Fashion Sale Hier klicken Sport & Outdoor b2s Cloud Drive Photos Microsoft Surface Learn More designshop Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Autorip Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,6 von 5 Sternen
335
4,6 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:6,99 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

Kein Buch seit "Im Westen nichts Neues" hat das Grauen des Krieges zu auf Papier zu bannen vermocht als "Catch 22". Und dennoch ist es so fundamental anders geschrieben im Vergleich zu Remarque's Klassiker aus dem Jahr 1929. Heller beschreibt das Phänomen Krieg so, wie er es entfindet: absurd, grotesk, unlinear, unlogisch, unmenschlich. Genau das ist die Herausforderung an den Leser. Er (sie) ist ständig mit komplett absurden Situationen konfrontiert, die sich schwerlich in irgendein Interpretationsschema einordnen lassen. Ein Soldat, der das eigene Camp bombadieren lässt, um seinen Handel florieren zu lassen. Protagonist Yossarian, der monatelang offiziell mit einem schon längst gefallenen Soldaten in einem Zelt lebt, ohne das die Bürokratie seine ständigen Klärungsversuche zur Kenntnis nimmt. Und natürlich der Catch 22. Als Soldat kann man sich vom Dienst befreien lassen, wenn man ünerzeugend darlegt, dass man wahnsinnig ist. Dieser Versuch ist jedoch schon von Anfang an zum Scheitern verurteilt, da der Versuch sich als verrückt zu bezeichenen von der Verwaltung als höchst rationeller Akt bewertet wird (der Begriff "Catch 22" ist mittlerweile sogar im OED zu finden und wird dort als "Teufelskreis" bezeichnet). So ist Yossarian nicht vergleichbar mit Paul Bäumer, sondern vielmeht mit K. aus Kafkas "Der Prozeß".
Im Zentrum des Romans steht die Frage: Warum scheint Yossarian der einzige zu sein, der versucht gegen den Wahnsinn des Krieges anzugehen? Welches Ereignis hat dazu geführt? Schon auf den ersten Seiten offenbart der Text Hinweise auf das zentrale Schockerlebnis in Yossarians Leben. Diese Hinweise bleiben jedoch zuerst unverständlich, da sie völlig unzusammenhängend in die laufende Handlung eingefügt sind. Erst langsam ernthüllt sich das Grauen welches dazu geführt hat, Yossarians Sinn für Humanität zu bewahren. Erst auf den letzten Seiten enthüllt sich der Schrecken der hinter den Worten "I'm cold, I'm cold" verborgen liegt und welche den Leser seit mehreren hundert Seiten verfolgt haben. Bis dahin ist einem das Lachen mehrmals im Hals stecken geblieben, da man nicht weiß ob es, wegen der tragischen Thematik, überhaupt angebracht ist, sich vor Lachen im Bett zu kugeln. Eine echte Alternative bleibt allerdings nicht. Denn Heller nähert sich dem Horror auf die einzige Art und Weise, mit der man ihn ertragen kann ohne verrückt zu werden: mit Humor.
22 Kommentare| 30 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. September 2004
Catch 22 is one of the best books I've ever read. Heller's main character, Captain Yossarian, finds himselves in a war that is absolutely ridiculous and pointless, still he has to face death every day.
The book might be slightly hard to read in the beginning because it takes some time until you get used to Heller constantly going back and forth in time but once you know the characters I can guarantee that you will find this book amazing. It's dead funny on the one hand but on the other hand it will also make you feel horrible. You'll read a passage and laugh so hard you'll almost cry and then in the next passage you'll be struck dumb with terror and really start to cry.
The book will make you feel different about war, maybe also about life in general. It will definitely give you an idea about what's it all (not) about. Read it and experience the ridiculousness of war, without heroism or patriotism, just the way it is. Stupid. And, have a great laugh while doing it...
0Kommentar| 23 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. März 2000
I would first like to inform other reviewers that I am a high school junior, read this as part of a choice novel project, and had no trouble grasping the ideas that Joseph Heller presented within his Catch-22.
The sarcastic attitude of this novel is conspicuous, and all bonds with reality are dropped with the first character introductions. The humor that has previously been criticized I found to be easy to understand, not monotonous, and a unique aspect to illustrate WW2. This is not to say the humor is for all, because Heller uses many paradoxes (look up definition of "catch-22"), simple one line contradictions, and subtle word choices to draw a laugh-all which represent the personality of the novel.
Yes, there are many characters, probably over fifty, yet grasping the names is not important at all times. Of course you quickly get associated with Yossarian and the other main characters, and chapter do reintroduce people from the early parts of the book. This may be annoying, yet each character is distinct, and there is little chance of confusing Milo, and entrepeneur, with Havermeyer, the elite pilot. In truth, the novel lacks a linear time, but chooses, rather, to define the novel through numerous character sketches, focusing them loosely around Yossarian. By the later chapters of the novel, Heller subtly introduces the gruesome truths of the war, balancing the early humor with more realistic look. It is through this transition that the weight of the situation is elucidated, and by contrasting the final chapters with the first, Heller is able to attract our attention and force us to analyze the war.
What is the novel about? There is no simple answer, yet if I attempt to state it in a single sentence Catch-22's theme, it would be "The only true fault of America's once the war began, was that we as a nation began to glorify war, without truly understanding the implications of our actions."
What is the idea behind catch-22 as a statement? Read the book. Enjoy. Open your eyes with laughter and tears. Perhaps you won't like the satirical tone, but I would suggest to all that you try.
0Kommentar| 5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. September 2002
... denn bis heute besteht Dienst in einer Armee - selbst in Friedenszeiten - selbst in einer Demokratie - hauptsächlich daraus, daß man von kompletten Idioten mithilfe idiotischer Vorschriften systematisch fertiggemacht wird. Wenn ich dieses Buch ernst genommen hätte, hätte ich Zivildienst geleistet. Macht nicht denselben Fehler und erspart euch damit Stunden des Stiefelputzens.
In einer beißenden Satire, angesiedelt auf einem Flugplatz der US Air Force in Italien 1944, beleuchtet Heller das Dasein, die Liebe und den Krieg und kommt zu verblüffenden Schlüssen. Das Buch ist schreiend komisch, bestechend intelligent und unverändert aktuell. Es ist auf jeden Fall die Mühe wert, die Originalversion zu lesen. Das Buch wurde verfilmt.
0Kommentar| 13 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. September 2000
I read this when I was eighteen and loved it ever since. I can't count how many times I have read it. I believe Heller once said that the book was not really about WWII but about 'the next war'. That is probably why it struck such a chord with the Vietnam generation for whom the war was happening daily on their TV sets. The surrealism of the novel seemed to be reproduced in the US Army officer saying about a devastated city 'We destroyed it in order to save it'. For there is a ferocious paradox in battle - why don't both sides just run away? This book does not try to resolve the paradoxes (leave that to Keegan, Grossman, Marshall and the military historians), it celebrates the 'grunts', the poor bloody infantry (or air pilots) who just endure the madness, hoping to escape the terrible combination of circumstances that may demand their deaths. Probably the soldiers who endured the trenches of WWI might understand Catch-22 better than those of WWII. Read and be amused, scarified and ultimately humbled.
0Kommentar| 5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. Februar 2012
Zynischer Roman über eine US-Fliegerstation in Italien gegen Ende des zweiten Weltkriegs. Die Absurdität des Kriegs wird in vielen Facetten durchgespielt - meist nicht im Kampf, sondern im Fliegerhorst oder bei Ausflügen nach Rom. Der Ton ist trocken, nonchalant, sarkastisch, zynisch und unterhaltsam intellektuell. Selten war ein Roman so dicht gepackt mit Aperçus, Leuchtfeuer und souveränen, weit gestreuten Querbezügen. Auf jeder Seite fiel mir dreimal die Kinnlade herunter.

Insgesamt sehr vergnüglich und stilistisch meisterlich, ohne je unangenehm aufzutrumpfen. Doch vielleicht geriet Catch-22 etwas lang (497 Seiten in meiner englischen Ausgabe): Heller strapaziert das Prinzip, sich widersprechende Aussagen in einen einzigen kuriosen Satz zu packen, auf Dauer zu sehr; ähnlich wie das Stilmittel, Empörendes oder Widersinniges trocken als normal zu präsentieren - auch wenn es immer wieder den Atem raubt.

Störend zudem die Diskussion zwischen jungem US-Soldaten und altem Italiener über Krieg und Nationen als solche - hier wird Heller zu Prediger-haft, selbst wenn er seine Meinung wieder in Absurditäten packt. Und gelegentlich erscheint Hauptdarsteller Yossarian etwas zu rührend aufrichtig und herzensgut gegenüber der allgemeinen Weltstumpfheit.

Meine englische Ausgabe enthielt viele Wörter, die ich nicht kannte, z.B. homiletic, unctuous, pugnacious, swathy, petulant. Dies war ein Grund, warum ich die Lektüre relativ leicht unterbrechen konnte. Dazu kommt natürlich, dass die Handlung eher tröpfelt, in Episoden zerfällt und nicht chronologisch erzählt wird.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. Juli 2000
This book is more about people than it is about war. It is more about life than it is about death. It is more about Yossarian and Nately (and his old man) and Sheisskopf and Major Major than it is about World War II. Hell, I even took my username from my favorite character in this book (as well as literature universall), Milo Minderbinder.
I have heard from many that Heller has not approached this brilliance since. He once, when asked why he had not written another novel as good as Catch-22, said, "Well, nobody else has either." That just might be true. This book made me look at people with all their quirks and their inconsistencies and try to laugh instead of argue. It helped me look at our world with a smile and a laugh insead of a frown and a spoonful of critisism. Parts were hilarious, parts were poignant.
Its story is far less important than its character (as made evident by the format). In every character you see something in yourself. In Yossarian I saw much of what I would like to have the guts to do. I saw common sense. It was also a manifestation of Orwell's famous quotations, "Sanity is Not Statistical."
Read this book: laugh, cry, think, be enlightened.
{{{milo}}}
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. Oktober 2015
even if you translate "catch 22" into german using the phrase "paradoxe Situation" it still doesn't reflect what was meant with "catch, a catch or catch 22". it`s brilliantly written. The movie to this story is also worth viewing.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. April 2003
Am Meisten gefällt einem an diesem Buch seine bestechende Ehrlichkeit. Einfach und unverschnörkelt berichtet Yossarian, ein amerikanischer Bomber-Navigator im Zweiten Weltkrieg, von seinem Werdegang zum Pazifisten. Der Grund für seine Haltung ist keine halbkünstliche Überzeugung oder ein Prinzip, welches sich nur problemlos befolgen läßt, wenn man am eigentlichen Geschehen unbeteiligt ist, sondern schlicht die Angst vor dem Tod und der Ekel vor dem Tod des Mitmenschen. Yossarian befolgt keine moralischen Überzeugungen, und zwar deshalb, weil er keine ha. Er richtet sein Leben nach seinen Bedürfnissen, um so ehrlicher ist seine Ablehnung des Militarismus, denn sie kommt aus Erfahrung. Genauso ehrlich ist das Buch. Es ist durchgehend realistisch und oft komisch, wobei hinter dem Humor immer ein fader Beigeschmack bleibt. Die Sprache ist einfach und alltagsnah, nicht zuletzt deshalb ist das Buch auch im Englischen leicht lesbar.
0Kommentar| 10 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. November 1998
I can clearly recall after over 30 years the stir that Catch-22 caused in the group of friends I was close to in college. The book at first reading was so outrageously funny and captivating that it was a major error to put down the only copy we had for any reason. The sole copy left unattended would immediately be picked up by one of the "vultures" that were constantly circling the fortunate one who had the book, looking for an opening.
On subsequent readings of this remarkable novel the incredible depth of characters and irony comes through more forcefully and new meaning is discovered. Heller's command of the language and his fine understanding not only of the madness of war and the insane reasons those in charge offer for its necessity but also of the day to day absurdities of life in the military and by extension in everyday life, make this a novel a Bible of Truth that for those of us who have experienced those absurdities and that madness. Conversely, those who do not have the experiences of armed conflict and interaction with any military machine still get full meaning of "the catch". This novel touches so completely the soul of an ultimately sane man, Yossarian, living in a totally insane world. That the phrase "its a Catch-22 situation" has so completely entered the language and that it is understood by those who use it exactly as Heller intended is the ultimate compliment and review of this timeless work.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

9,95 €