Kundenrezensionen


44 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (41)
4 Sterne:
 (3)
3 Sterne:    (0)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 
‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

8 von 9 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A must-read for every American, 18. Juni 2000
As someone of Native American descent, I grew up with this book. To me, it is one of the most important books ever written on the "Indian Wars". Upon reading this book you can realize why American Indians are offended by the US celebrating "Colombus Day" and the images and flasehoods that surround the "Thanksgiving" holidays. It is a riveting, truthful account that will make you re-think the things you were taught in your history class. Let me give you fair warning, however, it is a dense and information packed historical account, not a novel and not light reading.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


7 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Hidden History, 14. Juli 2000
Von 
Rhonda Fox (St. Bernard, Louisiana United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
Nothing could prepare me for the emotional effect that "Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee" would have on me. Dee Brown brings us the history of the white settlement of the American West as told by the people who were there, both white and Indian. This is not the history we learned in school, and the book will shatter the images of many of our heroes, but the story is important enough that I think every American should read it.
I also recommend "The Trail of Tears", by Gloria Jahoda, which is the history of the removal of the eastern tribes to the west. These two books are neccessary if you, as an American, want a complete education of American History.
Beyond education, these books present a people who loved the earth, trusted and respected mankind, and lived honorable lives. I trust that these stories of the near annihilation of our native people at the hands of our forefathers will effect you in unexpected ways, and that you will come away from the experience with new heroes, and a broken heart.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A hard, emotional read and worth every second., 31. Juli 2000
I always wondered how the Native Americans ended up on reservations. Why did they give up there land? Why didn't they just live peacefully with the whites? Why did they end up on the worst land in the nation?
This book answers all those questions and more. I am saddened by the amount of treachery involved in the treaties with the Indian tribes. I had never heard an account told from the tribe's perspective before and wow! Is it ever different from the history taught in school!
This book is a hard, emotional read and worth every second. I also greatly enjoyed the pictures of the Chiefs and others involved. There are some truly beautiful portraits. I would say if you only read one book about the settling of America read this one.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen I cried, I weeped, I felt ashamed., 3. Januar 2000
Von Ein Kunde
I'm sixteen years old, and I am extremely disappointed that this book is not taught in the US History classes in my high school. We just finished a unit on the Civil War and Reconstruction, and although all of these terrible events were occuring during this time period, we haven't discussed them, or even mentioned them in class. The irony is, that I chose this book specifically for a project in US History, and I am incredibly glad I did. There is not a more compelling, heartbreakingly true story of American history than this. It, in many ways, is comparable to "Uncle Tom's Cabin", in the effect it created with its arrival into the world.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Definitely an eye opener!, 25. Juni 1999
Von Ein Kunde
I'm glad that I read this book. I have never read about history from this point of view. It was moving! This version was written for young adults, and I feel that students should be required to read this at least in high school. Many people will be moved to tears and heartbroken as I was.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 6 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Everyone should read this book, 17. März 2000
Von 
Lesley West (St James, Western Australia) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
I have never before read a book like this. It is utterly fascinating, a real page turner, and yet it makes you ashamed of something that happened many years before your birth. Ashamed because you know that similar things are happening elsewhere in the world, and ashamed becuase we never seem to learn from our mistakes.
On a lighter note this is a meticulous essay on a life long lost, and country unspoiled and beautiful, and a world we will never be lucky enough to know.
If you only read one book in a year, make it this one.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Great and very touching account of Native-American history, 17. Februar 2003
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee - An Indian History of the American West (Taschenbuch)
Dee Brown's book offers a (more or less) complete history of native Americans and their struggle to survive in the "New World" of immigrants and settlers. it is both a very informative account for those primarily interested in history, and a touching story of the peoples that lived in Northern America before the West was won.
I dearly recommend this book as a first read to native American history, but also for all others.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Ein Buch das jeder gelesen haben sollte, 17. Februar 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Das Buch handelt über das schreckliche Schicksal der Iniander, die im 18. und 19. Jahrhundert systematisch von ihrem Land vertrieben wurden, und bei der "Umsiedlung "und in zahlreichen Kriegen bzw. Kämpfen mit der US Army umgekommen sind. Gipfel der Aktion war das Massaker von Wounded Knee - noch heute ein dunkles Kapitel amerikansicher Geschichte. Im Gegensatz zu einigen früheren Büchern, die zu diesem Thema erschienen sind und oft auf mündlichen Erzählungen beruehen hat Dee Brown in einer großen Fleißarbeit eine Menge Dokumente , auch Zeitungsartikel, Armeeberichte usw. zusammengetragen, ausgewertet und zu diesem erschütternden Buch zusammengefügt. Wenn man angefangen hat zu lesen, kann man das Buch kaum wieder aus der Hand legen. Jeder sollet dieses Buch gelesen haben - vor allem, wenn das IBild über die Indianer von Wild-West-filmen und anderen Spielfilmen der 50er bis 70er Jahre geprägt ist.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen If you only read one book make it THIS ONE, 7. Dezember 1999
Von 
Rocky W. Latham "Paparock" (Landers, California) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
This is a book that should be required reading of every American before graduating high school. Perhaps then the true balanced story of the Native American Holocaust perpetrated on Americas' First Nations can start to be recognized to be as great as that done by Nazi Germany to the Jewish people.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen A Book That Does Not Angelize, 20. Januar 2000
The typical reaction is to angelize a people that our nation has oppressed for over a century. This is not the truth, although demonizing the native Americans went hand in hand with the systematic extermination of their culture.
Dee Brown takes an even-handed tone in this well-crafted narrative, journeying through the American West with the advancement of the United States, each step a broken treaty. As the world of the Native Americans is rapidly erroded, reactions are mixed: to treat the invaders as other Indian populations always fails, as this is a new enemy unlike any ever seen in tribal societies. Raids and skirmishes do not deter aggression--they only invite punishment. The invasion of civilization is inexorable, and when this becomes obvious Brown does an excellent job of covering the various attempts Native Americans make to assimilate with the invaders.
Our nation is by no means innocent. We are imperialists by history just as other nations have been. The only difference is that we took a mass of land contiguous with our nation, while Europeans sought patches of land on other continents. Manifest destiny is revealed for what it is--and the Native Americans are revealed for the human victims they were.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee - An Indian History of the American West
Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee - An Indian History of the American West von Dee Brown (Taschenbuch - 10. Dezember 1987)
EUR 11,80
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen