Kundenrezensionen


103 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (52)
4 Sterne:
 (31)
3 Sterne:
 (12)
2 Sterne:
 (3)
1 Sterne:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Funny-sad in the best possible way
This comparison might be a bit overused, but the main character Barnaby in "A patchwork planet" *really* reminds me of Holden Caulfield out of "The catcher in the Rye"- turned thirty. I think it is mainly the dry wit of his narrative voice.
And in my opinion Barnaby has a similar personality, somehow torn between extreme sympathy for and arrogance towards people. He...
Am 27. Februar 2004 veröffentlicht

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen The underachievement of the contemporary novel
I turned the first pages of Anne Tyler's much lauded A Patchwork Planet with high expectations. On the back cover Nick Hornby had referred to her as America's greatest living writer and various glowing tributes came from other reliable sources. After a few chapters I became convinced that, like John Fowles' The Collector, the first person narrative was a stylistic red...
Am 23. Februar 2000 veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 211 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

4 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Funny-sad in the best possible way, 27. Februar 2004
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Patchwork Planet (Taschenbuch)
This comparison might be a bit overused, but the main character Barnaby in "A patchwork planet" *really* reminds me of Holden Caulfield out of "The catcher in the Rye"- turned thirty. I think it is mainly the dry wit of his narrative voice.
And in my opinion Barnaby has a similar personality, somehow torn between extreme sympathy for and arrogance towards people. He views them like a child would, always with anstonishment and wonder. He can`t connect to their values and goals, even finds them funny, while they in turn criticize his lack of ambition, and, in their view, refusal to "grow up".
It's not often characters in books seem to me as believeable and true to life as they are here. The descriptions of Barnaby's family, friends, lover, daughter and especially the old people he deals with in his job are hilariously funny, but never overdone.
I also like the fact that any obvious moral at the end is missing. I keeps you wondering how things will turn out for everyone involved.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Und noch ein Meisterwerk von Anne Tyler, 16. Juni 2011
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Patchwork Planet (Taschenbuch)
Es fällt mir schwer, meine Begeisterung für diese Geschichte in Worte zu fassen ohne mich dabei einfach nur in Superlativen zu verlieren.
Barnaby, die Hauptperson und gleichzeitig derjenige, der die Geschichte aus seiner Sicht erzählt, ist ein liebenswerter (fast) geläuterter Tunichtgut auf dem Weg zu einem besseren Leben.
In gewohnter Tyler-Manier ist alltägliches Treiben in seiner fast akribisch präzisen Beschreibung keinem Krimi spannungsmässig unterlegen. Ich weiss nicht, wie es diese Autorin schafft scheinbar Unbedeutendes so zu erzählen, dass der Leser gefesselt Seite um Seite verschlingt. Vielleicht liegt das Geheimnis ein bisschen auch darin, dass es eben genau die Details sind, die unser Leben ausmachen, dass es nichts Unbedeutendes gibt, sondern es an uns liegt, ob etwas wert ist betrachtet und berichtet zu werden. Andererseits versteht die Autorin auch perfekt die Kunst, den Leser eine Wendung in der Geschichte erahnen zu lassen, ohne dass dies explizit formuliert wird. Dies alles geschieht mit feinstem Humor, mit Sensibilität und einer Lebensklugheit, die niemals moralisierend daherkommt.
Man möchte noch viel Länger bei den Menschen dieser Geschichte bleiben dürfen, bei Barnaby und Sophia, seiner Tochter Opal, seinen Eltern und Grosseltern, bei den alten Leuten, die er bei Rent-a-back betreut, bei Martine und wie sie alle heissen. Und doch ist das Wann, Wo und Wie des Endes der Erzählung so brillant, dass das Weglegen des Buches ein wenig leichter fällt.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A Patchwork Planet, 12. Mai 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Patchwork Planet (Hörkassette)
What is it about this book? It does not transport me to fascinating corners of the world, plumbing the depths of the jungle darkness, surveying the peaks of ice-capped mountains. Tyler carries me down to earth on a stream of pellucid descriptions of ordinary life. Barnaby Gaitlin, his ex-wife, his daughter, his parents, grandparents, co-workers, and the older folks for whom he works, sit uncomfortably close to our hearth and home. Barnaby comes from a wealthy home, though you'd never guess it by his bare basement home, his ragged jacket and the old car that's always in the garage. Like us, he's still waiting for life to begin, waiting for his regrets to fade from memory, waiting for his parents to turn into, well, another set of parents. He waits, he struggles, he ignores phone calls, he doesn't let his daughter's little rejections defeat him. And in the midst of this gray chaos, Barnaby is looking for his personal angel to appear and make it all better. Tyler touches her characters with the breath of life, replete with all the uncomfortable foibles and habits that we all have.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Enjoyable, quick read, 26. Juni 2000
