Kundenrezensionen


70 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (51)
4 Sterne:
 (11)
3 Sterne:
 (2)
2 Sterne:
 (2)
1 Sterne:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen No poo-poohing
`The Tao of Pooh', a fascinating synthesis of Eastern philosophy and Western children's literature, is done largely in conversational style between Benjamin Hoff, erstwhile writer, photographer and musician with a penchant for forests and bears. Thus, Pooh makes a natural philosophical companion. But, more than a companion, Pooh is, for Hoff, the very embodiment of the...
Veröffentlicht am 23. Dezember 2005 von FrKurt Messick

versus
6 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Somebody Has to Bash this Book...
Somebody has to bash this book and I guess it's going to be me. Now get this straight before I saw anything: I like Pooh and I like Taoism. I don't attack the subject matter of this book. However, I attack the style, misrepresentation of religions (other than Taoism), and the misrepresentation of Pooh in this book.
Although I can see this book was intended for...
Veröffentlicht am 1. August 2000 von Matthew T. Haley


‹ Zurück | 1 27 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen No poo-poohing, 23. Dezember 2005
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Tao of Pooh (Taschenbuch)
`The Tao of Pooh', a fascinating synthesis of Eastern philosophy and Western children's literature, is done largely in conversational style between Benjamin Hoff, erstwhile writer, photographer and musician with a penchant for forests and bears. Thus, Pooh makes a natural philosophical companion. But, more than a companion, Pooh is, for Hoff, the very embodiment of the Tao.
`It's about how to stay happy and calm under all circumstances!' I yelled.
'Have you read it?' asked Pooh.
This is two-way book: to explain Taoism through Winnie-the-Pooh, and to explain Winnie-the-Pooh (not always an easy task itself) through Taoism. Taoism, more academically, is a religion indigenous to China, built upon teachings primarily of Lao-tzu, with significant influence from Buddha and K'ung Fu-tse. It is in the teachings of harmony and emptiness and being of Lao-tzu, however, that Taoism draws its meaning, believing that earth is a reflection of heaven, and that the world `is not a setter of traps but a teacher of valuable lessons.'
As with many religions, this one took various guises: philosophic, monastic, structural, folk. But through them all, the imperceptible Tao, the essence of being, essentially undescribable, shapes the universe continually out of chaos, with a yin and yang alteration of perpetual transformation, in which nothing remains eternal save the Tao.
This makes Pooh a perfect example and exemplar. `For the written character P'u, the typical Chinese dictionary will give a definition of 'natural, simple, plain, honest.' P'u is composed of two separate characters combined: the first, the 'radical' or root-meaning one, is that for tree or wood; the second, the 'phonetic' or sound-giving one, is the character for dense growth or thicket.'
Through semantic changes, perfectly in keeping with the Tao, we find that Pooh, or P'u, is actually a tree in the thicket, or a wood not cut, or finally, an Uncarved Block. And this, of course, is what pure being is.
Pooh, in his journey through the Tao, with the Tao, of the Tao (it is a hard one to nail down, isn't it?) encounters many. This includes Eeyore, the terminally morose, who represents Knowledge for the sake of Complaining about Something. It also includes Owl, the Western successor of the 'Confucianist Dedicated Scholar', who believes he has all truth as his possession, and studies Knowledge for the Sake of Knowledge (even if it isn't always the best knowledge). `You can't help respecting anybody who can spell TUESDAY, even if he doesn't spell it right; but spelling isn't everything. There are days when spelling Tuesday simply doesn't count.'
Of course, all of the knowledge of the Owl, accompanied by the variable helpfulness of Rabbit who cannot stop activity in favour of just being something, couldn't figure out what had become of Christopher Robin, who left the Very Clear Note on his door:
GON OUT
BACKSON
BISY
BACKSON
Who or what is a Backson? Backsons are those people trying to outrun their shadows and their footprints, not realising that to stand still and rest in the shade defeats the power of both. And of course, the Bisy Backson is never at a standstill. And of course, one cannot experience the Tao, be the Tao, know the Tao (well, you get the Tao) if one is perpetually on the run.
The Bisy Backson is always
GONE OUT
BACK SOON
BUSY
BACK SOON
or, maybe GONE SOON. Anywhere. Anywhere he hasn't been. Anywhere but where he is. Of course, the idea of not going anywhere is abhorrent to him, and there is no concept of being able to do nothing.
Nothingness frees the mind. Nothing works like nothing. For there is nothing to distract you. Nothing to get in the way. Nothing to hinder you. Nothing means anything.
Now, read that last sentence again, carefully.
Nothing means anything.
Any thing is by definition itself, but when it is no thing, it can become potentially any thing.
'Oh, I see,' said Pooh.
Wisdom lies in the way of Pooh, who shirks the busy-ness of Rabbit, the intellectual hubris of Owl, and the doom-saying of Eeyore. Pooh simply is, and enjoys being who he is. Pooh is a Master, who knows the Way. Learn from him. Learn to be with him.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen One of my all-time favorites, 28. Juni 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Tao of Pooh (Taschenbuch)
I was introduced to this book a couple of years ago - had seen it on the shelf of the bookstore for years, thought about buying it and never did... and then I received it as a gift.
Without question, it's one of the best books I've read. It's not for its literary flow, academic presentation, entertaining style, or subject matter that I love this little book. I love it because it's a calm, smooth blend of all of the above.
The book does an outstanding job of presenting and explaining the basic tenets of Taoism. I laughed out loud several times over the experiences of poor Eeyore (oh, how I can relate!). If you'd like a quick dissertation of different philosophical views and personality styles, The Tao of Pooh does so through the showcasing of Pooh and his friends.
I'm not sure who Mr. Hoff's target audience was, but this is a book for young and old alike... all will gain something from reading through the book.
In fact, Mr. Hoff penned this book so well it stirred my desires to read once again Milne's classic title The Adventures of Pooh with a new light and perception.
This is an excellent title to add to your permanent library, whether you embrace Taoism or not. Its message of peace and tolerance is one that all faiths can understand and embrace - and well they should.
Can't recommend this one highly enough.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A lovely and peaceful book for adults, 17. Mai 2000
Von 
Jeffrey Belcher "gigusa" (East Hartford, CT United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Tao of Pooh (Taschenbuch)
I was recently introduced to taoism through the music of John Cage. The book is written as if for a child, but the terminology and philosophy put forth is far to introspective and mature for young children to handle. It is a gentle lesson on life and priority management. The author explains taoist beliefs though a conversation with Pooh and Piglet and the rest of them, as well as through short stories about their adventures. The book comes across astonishingly light for such seemingly serious subject matter. Large text and simple illustrations only add to the book's levity, but at the end, you're left feeling peaceful and refreshed. "The Tao of Pooh" is ripe for repeat readings, whenever you feel like you need to relax. While Eeeore frets...and Piglet hesitates...and Rabbit calculates...and owl pontificates...
Pooh just is.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen An influential, well-written and genuinely warm and enjoyabl, 15. Juni 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Tao of Pooh (Taschenbuch)
If your knowledge of Taoism stops at recognising the "Yin Yan" symbol, or if your love of Winnie the Pooh stops at remembering who Christopher Robin is, then The Tao of Pooh will open new avenues of insight in to Pooh Bear and hence The Way.
Benjamin Hoff does not attempt to shove the ideas and ways of Taoism down the reader's throat - that would be contrary to the Taoist way. Knowledge, enlightenment and understanding of the world and its ways as a whole are key to The Way. With Pooh at his side and Owl, Eeyore, Tigger, Piglet and Roo lending a hand, Hoff explores the fundamental simplicity of Taoism and how many parallels there are between the tales of the 100 Acre Wood and The Way.
I found the book delightful: non-threatening, enlightening and an easy read. In times of trouble and stress I find myself dipping into its pages for relaxation and security. It is one of the best and most re-read books I have ever read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


6 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
1.0 von 5 Sternen Somebody Has to Bash this Book..., 1. August 2000
Von 
Matthew T. Haley "kryogenic" (Austin, TX United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Tao of Pooh (Taschenbuch)
Somebody has to bash this book and I guess it's going to be me. Now get this straight before I saw anything: I like Pooh and I like Taoism. I don't attack the subject matter of this book. However, I attack the style, misrepresentation of religions (other than Taoism), and the misrepresentation of Pooh in this book.
Although I can see this book was intended for young adults, I find the style condescending, as if Hoff thinks he's speaking to the uneducated masses waiting for enlightenment. There is definitely the feel of being taught by a teacher in elementary school as one reads this book. Furthermore, while some might find the childishness of Hoff "delightful", I found it nothing of the sort. I thought the book was boring and tedious. I don't know why people enjoy this book when there are real philosophy books out there, like the wonderful "Zen and Art of Motorcyle Maintenence".
Most disturbing about this book was its misrepresentation of other religions and its general condemnation of non-Taoist thought. For a young-adults book, I've never seen pages so loaded with mind-narrowing prejudice! His treatment of Buddhism and Confucianism are ludicrous and disturbingly inaccurate. I'll leave it to the reader to find the obvious discrepencies between Hoff's imaginary philosophies and the real philosophies he attempts to describe. Further, I've never felt so insulted by a book as this; his virtually says that all scholars are fools. Does everyone passively accept that being enlightened requires ignorance? I sure as heck don't!
Finally, Pooh was the unfortunate mascot Hoff manipulated to give credibility to his views. Hoff would ask a question to Pooh and Pooh would respond by condemning certain schools of thought. The real Pooh would never do that! Pooh is a simple and non-offensive character who gets along with the world because of both of these qualities. In short, I was morally offended by this book many consider to be a classic, and I think Hoff should have learned some lessons from childrens' books with good messages before he wrote this loaded polemic.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Taoism presented in conventional terms by our friend Pooh., 17. Dezember 1996
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Tao of Pooh (Taschenbuch)
If you're like me, you've never really understood the mystical and murky meanings of
Eastern philosophies. I had that humanities class and all, but it never really sunk in while I
was sitting in the lecture hall behind some giggling freshman. These amazingly simple
books have taught me the secrets of life and happiness. Well, not really, but they do
teach you the way to get through life without life getting to you. Better than the Stress
Ball and less expensive than a trip to a swanky health spa, it has been helpful to me. Hoff
explains Taoism through beloved characters from the Winnie-the-Pooh stories by A.A.
Milne. Yes, that's right, Pooh. I know it sounds weird, but it really works. These books
are very charming, funny, and witty. I now understand Taoist philosophy (I think), Pooh,
and Piglet better. I'm sure some Eastern philosophers are annoyed (or rolling over in their
graves) at these books, but, hey, it's the only way Americans are every gonna understand
it at all!
[...]
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Enjoyable to read and relaxes the mind., 12. Januar 2000
Von 
Adam Khan (Seattle, WA USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Tao of Pooh (Taschenbuch)
This is a delightful book which conveys the spirit of Taoism very effectively. If you are the kind of person who goes gung-ho into something, you shouldn't read this book, because it is only half the truth. But if you have a good balance with the other half, this is a great book to help you relax your mind and free yourself from counterproductive struggling against the way things are.
The Taoist philosophers were not, in general, very successful people. Taoism tells us a lot about being content, and tells us nothing about accomplishing goals. Both skills are important.
I'm the author of the book, Self-Help Stuff That Works, and I'm an expert on what works and what doesn't. The perspectives Hoff presents in this very readable little book are, without a doubt, highly effective in producing contentment and relaxation. The skill of taking those perspectives when you need to is a valuable skill. This book can help show the way. I recommend it.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A mean to become relaxed, 13. August 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Tao of Pooh (Taschenbuch)
This is a very good book. Not only does it explain in a, for a western, clear way what Taoism really is, it also does it in a funny way. This book is better than The Te of Piglet, for although good (worth a 3,5) it is a bit messy, which is not the case in The Tao of Puh. Hoff made the book very easy to understand by writing it in the way he did. I personally read The Tao of Puh to relax and feel at ease. It has been to this point very useful and effectiv. And because it is a humorous book one can read it over and over again, I've read it twice during the last month and I am going to read it again soon. The Te of Piglet , as I said, is a good book, but it lacks the same humor as the first one had. It's has a feel of being to hastily made and rushes from thing to thing. The explanations are lenghty and a bit unclear. But as a sequel it is not so bad and a good book to read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Things that make you go Hmmmmm...., 25. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Tao of Pooh (Taschenbuch)
I've read this book at least 10 times and each time I've had to buy it again. I lend out my copy to people and never see it again. It is the best book I've ever read and it helps me to focus myself. I already possesed some of the principles of Tao in my life when I first read the book several years ago, I just never knew the name of it and I'd studied Taoism before. Hoff combines Pooh and his world with Taoism in ways that make me wonder why I couldn't have seen it myself! When I want other people to read the book,and they are skeptical of the impact it has, I let them read the Foreword and tell them that it will brighten their day...the actual book will change their life. And after they read both, they wholeheartedly agree and refuse to return my copy! Buy this book and read it and you'll wonder why it took you so long to find it. I recommend it without reservation.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen a peaceful book that sometimes loses its peace, 13. April 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Tao of Pooh (Taschenbuch)
I liked this book. It made me feel peaceful while I was reading it. However, I feel that Hoff's sometimes biting comments toward other people's views broke the peacefulness of the reading at times. For example, while he describes the Way as something that everyone must find in his or her own way, he openly criticizes Confucianists and Puritans. Although the traditional Taoist approach is that following set guidelines will likely steer you away from the Way, perhaps for some people, living within guidelines of Confucianism or Puritanism is their Way. Whether it truly is or not, I felt that Hoff could have shown more respect for others' points of view at times. Nevertheless, I think this book is well worth reading, especially for someone new to the ideas of Taoism. If you are looking for a similar feeling of peacefulness while reading, try reading Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 27 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Tao of Pooh
The Tao of Pooh von Benjamin Hoff (Taschenbuch - 28. Juli 1983)
EUR 9,84
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen