Kundenrezensionen


41 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (12)
4 Sterne:
 (9)
3 Sterne:
 (10)
2 Sterne:
 (7)
1 Sterne:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


5.0 von 5 Sternen Give this book a chance
I've read Breathing Lessons twice, and even saw the Hallmark Hall of Fame Movie. I thought it was truly heartfelt and very real. In response to what the others had to say about it, it's simply the story of an aging woman. She's getting used to all the changes that were taking place in her life. Please remember that Maggie didn't grow up in a time when there was...
Veröffentlicht am 20. Januar 2000 von leann_g20

versus
3.0 von 5 Sternen For this a Pulitzer Prize?
True, Anne Tyler paints a colorful, vivid picture of the Morans, their marriage, their concerns for family and friends. And, at times, her writing is funny--many scenes would translate well on film. I'm just not sure its message is all that memorable.
Veröffentlicht am 16. Februar 2000 von Margo Morea


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

4.0 von 5 Sternen A Valuable Life Lesson, 19. Mai 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Breathing Lessons (Taschenbuch)
Anne Tyler's book Breathing Lessons uses countless motifs to convey her message that no human being is perfect, nor is any relationship ideal. It tells the story of Maggie and Ira Moran, involved in a relationship that has gone stale after 28 years of marriage. Maggie, depicted with the repeated "frizz" motif, is characterized by her ditsy, scatterbrained personality. She tries in vain throughout the whole novel to selflessly mend everyone's problems, mainly in efforts to save her son's marriage. Ira, her pessimistic, chiding husband simply engrosses himself in negative views about the "wasteful" human race and avoids Maggie if possible, otherwise remains quietly tolerant of her extremely obnoxious chatter. Even Maggie describes him as "one of those people who are born competent" (Tyler, 234.) The basic plot includes the couple's trip to an old friend's funeral, their insignificant adventures along the way, and a flashback to earlier years during their marriage. Although the flashback section tends to get tedious and wordy, it includes some of life's most meaningful lessons. It depicts the Moran's son Jesse's devotion to his wife and child after living a contrasting rebellious teenage life (continually symbolized by a "black" motif). Mainly, the book is packed full of the contrasting views of Maggie, the idealist who sees everyone with good intentions and pure hearts, and Ira, the realist who sadly often sees things in the sad state they truly are in. The motifs "hot" and "sticky" are used to foreshadow arguments betweeen the two. Their optimistic/pessimistic views are the main spark for their arguments, though it is also what keeps their marriage alive. The book ends with the quote, "Then she slipped free and moved to her side of the bed, because tomorrow they had a long car trip to make and she knew she would need a good night's sleep before they started" (Tyler, 338). This statement symbolizes their journey in the future as a married couple, and leads the reader to believe that their marriage will survive. The book follows a loosely structured plot and focuses on comical situations between two fairly unhappily married people who succeed in the end. A reader who enjoys psychological, yet easy to read love stories about the flaws of human nature would definitely enjoy this book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen Reads like a soap opera side-line, 29. April 2000
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Breathing Lessons (Taschenbuch)
The characters and plot in the novel reminded me of the boring families and plot lines in a soap opera--the ones you fast forward through until you get to the ones you really care about. Unfortunately, I wish I could have fast forwarded through this novel as easily. I never became vested in the outcome because the characters and story never really hooked me. I didn't really care what happened to them.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


4.0 von 5 Sternen Marriage?, 27. April 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Breathing Lessons (Taschenbuch)
Tyler presents a novel that peeks into the private life of a marriage that must deal with the plights of middle-age. In just one day, we see the past and the future of a couple that must learn to rely on eachother. A ninty-mile car trip soon becomes the vehicle in which Ira and Maggie learn that life is neither pruning nor wastefullness, but rather a journey of love
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen For this a Pulitzer Prize?, 16. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Breathing Lessons (Taschenbuch)
True, Anne Tyler paints a colorful, vivid picture of the Morans, their marriage, their concerns for family and friends. And, at times, her writing is funny--many scenes would translate well on film. I'm just not sure its message is all that memorable.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen For this a Pulitzer Prize?, 4. Februar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Breathing Lessons (Taschenbuch)
True, Anne Tyler paints a colorful, vivid picture of the Morans, their marriage, their concerns for family and friends. And, at times, her writing is funny-many scenes would translate well on film. I'm just not sure its message is all that memorable.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Give this book a chance, 20. Januar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Breathing Lessons (Taschenbuch)
I've read Breathing Lessons twice, and even saw the Hallmark Hall of Fame Movie. I thought it was truly heartfelt and very real. In response to what the others had to say about it, it's simply the story of an aging woman. She's getting used to all the changes that were taking place in her life. Please remember that Maggie didn't grow up in a time when there was such a thing as a single mother. I think it's hard for Maggie to understand how Fiona's mind works. You have to understand that Maggie is just concerned about her son--remember her plan is to patch things up between Fiona and her son. The husband of Maggie's closest friend also passes away. It's startling for Maggie to go to that funeral and see how all the people she used to know have changed. I think the meandering plot line is symbolic of Maggie's personality. Not everyone is going to like it, but at least give it a chance. It's so funny! (Obviously this book wasn't written to impress teenagers! They need to stick to Sweet Valley High or Nancy Drew Mysteries)
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen Did this really win the Pulitzer Prize?, 9. Januar 2000
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Breathing Lessons (Taschenbuch)
This book was clearly written for those who believe that the ordinary is extraordinary. True, simplicity can be beautiful and illuminating, but banality is just boring. While the characters are amusing, the plot lacks direction and focus. On a good note, the prose is smooth and highly readable.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2.0 von 5 Sternen My Opinion on Breathing Lessons from a Teen, 16. Dezember 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Breathing Lessons (Taschenbuch)
For the last two weeks I have been reading, "Breathing Lessons," by Anne Tylor. This book talks about a married couple's life and how they view little everyday events that happen. Feelings of the Morans marriage sucks the reader into own life and individual thoughts. Anne Tylor takes you the lets your feelings become involved when reading this 324 pgae book. This book starts around the 80's in Balitmore. it's a small town where everyone seems to be involved in everybody else's life. Maggie and her husband, Ira, have been married for around 20 years or so. Each have thier different ways of thinking. They argue everyday like most couples do, but as they argue, the reader finds themselves taking sides on who is right. Little everyday words are taken in as the reader reads and strikes a different meaning. "Ah, God, I have been stuck with these people all my life. and I'm never going to be free." Pg. 165 Frases so often spoken by ourselves, but never seem to love what we have around ourselves. We as people don't realize enough with our busy life. The cover of this book illisrates a flying bird over a green plain. The only thing a person could think of when seeing this cover is to think of being free from life's pressures. To once in life, take a step back from our busy sheldules and enjoy life. This book to me wasn't the best book I have ever read because I think this book was written for adults. I am a teen and wouldn't recommend it to other teens. I couldn't relate much and the story to me was a bit boring. Little flashbacks and car trips only made this reading process longer.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3.0 von 5 Sternen I was not entertained by this book., 2. Dezember 1999
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Breathing Lessons (Taschenbuch)
Breathing Lessons, by Anne Tyler, was not a very interesting book. It had no focus or plot in my opinion. It had very little story line. It began with Maggie Moran and her husband, Ira, on a trip to her best-friend, Serena, deceased husband's funeral. It started that way then it left me with them helping an elderly black man. Then it switches in mid stream to a long flashback that gives the reader and idea on what's happening in the present. Not quick switches, just I couldn't find a point to the switches. The characters, I thought, were well developed and you could picture them, but it's like, they have no mission. You could find their flaws and how the views where so different but you knew who was wrong and who didn't look at the whole situation. I would recommend this book to people you like things simple. It doesn't take a lot of thought, because there's no mystery. I'd also like to recommend it to people who like ordinary life. The simpliest of life's mistakes are seen throughout this novel.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1.0 von 5 Sternen If you love character developement you will love this book, 24. November 1999
Von Ein Kunde
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Breathing Lessons (Taschenbuch)
but otherwise this a plotless book that goes nowhere. I belong to a book discussion group that read this book for one of our selections. Some loved it, but some did not, we were split about 45% liked it and 55% did not. Although the charactors may be interesting they do not really change or develop in the day that the book covers. The humor in the book caused some to laugh loud and long while the rest of us thought it was almost contrived, feeling that all of this could not really happen to one person in this short of time. When you finally discover that Fiona could not have been the person who was on the radio talk show, Maggie becomes a very ignorant sitcom type charactor. Her constant imagining of how others are thinking or reacting to her and the situations they are in do nothing to improve her image. Her awareness of how her actions effect other people does not change from the beginning to the end. If you like to get to really know a charactor in a book, enjoy, otherwise don't bother.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 25 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Breathing Lessons (Science Fiction)
Breathing Lessons (Science Fiction) von Anne Tyler (Taschenbuch - 17. September 1992)
EUR 10,50
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen