Kundenrezensionen


180 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (135)
4 Sterne:
 (30)
3 Sterne:
 (10)
2 Sterne:
 (3)
1 Sterne:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


28 von 29 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Wunderbares Gesamtbild
Ich habe "The Elegant Universe" in den vergangenen Tagen gelesen, bin selbst Stringtheoretikerin und habe mich unwahrscheinlich über die anschauliche Tiefe von Greenes Beschreibungen gefreut.
Für interessierte Leser - unbedingt auch Laien - möchte ich hier kurz erwähnen, dass Greene in diesem Buch die Grundlagen der Quantenmechanik noch einmal...
Veröffentlicht am 24. Mai 2004 von Dichtung&Kritik

versus
5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Thoughtful, detailed, but a bit heavy-handed
Brian Greene believes in superstrings. He really, really, believes in them. He also seems to believe some of the more far-flung implications of the theory. These positions are intellectually defensible, but they are by no means certain. Yet despite some perfunctory disclaimers, Greene presents his conclusions as facts, or as almost-facts-that-will-be-nailed-down-soon...
Veröffentlicht am 11. Juli 2000 von Jussi Bjorling


‹ Zurück | 1 218 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

28 von 29 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Wunderbares Gesamtbild, 24. Mai 2004
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Elegant Universe: Superstrings, Hidden Dimensions and the Quest for the Ultimate Theory (Taschenbuch)
Ich habe "The Elegant Universe" in den vergangenen Tagen gelesen, bin selbst Stringtheoretikerin und habe mich unwahrscheinlich über die anschauliche Tiefe von Greenes Beschreibungen gefreut.
Für interessierte Leser - unbedingt auch Laien - möchte ich hier kurz erwähnen, dass Greene in diesem Buch die Grundlagen der Quantenmechanik noch einmal aufrollt, sowie die der speziellen und allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie. Dabei erläutert er die Gedanken anschaulich, benutzt intelligente Graphiken und fasst die Grundgedanken in überschaubare Kapitel und auch ausserphysikalische anschauliche Beispiele zusammen.
Weiter schreitet er dann fort zu dem Konzept der Symmetrien in der Physik, der Supersymmetrie, String-Theorie und Superstring-Theorie, beschreibt die Hoffnung der übergreifenden M-Theorie und der Supergravitation, wieder alles formellos und in Graphiken veranschaulicht. Schließlich beendet er das Buch noch mit einem Kapitel zur sogenannten "String-Kosmologie", einem der jüngsten Tochterbereiche der Stringtheorie.
Neben exakten und dennoch stets formelfreien Erklärungen, erzählt Greene auch aus seinem Alltag, aus der Geschichte der Superstringrevolutionen und wie er sie erlebte.
Insgesamt stellt das Buch meiner Meinung nach einen großen Überblick über die moderne Physik dar. Es finden sich darin viele exzellente anschauliche Beispiele und unvergessliche Graphiken - womit ich meine, dass sie so eindringlich gewählt sind, dass man Zusammenhang und Inhalt nicht vergessen wird.
Dass das Buch auf Englisch geschrieben ist, mag für manche Leser ein Hindernis sein. Auch die Tiefe der Gedanken und die Breite des angesprochenen Wissens mit teilweise dennoch recht spezifischen Kapiteln durchsetzt führt dazu, dass der Leser auf die Probe gestellt wird und meiner Meinung nach doch viel Ruhe und Zeit braucht, die schwierigen Konzepte zu verinnerlichen.
Wenn man sich diese Zeit aber nehmen möchte, dann finde ich insgesamt aber dieses eines der besten populärwissenschaftlichen Bücher unserer Zeit - meiner Meinung nach übertrifft es sogar Stephen Hawkings Werk "Eine kurze Geschichte der Zeit", weil es breiter ist, witziger und persönlicher geschrieben und auch, weil es noch näher an die aktuellen Forschung angrenzt - ganz exzellent und für interessierte Leser - vollkommene Laien unbedingt eingeschlossen - absolut zu empfehlen.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5 von 5 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Thoughtful, detailed, but a bit heavy-handed, 11. Juli 2000
Brian Greene believes in superstrings. He really, really, believes in them. He also seems to believe some of the more far-flung implications of the theory. These positions are intellectually defensible, but they are by no means certain. Yet despite some perfunctory disclaimers, Greene presents his conclusions as facts, or as almost-facts-that-will-be-nailed-down-soon. This, plus the density of the text, means that anyone interested in superstrings might want to start with a simpler, less partisan explanation of where the science has come from and where it is going, and then read this book to get more mathematical details.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Not sure what to make of this, 12. April 1999
Von Ein Kunde
I just finished reading this book and skimming the other reviews here. I noticed that nobody really said much about their background (although one of Steve Weinberg's ex-grad students may have revealed his or her identity). I am not a physicist; my education in this subject is limited to a reasonable math background (complex variables, linear algebra, vector calc, differential equations) and some basic introduction, years ago, to special relativity.
This book has pluses and minuses; in my view, the pluses outweight the minuses and, if this isn't your field but you like to be well-informed as a general matter, the book is a worthwhile read.
The pluses for the non-initiate are a pretty good overview, in a very big-picture way, of the main macro issues in relativity and the big landmarks in string theory. Quantum mechanics is handled less successfully, but, as Greene acknowledges, more is scarcely possible without quickly descending into considerable mathematical complexity. However, some very rough qm concepts are weaved nicely with relativity in the course of explaining how string theory might resolve the conflicts between the two and the conflicts between relativity and the "big bang" theory and black hole theory. The end result is that one gets a pretty nice bird's eye view of the field (as confirmed by a couple of my friends who ARE cosmologists).
The book is a quick read, but you won't get the concepts in a single read. Partly this is because there is a lot of stuff and it becomes increasingly complex as the book proceeds. Partly this is because Greene's style is somewhat truncated; over and over again he provides a grand build up to a large-scale chunk of string- or M-theory, only to have the denoument be frustratingly short on any sort of detail. I sense the hand of the editor here, and I have the feeling that Greene may have been forced to cut out some of his slightly more technical explanations. These would have been welcome. The end notes help a little.
The other "problems" with the book may be "problems" of the field itself. After a while, you are so many levels down that you aren't sure if Greene is talking about a theory of how the universe works, or a theory of how a theory works, or a theory of how a set of theories works, or a theory of how a set of metatheories work...you get the point. Much of this stuff is taking place in a realm that is purely hypothetical. As Greene acknowledges, there is little prospect of experimental verification of any of this stuff at presently achievable energies. Many of the "breakthroughs" he describes have taken place purely on paper; they are breakthroughs not because they have been proven experimentally, but because they are theoretically plausible or consistent. The overarching impression one leaves this book with is a combination of (1) my this is clever and (2) has this whole thing become a house of cards? Greene recounts a series of discoveries that have "saved" physics by resolving inconsistencies between various observations, but are these really possible features of a universe or clever tricks that exist only in our heads?
On the other hands, this book lets the reader understand where the big quesions remain, some of which Greene articulates and some of which he doesn't. For instance, he talks much about the fabric of spacetime and of the compact dimensions predicted by string theory and supergravity, but what about the time dimension? Are all the compact dimensions spatial? Are some more time-like? Is there some intermediate state? And if there was a big bang, what caused it? Is it enough to say that the notion of causality has no meaning in this context?
Organizationally, it might have been better to come back to basics at the end, after the very open ended discussion of cosmology and multiverses, etc. It will be a huge intellectual feat if string theory can explain how the universe works today. That should be emphasized; its failure to explain why the universe works the way it does should not be the ending of this book.
Just my 2 cents. OK, maybe 20 cents.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


6 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Spectacular! I finally understand!, 4. September 2001
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: The Elegant Universe: Superstrings, Hidden Dimensions and the Quest for the Ultimate Theory (Taschenbuch)
The Elegeant Universe is simply the most outstanding piece of writing on the topic I've ever read. Brian Greene uses hundreds of simple explanations and real-world comparisons to explain concepts like the theories of relativity, quantum theory and finally superstring theory. This book's better than Stephen Hawking's "A Brief History of Time"!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen "The Elegant Universe" is an excellent read for a novice., 30. Juli 2000
Von 
Dr Mark Ray (Brisbane, Queensland Australia) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
As a medical practitioner who is not versed with the intricate details of quantum mechanics and relativitiy (let alone string theory), I have been waiting for some time to read a book which explains in laymen terms, yet not too simplistically, the most recent attempts to formulate a Theory of Everything (TOE). I have enjoyed many books on related topics by people such as Paul Davies, Stephen Hawking, Murry Gell-Mann, Timothy Ferris, John Gribbin, Michio Kaku and others, however I desperately wanted to extend my knowledge to String Theory and its applications.
I picked up Brian Green's book with alacrity and wasn't disappointed. This book explains in sufficient but not too laborious detail the most recent advances in String/M Theory. Overall, the book is well structured and illuminating. Pitching with the right amount of detail and employing cogent analogies makes it a very easy read for a layperson. The one thing I would have liked, however, was a little bit of mathematical detail although I don't honestly know if this is feasible given the breadth of the topic.
Certainly a must read for anyone intersted in keeping abreast of the physics frontier, albeit it in an amateur way.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Scientific evidence that the mystical is real!, 12. Februar 1999
Von Ein Kunde
The explanations I've been looking for since I first heard of string theory! Other books promise; this one delivers. If you've ever had the thought, "What if there were an entire Universe in a molecule?", you've got your evidence now. Brian Greene describes, without a single equation, how string theory envisions a world in which there is (prepare for a weird concept) a minimum length. Smaller than that, things are--mathematically--actually larger! In other words, hiding in worlds described by the Planck Length (exponentially smaller than quarks), there could be entire universes hidden within every bit of matter. Indeed, our own universe could actually be within a submicroscopic particle in someone else's universe. Throw in 6 extra dimensions, and the possible reconciliation of every major problem in physics, and it all adds up to one very entertaining, easy-to-read popular science book. This is one you'll be starting dinner conversation about for the next few years.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Who is this guy?, 1. Januar 2000
Greene makes some good points the main one being that strings are interesting(the best example being the calculation of black hole entropy) despite the lack of experimental evidence.For a layman such as myself, it was quite accessible.
My only complaint is that the book seems a little biased towards the work of Greene himself. I have no reliable method of estimating his contribution but, judging from the book, it was him, Witten and a few others who made the field. Witten I believe.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen An Elegant Story, 18. Juli 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Brian Greene has managed to frame a very abstruse subject in a surprisingly comprehensible way. I suppose there are two kinds of frustration with the genre that popularizers of complex scientific subjects are constrained to use. The first frustration belongs to those who have little or no formal training in science and mathematics. The valiant attempts to express complex mathematical formalisms in everyday language can't help but leave most of those readers mystified. The second frustration belongs to those who do have enough formal training to grasp a more mathematical approach, but usually wind up as mystified as the non-technical reader for the same reason - it is well nigh impossible to express such complex ideas clearly in any language but the language of mathematics. Greene does provide more technical information in his notes toward the back of the book, but many are very sketchy and probably clear only to those who don't really need them. Still, I applaud his effort to provide more mathematical information via this means than most publishers seem to be willing to allow in the main body of the text (what I perceive to be the "anathema" of equations in popular scientific books).
Be that is it may, I believe that Greene has done an excellent job of conveying the history, current status, and future prospects of String Theory. The presentation is well-structured and balanced. The remarkable professional integration of the global Physics community is well portrayed. The use of lower dimensional spaces as analogs for the higher dimensional spaces of String Theory is an effective device in helping the reader to grasp the general significance of the theories main features. Although I was not personally able to gain an intuitive grasp of what "curled-up" dimensions really are, by the end of the book, the concept did seem, if not "natural", at least "logical."
Although String Theory and its more general form, M-Theory, has yet to be empirically validated through experimentally verifiable predictions, its power, internal consistency, and dazzling beauty are very compelling reasons for believing that it may well be the long sought-after Theory of Everything. Brian Greene has done an excellent job in building a very strong case for this worldview. It's very difficult not to get caught-up in the excitement and enthusiasm of this story.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Informs the reader on an oftentimes vague topic, 7. Juli 2000
We've all heard of superstring or M-theory in a casual conversation or article, but most consider it a sometimes far-fetched and irrelevant aspect in an esoteric world of physics. Greene starts off by explaining the fundamentals of modern physics, doing an exemplary job of elaborating on the topics of quantum theory and Einstein's General Relativity. In this first part, Greene does a superb job.
The book continues to show the inadequecies of modern day physics in a growing amount of circumstances, and introduces Superstring theory as a possibile Theory of Everything that Einstein searched for in vain in the last years of his life, and scientists ever since have continued searching. The concepts of superstring theory and M-theory (the "M" arguably stands for "mystery"), by nature, involve advanced mathematical formulae that keeps hardcore physics to the few who have earned PhD's in the subjects. The book loses some of its elegance in this aspect - some of these concepts, at this point in time, simply cannot be understood without the use of such intertwined math. Try as we might, we will never be able to understand what a 10-dimensional object looks like through direct observation (we experience only 3 spatial dimensions and one temporal) - for this reason alone the use of complex algebra and calculus are unavoidable. Thus it is also unavoidable that the layman will get lost in several of Greene's explanations of string theory. However, I do not believe this should repell the reader - the truly interested will want to learn and understand more of what The Elegant Universe is trying to profess.
The bottom line(s) - A book well worth reading, elaborating on the mysterious topic of Superstring theory, but without a more serious background in physics and probably math, certain concepts will remain a blur. Anyone interested in where modern physics is taking us into this new century should get the latest book in the topic. Consider it a follow-up to Kaku's Hyperspace (1994) - a lot has advanced in the topic since '95.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Question reality., 22. Mai 2000
Von 
Richard S. Sullivan (Santa Fe, New Mexico) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent trip through the wonders of modern cosmology and physics. I kept having to get up and walk around the room once in a while and pinch myself to get a new reality fix. Well maybe reality -- but Mr. Greene might think I was fooling myself and only moving about in the 3 dimensional space known to my conciousness, and not the other seven tightly wrapped dimensions in Calabi-Yau forms at a billionth of a billonth of a meter. Who needs science fiction when the real thing is so "unreal?"
As a reader I have more than a casual interest in modern physics and have read dozens of books in this vein, however I do not have a math background sufficient enough to deal with the professional literature in the field. I have found this work one of the best in explaining string theory. Mr. Greene's approach of using analogy and metaphor is right on target. His sometimes humorous approach was a good antidote for what could become overbearingly theoretical.
The first half went down pretty easily in spite of the difficult nature of the subject. Brian Greene deserves much applause for pulling off this bit of magic. The second half gets tangled up in the author's own areas of research and I felt that he suddenly began talking to a different audience, in this case his peers, and instead of an explanatory tone, the book seemed a little bit argumentative. Of course this is a topic where anything said in a definitive manner is likely to provoke a professional argument. Nonetheless, the first half of the book is well worth the read and more than adequately covers the field for the reader where this topic would be of interest. The second half will be of interest to folks with more background.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 218 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

The Elegant Universe: Superstrings, Hidden Dimensions and the Quest for the Ultimate Theory
EUR 12,90
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen