Kundenrezensionen


263 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (145)
4 Sterne:
 (39)
3 Sterne:
 (37)
2 Sterne:
 (20)
1 Sterne:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


8 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Zweifelsfrei ein Meisterwerk
The old Man and the Sea ist wohl die bekannteste Kurzgeschichte von Ernest Hemingway. In ihrer Einfachheit und gleichzeitig voller Symbolik und sprachlicher Genialität hat sie Hemingway nicht umsonst den Nobelpreis eingebracht.

Die Geschichte handelt von Santiago, einem alten Fischer der vor der Küste Kubas nach 84 Tagen ohne einen einzigen Fang,...
Veröffentlicht am 28. Juni 2008 von Nocturne

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen Watch the movie, then read the book
The book "The Old Man and the Sea" was in my opinion and good book, but with a few exceptions. When I was first assigned to read this book for English class I immediatly procrastinated when I would yet to begin reading this book. Days passed, then weeks, and I still had not even glanced at the book. After a few weeks I finally decided to look at the book. I...
Am 7. Dezember 1998 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 227 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

8 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Zweifelsfrei ein Meisterwerk, 28. Juni 2008
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Old Man and the Sea (Taschenbuch)
The old Man and the Sea ist wohl die bekannteste Kurzgeschichte von Ernest Hemingway. In ihrer Einfachheit und gleichzeitig voller Symbolik und sprachlicher Genialität hat sie Hemingway nicht umsonst den Nobelpreis eingebracht.

Die Geschichte handelt von Santiago, einem alten Fischer der vor der Küste Kubas nach 84 Tagen ohne einen einzigen Fang, endlich den Fisch seines Lebens fängt. Nach dem langen erschöpfenden Kampf gegen den Fisch, wird seine Beute auf der Heimfahrt zum Hafen von Haien gefressen, obwohl der alte Mann unermüdlich versucht seine Angreifer zu besiegen.

Die Geschichte vereint viele Elemente in sich, die Freundschaft des Jungen zu dem alten Fischer, die höhere Gewalt der Natur und den aussichtslosen Kampf sich gegen diese Gewalt aufzulehnen. Gleichzeitig behält das Schicksal Santiagos eine optimistische und hoffnungsvolle Note; obwohl sein Kampf aussichtslos war, hat er sich nicht tatenlos seinem Schicksal ergeben. Eben diese Verneinung der Resignation lässt ihn als wahren Sieger aus diesem Kampf hervor gehen.

Auch die Sprache ist einfach gestrickt, gleichzeitig jedoch wunderbar zu lesen. Dadurch das Santiago immer nur der alte Mann ist und auch der Name des Jungen in der Geschichte keine große Rolle spielt, haften der Geschichte fast schon märchenhafte Züge an, in denen nicht die Personen selbst im Vordergrund stehen, sondern ihre Taten und Kämpfe.
The old Man and the Sea sollte jeder der Interesse an Literatur hat, mal gelesen haben. Da die Geschichte nicht allzu lang und leicht lesbar ist, können sich auch Nicht-Muttersprachler problemlos an das Original wagen. Es lohnt sich allemal.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


24 von 29 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Klassisch und im Original ungleich besser, 17. Februar 2003
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Old Man and the Sea (Taschenbuch)
Hemingways zeitlos grandiose Geschichte vom kubanischen Fischer Santiago, der den Fisch seines Lebens fängt, ihn auf der Heimfahrt an Haie verliert und doch nicht aufgibt (wie könnte er auch, schließlich ist das, was er tut, sein Leben), ist so atemberaubend wie sie kurz ist. Eine große Metapher der Hoffnung und der Verzweiflung, des Verlierens und des trotzdem nicht Verloren-Habens.
Die englische Original-Version ist empfehlenswerter als die deutsche Übersetzung, und demjenigen, der ob der fremden Sprache etwas Sorge hat, sei gesagt: Hemingways im Vergleich zu vielen anderen Autoren recht einfach (aber dafür um so mitreißender) gehaltene Sprache ist auch für den Nicht-Muttersprachler durchaus zu verstehen. Und zu genießen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen What Is Defeat for a Person?, 14. Juli 2007
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Old Man and the Sea (Gebundene Ausgabe)
The Old Man and the Sea is Ernest Hemingway at his simplest, and most powerful, as a story teller. The sentences are short. The meaning is clear. The cadence of the prose advances your sense of what is happening.

An old man goes out fishing alone from Cuba and hooks the fish of a lifetime. This fish could make a lifetime of disappointments and setbacks all worth while.

After an incredible and exhausting fight, the fish is his. Now all he has to do is get it back to shore. Then the struggle really begins!

The Old Man and the Sea lets us see our own lives more clearly, by experiencing the challenge to and empathizing with the fisherman in this classic tale of man versus nature and man versus himself that explores the true nature of human nobility. What does life mean? What is striving for? From what do we gain our dignity?

Anyone who thinks that he who dies with the most toys wins will can learn a great deal from this story.

Even if the story was not so compelling and universal in its appeal and themes, the book is worth the trip just for the writing. Simple words combine into simple sentences that build into metaphors that pile on top of metaphors in order to make for a magnificent vista and experience for you. Seldom has so much complexity been portrayed with such simplicity. What's even more astonishing is how short this novella is. Amazing!

Just to let you know how much I love this book, I often use the techniques and concepts in The Old Man and the Sea in my own writing. Miscommunication is what people have the most trouble with in cooperating with each other. Any time you run into that stall, think about how Hemingway would have solved the problem. Tell a story like this one that makes the point you want to share. Then tell the story again and again. Thirty times or more, and everyone will begin to get it. When your listeners start telling the story thirty times to others, you have made an important first step.

Read this book, reread this book, learn from it each time, and enjoy ... enjoy ... enjoy!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen What Is Defeat for a Person?, 14. Juli 2007
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
The Old Man and the Sea is Ernest Hemingway at his simplest, and most powerful, as a story teller. The sentences are short. The meaning is clear. The cadence of the prose advances your sense of what is happening.

An old man goes out fishing alone from Cuba and hooks the fish of a lifetime. This fish could make a lifetime of disappointments and setbacks all worth while.

After an incredible and exhausting fight, the fish is his. Now all he has to do is get it back to shore. Then the struggle really begins!

The Old Man and the Sea lets us see our own lives more clearly, by experiencing the challenge to and empathizing with the fisherman in this classic tale of man versus nature and man versus himself that explores the true nature of human nobility. What does life mean? What is striving for? From what do we gain our dignity?

Anyone who thinks that he who dies with the most toys wins will can learn a great deal from this story.

Even if the story was not so compelling and universal in its appeal and themes, the book is worth the trip just for the writing. Simple words combine into simple sentences that build into metaphors that pile on top of metaphors in order to make for a magnificent vista and experience for you. Seldom has so much complexity been portrayed with such simplicity. What's even more astonishing is how short this novella is. Amazing!

Just to let you know how much I love this book, I often use the techniques and concepts in The Old Man and the Sea in my own writing. Miscommunication is what people have the most trouble with in cooperating with each other. Any time you run into that stall, think about how Hemingway would have solved the problem. Tell a story like this one that makes the point you want to share. Then tell the story again and again. Thirty times or more, and everyone will begin to get it. When your listeners start telling the story thirty times to others, you have made an important first step.

Read this book, reread this book, learn from it each time, and enjoy ... enjoy ... enjoy!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen What Is Defeat for a Person?, 14. Juli 2007
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Old Man and the Sea (Taschenbuch)
The Old Man and the Sea is Ernest Hemingway at his simplest, and most powerful, as a story teller. The sentences are short. The meaning is clear. The cadence of the prose advances your sense of what is happening.

An old man goes out fishing alone from Cuba and hooks the fish of a lifetime. This fish could make a lifetime of disappointments and setbacks all worth while.

After an incredible and exhausting fight, the fish is his. Now all he has to do is get it back to shore. Then the struggle really begins!

The Old Man and the Sea lets us see our own lives more clearly, by experiencing the challenge to and empathizing with the fisherman in this classic tale of man versus nature and man versus himself that explores the true nature of human nobility. What does life mean? What is striving for? From what do we gain our dignity?

Anyone who thinks that he who dies with the most toys wins will can learn a great deal from this story.

Even if the story was not so compelling and universal in its appeal and themes, the book is worth the trip just for the writing. Simple words combine into simple sentences that build into metaphors that pile on top of metaphors in order to make for a magnificent vista and experience for you. Seldom has so much complexity been portrayed with such simplicity. What's even more astonishing is how short this novella is. Amazing!

Just to let you know how much I love this book, I often use the techniques and concepts in The Old Man and the Sea in my own writing. Miscommunication is what people have the most trouble with in cooperating with each other. Any time you run into that stall, think about how Hemingway would have solved the problem. Tell a story like this one that makes the point you want to share. Then tell the story again and again. Thirty times or more, and everyone will begin to get it. When your listeners start telling the story thirty times to others, you have made an important first step.

Read this book, reread this book, learn from it each time, and enjoy ... enjoy ... enjoy!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen What Is Defeat for a Person?, 14. Juli 2007
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
The Old Man and the Sea is Ernest Hemingway at his simplest, and most powerful, as a story teller. The sentences are short. The meaning is clear. The cadence of the prose advances your sense of what is happening.

An old man goes out fishing alone from Cuba and hooks the fish of a lifetime. This fish could make a lifetime of disappointments and setbacks all worth while.

After an incredible and exhausting fight, the fish is his. Now all he has to do is get it back to shore. Then the struggle really begins!

The Old Man and the Sea lets us see our own lives more clearly, by experiencing the challenge to and empathizing with the fisherman in this classic tale of man versus nature and man versus himself that explores the true nature of human nobility. What does life mean? What is striving for? From what do we gain our dignity?

Anyone who thinks that he who dies with the most toys wins will can learn a great deal from this story.

Even if the story was not so compelling and universal in its appeal and themes, the book is worth the trip just for the writing. Simple words combine into simple sentences that build into metaphors that pile on top of metaphors in order to make for a magnificent vista and experience for you. Seldom has so much complexity been portrayed with such simplicity. What's even more astonishing is how short this novella is. Amazing!

Just to let you know how much I love this book, I often use the techniques and concepts in The Old Man and the Sea in my own writing. Miscommunication is what people have the most trouble with in cooperating with each other. Any time you run into that stall, think about how Hemingway would have solved the problem. Tell a story like this one that makes the point you want to share. Then tell the story again and again. Thirty times or more, and everyone will begin to get it. When your listeners start telling the story thirty times to others, you have made an important first step.

Read this book, reread this book, learn from it each time, and enjoy ... enjoy ... enjoy!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Hemingway's swan song, 21. Mai 2000
Von 
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Old Man and the Sea (Taschenbuch)
I have, I think, read everything that Hemingway ever had published. As a youngster he was my favorite fiction writer and has remained so, although I have read a great many books in the interim, some by great writers.

Ernest Hemingway has had many detractors, but his writing speaks for itself. He needs no other champion.

Of all his stories, "The Old Man and the Sea" is perhaps his best. In it, an old Cuban fisherman, Santiago, fishing by himself, catches a giant, magnificent marlin, after a terrible struggle, and makes it fast to his small boat. On the way home, however, it is eaten by the sharks, leaving only a skeleton.

The story is, reputedly, autobiographical. The story itself is the great marlin, and the sharks are the critics, which have dogged Hemingway's declining career, panning such efforts as "Over the River and Into the Trees," and disparaging him generally as an aging has-been.

With "The Old Man and the Sea," Hemingway proved, to them and himself, that he could still write magnificent prose. For it he was awarded the Nobel Prize for literature--a prize at which he had previously scoffed, saying that no one who had ever received it had subsequently written anything worthwhile.

Hemingway's literary style--his clipped, unadorned approach--has been often aped but never equaled. He was a true original, and most important; he was a sensitive observer of humanity and its follies. But, never an observer only; he was a participant. "The Snows of Kilimanjaro," if not autobiographical at least was based upon his own experience. He knew the people of whom he wrote. He had been a combatant and a journalist and a fisherman and a hunter: a man's man.

Like all really notable writers of fiction, he had lived his stories. I suggest that you read his work for yourself, and disregard the slurs of the effete intellectual snobs who slyly claim that he was a latent homosexual, and contrive to belittle his genius. They are like the sharks he portrayed, who would destroy the great prize of his legacy. Heed them not. In spite of his tragic death, he was a peerless writer.<P<
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Hemingway echoes the EPISTLE OF JAMES in Santiago's story., 10. Juli 1999
10 July, 1999 A.D./2542 B.E. Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand
THE OLD MAN AND THE SEA, Hemingway's greatest work, leads to a reading of THE EPISTLE OF JAMES and to the entire BIBLE. Santiago means St. James in Spanish. Remember, Hemingway had first heard the story of a fisherman's struggle for four days at sea from his good friend Carlos Guiterrez in Cuba in 1934. Hemingway waited sixteen years to write THE OLD MAN AND THE SEA in Dec., 1950-early Feb., 1951. In the years between his first knowledge of the story and his own lyrical rendering of it, Hemingway took Mass in Spanish in Cuba on far more than one occasion. Examine, for instance, the fact that all the characters in THE OLD MAN AND THE SEA are named after Catholic saints or Apostles. "La Carta de Santiago" is from the Spanish New Testament; its English translation is "The Epistle of James." Like THE OLD MAN AND THE SEA, "The Epistle of James" focuses on themes of patience in the face of adversity, of enduring life's struggles for the sake of a greater good, and of gaining inner peace. Manolin, the Cuban boy's nickname, is the Spanish nickname for Manuel, a name derived from the prophecy of the Christ child Emmanuel in "The Book of Isaiah" in THE OLD TESTAMENT. Perico is the Spanish nickname for Pedro, which means Peter in English. Peter, of course, is another of Christ's apostles. Intrigues me that Santiago is the name of two vital figures in Christianity, Santiago del Zebedeo/St. James of Zebedee (whom Christ first met as a fisherman) and Christ's brother, Santiago/St. James the Martyr, who was stoned to death in Jerusalem. Martin, the owner of The Terrace bar who is generous to the impoverished Santiago, is also the name of two famous Catholic saints who were extraordiarily helpful to the poor, St. Martin of Tours of France and St. Martin de Poores. St. Martin of Poores is regarded as the patron saint of Afro-Cubans due to his incredibly generosity and sacrifice for African slaves in South America in the 1600s. And from the time he returned from Spain in 1939 to the time he wrote THE OLD MAN AND THE SEA at the Finca Vigia, Hemingway attended Spanish Mass in Cuba. Readings from "La Carta de Santiago"/"The Epistle of James" figure prominently in the Catholic Liturgical Calendar Year B, Ordinary Time(normally, in the September of every B cycle year). Santiago makes his journey for his marlin in September, "the month when the big fish come." September is hurricane season in Cuba, by the way, meaning Santiago knows he is risking his life. No, it's not too bad that this is Hemingway's shortest novel. In many ways, it is his richest and deepest work, and moreover, truest to his aesthetic. Five stars are not enough! Rock hard and ride free, Cool Papa H.! Hemingway evidences an incredible understanding of Cuban culture in THE OLD MAN AND THE SEA as he tells a story of one man's struggle to carry his dream at high sea in the face of death. Ultimately, his journey is spiritual at its core: Santiago's ability to accept the butchering of the marlin by the sharks, and his resolution at the end to continue going out to sea, teach us volumes on how to carry our own dreams in the seas we sail in our time. Santiago's story is timeless as love and endures with all the grace of every wave hitting all the shores of all the beaches of all the world. Reviewer: Mike Tucker
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A beautiful study of man and nature., 14. Juni 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Old Man and the Sea (Taschenbuch)
This short novel was the winner of the 1953 Pulitzer Prize in Fiction. It was required reading in one of my high school English classes and is still required in many schools over thirty to years later. Many believe it was the publication of this book that assured Hemingway of winning the 1954 Nobel Prize in Literature. This book is a parable of man's struggle with the natural world and the inherent dignity of a man. An old Cuban fisherman named Santiago takes his small boat out into the Gulf of Mexico and has a battle with a giant marlin and with several sharks. He has to deal with his own weaknesses, with nature, with loneliness, and with his own mortality. It is a great novel and a reader can get much out of it with a little effort. I also feel that I have to respond to some of the comments from those earlier reviewers who rated the book with low scores. The book isn't about fishing. It's about man. Hemingway hadn't written a book for ten years. But, as soon as this comes out, he picks up a Pulitzer Award and the Nobel Prize! An earlier reviewer from Kansas (May 30, 1999) commented that Hemingway was no Jack Kerouac or F. Scott Fitzgerald. I love both those writers; but, they weren't even nominated for the Nobel. And, to the Canadian reviewer of March 29, do you actually think that Philip Pullman himself would classify his works, as enjoyable as they are, greater than those of Ernest Hemingway? But my most impassioned response is to the bizarre comments of the reviewer of May 11, who awarded "The Old Man and the Sea" five stars. After reading his comments, I went through all of the earlier comments, attempting to find what he was referring to. Except for grammatical errors (such as ending my previous sentence with a preposition) or spelling mistakes (such as misspelling mispelling), I saw nothing crude or offensive. Don't we have freedom of expression here? Even though I may disagree with others comments and opinions, they still have this right. And, more power to them (and to amazon.com). But, what I found most bizarre from reading this person's comments was that it would appear, from reading his last sentence, he awarded the book five stars yet hadn't even read it! At least those who gave the text a low rating had actually read the book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Watch the movie, then read the book, 7. Dezember 1998
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Old Man and the Sea (Taschenbuch)
The book "The Old Man and the Sea" was in my opinion and good book, but with a few exceptions. When I was first assigned to read this book for English class I immediatly procrastinated when I would yet to begin reading this book. Days passed, then weeks, and I still had not even glanced at the book. After a few weeks I finally decided to look at the book. I read about ten pages and immediately found myself bored with the book. I out the book away and didn't retreave it until later. I was sitting home one weekend watching TV when I came across a movie that looked familiar. After watching about twenty minutes of this movie I realized that it was "The Old Man and the Sea". I was very taken back when I continued watching the movie. I really liked it and best of all I found it easier to understand. After the three hour movie I was very surprised about how much I like the story. But I was even more surprised when I kept thinking in my head about the story and wanted to read the book. I immediatly ran to my backpack and got the book. I read the whole thing in about 1 hour and enjoyed it greatly. I apprecited it alot more too. I espechially like it because the story was indeed well told and focussed on so many other things than I thought it did. One part in the book that I liked alot was when the old man talked about his days when he was younger and how he had spent so many long hours, and sometimes days giving everything he had just to win a simple arm wrestling match. But, everytime he was able to earn a victory. I also liked how Ernest Hemingway captured the moment just right. E.H. featured many places and scenes in the book and did not always ficus what was important but really set the mood and tone for the events that were about to, or yet to happen in the book. Another thing I must mention that I liked was that the old man had so much respect in the book. I just loved this story so much and how it captured everything so well. I think it was really well written and even though it took me awhile to discover the true meaning in this book and can honestly say that I am pleased and happy that I gave the book and chance. In a way I can refer myself to the book, alot of people in the book did not really want to give the old man a chance, and didn't think he would ever catch a fish again but the old man proved them wrong and only the people who had true respect for the old man understood that he would always succeed. This is what I did, I gave the book a chance and myself.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 227 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Old Man and the Sea
The Old Man and the Sea von Ernest Hemingway (Taschenbuch - 18. August 1994)
EUR 6,80
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen