Kundenrezensionen


22 Rezensionen
5 Sterne:
 (12)
4 Sterne:
 (9)
3 Sterne:
 (1)
2 Sterne:    (0)
1 Sterne:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Durchschnittliche Kundenbewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel
Eigene Rezension erstellen
 
 

Die hilfreichste positive Rezension
Die hilfreichste kritische Rezension


15 von 16 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Spannende Lektüre für alle, die sich für rational halten
Predictably Irrational ist ein weiteres Buch aus der Behavioral-Economics-Ecke, die das Fundament der traditionellen Ökonomie - den Homo Oeconomicus - anfechtet. Mit seinen empirischen Studien zeigt Dan Ariely auf, dass wir uns längst nicht so rational verhalten wie Ökonomen es immer unterstellen und wie gern wir es gerne hätten. Er geht sogar einen...
Veröffentlicht am 11. Januar 2010 von Defreezer

versus
3 von 7 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
3.0 von 5 Sternen Nettes Sammelsorium aus deskriptiven Entscheidungstheorie. Leider ohne die Reflektion von relevanten theoretischen Theorien.
Nach meiner Ansicht stellt das Buch ein nettes Sammelsorium der Biases aus präskriptiven Entscheidungstheorie dar. Ich persönlich vermisse leider die Reflektion, oder mindestens die Benennung, der relavanten Theorien und klarer Benennung der Effekte. Zudem enthält das Buch, nach meinem Geschmack, zu viel Selbstdarstellung und persönlichen Information...
Vor 22 Monaten von Alexander Shemet veröffentlicht


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

15 von 16 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen Spannende Lektüre für alle, die sich für rational halten, 11. Januar 2010
Predictably Irrational ist ein weiteres Buch aus der Behavioral-Economics-Ecke, die das Fundament der traditionellen Ökonomie - den Homo Oeconomicus - anfechtet. Mit seinen empirischen Studien zeigt Dan Ariely auf, dass wir uns längst nicht so rational verhalten wie Ökonomen es immer unterstellen und wie gern wir es gerne hätten. Er geht sogar einen Schritt weiter und behauptet, dass wir uns teilweise sogar systematisch und vorhersagbar irrational verhalten. In meinen Augen trifft die Vorhersagbarkeit auf die begrenzten Versuchsanordnungen seiner Experimente zu, aber löst man sich vom streng rationalem Leitbild und bezieht die psychologische Dimension in unsere Entscheidungsfindung mit ein, so meine ich, dass die potentiellen Einflussfaktoren derartig vielfältig sind, dass eine Prognose nahezu unmöglich wird. Das ist nicht weiter schlimm, denn fast alle Sozialwissenschaften haben sich damit abgefunden und lediglich der Nimbus der streng formalen Wirtschaftswissenschaft erleidet Schaden.

Das Buch liest sich sehr unterhaltsam und erklärt z.B., welchen Einfluss soziale Normen haben (warum schenken wir einem Gastgeber Wein oder Blumen statt ihm einen entsprechende Betrag Bares in die Hand zu drücken, obwohl wir nicht wissen, ob er unseren Wein denn wirklich schätzt), warum Placebos wirken (und zwar desto besser, je teurer sie sind), warum uns unsere Besitztümer häufig so viel wertvoller erscheinen als potentiellen Käufern oder warum Angestellte ohne jedes schlechtes Gewissen Büromaterialen mitgehen lassen, aber die Kasse nie anrühren würden. Alles in allem sehr gut geschrieben und mit viel Stoff und Anregungen zum Nachdenken. Kein Buch, dass direkte Handlungsempfehlungen in Checklistenform gibt, aber es ist sicherlich sinnvoll, nicht nur bei der Werbekommunikation über die psychologischen Einflussfaktoren von Entscheidungen nachzudenken. Und last but not least sind die häufig kontraintuitiven Ergebnisse der sehr gut beschriebenen Experimente hervorragendes Smalltalk-Futter für Business-Lunches.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


31 von 37 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen People Are Predictably Interested In More Than Money, 22. April 2008
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Only a professor of behavioral economics would conclude that when people respond to motives other than money they are being predictably irrational. If you want to see some clever experiments that demonstrate that people are interested in things other than money, read this book.

I would like to observe, however, that such experiments have to be taken with a grain of salt when people know that they are experiments or reflect unexpected questions rather than serious looks at on-going behavior in areas where people have a lot of experience. For instance, the book looks at whether and at what price Duke students will sell basketball tickets they have just put a lot of effort into getting. Clearly, there are factors other than profit that motivated the buying in the first place. Most students probably wanted to get lucky and go to the game. Selling a ticket under these circumstances denies the opportunity to go to the game. A ticket broker would make a rational decision about whether to hire students to try get a ticket this way, but a student who does this a few times wouldn't. Study the ticket broker and you'll get more economic behavior. Study the student who wants to go the game and you won't. So why should we be surprised?

I remember being a subject of a lot of these experiments as a student. If the experiment struck me as particularly stupid, I would often feel rebellious and do things to act in noneconomic ways just to prove I was a person. I didn't see that effects like those are being studied here.

If you want to learn about human behavior, I suggest you study all of the motives . . . not just try to understand the economic motives.

In addition, some of the experiments probably depend in part on the common meaning of certain words being different than the definition that a professor would use. I think the experiments about certainty and probability wording may be tainted by that problem.

Professor Ariely is a clever fellow, but I think he stretches his conclusions further than they deserve. He's also interested in finding ways to make people look stupid rather than appreciating the genius that most people exhibit routinely. I couldn't help feeling that there was too much economic motive in his desire to write this book (a P.T. Barnum approach rather than trying to truly educate).
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


2 von 2 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Ungewöhnliche Experimente, die die Verhaltensökonomik greifbarer machen, 24. November 2011
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Predictably Irrational, Revised: The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions (Taschenbuch)
Einleitend ordnet Dan Ariely sein Buch in den wissenschaftlichen Rahmen der Verhaltensökonomik
(Behavioral economics) ein. Knapp erläutert er den wesentlichen Unterschied zu den klassischen
Wirtschaftstheorien, die mit dem Modell des Homo oeconomicus arbeiten. Leserinnen und Leser,
die sich mit den wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen befassen möchten, werden im Anhang fündig. Zu
jedem der 15 Kapitel ist weiterführende Literatur angegeben.

In jedem Kapitel erzählt Ariely auf sehr persönliche Weise in lockerem Englisch von seinen Experimenten,
die meistens mit Studierenden durchgeführt wurden, überwiegend am MIT (Massachusetts
Institute of Technology), einer weltweit bekannten nordamerikanischen Universität. Diese Vorgehensweise
schränkt eine Verallgemeinerung der Ergebnisse stark ein.

Die Beispiele sind für Nicht-Amerikaner teilweise schwer nachvollziehbar. Eine Probe: In Kapitel
8 wird eine eigentümlich anmutende Prozedur beschrieben, der sich die Studierenden an der Duke
Universität unterwerfen, um eine Eintrittskarte zu einem Basketball-Spiel zu ergattern (vgl. S. 168).

Dan Arielys Experimente sind äußerst ungewöhnlich, häufig sehr aufwändig in Vorbereitung und
Durchführung; zum Beispiel schildert er auf Seite 34, wie er Hunderte von Klängen gemischt hat,
um schließlich drei Klänge auszuwählen, die seiner Einschätzung nach ähnlich unerfreulich für das
menschliche Gehör sind. Immer wieder befremdet die Art und Weise auf die Ariely die Experimente
durchführt. Ethische Aspekte scheinen in den Hintergrund zu treten, um die eigene (wissenschaftliche)
Neugier zu befriedigen (vgl. S. 170).

In Arielys Sicht ist der Mensch eine irrational handelnde Person, die aber von sich selbst glaubt,
sie sei vernünftig denkend und handelnd (vgl. S. 321). Dan Ariely möchte uns unsere Fehler aufzeigen.
Allerdings unternimmt er keine Versuche, die tieferen Gründe zu erforschen, warum der
Mensch - seiner Meinung nach - vorhersehbar irrational handelt. Arielys Experimente zeigen in immer
wieder ähnlicher Form, dass der Mensch in bestimmten Situationen nicht wie ein Homo oeconomicus
handelt. Die Frage ist: Sind das tatsächlich "Fehler"? Unwahrscheinlich, denn anderenfalls
gäbe es uns Menschen nicht mehr, wir wären genauso ausgestorben wie die Dinosaurier.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


6 von 8 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen People Are Predictably Interested In More Than Money, 22. April 2008
Von 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(TOP 500 REZENSENT)   
Only a professor of behavioral economics would conclude that when people respond to motives other than money they are being predictably irrational. If you want to see some clever experiments that demonstrate that people are interested in things other than money, read this book.

I would like to observe, however, that such experiments have to be taken with a grain of salt when people know that they are experiments or reflect unexpected questions rather than serious looks at on-going behavior in areas where people have a lot of experience. For instance, the book looks at whether and at what price Duke students will sell basketball tickets they have just put a lot of effort into getting. Clearly, there are factors other than profit that motivated the buying in the first place. Most students probably wanted to get lucky and go to the game. Selling a ticket under these circumstances denies the opportunity to go to the game. A ticket broker would make a rational decision about whether to hire students to try get a ticket this way, but a student who does this a few times wouldn't. Study the ticket broker and you'll get more economic behavior. Study the student who wants to go the game and you won't. So why should we be surprised?

I remember being a subject of a lot of these experiments as a student. If the experiment struck me as particularly stupid, I would often feel rebellious and do things to act in noneconomic ways just to prove I was a person. I didn't see that effects like those are being studied here.

If you want to learn about human behavior, I suggest you study all of the motives . . . not just try to understand the economic motives.

In addition, some of the experiments probably depend in part on the common meaning of certain words being different than the definition that a professor would use. I think the experiments about certainty and probability wording may be tainted by that problem.

Professor Ariely is a clever fellow, but I think he stretches his conclusions further than they deserve. He's also interested in finding ways to make people look stupid rather than appreciating the genius that most people exhibit routinely. I couldn't help feeling that there was too much economic motive in his desire to write this book (a P.T. Barnum approach rather than trying to truly educate).
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen Impressive Insight, 23. Oktober 2011
Von 
H. Krausse "Whitelotus" (Königswinter) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(VINE®-PRODUKTTESTER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Predictably Irrational, Revised: The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions (Taschenbuch)
Dan Ariely shows impressively that the rational behaviour old school economics postulate is often enough not seen in reality. That does not mean that this behaviour is irrational (though the book title might make you think so), it just is that people do not calculate costs and revenues as coldly as an accountant. This might be not surprising in general, but Ariely shows - with a lot of eye-opening and sometimes funny tests with students - how people act in certain environments contradictory to common perception. Even with a lot of experience in life, a lot of these tests will give you interesting insight which maybe helpful in your private life as well as in business.

Some examples:
- Why we often pay too much when pay nothing - the power of "Free"
- Why we overvalue what we have
- Why expensive medication works better
- Why dealing with cash makes us more honest

Mr. Ariely shares very private experiences with the reader, not to gain sympathies but to make some points with regard to his research. This gives the book a very personal touch which I never before found in a science book. His language is easy to read for non-native English speakers and only lacks a little bit of the kind of humour and ease you find in books like "Freakonomics". In some places, it may seem that repeats himself and that he could have delivered his message in a shorter way but not to an annoying extent.

There are however, two minor flaws. The first is that the examples are very US-centric and practically all experiments have been made with students of the MIT or similar high rank universities. This does not only make it difficult for the non-American reader to fully enjoy the stories since they are not as close to daily life e.g. in Europe as they are for a US citizen. This also leaves the reader with the question whether the results of these experiments would have been the same in other environments. In fact, in the last chapter, a test in Hong Kong reveals the exact opposite behaviour than in the US.

Second, these tests are IMHO quite simple and not sufficient to derive all the far-reaching conclusions the author jumps to. He is entering moral ground sometimes and this has left me a little uneasy. But remember that this is does not at all devalue the research and that you can easily make your own conclusions.

Do not miss this surprisingly cheap book.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen The whole book is very easy to understand., 24. Juni 2011
Are humans predictable? Mostly. Are humans rational? Not always. But the interesting thing is that even some of our irrationality is predictable, what Ariely nicely shows in his well written book which is not only enlightening but also entertaining.

Have you ever wondered about advertisements which contain one option which no sane person ever would consider? In the first chapter Ariely picks up exactly this situation and explains why this offer is there along the others. It is not an option the company actually wants to sell, but a way to steer us towards the offer it wants us to choose. Why are outrageously expensive things sometimes so much more desirable than comparable, but reasonably priced items? How comes we buy tons of chocolates when they are almost free, but we only take one or two if they are completely free? On the other hand we tend to easily give up a much better deal for one which is free but actually worse. Or why does a certain beer taste better if we're told what it contains only after tasting it, compared to being told before taking a sip?

In many real life situations we're acting irrationally, but do so predictably. Dan Ariely discusses lots of such situations and underlines each of them with multiple experiments. Knowing about this predictability allows us not only to make more conscious decisions, but also to see through some tricks used in advertising or possibly even to better understand how we might need to present something to make it more appealing to others.

While most of the information in this book might not be groundbreaking news to you, it is still worth reading. The statements of each chapter are always backed up by experiments and including their outcome. The whole book is very easy to understand, written in a conversational, easy to follow style, far from the unintelligible scientific hubble-bubble which could be expected for such a topic.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Well and engaging written summary and reflection of behavioral social science, 21. August 2014
Von 
Oliver Schmidt (Kampala, Uganda) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
I liked this book a lot. The author is an experienced and widely acclaimed Scholar of behavioural economics or, I would say, social sciences, because many of the experiments and findings he reports go beyond what I had so far encountered in the behavioural economics literature. He explains some of the foundations of concepts that behavioural economics - and particularly my field, development finance - often uses, such as 'dual self', underestimating risks of tomorrow, rationalising away sub-optimal choices, and the like. At the same time, he invites some deeper thinking about the principal-philosophical implications of These findings.
A great, personally written book that wonderfully adds detailed research perspective to Kahneman's 'Thinking - fast and slow' and Thaler/Sunstein's 'Nudge'.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


3 von 4 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
4.0 von 5 Sternen A fun introduction to behavioral economics, 7. Juni 2011
Von 
Dr. Bojan Tunguz (Indiana, USA) - Alle meine Rezensionen ansehen
(REAL NAME)   
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Predictably Irrational, Revised: The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions (Taschenbuch)
Many decisions that we make in our daily lives seem quite irrational when analyzed dispassionately and coolly in terms of whether those decisions make any economic sense or are they beneficial to us in some other way. And yet, those irrational decisions are not completely random, but there is some reason to their madness. The part of psychology that deals with this "irrationality" in marketplace is referred to as behavioral economics, and this research field has had a great impact on our understanding of how markets work and has been the major intellectual and empirical driving force away from the idealized rational agents of classical economic theory.

Behavioral economics is also the main subject of this eminently readable and entertaining book. In it the author, Dan Ariely, takes the reader on a tour of various ingenious and insightful psychological experiments that shed some light on the way we make economic decisions. The sorts of experiments described - from drinking various beers at restaurant, selling and buying tickets for a favorite sports team, to cheating in various situations when money or products are at stake - are all very relevant to everyday life. Ariely is also a very engaging writer and the book has a very strong personal feel. However, this overly personal approach can get to be a bit distracting at times. It would have been helpful if the author used examples from other researchers in the field or at least tried to show how his own research fits within some larger picture or framework. As it is, the reader almost gets the impression that Ariely has single-handedly come up with the ideas and concepts that are presented in this book.

Another problem that I have with this book is that it doesn't seem to have a well defined focus, other than the "irrationality" itself. Too many concepts from psychology (priming, placebo, peer pressure, etc.) are conflated and made to seem to be just manifestations of single overarching "irrational" behavior. I would have also liked if the author tried to provide more explanation for why we do act in this seemingly irrational way. A brief description of evolutionary forces that shaped our thinking would have been useful. Many of these "irrational" behaviors certainly must have had some purpose; otherwise we would have become extinct long time ago.

Overall, this is a very well written and entertaining introduction to behavioral economics. It will make you look at your everyday microeconomic decisions in a whole new light.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


1 von 1 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
5.0 von 5 Sternen it's a must read, 25. Dezember 2013
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Predictably Irrational, Revised: The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions (Taschenbuch)
It's witty and insightful.
Certainly it's one of the best books I've read the past years.
It's a must read.
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


5.0 von 5 Sternen Great to be alive!, 6. Mai 2014
Verifizierter Kauf(Was ist das?)
Rezension bezieht sich auf: Predictably Irrational, Revised: The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions (Taschenbuch)
Dan Ariely managed to compile numerous situations and behavioural patterns in which the ready is very much able to spot his/her own irrationality. I loved reading that book. It helps questioning the way we decide. Weather it actually helps making better decisions though...
Helfen Sie anderen Kunden bei der Suche nach den hilfreichsten Rezensionen 
War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Ja Nein


‹ Zurück | 1 2 3 | Weiter ›
Hilfreichste Bewertungen zuerst | Neueste Bewertungen zuerst

Dieses Produkt

Predictably Irrational, Revised: The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions
EUR 5,78
Auf Lager.
In den Einkaufswagen Auf meinen Wunschzettel
Nur in den Rezensionen zu diesem Produkt suchen