This is my fifth Anne Tyler book. While "Saint Maybe" remains my favorite, this one beats out "Celestial Navigation" which was my number two favorite. Barnaby is an interesting character because you read the story through his eyes yet you disagree with the way he views himself. He believes himself to be a bad person when he is anything but. He has made mistakes but is now doing the best he can to overcome them and be a positive influence on others lives. It is a frustrating book to read at times because we (the audience), Sophia, Mrs. Dibble, and all the clients of Rent-A-Back see Barnaby as a decent human but he refuses to see this side of himself until the end. When I finished this novel, I was happy to see that Barnaby had started to realize what a good person he really is. The only disappointment is the end. Do Sophia and Barnaby stay together? While it is a trite concern in the overall theme of the book, it is still an important issue...at least to me! :-)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Another delightful Anne Tyler Story., 31. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Patchwork Planet (Gebundene Ausgabe)
I have read and loved every one of Anne Tyler's 14 novels and A Patchwork Planet did not disappoint. Each of Ms. Tyler's books are about a different quirky Baltimore family and the main character is usually a flawed individual who grows through the story and overcomes some of their past problems. I will admit in looking back at the 14 titles, I can't always recall which book is about which quirky character, but they are all quite delightful reads. Barnaby Gaitlin is trying to overcome his past bad behavior, but his parents, brother, former best friend, ex-wife and even his young daughter always expect the worst and can't see that he is changing and becoming a responsible adult. His boss, co-workers and clients from Rent-a-Back seem to be the only ones who see his true potential and goodness. If you have liked Anne Tyler in the past, this is a must read book. If you haven't read her before, this is a worthy starting point.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Good - but start with something else, 28. Mai 2000
Von 
M. Beck (Virginia Beach) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
If you read (and liked) "I know this much is true" by Wally Lamb, then do yourself a favor and read anything by Anne Tyler.
But don't expect a 900 page story with a 3 page happy ending tacked on. Anne Tyler is much more authentic.
That being said, if you're just getting started with Anne Tyler I suggest "Ladder of Years" or "Saint Maybe" before "Patchwork Planet".
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Tyler's Talent Shines, 26. Mai 2000
I loved the character, Barnaby Gaitlin. This is a character that one does not usually come across in a work of fiction. Only a writer of Anne Tyler's talent could depict such a multi-dimensional man in a basically female-dominated environment. My only regret is that an organization such as Rent-a-Back does not really exist. There has been more than one occasion in my life when I could have used the services of such an organization!
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen A Sunday-Pot-Roast-Dinner of a Novel, 17. Mai 2000
Von 
Mark Valentine (Port Angeles, WA United States) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
A Tyler novel is like a Sunday pot roast dinner--it may sound conventional, but when the guests push themselves away from the dinner table, no one ever complains. Reading this novel is no different.
From the first page to the last, Tyler writes a circular tale that ties all the bits and pieces together so that long after finishing my reading, it lingers as a pleasant memory.
If you have ever been accused of something and you honestly didn't do it, then you have an idea of what the protagonist is going through in this novel. Our hero works for Rent-A-Back, a small handyman company that services the disadvantaged. But when he is accused of stealing $2,700 out of a flour jar, and when a criminal record as a juvenile surfaces, and when his girlfriend covers up for him as if he actually DID steal it, then he must stretch his convictions and take charge. The ending to this novel is fantastic; right up to the last page, the reader doesn't know what will happen for sure.
Read it for pleasure or read it for a moral lesson. It doesn't matter. As long as you read it, that is.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Refreshing, 4. Mai 2000
I finished this book with a smile on my face - Anne Tyler never ceases to entertain. What I love about her books is the fluid drawing out of interesting people, her characters are fleshed out into genuine characters - it's like walking into a scene peopled with friends and family of your own.
I did have one beef (or two) with the novel. I was hoping that Anne would focus more on the relationship between Opal and Barnaby, for there seemed to be no satisfactory closure there, or no real hint of what was to come of their relation to one another. Opal was a fascinating character! As was Barnaby, of course - focussing on these two would have been the real clincher in this book. Perhaps a sequel?
Also, the ending left me confused . . . was he finally turning to Martine? Was his last line a realization of some sort, a discardment of Sophia? (Good choice: Sophia was a dullard)
Read this book! I also recommend "Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant." :)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen A Patchwork Planet, 28. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: A Patchwork Planet (Gebundene Ausgabe)
A Patchwork Planet is a mervelous novel! Anne Tyler sparkles as one of the strongest American novelists of our day. A Patchwork planet explores people; explores their eccentricities, their stregnths, their weaknesses, their loves, their hopes. The novel not only follows the lives of a charming group of characters of all ages and from all walks of life, it weaves this exploration into a textured quilt of enchanting plots. A Patchwork Planet is a lovely novel that will warm your heart and leave you craving to read more of Anne Tyler's works.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 211 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

A Patchwork Planet
A Patchwork Planet von Anne Tyler (Taschenbuch - 25. Februar 1999)
EUR 10,50
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen