Kundenrezensionen


173 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (92)
4 Sterne:
 (33)
3 Sterne:
 (16)
2 Sterne:
 (10)
1 Sterne:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The Space that Separates: The Two Sides of Conflict
Why would anyone want to read a novel about unending drunken revels by emotional cripples who treat each other badly, never-ending love conflicts, getting excited by mayhem at the running of the bulls and during bull fights in Pamplona, and wasted lives? That's the question posed by this book.
The book will not draw too many readers for the subject matter. Why...
Veröffentlicht am 19. September 2000 von Donald Mitchell

versus
1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen The 20th century "condition."
One of the most striking features of this novel is the bland superficiality of the characters. I found that I did not particularly like any of them, and that dampened my appreciation of the story.
The book is about a sort of competition for the lady Brett Ashley. She enjoys using men as her playtoys and delights in their chase after her. The persona from whose...
Veröffentlicht am 16. Juli 2000 von D. Roberts


‹ Zurück | 1 218 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

3 von 3 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The Space that Separates: The Two Sides of Conflict, 19. September 2000
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Why would anyone want to read a novel about unending drunken revels by emotional cripples who treat each other badly, never-ending love conflicts, getting excited by mayhem at the running of the bulls and during bull fights in Pamplona, and wasted lives? That's the question posed by this book.
The book will not draw too many readers for the subject matter. Why then does the book attract? Part of the appeal has to be the same reason that many people like horror films -- the relief you feel when you realize that your own life does not encounter such dangers can be profound.
Another reason to read this book is to understand the disillusionment of the American expatriates in Europe after World War I. The book is a period piece in this sense. Clearly, Hemingway is Jake and the book is undoubtedly very autobiographical. All first novels have that quality to some degree. Imagining how the author of The Old Man and the Sea started out as Jake was very interesting to me.
To me, however, the primary reason for reading this book is to encounter the remarkable structure that Hemingway built in his plot. He has created several different lenses through which we can explore the role of conflict and separation in our lives. Each lens turns out to be looking at the same object, and it is only by slowly focusing each of the lenses that we are able to see that object more clearly.
The central figure in the book is Brett, Lady Ashley, who enchants almost every man she meets, and who disengages from intimate relations with each one after permanently entangling him emotionally. That leaves a string of wounded suitors in her wake, including Jake. Things get tough when several of them join her and her fiance in Pamplona for the running of the bulls. The symmetry in the book becomes more obvious during a fishing trip that Jake takes without Brett. The fish are lured by artificial flies more successfully than with real worms. Brett's exotic appeal draws men in like flies, much more than the attractions of women who want to make an emotional commitment.
The symmetry becomes masterful when we reach the bull fights. Brett and the matador are inevitably attracted, for they are the same. They both play with their opponents (men and bulls) by flirting and using their capes, weaken the opponents in the engagement, and bring the opponents down (through sexual entrancement and slaughter). Hemingway makes this abundantly clear by repeatedly describing the bull's death as when the matador and the bull become one. One pet name for Brett is Circe, to help complete the picture.
The closer the matador comes to the bull's horns (or Brett to making a commitment), the better the sport for the spectators and the greater the self-esteem for the matador (and Brett).
I do not recall a novel that does such an excellent job of using multiple story lines to reinforce the book's main point, in this case that alienation transcends even closeness. Much as you will dislike some of the characters, the unnecessary racial and ethnic slurs, the savageness, and the emotional scenes, you will probably find the characters to ring true. You will also admire the misguided optimism and honest commitment of Jake as he fulfills his love for Brett by procuring men for her and then rescuing her when the next engagement is all over. Jake's love is that noble sacrifice that we all admire in lovers.
And that's the beautiful part of the book -- you will find nobility amid the ugliness. The contrast makes the nobility more beautiful.
When you are done reading the book, examine your own life and see where you draw back from closeness. Then, ask yourself why you do, and what it costs you and others. Next, consider what closeness can bring from continuing relationships.
Find beauty wherever you look!
Donald Mitchell (donmitch@irresistibleforces.com)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


9 von 10 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A perfect example of American Modernism., 6. Dezember 2001
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Fiesta: The Sun Also Rises (Arrow Classic) (Taschenbuch)
Set in the flamboyant twenties, Hemingway's Fiesta: The Sun Also Rises switches from the raving parties and heavy drinking of urban Paris to the rural splendour of the Spanish mainland and the bloody spectacle of the bull fights. The emotionally charged friction, which sparks as personalities clash amongst a small group of expatriates, is mirrored by the intense passion emanating from the contest between man and beast.
The author portrays with remarkable but nonetheless efficacious simplicity the struggle between mankind and nature, between animal and human existence. Furthermore, Hemingway's novel characterises the mundane and materialistic essence of European post-war society, lucidly exhibiting the lost generation's repugnance of a world obsessed with wealth and devoid of idealism.
Fiesta: The Sun Also Rises marks a milestone in the career of one of America's most eminent writers. The novel serves as a perfect example of American modernist fiction.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


8 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen The Space that Separates: The Two Sides of Conflict, 30. Januar 2007
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Fiesta: The Sun Also Rises (Arrow Classic) (Taschenbuch)
Why would anyone want to read a novel about unending drunken revels by emotional cripples who treat each other badly, never-ending love conflicts, getting excited by mayhem at the running of the bulls and during bull fights in Pamplona, and wasted lives? That's the question posed by this book.

The book will not draw too many readers for the subject matter. Why then does the book attract? Part of the appeal has to be the same reason that many people like horror films -- the relief you feel when you realize that your own life does not encounter such dangers can be profound.

Another reason to read this book is to understand the disillusionment of the American expatriates in Europe after World War I. The book is a period piece in this sense. Clearly, Hemingway is Jake and the book is undoubtedly very autobiographical. All first novels have that quality to some degree. Imagining how the author of The Old Man and the Sea started out as Jake was very interesting to me.

To me, however, the primary reason for reading this book is to encounter the remarkable structure that Hemingway built in his plot. He has created several different lenses through which we can explore the role of conflict and separation in our lives. Each lens turns out to be looking at the same object, and it is only by slowly focusing each of the lenses that we are able to see that object more clearly.

The central figure in the book is Brett, Lady Ashley, who enchants almost every man she meets, and who disengages from intimate relations with each one after permanently entangling him emotionally. That leaves a string of wounded suitors in her wake, including Jake. Things get tough when several of them join her and her fiance in Pamplona for the running of the bulls. The symmetry in the book becomes more obvious during a fishing trip that Jake takes without Brett. The fish are lured by artificial flies more successfully than with real worms. Brett's exotic appeal draws men in like flies, much more than the attractions of women who want to make an emotional commitment.

The symmetry becomes masterful when we reach the bull fights. Brett and the matador are inevitably attracted, for they are the same. They both play with their opponents (men and bulls) by flirting and using their capes, weaken the opponents in the engagement, and bring the opponents down (through sexual entrancement and slaughter). Hemingway makes this abundantly clear by repeatedly describing the bull's death as when the matador and the bull become one. One pet name for Brett is Circe, to help complete the picture.

The closer the matador comes to the bull's horns (or Brett to making a commitment), the better the sport for the spectators and the greater the self-esteem for the matador (and Brett).

I do not recall a novel that does such an excellent job of using multiple story lines to reinforce the book's main point, in this case that alienation transcends even closeness. Much as you will dislike some of the characters, the unnecessary racial and ethnic slurs, the savageness, and the emotional scenes, you will probably find the characters to ring true. You will also admire the misguided optimism and honest commitment of Jake as he fulfills his love for Brett by procuring men for her and then rescuing her when the next engagement is all over. Jake's love is that noble sacrifice that we all admire in lovers.

And that's the beautiful part of the book -- you will find nobility amid the ugliness. The contrast makes the nobility more beautiful.

When you are done reading the book, examine your own life and see where you draw back from closeness. Then, ask yourself why you do, and what it costs you and others. Next, consider what closeness can bring from continuing relationships.

Find beauty wherever you look!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen The 20th century "condition.", 16. Juli 2000
Von 
D. Roberts "Hadrian12" (Battle Creek, Michigan United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Sun Also Rises (Taschenbuch)
One of the most striking features of this novel is the bland superficiality of the characters. I found that I did not particularly like any of them, and that dampened my appreciation of the story.
The book is about a sort of competition for the lady Brett Ashley. She enjoys using men as her playtoys and delights in their chase after her. The persona from whose point of view the story is told is Jake Barnes. The rest of the characters are unremarkable and are mostly only memorable for their blandness.
We go from France to the bullfighting performances in Spain & there are fascinating allusions to the matador / bull relationship being akin to courtship and sexual intercourse between a man and woman. Images of impotence and castration abound and are made all the more significant as Jake can no longer sexually "perform" due to a wartime injury.
This book is certainly not for everyone. I am glad I read it & would recommend it as an important 20th century literary work (even though I did not especially enjoy it myself). It is not so different from the apathetic landscape of T.S. Eliot's poem "The Wasteland"; a world in which it is thought that feeling nothing at all is preferable to feeling pain. But nothing could be more horrifying than a notion such as that....
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Read The Book, Run With The Bulls, 24. Juni 1998
Thank God for Paris and Spain and Hemingway. Read this story. You'll forget you're reading. You see Jake. You see Cohn with his broken nose. You see Brett in that sweater and your heart breaks. You see Pedro and the bull fight.
The problem is the number of people that now make their living giving their opinions about this book. Don't get caught up with what your high school teacher said, or deconstructionist professor said, or literary know-it-all, could-have-wrote-it-better said. Don't get caught up with all the journals and theses and textbooks that say it is not as well planned as "Across The River And Through the Trees," or a good beginning point for a literary mind, or that real people or real events are incorporated into the plot. Don't wander around in the "lost generation" crap or expatriated American garbage, or the impotence and what Freud would say and the myriad of other things that make people spout off Epicurean/Stoic history or analogies to the nth degree. Don't get sidetracked by the yappers who want to tell you what to think. If the yappers force themselves on you, merely respond "Isn't it nice to think so." The ones who know better will understand and be embarrassed, the ones who just can't get it will keep on yapping.
Just read the story and run with the bulls.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Adventurous Read with travel, bull fighting, and mind games, 1. Juni 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Sun Also Rises (Taschenbuch)
Hemingway makes you want to call up a bunch of buddies and hit sidewalk cafe after cafe ordering good food and drink. He makes these things seem like true life pleasures in the way he describes them. I can't say I did not like the book. There is no real plot, but the adventure Hemingway takes you on makes up for it. I disliked most of the characters which simply means that Hemingway did a great job making them real. Brett Ashley is the most despicable character I've ever read about. Her manipulation and mind games are painted so well by Hemingway that you want her to be real so you can tell her off. She really angered me. All this means is that if a character in a book can anger you, than the author has done his job making the character come to life. It took me awhile to come to terms that I liked this book. I first thought I hated it. When I saw myself constantly talking about the characters to friends, I realized that I really liked the book. I would suggest that it be read by everyone who wants to be wisked away to Spain during the running of the bulls, see a bull fight, and be taken to sidewalk cafes to drink and be merry. Great book! Short read. Read it!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Lost Generation and Anti-Semitism, 20. Juli 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Sun Also Rises (Taschenbuch)
This book with its austere prose style is good read, and it's clear to me that Hemmingway, then 27 years old, shows tremendous talent. The scenes involving the fishing and the bullfighting are very evocative, and the dialogue interesting. The understatement or non-statement (Hemmingway's iceberg approach to writing) works very well in this, his first book that brought him to national attention. In that regard, the horrors of World War I constitute those parts of the iceberg that lie beneath the water, and influence the emptiness of the social life that is above. The "what might have been" conversation between Jake and Brett (who both love each other, but who both know the hopelessness of that love) at the end of the book is particularly touching.
Notwithstanding the above, none of the characters have much for the reader to be attracted to. A constant never-ending stream of alcohol seems to flow through the book. It's incredible that people can drink as much as the principal characters in the book do. Then there's Brett, the 34 year old woman, who has Jake loving her (and she loves him), is engaged to Mike, has an affair with Robert Cohn (who also loves her), and in the end, seemingly out of the blue, takes off and seduces the 19 year old bullfighter, Pedro Romero. Try to figure that out.
Also, I want to comment on what I consider to be an uncomfortable excess of anti-semitic sentiment in this book. Consider this exchange between Jake and Bill about Brett on p. 230 of the paperback Scribner edition (1954).
--"She hasn't any money with her?" I asked --"I shouldn't think so. She never has any money. She gets five hundred quid a year and pays three hundred and fifty of it in interest to Jews." --"I supppose they get it at the source," said Bill. --"Quite. They're not really Jews. We just call them Jews. They're Scotsmen, I believe."
Of course, the heart of the anti-semitism in this book is the way the characters relate to Robert Cohn. Some of it can be chalked up to jealousy, particularly as Cohn had had an affair with Brett, and Jake, who loves Brett, is sexually crippled because of his war injuries. But almost all of the principal characters, not just Jake, take pleasure in continually deriding Cohn's Jewishness to his face, to each other, or just in their mental, often alcohol-induced lucubrations. The references occur all too often throughout the book, e.g., there's Jake, saying that Cohn had a "hard, Jewish, stubborn streak," p. 10, Bill [on Cohn] at p. 162, "[h]e's got this Jewish superiority so strong that he thinks the only emotion he'll get out of the fight will be being bored" and Mike, "Take that sad Jewish face away, p. 177 . . . etcetera, etcetera, etcetera. I realize that times change. I don't believe we should judge books from an earlier generation by today's standards of political correctness. Nonetheless, the characters in this book are often mean-spirited, and excessively anti-semetic without, in my view, an adequately compensating literary justification (which in the context of the holocaust to come a mere decade latter, should give pause). For whatever it's worth, in A Moveable Feast (a description of his life in Paris in the 1920s), the most generous portrait in that book is to the renowned poet (though fascist sympathizer) Ezra Pound.
Perhaps, World War I had gutted the soul, and that explains the Gertrude Stein quote, that Hemmingway uses to preface the book, "You are all a lost generation." But maybe the excuse is too easy.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen The Lost Generation..., 13. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Sun Also Rises (Taschenbuch)
Hemingway has written a novel about a world and characters that are both broken and wounded from the horrific damage done in World War I. The main character is Jake Barnes and he was made impotent by fighting in the war. So what is this novel about? It is about Jake searching to find ways to live with the chaos that is both inside of him and around him. When America was first founded, there was the assertion that Americans had no history and the dream was that Americans were different. But in 1926, America does have a history, and in Jake's case, it has made him unable to realize his nature (both physically and spiritually). Jake feels that he needs to learn the values that history cannot change, in order to live with himself and in the world. To discover these values, he looks to the characters around him to model his life after them. Is it Cohn the idealist, who eventually realizes he cannot make the world fit into his ideal picture of it? Is it Brett the realist, who accepts and even embraces the chaos? Or is it Romero the bullfighter, who is admired by Jake for his "control"? I think that bullfighting is an appropriate metaphor - trying to control the beast (life) that is trying to gore him. I feel that Romero is the model for Jake because he exhibits control of himself. Hemingway argues that to live in the chaos, one needs to control it. And to control the chaos, one needs to control oneself. Does Jake display self-control? More importantly, is Jake able to overcome the internal and external choas he is struggling with on a daily basis? Please read this important novel and let me know what you think... It truly is a question of paramount importance because it is applicable to everyone's lives.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen The Hemmingway Question, 16. Februar 2000
Von 
C. Colt "It Just Doesn't Matter" (San Francisco, CA United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Sun Also Rises (Taschenbuch)
It seems that Hemmingway readers are divided into two distinct camps. There are those who adore Hemmingway for literary and life-style reasons and those who abhor his writing altogether. Whenever I present my mild appreciation of Hemmingway to members of either extreme, they become irate. The former, tell me he's a genius, while the latter argue that a child could write like Hemmingway. Frankly, they are both wrong.
"The Sun Also Rises" contains much of the fuel that Hemmingway haters consume. The writing is quite simple and much of the dialog is strained and even a bit macho. The novel, in their opinion, could be construed as a hundred plus page promotion of the Hemmingway life style. It's got travel, brawling, love, conflict, fishing, bullfighting, and a lots of fun sportsman line stuff. It contains a Hemmingway motif that I've never really liked, namely discourse of the glamorous yet victimized war hero.
Hemmingway lovers will counter these arguments by pointing out that simplicity in writing and dialog is not a bad thing, especially when the author uses it as self-consciously as Hemmingway does. True, the language is a bit strained and macho, but the story is, after all, narrated by an adventurous and heartbroken World War I veteran. I can't imagine this person and his expatriate colleagues engaging in the subtle, serpentine conversations found in a Henry James novel. As for the travel, the bullfighting, and the other activities that we have come to associate with the Hemmingway lifestyle-so what? It's a great travelogue among other things.
I guess my own opinion is largely in favor of Hemmingway although I agree with a lot of his critics. Hemmingway is a great story teller and "Sun Also Rises" is an exceptionally good story. Hemmingway's language is imperfect but certainly adequate. Ultimately, I read literature to be transformed to another place or state of mind and Hemmingway certainly accomplishes that for me.
To Hemmingway's critics, I would argue that one does not have to be subtle, nor write a novel of ideas to be a great author. To his proponents I would also argue that the man is a good writer, a great story teller, and a fascinating character in his own right, but certainly not a genius.
I recommend "The Sun Also Rises" to anyone interested in a good story, a unique writing style, and an interesting portrayal of the so called "lost generation".
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Jake Barnes: Grace under pressure, 27. September 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Sun Also Rises (Taschenbuch)
"The Sun also Rises" made a huge impression on me when I read it as a college student a number of years ago. It is true that one must look beyond the surface to get a clear understanding of any book by Hemingway. It is also true that the language that he used was not flowery, nor overly eloquent but the meaning revealed within the lines. It is also true that the characters are often expatriates; living on the fringe of society and hedonistic to the max. All of those elements are visible here, yet sometimes it might require a magnifying glass to see it. However, these are the qualities which make Ernest Hemingway, the seminal writer for a generation and certainly one of the best.
I propose one hint when reading "the Sun also Rises." Pay close attention to the relationship between Barnes and Robert Cohn. Barnes laothes Cohn for being everything that he is not. What drives him over the edge (in the inner sanctum of his own mind and demons) is the success Cohn has insofar as his relationship with Lady Brett. Barnes is impotent and this is a crushing blow to his manhood. The tragedy here is his inability to consummate a sexual relationship with her. It destroys him--yet he is still accepting of his predicament. This is what allows this character to maintain "grace under pressure"-- as Hemingway once coined the term or the ability to stand or hold ones ground when all odds are against you. Certainly this can be a tragic flaw for any of Hemingway's male characters--the total loss of his virility. Yet he stands his ground and never loses it. He just hates Cohn from a distance and rationalizes that he (Cohn) is one who cannot do anything just for the sake of doing it---whether it be drinking, winning the Princeton boxing title, or being in love with Brett. It is complicated but one can come away with these qualities after finishing the novel rather than while reading it.
I think his friend and sometimes rival, F. Scott Fitzgerald, summed him up best when he said of Hemingway: "He's the real thing."
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 218 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Fiesta: The Sun Also Rises (Arrow Classic)
Fiesta: The Sun Also Rises (Arrow Classic) von Ernest Hemingway (Taschenbuch - 18. August 1994)
EUR 9,10
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen