Kundenrezensionen


62 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (49)
4 Sterne:
 (8)
3 Sterne:
 (2)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


22 von 22 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Hemingway neu kennen gelernt
Ich habe Ernest Hemingways Romane in der Schule kennen und hassen gelernt - "Wem die Stunde schlägt" war mein persönlicher Langweiler. Und das führte dazu, dass ich nie wieder zu Hemingways Bücher gegriffen habe, obwohl ich wirklich eine Leseratte bin. Als ich vor kurzem noch einmal den Film "City of Angels" sah, in dem Meg Ryan "A moveable feast"...
Veröffentlicht am 14. Juli 2003 von Sabine Weiden

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen Ah, Paris in the 1920s ...
I would read this if only to know what the legend Hemingway's life was like when he was young, 'very poor, and very happy'. That it is set in Paris in the 1920s appeals to my illusions and gives it romance; that it talks about many literary stars of the 20th century - Ezra Pound, Gertrude Stein, Scott Fitzgerald - living and working and engaging in the everyday makes...
Veröffentlicht am 23. Juni 2000 von Jane Pek


‹ Zurück | 1 27 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

22 von 22 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Hemingway neu kennen gelernt, 14. Juli 2003
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Moveable Feast (Taschenbuch)
Ich habe Ernest Hemingways Romane in der Schule kennen und hassen gelernt - "Wem die Stunde schlägt" war mein persönlicher Langweiler. Und das führte dazu, dass ich nie wieder zu Hemingways Bücher gegriffen habe, obwohl ich wirklich eine Leseratte bin. Als ich vor kurzem noch einmal den Film "City of Angels" sah, in dem Meg Ryan "A moveable feast" liest und toll findet, kam ich auf die Idee mal nachzuschauen, um welches Buch es sich handelt und war überrascht eine Autobiografie zu finden. Ich habe es gewagt mir "A moveable feast" anzuschaffen und wurde sehr positiv überrascht. Hemingway schreibt leicht und interessant über seine Jahre in Paris um die 20er Jahre. Die Einblicke in sein Leben und die Schriftsteller um ihn herum (sehr interessant die Kapitel über die Reise mit F. Scott Fitzgerald) sind so verfasst, dass man das Leben vor sich sieht, wie es passierte. Ich habe hier einen Hemingway kennen gelernt, der spannend und kurzweilig schreibt. Nichts ist mehr da von dem Bild, das ich noch vor kurzem hatte. Ich werde jetzt auf jeden Fall mehr von Ernest Hemingway lesen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen In the pantheon of my all-time favorites, 31. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Moveable Feast (Taschenbuch)
A Moveable Feast is a memoir with all the movement of a fine novel. A young, struggling writer comes to Paris to live with his wife, baby and cat in a cold water flat. The uncertainty of his career, the lack of money, the cold winters should be insurmountable; in fact they are the best times of his life as Paris responds with affordable good food in corner cafes and the great company of artists and other writers, notably Gertrude Stein, Ford Maddox Ford, James Joyce and Ezra Pound. It is a place of becoming. The bubble darkens with the arrival of F. Scott Fitzgerald whose troubles transcend eccentricity, suggesting that money and success are not perfect ends, as Hemingway finds as he inescapably outgrows Paris. I hated to have this book end; it was like Hemingway was leaning toward me across one of those cafe tables, telling stories, confiding his heart. There was never a dull moment or word.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen “Paris was always worth it.” (Hemingway), 29. Januar 2013
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Moveable Feast (Taschenbuch)
This biographical work is a series of 20 sketches of Paris in the 1920s. According to one story, the memoir began when Charles Ritz, owner of this famous palace in Paris discovered in November 1956 two trunks belonging to Hemingway. The trunks were left there in 1928, when Hemingway and his second wife, Pauline, left for Key West, Florida. The trunks contained notebooks he had kept during his early Paris years.

Ernest and his first wife, Hadley, arrived in Paris in December 1921, and the next few years were clearly happy, until mid 1926, when the marriage broke up. After finishing his breakthrough novel “The Sun Also Rises,” some wealthy people, sensing Hemingway was about to become famous, enter his life. One of them, Pauline Pfeiffer, befriends Hadley, only to become attracted to Hemingway and eventually destroy the marriage.

The 20 sketches are each titled but not numbered, and they rarely provide dates, so the reader my not feel much continuity from beginning to end. But the whole portrait Hemingway provides of Paris and of how it was to live there during the 1920s is as vivid as emotionally powerful, as his reader expects in the best of his writing. This is especially true in the parts where he writes about Paris itself or his struggles with writing, rather than the people he knew there. The reader walks with Hemingway along the streets, watching fishermen along the Seine, or dropping by at Sylvia Beach’s bookstore on the Left Bank (Shakespeare & Co.), sits by him in “A Good Café on the Place St.-Michel,” There is a portrayal of Scott Fitzgerald and the motor-trip the two make from Lyon to Paris, which already has its place as one of the great comic journeys of literature.

Whether some stories are made up or not, they show a Hemingway who has turned his back, sometimes with a great deal of animosity, on a number of former friends. This animosity shows particularly in his descriptions of Ford Madox Ford, Gertrude Stein, Alice B. Toklas, Zelda Fitzgerald, and even Scott Fitzgerald, who was one of his closest friends during those early years.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The Romance of 1920s Paris and the "Writing Life", 10. Januar 2011
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Moveable Feast (Taschenbuch)
My God, if you're a writer or hoping to be -- you will love this book! A short time ago I was rereading this, and I'm just struck by how enjoyable it is. Maybe it's even one of the reasons I set out to be a writer in the first place.

These are sketches of Hemingway's early days in Paris as he joined other expatriate writers and artists living there. Need I say more? How about that he recalls meeting the likes of Ezra Pound, Gertrude Stein, Scott Fitzgerald, and that the writing is quite beautifully understated and so easy to read.

What do I think of Hemingway, in general? In my opinion, he remains a model for that whole Raymond Chandler/James Cain school of noir writers.

Hemingway's short stories remain vital and are wonders of economy and understatement. If you pick up Collected Stories (Everyman's Library Classics), here's a few I recommend:

"The Killers"

"A Clean, Well-lighted Place"

"Indian Camp"

"The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber"

Hemingway, more or less, invented "minimalism." Just remember that when you're reading Raymond Carver stories. Bukowski has said that Hemingway was his model, too (only that Buk's work is less crafted and more intentionally primitive -- and injected with more vulgarity and humor). That Hemingway-esque striped-down, simple use of language is something that we (as writers) should all try to go for. Simple is always better.

What's interesting about Hemingway is that his writing is minimal yet also concrete. He uses language to evoke the physical, tactile experience of his characters, which very unlike the work of most well-known minimalist writers like Chuck Palahniuk, whose work, in my opinion, is more sketchy, with characters who are less real and three-dimensional.

Hemingway's novels have aged less well, in my opinion. The descriptive parts in all his books remain beautiful, but the terse dialogue and macho posturing/simplicity has dated them. We hardly ever get inside the heads of the characters and are subjected to view them from the outside, understanding them only from their limited behavior and dialogue (like in a movie). Others might disagree with my assessment.

Getting back to Hemingway's A MOVEABLE FEAST, it's highly recommended for all the impractical dreamers out there, like myself, in love with the romance 1920s Paris and the "Writing Life."
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Hemingway's Final Masterpiece, 19. Juli 2000
Von 
J. Mullin (Plantation, FL USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Moveable Feast (Taschenbuch)
Hemingway's writing was always very auto-biographical, but in A Moveable Feast, published after his lifetime and written late in Hem's life, he actually uses real character names in recreating Paris of the 1920's. For any Hemingway fan, or for those interested in first hand accounts of life with Gertrude Stein, Alice Toklas, F. Scott Fitzgerald, James Joyce and others, this is truly a must read.
The book is everything that most late fiction by Hemingway is not. It is lean, romantic, and genuine, without the blustery heroes and stilted dialogue of missed efforts like the dreadful Across the River and Into the Trees.
Here Hemingway looks back fondly on his days with Hadley in Paris, slipping into cafes to sit all day and attempt to write over a cup of coffee. He remembers trips to the racetrack, a hysterical road trip adventure with Fitzgerald to retrieve a car, and other memorable details from the lives of the Lost Generation living abroad. He also takes shots at some so-called friends who turned on him, not passing up on an opportunity to get in the last word. There is some doubt as to whether Hemingway ever wanted this book published, but I am very glad that they did. It is a book to cherish and come back to every couple of years, and it had aged better than anything else Hemingway had written.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Mein Hemingway Favorit, 28. August 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Moveable Feast (Taschenbuch)
Ein grandioses Buch! Selten habe ich einen so atmosphärischen Bericht gelesen. Nach der Lektüre möchte man am liebsten in eine Zeitmaschine steigen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Hemingway's Final Masterpiece, 19. Juli 2000
Von 
J. Mullin (Plantation, FL USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Moveable Feast (Taschenbuch)
Hemingway's writing was always very auto-biographical, but in A Moveable Feast, published after his lifetime and written late in Hem's life, he actually uses real character names in recreating Paris of the 1920's. For any Hemingway fan, or for those interested in first hand accounts of life with Gertrude Stein, Alice Toklas, F. Scott Fitzgerald, James Joyce and others, this is truly a must read.
The book is everything that most late fiction by Hemingway is not. It is lean, romantic, and genuine, without the blustery heroes and stilted dialogue of missed efforts like the dreadful Across the River and Into the Trees.
Here Hemingway looks back fondly on his days with Hadley in Paris, slipping into cafes to sit all day and attempt to write over a cup of coffee. He remembers trips to the racetrack, a hysterical road trip adventure with Fitzgerald to retrieve a car, and other memorable details from the lives of the Lost Generation living abroad. He also takes shots at some so-called friends who turned on him, not passing up on an opportunity to get in the last word. There is some doubt as to whether Hemingway ever wanted this book published, but I am very glad that they did. It is a book to cherish and come back to every couple of years, and it had aged better than anything else Hemingway had written.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen One of my favorite Hemingway books, 3. Juli 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Moveable Feast (Taschenbuch)
I've read this book twice and I'll probably read it everytime I want a dose of Hemingway or to time travel to Paris' literary golden age. I love this book! When I read it I feel as if I am there with Hemingway experiencing his sardonic sense of humor, his friendships, his striking ability to hold a grudge and get back at friends in print, and to understand a bit more about the mind that created such beautiful work.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen We'll Always Have Paris, 26. Juni 2000
Von Ein Kunde
There are relatively few books that a reader feels passionately about. For this reader, this slender memoir is that rare book. Written in Hemingway's declining years, the book describes his days as a starving young writer in Paris during the 1920's. The beauty of Hemingway's writing is that his sparse style so fully engages the reader's senses. Hemingway was frequently disloyal to his friends, cruel to those who loved him and super critical of other writers of his generation, yet this book reveals a sensitive, sympathetic side to the often troubled author. Hemingway once wrote, "all good books are alike in that...after you are finished reading one you will feel that all that happened to you, and afterwards it all belongs to you." This story belongs to me and to all the other readers who have sampled 'a moveable feast.'
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Hemingway's Evocative Masterpiece About 1920s Paris!, 25. Juni 2000
Von 
Barron Laycock "Labradorman" (Temple, New Hampshire United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Moveable Feast (Taschenbuch)
Whenever friends ask me why, at my age, I still love Hemingway, I smile and think about this book. They say "Hemingway' and conjure up familiar visions of the older, bloated and blighted boozer bragging about his macho accomplishments in the world of war and sports, while I consider the young Hemingway in Paris. I am thinking of a much younger, intellectually virile man, a far more alert, aware and alive Hemingway as a 'moveable feast' walking through the streets of a rain-swept Paris on a quiet Monday morning, heading to a café for some café au lait and to begin his long day's labor.
In this single, slim tome Hemingway beautifully and unforgettably evokes a world of beauty and innocence now so utterly lost and irretrievable both to himself, through his fame, alcohol, and dissipation, but also to us, for Paris as she was in the 1920s was a place made to order for the lyrical descriptive songs he sings about her in this remembrance; endlessly interesting, instantly unforgettable, and also accessible to the original "starving young artist types" so well depicted here. As anyone visiting Paris today knows, that magical time and place has utterly vanished. Tragically, Paris is just another city these days.
Yet this is a book that unforgettably captures the essence of what the word 'romance' means, and does so in the spare and laconic style that Hemingway developed while sitting in the bistros and watching as the world in all its colors and hues flowed by him. The stories he tells are filled with the kinds of people one usually meets only in novels, yet because of who they were and who they later became in the world of arts and letters, it is hard to doubt the veracity or honesty he uses to such advantage here. This is a portrait of an artist in full possession of his creative powers, full of the vinegary spirit and insight that made him a legend in his own time, and consequently ruined him as an artist and as a human being.
There are few books I would endorse for everyone as a lifelong friend. This, however, is a book I can recommend for anyone who wants the reading enjoyment and intellectual experience Hemingway offers in such wonderful abundance in these pages. Take my advice, though. Buy it first in paper, read it until it begins to fray and fall apart (and you will), and then go out and buy yourself a new hardcover edition to adorn your shelf, so on that proverbial rainy afternoon when the house is quiet, the kids are gone, and you just want to escape from the ordinary ennui and humdrum of life, pull "A Moveable Feast" down and hold it close enough to read. A cup of steaming tea by your side, return all by yourself to a marvelous world of blue city skyscapes, freshly washed cobblestone and unforgettable romance; return once more to Paris in the twenties, when life was simple, basic, and good.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 27 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

A Moveable Feast
A Moveable Feast von Ernest Hemingway (Taschenbuch - 3. November 1994)
EUR 7,10
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen