all talk like master prose stylists with ultra philosophical and literary bents. Some may say this was intentional stylization, but if so, it works against the book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Your brain will never be the same., 9. März 2000
This is how an old friend convinced me to read Durrell's stupendous "The Alexandria Quartet": Picking up the book and flipping to a page at random, she let her finger settle on a line, which she then read out loud. And whatever the line was (I don't remember) I crumpled inside. And so she flipped to another page and read another line. And damn me if it wasn't better than the first! A desert island book if there ever was one.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Gutter Lyricism, 28. März 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Justine (Alexandria Quartet) (Taschenbuch)
'We are all in the gutter,' Wilde says somewhere, 'but some of us are gazing at the stars'. This is such a star-gazing book: gutter lyricism. Startling in its content and style, Justine deals with Great Love ... grown sick, or bad. Terribly beautiful.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A Place in Time, 9. März 1999
Von Ein Kunde
This set calls out for a personal response: I found Justine by 'accident' in a house we rented in Tuscany.
It is a novel that enthralls you, never letting you go. Very few novelists can write about love as the object itself - or of self-understanding; Justine or Nessim, Clea or the putative writer could be ordinary people but we would never know.
Durrell masterfully mixes metaphor and sets atmosphere; he is writing of world, that like the love story itself, is long part of the past. He sweeps us along with him, and we enjoy the experience of reading emotionally as well as intellectually. The success of the quartet is not only literary, but also emotional and sensual. Self-Understanding, Alienation, Coming to terms lost love, not sentimentalizing the past, building a rich tapestry of the present and hope for the future all form elements of the catharsis in this novel.
Durrell fits into a rich tradition that includes Marguerite Duras and Ford Maddox Ford -- writers who meditate on language and love using a place, a time and a notion of the 'foreign' to express their character's alienation and attempts at self-understanding.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Clea, the unknowable, lovable Clea, 8. Februar 2000
Von 
Josef (Manila, Philippines) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
I would have given the book a rating of 5 stars if it were not for Mountolive, the weakest book of the quartet. But, nevermind! I was not able to get a copy of balthazar after about 4 months after reading Justine. I made up my mind not to read Mountolive and Clea without first reading Balthazar. Obviously, I made the wrong choice. For the quartet presents the same story in different time and perspective. Justine was well written and beautiful. I don't know if I would be hypnotized by Justine but i do know that Clea is something else. It was a different feeling after reading Clea. I immediately set out to find her. But she is only in literature. And yet I could not get her out of my mind. The words Durrell used to describe Justine and Clea were magnificent. He did not used words like "beautiful" and "pretty". He had the uncanny ability to say those two words in infinite sentences with each word lingering to our senses long after we have read it. It was really a dishonor to Durrell and other Quartet lovers that his book was ranked very low in Modern Library's 100 best books of the century.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Clea, the unknowable, lovable Clea, 8. Februar 2000
Von 
Josef (Manila, Philippines) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
I would have given the book a rating of 5 stars if it were not for Mountolive, the weakest book of the quartet. But, nevermind! I was not able to get a copy of balthazar after about 4 months after reading Justine. I made up my mind not to read Mountolive and Clea without first reading Balthazar. Obviously, I made the wrong choice. For the quartet presents the same story in different time and perspective. Justine was well written and beautiful. I don't know if I would be hypnotized by Justine but i do know that Clea is something else. It was a different feeling after reading Clea. I immediately set out to find her. But she is only in literature. And yet I could not get her out of my mind. The words Durrell used to describe Justine and Clea were magnificent. He did not used words like "beautiful" and "pretty". He had the uncanny ability to say those two words in infinite sentences with each word lingering to our senses long after we have read it. It was really a dishonor to Durrell and other Quartet lovers that his book was ranked very low in Modern Library's 100 best books of the century.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen How to explain wise men's sad joy of loneliness, 1. November 1999
Von Ein Kunde
When I finished the story I knew that this is one of the rare meetings of my life; for it is hard to find a similar soul. I also write novels and I think the Quartet is something you always have to follow; even though you probably never reach its perfection. At the best parts I felt some mature, beautiful spleen: bright, pure and without bitterness. It may sounds strange but among the few stories where I found something similar there are some brilliant spy stories by Graham Greene and John LeCarré. (There is only one hero in my memories who is so weak and wise at the same time: the drunk publisher Barley Scott-Blair in LeCarré's "The Russia House".) This is the view of a man who lost many precious things but found himself. You can almost hear the charming song of calm loneliness over the roofs of Alexandria. And you can learn something about love again - or if you have already experienced the dirty voices of a romantic love song, you can comfort youl guilty soul with Durrell's words.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Quick question..., 3. Februar 2000
Von 
After having read the Quartet, I wonder to myself whether the books need to be read in any particular order. I read the books first to last, then last to first, reading Justine as the first one then reading it as the fourth one. I also tried several different OTHER orders. I found my best readings to be when Clea was read in either the second or third position. The books were best read in a rocking chair and--if and only if--Clea was read in the fourth position. Still when Justine is read on the beach in the fourth position--whether or not Clea is read in the the second, third or fourth positions--you just can't beat it. I'm still trying out several different locations and several different orders. Needless to say I love Durrell's work and I recommend trying out different reading locations and different orders. These books, more than any other quadrilogy that I have read, must be calibrated just so in order to extract as much insight as these books can offer.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Quick question..., 3. Februar 2000
Von 
After having read the Quartet, I wonder to myself whether the books need to be read in any particular order. I read the books first to last, then last to first, reading Justine as the first one then reading it as the fourth one. I also tried several different OTHER orders. I found my best readings to be when Clea was read in either the second or third position. The books were best read in a rocking chair and--if and only if--Clea was read in the fourth position. Still when Justine is read on the beach in the fourth position--whether or not Clea is read in the the second, third or fourth positions--you just can't beat it. I'm still trying out several different locations and several different orders. Needless to say I love Durrell's work and I recommend trying out different reading locations and different orders. These books, more than any other quadrilogy that I have read, must be calibrated just so in order to extract as much insight as these books can offer.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Justine (Alexandria Quartet)
Justine (Alexandria Quartet) von Lawrence Durrell (Taschenbuch - 12. Juli 1991)
EUR 11,60
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen